We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Henrique Leis Restaurant
Reserve with
Henrique Leis Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 152 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This deserves 5+. Everything about this restaurant is outstanding. The restaurant reminds me of a Swiss chalet, amazing views and atmosphere. We went for lunch (15 Euros for 2 courses) but the price did not reflect the amazing food which was presented in a stunning way and tasted superb. We had a vegetarian amongst our party which we advised at time of booking, a special dish had been prepared which also looked amazing. The staff were very attentive without being overbearing. We have visited this restaurant several times in the past and can say that the standard has not slipped. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    39
    15
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Once again a superb evening at Henrique Leis”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

It is a family tradition to have the Menu Degustation at Easter. This year Henrique proved again that he deserves his Micheline star. His food is so fresh, his presentation is fantastic and the taste has to be experienced. Each course was served with a matching wine selection. Once again we had great experience and are already looking forward to the next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bjørn K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavira, Portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Great experience in Chef Henrique Leis Michelin Star Restaurant.
Good service, friendly staff, marvelous dinner.
The best of the night was the " pintada".

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
191 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“What An Excellent Lunch”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I only had one day in Portugal so to make the most of it I went to Henrique Leis. What another fantastic meal and truly great value. The lunch menu (Menu of the day) was €15 (two courses) with €2.5 for bread and chef’s surprises incredible value for a Michelin star lunch. The Chef’s surprise/Amuse bouche was a shot of pumpkin soup with a coconut cream foam on top it really was very good packed with flavour. I had the mushroom soup which has to be one of the best I have ever tasted how the chef manages to get the intensity of the mushroom flavour I can only assume from extracting the juice only from mushrooms and then further reducing to get the intense flavour it was fantastic. I followed that with breast of duck with port and orange jus and this was a stunning dish. Presentation excellent with foam balls of carrot, beetroot and parsnips. Everything went beautifully together. The chefs’ surprise/pre-dessert was a shot of raspberries and foamed crème on top. The Apple Charlotte was exquisitely presented and tasted even better. The restaurant was full and walk in diners were being turned away which is good to see a restaurant being appreciated. This has to be one of the best restaurants and best value Michelin star meals in the Algarve. Despite being full the staff were extremely professional, friendly and very attentive. I just wish I had two days in Portugal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EddieOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
487 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“Bring your own water”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

It was 8 years since my wife and I first visited this restaurant. In the interim, the food has got better and the service worse. Everything else remains the same except that there is no hot water in the toilets. This is not an elegant establishment, and could easily have been converted from a large garage, but there is a brave attempt to display interesting paintings and provide a veneer of visual culture to go with the magnificent food.
Starting with crusty crunchy rolls accompanied by butter and liver pate, followed by amuses bouches of warm squash soup, fish ball, chicken ball and an ingenious creation made from beetroot, we plunged into the first course proper of the 70 Euro gastronomic menu ---- an egg shell filled with a mousse of egg and smoked salmon, topped with a generous portion of smoked caviare. Next up was a surrealistic dish mainly occupied by a whole lobster tail on a bed of crab mousse and capped by an amazing tuille made from black squid ink, but other teasing delicacies such as capers and what appeared to be tiny morsels of tuna added to the taste and decoration. The main course was a brilliant sandwich of Pintade de Bresse wrapped around a large slice of top notch foie gras dressed with a taponade of remarkable flavour and accompanied by three small balls of vegetable mousse------ beetroot, parsnip and carrot.

The Egg Surprise that followed turned out to be an egg shell filled with chocolate mousse but topped with a yellow confection indistinguishable in appearance, at least, from a boiled egg.
A panache of 8 small desserts, every one an exquisite creation, rounded out the meal together with a small but lovely assortment of truffles and mignardises . Two sources of displeasure should be mentioned. The wine mark-up is around 5-fold; and the service was not worthy of a 1-star restaurant. A teaspoon requested at the beginning of the meal never arrived; when we polished off our rolls, we had to ostentatiously ask for more; and a carafe of water was refused with the presumptious statement that only bottled water was served. The chef is a genius, but if genius is the art of taking pains, he should start with his staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank davidgoldberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Henrique Leis Restaurant also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Henrique Leis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing