We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vilar do Golf Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vilar do Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vilar do Golf
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Vilar do Golf Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

A nice friendly resort, if you like golf or not. We found the place friendly and relaxed. Its recommended that you need a car but its not essential, my wife and I walked a lot, to the beach its a good 30minutes or if you want to visit the shopping centre another 30minutes, walking you get to see everything and the private residences are well worth seeing while you do so. The rooms were comfortable two bedrooms on suite with a big lounge/kitchen area with a very useful garden area. There is a supermarket on site with everything you need included home baked bread. On site you have a huge outdoor and indoor swimming pools, with a refreshment bar..and also for that special evening pop into 'Bobby Jones' grill. The beach, when we found it is long and narrow with a long wooden walkway over the salt marshes, a nice area to be. You are of course surrounded by numerous golf courses that are available for use. If I went back again I would take my golf clubs.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room nearer to reception or Bobby Jones
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RayGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable holiday at Vilar Do Golf, and we feel sure that future guests will really appreciate your feedback and suggestions. We hope you’ll get the opportunity to come back here for another visit – we’d love to see you again!

Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    122
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
161
116
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsburg, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We reserved a 2 bedroom unit through Diamond Resorts, and were pleasantly surprised. This place was so fantastic that we didn't want to leave! It is situated in a resort area near the Four Seasons, and a couple of golf/country clubs. The staff was all extremely friendly from check-in through communication after our departure (I forgot a pair of boots in the room, and the super helpful staff mailed them to me). We went in December, and every day except one was sunny and warm. Since our visit was in the off season, we didn't need to utilize the shuttle to go to the stunning beach, we just drove there ourselves. There is a shopping center not far away, and there are a few different options for groceries- including a small grocery store at the resort itself. There is a beautiful pool, and there are bikes available to rent.

Our room was 2 levels (bedrooms & bathrooms upstairs, living room/kitchen/patio downstairs), and very spacious. It was cleaned very well, and had everything we needed for a fabulous stay in the Algarve. I would happily go back twice a year if I could. We ate food from the restaurant on premises twice- one take away pizza, and the other time we dined in the restaurant. Both experiences were positive. My only small complaint is that we really wanted to book massages with the spa. For 3 days, we attempted to call and visit in person (each time we visited in person, there was a sign on the door that instructed customers to call). By the time we finally reached someone, there were no appointments available.

Obrigada!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beeeechbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
We are glad we made a great impression on you so you didn’t want to return home! We thank you for providing us with your kind feedback.
We do hold our staff to an extremely high service level so we are thrilled that our staff could provide you with this service and remained helpful to you throughout your stay. it is great for us to read that you enjoyed your apartment, it is lovely to know you were pleased with the cleaning, we will pass your thanks back to our house keeping team!
We are sorry about your comments on the spa, we will address this with the management team there.
We hope you will come again soon.
Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have been going here for 9 years. The staff are friendly, the villas modern and cleaned daily. There is on site indoor heated pool as well as 2 outdoor pools and 1 paddle pool. There is a holiday club in school holidays as well as swings. The onsite supermarket is ok but there is a larger one up the road in Quinta and one in Almancil a little further. The beach is 5 minutes away and the resort provides a free shuttle. There is a lovely restaurant on the main road opposite called KOKO. Wifi is chargeable but only a few euros. We will continue to go each year, its not commercialised but has enough for the kids.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jjllaaww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
It is always nice to read good comments and we are pleased that you were not disappointed with your stay. We are looking forward to the next opportunity to host you!

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed in the Diamond Villas in the beguining of May with my wife and 4yo daughter and we had a very pleasent stay. Nearby is the Vale do Lobo Resort with one of the best beaches in Algarve. Even being only the first day of may i was able to make a good swimming on the beach and spend a good time on the pools. At the time it was not crowded at all even being a long weekend following a hollyday. All 4 pools were open, 1 being for small children a 1 indoor heated (use of swimming caps mandatory on this one. I was pleased for the modern design of the interiors and for all the landscape, with lots of trees and flowers and the ability o walk along and within the golf courses that surrounds the resort. We dinned at the local restaurante and were amused to get live music all night long. Everywere else in the resort was so quiet that it looked a bit of Paradise, great for refreshing your mind and sights. I usually stay in other resort in Quinta do Lago or Vale do Lobo áreas and i found theses Diamond Villas having the best price/quality ratio. The resort have free transport to the nearby premium beach of Quinta do Lago even in May (low season). all the staff were polited and the house was fully equiped and clean.

Room Tip: Within Vilar do Golf there are diferente kinds of apartments, some of them are not managed by Diamon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose_Diogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you had a great stay with us.
It is great that you found the resort and your apartment to your liking, we will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff who work hard to maintain our grounds.
We hope you will stay with us again soon!
Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

this is a great option for almancil, where there are many 5 star / aka expensive accommodation options. you get to stay in a 5 star area and enjoy all of the nice restaurants etc...but get to stay in a very affordable option, we booked a 1 bed apartment on line with booking.com for 50 euros, (great price) it said it could fir up to to four people as it had an additional sofa bed. when we arrived we were upgraded to a 2 bed with pull out sofa. the value for these properties are amazing. previously when i stayed here i did not book a diamond/premium option and the property was the exact same lay out as the more recent one we stayed in but it was quite old fashioned. at these prices you cant complain, however when i rebook i was sure to try a diamond/premium one and boy was i happy. they have been renovated to a more modern standard (not totally luxurious) but beautifully done an clean. tiny snags are: you feel as if they have been sitting idle since they have been a last cleaned/rented if you know what i mean, the bath plug did not work so water drained out when you try to fill it and the shower did not drain very well. other than these tiny things i cannot wait for my next visit. i love the new design in the bathrooms in particular and i was v impressed with their choice of all English speaking tv and radio chancels, both english and irish stations, rare to get in the algarve. not a huge fab of their pool area from my original visit but you can easily use lots of the lovely luxurious hotels pools surrounding this property and of course the beach

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank scenarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
As always, it is great to know that we have managed to meet the expectations of our guests and that you had a pleasant and relaxing stay, enjoyed the use of the resort's facilities and were satisfied with the recent upgrades introduced to the property. We are very grateful for your lovely words and do hope to see you again soon!

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigton
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a holiday ownership location affiliated with Diamond Resorts. So it seems whether you're a fully payed up member or not the sales team will try what ever tactic possible to get you to sit down with them. That said Diamonds product does work for some, were getting great use from it and enjoying holidays around the globe and they do have some fantastic properties! This is one of them. The staff (sales staff excluded), are amazing, as most Diamond hotel staff tend to be, the villa's are comfortable and well presented, the activities in the hotel were fun and well thought out and the staff made them fun to do, the bobby jones bar and restaurant is good value with a relaxed atmosphere and a brilliant menu and Chef with yet more amazing friendly staff, sitting with a few beers watching the golf is fun. The outdoor pools are a little cold but at least the indoor pool is warm, just remember to take a swim hat! The real gem of this place is the proximity to a vast number of the most amazing beaches we've ever seen! Get a hire car to make the most of the beaches and some of the nice beach restaurants, also take a trip to the gypsy market for a few bargains and definitely drive over to Sagres and the two forts there, also Portimao is worth a look. All in all another Diamond of a resort, by Diamond!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is great that you were able to take advantage of the facilities on site.
We will forward your comments on to our food and beverage manager who will be sure to pass on kind comments to the team here on resort.
We are sure future travellers will take advantage of your location tips.
We hope you will return to visit us again soon.
Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here with my mum for 4 days last year. We're going back this year as we enjoyed it so much. Weather was super which was just a bit of good luck. Place is lovely, clean and very safe. Pool is great but very cold!
Only draw back - ants are plentiful due to it being a nature reserve but not a pest.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.
It is great to read that you had a great stay with us.
We are thrilled to read you will be returning and we will be looking forward to it.
Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#3 of 16 in Almancil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Country Club
Four Seasons Country Club
#1 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.6 mi away
Magnolia Golf & Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilar do Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilar do Golf

Property: Vilar do Golf
Address: Rua do Lago, Almancil 8135-031, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Almancil
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Almancil
#2 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#2 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#3 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
#4 Family Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vilar do Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Lago, located on the southern coast of Portugal, is one of Europe's most luxurious destinations boasting more than 2,000 acres of verdant countryside where the sweet aroma of centuries old pine forests meet the Atlantic Ocean. Nestled peacefully amid lush gardens, Vilar do Golf sits in the heart of the Quinta do Lago estate, beckoning travelers to escape to its quiet and stylish accommodations. Offering substantial space and modern appointments, the resort is a comfortable retreat, ideal for a romantic getaway,family vacation or a golf holiday. Enjoy the superb leisure and sports facilities, championship golf courses, onsite restaurant and bar and nearby nightclubs, all skirted by miles of golden sand. Enjoy the great outdoors and explore the natural beauty and wonder of Ria Formosa Natural Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vilar do Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilar Do Golf Hotel Almancil
Vilar Do Hotel
Vilar Do Resort
Vilar Golf
Vilar Do Golf Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing