We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vilar do Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vilar do Golf
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

weve returned again again this year we find this resort perfect for our main family holiday its got the weather cause its in portugal close to airport so not too long in a sticky car close to lovley beaches well stocked shop close to a good market and shopping or just lay back by the lovley pool friendly helpful staff reasonable prices on snacks at pool so one can just relax by the pool and let the kids enjoy the activities at the pool keep the prices down see you again next summer

Room Tip: all villas clean and well equiped
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samahern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you have chosen to come back to Vilar Do Golf for another visit, and that the resort has everything you need for a great holiday. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    119
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
157
113
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caldas da Rainha, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have been staying here for 6 years, every year is excellent - It's like coming home. The resort is lovely, clean and relaxing; surrounded by the Quinta do lago course, superbly well maintained gardens, great facilities. Our villa was located near the pool, a short walk to the amazing pool area, 2 big outdoor pools and a indoor pool.The villa was perfect as usual, well maintained and cleaned; Taking breakfast in the terrace, and feed the birds....what else can we wish?
We visited the restaurant boby jones several times and can't praise enough for the hospitality, service and food; evening entertainment offer was excellent, we loved the Outsider band!
The entertainers are full of sheer energy, keep the the children and adults entertained with several sports and water games. We loved the cooking demonstration - fabulous!
But, the best of all is the staff, from reception to lifeguards, waiters, cleaners, maintenance, manager, all without exception are very friendly and extremely helpfull, make us feel as family, nothing is too much trouble for them.

Our favourite resort! We can't wait to return next year. Thank you all for another fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for this lovely review! We are delighted that you enjoy staying at Vilar Do Golf, and that our team have helped make your holidays here extra special. We hope you’ll go on to have many more lovely holidays here, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The two bed, two storey Villas are all very well appointed with air conditioning, two bathrooms and fully equipped kitchens with dishwashers and washing machines etc. They all have a pleasant patio area with furniture. There is a small shop, a coffee bar, an indoor restaurant, an outdoor bar serving food, and a lovely pool on site. The grounds are extremely well kept. It is in a quiet area, set around a golf course (hence the name). Further down the road is a lovely area for walks, in a nature reserve, and across a long wooden bridge/boardwalk is a beautiful beach. It is not too far from Faro airport, but a car is definitely advisable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banksjays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Vilar Do Golf, and that the accommodation had everything you needed for your holiday – thank you for your review! Due to the limited public transport in this area, we do recommend that guests hire a car for their stay, and the resort’s front desk team will be happy to provide assistance in this regard if it is requested.

We hope you’ll choose to come back here for another visit, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The apartment was all we could want, the staff were very helpful, the only thing I found disappointing was the lack of places to walk to. I felt a bit too isolated, definitely need a car and also a good map and someone who knows the area to point you in the right direction.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We are really pleased that you had a great time here at Vilar Do Golf, and that our team were able to provide you with all the assistance you needed during your stay. There is a local bus service that runs between the resort and the nearby town of Almancil, but due to the resort’s location, we do recommend that guests hire a car during their stay. The resort’s front desk staff will be more than happy to provide information and directions for the local area, if this is requested, and we encourage guests to speak to them if they have any questions in this regard. We hope that you’ll choose to come back to Vilar Do Golf in the future, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I booked this hotel based on previous reviews. I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is situated in a wonderful area of the Algarve. It is a 20 minute ride from the airport, and if you contact the hotel prior, they will organise the pick up for you. The charge is very reasonable. I couldn't have got that rate through other website companies.

The hotel itself is an estate of villas around a magnificent golf course. The facilities are very good with a good pool and excellent staff, Our two sons had a brilliant time. Some of the offers were very good, we paid 10 euro for a boating afternoon, which they took you to in a minibus - approx. 5 mins away. There was a gorgeous restaurant/bar which had a pool and Jacuzzi. The boys had a brilliant time, we watched in the sun. The area was stunning well worth a trip. There are daily buses to the beach which again is beautiful. You walk over a long bridge which is over a nature reserve. at the Beach there are water sports etc a real fun day.

The facilities at the villa again excellent, everything one could possible need. From Dishwasher to coffee maker.

At the pool there is towel service which we only found out about when we arrived. There is a gym and indoor poor area which you can book beauty treatments. This also offers a good place to get ready after a day at the pool before going home. No extra charges -

Room Tip: We had a room by the site restaurant, Bobby Jones. It was a good areas, as the walk down to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 24 October 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Vilar Do Golf! We are delighted that you chose to spend your holiday here, and that you had a wonderful time – we hope to see you again in the future!

Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The villas are good but value for money is poor. For a 4 star resort you shouldn't have to pay Euro 1.20 per towel if you want to change your dirty one for a clean towels. That is ridiculous! !! Always disappointing is that you have to pay seperately for a Internet connection. 6 euro per day. I rather pay 260 euro per night instead of 250 euro and not having to complain and write negative comments on TripAdvisor.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Willem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We are extremely sorry that you had cause for complaint about certain aspects of your stay at Vilar Do Golf. At present, the resort’s committee has decided not to incorporate the cost of wi-fi and renting pool towels into our pricing plan, as this would charge guests for these services regardless of whether or not they chose to use them. We sincerely hope that these issues didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay here, and that you’ll choose to return to Vilar Do Golf in the future!

Ana Simoes
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

just returned from vilar do golf .nice place and the villa was fab .but so many children ..if you want peace and quiet ..do not go to pool area ..we ate in the bobby jones and it was not that great ..you do need a car ..we spent a lot on taxis ..which were very up market ..the area is very nice .but high end priced shops ...would we go back ? no ..

Room Tip: try and get a room near reception if no car
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linbram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We regret to read that our location and area was not to your liking and we are sorry if you were in any way inconvenienced during your stay. We are a family friendly resort and especially during school holidays many of our guests will choose to stay with us enjoying their family time together. We hope that you had an otherwise pleasant stay. We wish you all the best on your future travels

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.3 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#3 of 16 in Almancil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Country Club
Four Seasons Country Club
#1 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
1.6 mi away
Magnolia Golf & Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilar do Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilar do Golf

Property: Vilar do Golf
Address: Rua do Lago, Almancil 8135-031, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Almancil
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Almancil
#2 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#2 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#3 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
#4 Family Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vilar do Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Lago, located on the southern coast of Portugal, is one of Europe's most luxurious destinations boasting more than 2,000 acres of verdant countryside where the sweet aroma of centuries old pine forests meet the Atlantic Ocean. Nestled peacefully amid lush gardens, Vilar do Golf sits in the heart of the Quinta do Lago estate, beckoning travelers to escape to its quiet and stylish accommodations. Offering substantial space and modern appointments, the resort is a comfortable retreat, ideal for a romantic getaway,family vacation or a golf holiday. Enjoy the superb leisure and sports facilities, championship golf courses, onsite restaurant and bar and nearby nightclubs, all skirted by miles of golden sand. Enjoy the great outdoors and explore the natural beauty and wonder of Ria Formosa Natural Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Vilar do Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilar Do Golf Hotel Almancil
Vilar Do Hotel
Vilar Do Resort
Vilar Golf
Vilar Do Golf Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing