We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest review: Perfect for a party holiday!”
Review of Salmary Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salmary Apartments
Ranked #101 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed in the Salmary apartments with 2 of my friends for a week on the 14th of July 2013, all I can say is what a lovely family who run this hotel.

The rooms are basic yes, but it is absolutely fine for how long you are actually in them. In my apartment there were no insects, (FYI you will only get insects if you leave the doors open which in fairness is YOUR FAULT NOT THE HOTELS) my sheets were clean and changed regularly, the shower worked, there were basic cooking utensils, the air con worked fine however, it is in the bedroom so the front room is quite hot. Everything worked well all and all for me and my friends!

The Salmary pool isn't 5 star I give you that but we found it really funny and laughed about it to be honest, Papa normally comes about and sprays you with the hose which is absolutely hysterical. There is a pool bar which plays music and sells very cheap drinks (and they're not shy with the alcohol too) the bar within the hotel is also very cheap and the banter is excellent, one night we spent hours there just working our way through their huge drinks and shots menu. (all staff were lovely)

'Mama and Papa' are two of the nicest people I have ever met. The only reason Mama is a problem to you is if you are disrespecting the hotel and the other people staying there then she is an absolute nightmare for you. The first time I met both mama and papa they were absolutely lovely, they gave us free entry into Starsky's (one of the biggest night clubs in Ayia Napa which is typically 15 euros entry) this saved us so much money as we went there near every night, they also gave us discount and fast past tickets to the water park and quick safe taxis whenever we asked.

They ALSO said to us if anyone bothers you tell us and we will take care of you. So anyone who says they are horrible people are talking absolute rubbish, basically just don't piss them off just be polite. They are a very proud family and if you disrespect them or their hotel they take it as a huge offense which is fair enough!

At the end of the holiday they do inspect your rooms and if there is any damage they will charge you. Its a pain because you can be charged for the littlest of things I do agree with this but, just try not to break anything and if you find anything that is already broken or stained (especially bedding) politely tell them.


Please trust me when I say some of the other reviews are so dramatic, in regards to 'the water runs brown before clear at the tap' that isn't the hotels fault, I have been to five star hotels that do the same, the water isn't as clean as it is in England or wherever you are from. This is why you are advised to not drink the water abroad.

I had the best holiday of my life and the Salmary was a huge part to play in this, I felt safe and relaxed when staying there and Ayia Napa is one of the best places EVER! If you are looking for a 5 star hotel then you'll be disappointed, it is a really basic hotel and pretty much good for sleeping, drinking and getting ready, but if you are sad enough to spend all your time in the hotel room then a party holiday is probably not for you.

I will hopefully be returning in 2014!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank catherine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms where the worst I had ever stayed in. We weren't exspected much from the reviews but it was 10 times worse than we ever thought it could be. we were in a self catering apartment but the only cooking equipment we had was a kettle! So if u didn't like pot noodles you were Stuck. The rep Georgia was lovely and really helped us when we were checking out and mama and papa insisted we owed them over 200 euros for dirty beddings. She got them to accept just 10 euros each of us which was literally all we had left as this was the last day of our holiday! Or we would still be I'm Cyprus now as the refuse to give ur passports back unless you pay. Every single room that checked out that morning got charges over 100 euros each for dirty bedding. Mama makes it up as she goes along! If u asked her what is actually wrong with the rooms all
She says is I havnt got time to wash bedding before the next lot arrive well that's not really our fault u cant be bothered to wash the bedding in time! If u had a bottle of water around the pool mama would come round and take it off you and pour it away!!! At nights we were advised to leave our keys on the hooks so the first person back would be able to let themSelfs in! We were told it would be watched by the hotel security! Haaaa that was a joke there was one lad left to look after the place at night and he spent all his time passed out drunk in the bar! I asked him to let me into my room one night n he told me he couldn't be bothered to get up so he just gave me the entire hotels keys! I could have opened any door n gone in he wouldn't of known!! all in all the location is good! The pool is disgusting! The food from the hotel is vile! And mama and papa are evil! Would never return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Hannyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My friends and I stayed here in early August. The rooms are terrible and the pool is cloudy and dirty. Yes, it is in a good location but you can get way better for your money.

The water runs brown for a few minutes when you turn it on. We had blood on the walls (seriously) and the bed sheets had never been washed. They changed the sheets half way through the week which they replaced with dirtier sheets, which "Mama" charged us for when we left! She wanted over 100 euro for dirty bedding that they had given us!

They held our passports and charged everyone leaving that day for dirty bedsheets, towels etc, which they had provided us with! They refused to give our passports back until we had paid. It is the biggest scam I've ever encountered.

The reps were not helpful at all; they were drunk in the clubs and bars most of the time, did not answer your phonecalls, were late (if they showed up at all) when they planned to meet with you, and even then, all they were interested in doing was attempting to sell you extortionately priced tickets to bars and parties.

When we asked one Rep to sort out the passport charge, she even admitted that it was a scam and refused to do anything to help us. We were nice and polite throughout the trip to "Mama" and "Papa", but they are evil.

They wait until you leave and then they hit you with the charges; 20 euro for dirty pillow case and 110 euro for dirty sheets that they provided us with! It is illegal for a hotel to hold your passport against your will, something we made clear to the rep who did not care.

We had read the reviews and thought it wouldn't be that bad to use as a base camp, but TRUST ME, IT IS WORSE. It's unhygenic; several of us used to hotel pool and came out in a rash afterwards, and we were very reluctant to use the brown water in the shower! When we arrived back in the UK, half of us had to visit the doctor for antibiotics due to bad throats and chest infections that we had contracted at this hotel.

We are going to send all of our evidence to Thomas Cook and get this place off the books. Don't buy the reps' tickets for 250 euro because you can get all the tickets on the strip for 10 euro. Never had to pay to get in anywhere; just another scam they run.

I've been away and stopped in rough places, well aware of the quality I've paid for, but what they do here is wrong. It's disgusting, unclean and unhygenic, and it's not fair to get ripped off on your holiday. We never expected this hotel to be beautiful and luxurious; we were well aware of the kind of quality we had paid for, but this was something entirely worse. It will be a holiday from hell if you have booked here. Get it changed ASAP, because all that awaits is cockroaches, ants and filth.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Me and my friends arrived to a below basic, ant infested room. We tried to stay away from the hotel as much as possible, we used the pool once. It was cloudy and dirty looking, it's so small and there are little sun loungers. Big mumma takes one passport as a deposit incase anything is broken/ dirty at the end of your stay. She charged us 10 euros for lipstick on one pillow and tried to claim that water was sick. We got off lightly with 10 euros as most of the people at the hotel had to pay more. She is evil. The fridge smelt, the stove didn't work, one of the doors didn't open to let us outside onto the patio area. The shower kept falling off the wall and we were giving no towels. This is the worst place I have stayed, I recommend paying more money just to stay in somewhere other than at the Salmary.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cbutcher23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Me and 6 friends stayed here and we had an absolute ball anything mama or her sons could do for you they would also raj the bar man was fantastic he basically looked after the pool bar during the day but when he went out or was busy would leave the bar open so you could get drinks FANTASTIC for a group of lads. If anything if you stay here ask for a second floor room or one of the larger poolside rooms.as always in club 18-30 I would recommend getting a safe which are located at the front reception also get air con as the rooms can get like sweat factories during he day. If you are wanting a brilliant trip to go on get booked for the Thomas cook fantasy boat party basically a drink all day party on a boat guaranteed to get you in the mood for a wild night on the strip.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcdonnelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed here back in 2010 with 4 girls! We had an absolute ball and as reflected you get what you pay for. Mama and Papa could not have been nicer. Group of guys we met there got charged for the mess in their room but fair play it was pretty minging state they left it in.

The next year on our visit to Ayia Napa we decided to drag another 4 girls along with us. Again Mama and Papa were lovely, when we were buying stuff from their bar etc....until day 2. I went for a shower to come out and find that all our towels had been taken out of our bedrooms. Upon asking Mama why she shrugged me off giving me no answers. I then went to see my Thomas Cook rep who said she had taken them out because we had gotten them dirty....erm towels? Really? I was not impressed at all. However the girls and myself went and bought our own and didn't let it ruin our holiday. We had a ball. Until the last day upon check out when Mama refused to give us our passports back because we had dirty bedsheets!!!! They had not been washed the entire time we had been there! And also, we hardly even slept in the beds because we were out all night and sleeping by the pool all day!!

Shout out for Raj the barman but what a legend.

All in all a hotel which is really somewhere to lay your head....just be prepared for charges upon departure....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireE28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

mama n papa were lovely but the rooms told a different story! no hot water for a shower there was no plug in either the sink or the bath so couldnt get a bath the shower had no holder for the shower head so you had to hold the shower head all the time. self catering in my room there was no cooker or anything just a fridge and a kettle so had to eat out all the time which is extremly expensive. there was a few cockroaches in our room when we arrived so had to shout staff to remove them. if you are wanting anything for breakfast it is ok if you like a lie in as they dont really serve food before 9am and also there is a large selection on the menu but not actually avaiable to eat. if you are scared of strangers walking in the complex and tryng to break into your room papa n mama knows everyone that stays within the complex so they get rid of any unwelcome visitors.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eilidh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0 mi away
Grecian Bay Hotel
Grecian Bay Hotel
#18 of 102 in Ayia Napa
777 reviews
0 mi away
Nissi Beach Resort
Nissi Beach Resort
#9 of 102 in Ayia Napa
1,582 reviews
0 mi away
Kaos Hotel Apartments
Kaos Hotel Apartments
#61 of 102 in Ayia Napa
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Simos Magic Beach Hotel Apartments
0 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort
Olympic Lagoon Resort
#5 of 102 in Ayia Napa
2,838 reviews
0 mi away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#24 of 102 in Ayia Napa
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salmary Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmary Apartments

Address: Gianni Ritsou 5, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Ayia Napa
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Salmary Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Salmary Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salmary Apartments Hotel Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing