We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Original Red Bus
Open today: 08:00 - 23:00
Review Highlights
highly recommended

I have been on both of the tours that the original red bus company offer. They are excellent. I... read more

Reviewed 27 January 2019
seahorseapartments
,
Paralimni, Cyprus
Brilliant Day

Can't fault this in any way. Such enthusiasm from the moment you board. Very interesting tour and... read more

Reviewed 18 November 2018
tr8v2l3r
,
lca
Read all 1,000 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ayia Napa
from US$27.61
More Info
from US$27.61
More Info
from US$74.77
More Info
from US$46.01
More Info
Reviews (1,000)
Filter reviews
1,000 results
Traveller rating
880
90
12
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
880
90
12
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews village tour famagusta trip open top bus ghost town day trip full day tour tour guide walled city top deck northern cyprus green line fantastic tour turkish invasion well worth the money his knowledge excellent trip interesting facts
Filter
Updating list...
588 - 593 of 1,000 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2015

The Original Red Bus, which delivers the commentary in English only, does two tours - one of which lasts 3 hours and stays in the Republic. So no passports needed.
You learn many things, but this is still probably not an easy half-day if the UK Daily Telegraph, Express or Mail are NOT your choice of reading. Alan has views about most things to do with the situation on the divided island and, whilst he did make efforts to take on board the Turkish view to some degree, his standpoint was anything but neutral. I would have cringed if a Turkish-British (or Turkish) friend had been with me.
Some confusion too about some phraseology: "Cypriots" only used for Greek Cypriots, confusion over the terms "Europe" and "European Union" - but much good stuff too. Alan was generous in his comments about EOKA fighters who, essentially, won a guerrilla war against the British. Then, on the other had, some unnecessary comments about Greek Cypriots (or "Cypriots" as he liked to call them) being inpatient.
Alan just needs some time re-honing his act and it would be a great morning.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank TheStressman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Excellent tour of villages and Alan the guide was very informative and knowledgable. We had 2 young children on the trip so would definitley recommend to families. Our only regret is that we did not book the full day trip to Famagusta. We tried to book the full day trip first but left it too late in the holiday and it was all booked up so I would recommend booking early.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Babs0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Excellent day out with the red bus company. Picked us up on time, very informative throughout the day. We had a little hiccup with the bus breaking down, which adds to the adventure. While at the beach another bus came and problem solved easlily

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Shazza6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

This is a great trip, you see so much history and some sad sights of the ghost town and spend time on a beautiful beach.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Amanda Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015

While on holiday in Cyprus this year we did the red bus tour for the third time. Done the village tour this year but have also done the Famagusta trip, both of which are excellent. The man who runs the trip, I think he's called Alan, is very informative and obviously done a lot of homework before setting up this business.
The village tour takes you up to the dividing line which is crazy, the Turkish watching the Cypriot and the UN watching them both. All the way you are given history about the1974 invasion. Never really liked history but this is so interesting.
Done the Famagusta trip two year ago and again are given a lot of very interesting history about Cyprus. The Famagusta trip takes you to the most beautiful beach you will ever see. Quite sad that it's in the northern part of the island and hardly used. Looking out to see the water is crystal clear with turtles but turn around and just a few yards away is the total devastation of hotels after the invasion.
If you only do one trip in Cyprus do one of the Red Bus Tours, you will not regret it

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews