We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful hotel to hold a wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nissi Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nissi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel to hold a wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

We stayed at the Nissi Beach Hotel whilst attending a wedding being held in the hotel during the (UK) May half term.

As it was half term we assumed that the hotel would be really busy, this was not the case at all. As the hotel is so big and so well designed you hardly see other hotel residents apart from on the beach or around the pool. The hotel is very geared up for kids, and has it's own kids club.

Beautiful grounds, large swimming pool, lovely beach and the rooms are a good size. Location wise it is outside Ayia Napa, but there are restuarants just across the road from the hotel which are excellent value.

We ate in Ayia Napa a couple of times, once was to Blueberries, which is a fantastic restuarant, a bit out of the way, but super value - I would recommend writing down the address before you go, as the hotel tried recommending other restuarants rather than Blueberries.

The wedding was held just over looking the beach, a fantastic view, the hotel organisation was great. The reception was held in the evening in the Rondavel bar just above the beach, again, another beautiful venue, and a must for any newly wed couple to have their wedding breakfast.

There are a couple of downsides:
1 - breakfast is often a bit hit or miss, but generally it's ok.
2 - Due to there being a water shortage in Cyprus the water pressure in the showers in the main hotel is really bad, so there is no such thing as a quick shower, (water basically drips out of 3 holes in the shower head, even when water is on full flow).

I can not recommend this hotel enough.

  • Liked — The grounds and the beach
  • Disliked — Water pressure, and not being able to put toilet paper down the toilet (although not the hotels fault)
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    334
    78
    20
    19
See reviews for
502
498
57
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2008

Travelled to the Nissi Beach on the 1st June 2008 for a two week holiday - we also had our wedding at the Nissi Beach Hotel (we had 51 guests).

First of all the grounds of the hotel are lovely, and although you are right on the beach the grounds are very quiet.

We stayed in one of the beach bungalows and they really are lovely, the view from our room was gorgeous (room 17). Other family members stayed in the sea view rooms within the main hotel building and also in the garden rooms.

The sea view rooms also had lovely views and although the rooms are small they were clean and comfortable. The garden view rooms were also nice, however two of our guests did experience loud noice from a karoake bar down the road, however apart from this they were once again clean and very comfortable.

The food at breakfast and also in the restaurant in the evenings really was nice, with lots of choice and variety. The food at the pool bars etc was ok. Things like hot dogs / pizza / burgers etc, although I did find these snacks over priced (please be advised they do have a childrens snack menu which is cheaper but you need to ask for this).

The entertainment in the evenings is ok.

The kids club which is run by the hotel is also quite good, our daughter went in there a couple of times.

The beach was nice and clean and so was the sea. We did walk up to the main part of Nissi Beach, however unless you are on a clubbing holiday you would be best to stay nearer the hotel.

The pools are very nice and clean (they are cleaned daily). The only down side is you need to get your sun beds before breakfast as a lot of people were putting their towels on the beds the night before.

The sun loungers and umbrellas on the beach need to be paid for and this cost us 6euros for two beds and one umbrella.

WEDDING
We booked the wedding and holiday through First Choice - DO NOT DO THIS. Everything about the First Choice ranging from the check in / staff / foreign currency and wedding staff both in the UK and in Cyprus was way below anyones minimal expectations.

The wedding day itself which was in the end arranged with the hotel directly went without any hitches. The food was lovely, you can choose from various menus - we had the three course sit down gala meal.

We had our evening do at the Nissi Taverna (Pelican). We chose this instead of the Rondeval as it has a games room attached which we thought was better suited to the children in our party. However I did see the Rondeval and it is amazing.

We also booked a DJ and Dancers through the hotel and these were both very good. The buffet food in the evening was also incredibly nice and there was tones of it.

I booked for my hair and make up to be down via the beautician and hairdresser at the hotel. They were both extremley lovely and professional and I was thrilled with the results. The beautician is called Jeannette, and Anna is the hairdresser.

I would like to confirm the prices for both of these as someone previously has shown the wrong prices.

It is 70euros for the make up which also includes a trial. It is 70 euros for the hair which once again also includes a trial. And I promise you will not be disappointed with the results, you also stay within the hotel to have this done.

Please do not listen to the tour operators who say they are cheaper - First Choice / Thomson wanted to charge me 68euros for my hair which did not include a trial - they also make you travel five miles down the road.

We also booked our photographer independently and I am over the moon with the photos.... The name of the company was DC-Photography. The price is incredibly reasonable and once again the photos are amazing.

The hotel also organised for my dress and the suits to be steamed and cleaned. Apparently when I arrived First Choice informed that they only offer this service at the West Coast Resorts.

We did organise the flowers from First Choice and these were beautiful (we upgraded to roses).

If you are having your wedding here you will not be disappointed. However please do not book your wedding through a tour operator it is less stressful to do things yourself and you are guaranteed results.

We also went on an excursion (which we booked direct) for B.O.B Diving. This is an english run company and was great fun. If you book direct through their website you get 15% off and they come and collect you from your hotel and then drop you off afterwards.

I also wanted to recommend a restaurant called Atlas (just down the road from the hotel). This is an italian restaurant and the food and prices were very good.

I am unable to show the e-mail addresses for the photographer / hair and beauty / B.O.B Diving etc, however please feel free to e-mail me and I will send these to you.

I will be putting photos on to this review over the next couple of days however if in the meantime you want to see them please contact me.

  • Liked — The Gardens / food and location
  • Disliked — People taking sun loungers the night before
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EMMADUKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2008

We were married at Nissi Beach Hotel on the 21st May 08. We were greeted with a drink on arrival at nearly midnight and taken to our room, we were so tired we went straight to sleep. When we woke up we had the most breathtaking view from our balcony ( room 413). Breakfast with is buffet style was lovely and sitting looking over the garden & beach every morning was heaven. There we met Andros (waiter) who greeted us with a smile every morning. We then met our wedding coordinator Zoe, she is a lovely person and was also our witness in our wedding. We then had an appointment with Marios ( Hotel wedding coordinator) who organised a lovely table for us to cut the cake, and have some lunch. There were only 5 of us so no reception needed!! We only ate at the hotel in the evening once but the food is top class, highly recommended. Generally all the food we ate out was superb. I had my nails, make up and hair done in the hotel with was fab and i would just like to say a big thank you to Julia and Anna (hairdressers). We had a lovely chat which helped to calm my pre wedding nerves!!! Our wedding was 100% perfect from start to finish and i have to say that most of it was down to how well the hotel organises them and of course the location. Heaven!!!!!

  • Liked — Grounds & Wedding
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank May21bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTHAMPTON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2008

Fantastic hotel. Great pool scene - the pictures in the brochures dont do it justice. Really expensive pool snack bar . Were quite surprised to be paying £1.50 for can of drink and £8 plus for a small snack but the food was lovely. Went half board- this was a bad mistake as only ate there 3 times in 14 nights as we found the local restaurants to be lovely and the buffet dinner, very repetitive (even though each evening had a different theme, it all tasted pretty much the same!) The standard rooms are in chalet style blocks and are not the highest of standards. Next time would definately pay more and stay in a sea view room in the main block . Met a few wedding couples that were horrified to discover their chalet style rooms! But you have weigh up how important the outside look of your room is as the sea view supps are very high!
All in all, had a great honeymoon and the hotel is in a fantastic location.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The overall look of the standard rooms/ main meals in buffet restaurant
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CJG2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, UK.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2008

Having had a few fantastic holidays in Paphos, we thought that we would give the Nissi Beach a go, based on the good reviews that it has had. Overall we were very disappointed. In our opinion the hotel was no where near 4* standard and was definately not a patch on the 4* that we had stayed in whilst in Paphos. The rooms were dated and extremely small and the shower in the very small bathroom was old and only just worked. I do agree with the other reviews regarding the range of breakfast options, but we found that the hot food was only just warm and it was repetitive through out the week.
The beach was nice, although crowded but we found that the beach bars required a good cleaning. The hotels location was ok, for us it was just far enough out of Ayia Napa, although Nissi Beach is still very much an english resort.
On the plus side, we found an excellent restaurant across the
road - Gardens, which we went to most days. We hired a car for the week , which is definately worth it if you like to see more of the traditional towns and way of life. We can highly recommend Paralimni to visit.
Overall not a holiday for us and one that we will not be repeating,

  • Liked — A nice beach view from the room
  • Disliked — Small and outdated rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie.Bagnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2008

Got married here in May 08. Could not have been better.
Beautiful Location, Great Food, Friendly and Helpful staff. Probably the best hotel for weddings in Ayia Napa.
.
I have posted a few photo's of the Rondavel Beach Bar which are difficult to find on the web.
.
If your thinking of booking it, just do it you wont regret it.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The cooked breakfasts could have been of better quality
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tripthelightfandago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2008

We stayed at the Nissi beach for 7 days 18-25th May with our 2 year old daughter. Arrived at 4pm in the afternoon to be welcomed with orange juice and cold towels while sitting on ratten sofas in the lobby completing our registration forms, this made the whole process very relaxing, infact we never had to give a print of our credit cards and the hotel didnt request passports, so totally trustworthy.

After reading so many great reviews I was worried the hotel would be a diappointment but I'm pleased to report it lived up to my expectations. The grounds are beautiful with lits of lovely flowering shrubs with the blue blue sea as a backdrop, quite breathtaking to sit on the terrace bar soaking up the view and sipping one of the wicked cocktails-bliss!!

We were very fortunate to be staying in a beach suite, and although a little dated the room was clean and a good size with large kingsize bed and steps down into a small lounge which also had 2 sfa beds. Waiting for us was a complimentary bottle of wine and bowl of fruit.. The brach was about 100feet from the bungalow and I loved sitting on the terrace in the evening listening to the sound of the waves rolling in, if you can stretch to paying that extra I would recomend upgrading.

We booked accomodation only with Thomas cook and ended up paying just £750 for the weeks accomodation, not sure how we managed this bargain but if you book direct with the hotel you are looking at over 200 euros a night, so it may be worth looking at this option if you havn't already booked- our flights were booked on the net with Thomsonfly and we pre booked an hire car with Europa @Larnaca airport for the week.

The Beach is lovely with white soft sand and clear blue sea, we always sat in the area reserved for hotel guests, cost of 2 chairs and umbrella 4.20 euros but make sure you say you are hotel guests otherwise you are charged a few euros more. Although our daughter enjoyed the beach she found the sea a little chilly and the sand gets very hot so not kind to walk on. We therefore tended to do beach in the morning and pool in the afternoon, with maybe another hour around 6ish when the temperature had cooled and the sand was ok to walk on, this was a lovely time to be on the beach paddling in the sea with no shoreline walkers to contend with. One thing to mention is you are provided daily with blue towels for use on beach or pool, we didnt realise this and packed beach towels which weigh a tonne.

Our daughter spent most of the week in the baby pool which is about 0.5 metres deep enabling her to walk about with water up to her waist, lots of holidaymakers leave pool toys on the side for all the kids to play with, this enabled our daughter to have hours of fun playing with watering cans,balls etc etc

The main pool is also lovely and surrounded by lots of palm trees giving shade from the hot sun, although there was also plenty of large umbrellas. We would sometimes get to the pool mid afternoon and never had a problem finding sun loungers or umbrellas, the water was refreshing and I think it must be heated because it was never cold even on the couple of cloudy days we had.
I also recommend the pool bar which served drinks and food until 5ish, it was great sitting having a drink after a day at the pool, and our daughter often ate an early tea of hot dog&chips, unfortunately one of the few meals we could get her to eat all week.

Breakfast was served in the main restaurant and this was the usual buffet stuff, lots of choice and very good coffee brought to your table in a coffee pot which served about 4 cups.

We never ate dinner at the hotel prefering to venture out in the evening, can highly recommend The Gardens reastaurant just accross the road, which also as a small play area for young ones, very popular but we never waited for a table, would also highly recommend the mexican just off the square in central Ayia Napa, was last there 10 years ago and it was just as good as I remembered, husband loved the spicy chicken wings and ribs, he was in 'foody heaven' that night made even more special because our 2 year old fell asleep on the 40 minute walk it took us to reach the square enabling us to eat in peace for a couple of hours!!

So all in all a fantastic week in a fantastic hotel, one of the best we''ve stayed in, our only slight gripe would be the music from the wedding parties did tend to go on into late evening-around midnight which from a selfish point of view stopped us sitting outside our room listening to that beautiful sound of sea crushing against the shore, but at the end of the day this was only a very small negative on a great week.

  • Liked — the beautiful grounds and being right on the beach
  • Disliked — late music from wedding parties
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holiaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
2.2 mi away
Alion Beach Hotel
Alion Beach Hotel
#1 of 106 in Ayia Napa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#19 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
1.6 mi away
Napa Plaza Hotel
Napa Plaza Hotel
#5 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort
Olympic Lagoon Resort
#3 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
1.0 mi away
Asterias Beach Hotel
Asterias Beach Hotel
#9 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nissi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nissi Beach Resort

Property: Nissi Beach Resort
Address: Nissi Avenue | PO Box 30010, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ayia Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#5 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nissi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nissi Beach Holiday Resort embraces a unique bay of its own, renowned for its crystal clear turquoise waters and white sandy beach. Nestling within 100.000 sq. metres of lush, tropical gardens, Nissi Beach has earned a reputation as a true holiday paradise throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Nissi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nissi Beach Holiday Hotel Ayia Napa
Nissi Beach Cyprus
Hotel Nissi Beach Holiday
Cyprus Nissi Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing