We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN, ABSOLUTELY SHOCKING!!”
Review of Nelia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nelia Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2010

To be quite honest i really have no idea where to start. I have been going out to cyprus for the past 17 years and have never had a holiday there where i've wanted to come home after the first day! i saw the reviews and thought 'oh its people just having a moan and groan' but was wrong, i have been to many hotels in this area and i have never been so disgusted, and certainly not worth the money we paid out!! The country itself is lovely shame about the hotel though. The one good thing is you could not fault the maid service in any way what so ever! They did not only clean our room daily but even cleared up after us, they would also make an attempt to talk to you if you walked past they were really polite! There was some hotel staff who would make an effort and others who would just not even bother which i thought quite rude! My boyfriend took a walk down to the gym and to be fair it was pretty amazing, The only part of the hotel he actually liked!! The rooms were small with a tiny balcony, the air conditioning in the rooms were very very poor. The swimming pool is tiny. The hotel was also FULL of russians we met a total of 10 english people within the hotel, and i can assure you we are not the only ones who felt we were mugged off for the amount of money this holiday cost us! The russians are rude and arrogant when it comes to the lift you may as well just take the stairs!! They decide not to let any english in the lift and being 23 weeks pregnant i could not physically walk up the flight of stairs as we were on the 3rd floor! (doesn't sound very high BUT believe me there are alot of stairs!) We got trapped in the doors of the lifts because the russians are too impatient for you to leave the lift, i really could not get over how rude they were. The food was disgusting, a english bloke we met whilst staying there had seen flies flying out of a few meat dishes which was very off putting, Myself and two other members from our group were really ill whilst out there from eating food from the hotel restaurant i was seriously disgusted with this hotel and shall definitely not be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kirst18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Nelia Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2010

Staff at Nelia Beach were lovely and are a credit to this hotel, especially Ivan, Andreas, Ehlana and Dermititris. It was just a shame however that the vast majority of guests staying at this hotel were Russian and we were astonished at their rudeness. When waiting in line for food or lifts they would push us out of their way as if we were not there, not say thank you when we held a door open for them or even smile. If you are thinking of staying here and are unable to tollerate rudeness and starring do not go or you could have a very uncomfortable and annoying stay. They seemed to spend their time starring at us as we chatted to the other few English guests who were all lovely. Well apart from the three who stole my clothes from the sunbed as we were at the pool bar. We were dissapointed at how uninterested the management were when told about this. After we mentioned to the girls in question of cctv cameras however, the clothes strangely reappeared the next day. Food was average and included chips, pasta, meat, potatoes, fishfingers and bread. Rooms were clean and comfortable with maid service daily. When a child left excrement at the entrance of the toilets during the evening, we were shocked to discover that it was not cleaned immediately. Instead, paper towels were loosely placed over it. When questioned about this, staff explained that no cleaners were available. Why a member of staff could not have cleaned it immediately amazed us. One guest was even sick at the sight of it on his way to the toilet. On the more positive side, for my friends birthday a bottle of wine and a card was left in our room which was a nice surprise. The all inclusive option for drinks is the only way to go if you like a tipple or two like us as a drink will cost you 5 euros. We must not forget to mention the entertainment which took place a couple of times throughout our week stay, the juggler was awful but the magic show and singers were better. A lovely beach was on the doorstep with cheap sunbeds and parasols. Good nightlife is nearby. A trip on the Black Pearl pirate ship is a great day out and costs 35 euros each. A chicken lunch included, Captain Jack Sparrow will entertain you all the way and a good time will be had by all. This trip begins from the harbour which is a stones throw away from the hotel so that is another bonus. Taking a trip to Nissi Beach on Quad bikes is another fun activity also just down the road at 35 euros each for the day. Just take care not to bump into your friend from behind on them though like I did lol. As for us, we just laughed at the Russians and enjoyed ourselves regardless of their behaviour and made some lovely friends throughout our stay. If you do choose to stay here say hello to Ivan and Ehlana from the mad girlies Tracey and Kate cos they are great !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank puppa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We stayed at the Nelia Beach hotel from the 16th May-26th May all inclusive. We were getting married nearby so there were about 12 of us all together in the hotel.

Rooms were spotless, they were cleaned everyday. We were on the 4th floor and had a great view of the sea. There was a half demolished building in between the hotel and the beach which we could see from our room, but there was never any work going on and it reall didnt bother us as the view of the beach was so nice. Fridges were 4 euro 50 a day to rent so we didnt bother, but some of our party did. We did pay 17 euro for the ten days for the safe, and had to pay a ten euro deposit. Balcony was small-ish but still had a table and two chairs on so were usable.

Food was lovely. Every day has a different theme- Cyprus night, mediterranean night, Italian night etc and there was plenty to choose from. Entertainment wasnt too bad, one night we had greek dancers, another night we had a singer and another we had a magic show.

The pool is small but the pool area was lovely, with a pool bar and pool table and plenty of sun loungers.

The staff were all great. All spoke english well and were very friendly and helpful. We had a bottle of champagne and sweets in our room the night of our wedding which we thought was nice.

There is also a small gym room with a sauna and a laundry/ironing room which all seemed ok.

Liminaki beach is literally two minutes away. Im not much of a beach person but we spent almost everyday at this beach. It was the nicest, cleanest beach I have ever been to and the sea was amazing. Sun loungers cost about 2 euro each plus 2 euro for an umbrella. We were given a discount voucher from the hotel which saved you about 2 euro. The harbour is also lovely. We happened to be there when they had the annual Flood festival, with lots of live music and shows going on. Lots of boat trips available too.

All in all we had a great holiday and would definitely go back to the Nelia Beach. We honestly couldnt find anything negative (apart from a small pool but that didnt bother us personally) so didnt understand some of the harsh reviews we had seen. We couldnt believe it was only a 3 star hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We stayed at the Nelia hotel on the 15th of May for a week half board. The staff was friendly. The room we had was on like the bottom floor. We had a rubbish view of the bins & the next hotel. The room was clean and big enough. Air con was very good.
The breakfast was good sometimes warm not hot but was good. The food at night was alright there was something to eat. I found sometimes when you went for your meal at 7.30pm ish there was hardly any tables left as the entertainment was on so people sat at there tables not eating. So that was a bit annoying.
The entertainment was rubbish, glad I wasn’t all inclusive as we would have been very bored at staying in.
The pool area was nice, we always got a sunbed. There wasn’t many English in the hotel mainly Russian.
To hire the safe I think it was 1euro 70 per day the a 10 Euro deposit. The fridge was 4 euros 50 per day. A rip off, we didn’t bother. Internet was 3 euros 50 for half an hour a rip off. We used a pub called the Tommy’s bar and it was 1 Euro for half an hour, or 1 Euro 50 for an hour.
The hotel was alright. We enjoyed it overall. Had a good time.
I would say it is a minute walk to the beach. Also about a 10 minute walk to the Square or less. There was a good karaoke bar down the road from the hotel called the Sea Horse. That was good. All in all the hotel was good, we enjoyed ourselves but wouldn’t go back as we like to go to different places. Don’t worry its fine.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The3M's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

rooms were immacualte although looked a bit dated. excellent location 1 min walk to the beach and 10 mins to all the square nightlife, although good family bars within a 5 min walk. most of the guests were russian and german who never smiled or spoke to you, but that didnt stop us having a good holiday. staff were all friendly and spoke good english. food was good and im a fussy eater. a downside was having to pay 4.40euro per day for the use of the fridge which is scandless.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooper55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

SORRY can I just start by asking if the people who have given this hotel a brilliant review actually stayed at the same Hotel as my friend and I ???

Arrived at this hotel at 2.30pm ready to check into the twin room that was booked. We were told that out room was ready and was 405. When we arrived at the room the cleaning staff were still moping the floor. The room was clearly a double room with a double bed and a single bed that had just been placed up against the wall. It was a very small room anyway but there was so much furniture in there it resembled something of a storage cupboard for old furniture.

When we went back down to reception we were told that they didn't realise that it was two girls sharing and that we didn't book a twin room. We showed our booking which clearly stated a twin room. The receptionist said that she didn't have a twin room, so we called our holiday rep, who was as much use as an ashtray on a motorbike (will never book with Monarch again). We asked them to move us to another hotel but was advised that we would have to pay 750 Euros. The hotel then said that they would have a twin room at 7pm which meant waiting a further 4 hours which is not much fun when you have been travelling since 2am. At 7pm we checked into our room to find it hadn't been cleaned, had someone else's hair and shower gel all over the bathroom. One of the beds were broken and had a spring poking through the mattress and the window had two gaps either side that wasn't connected in anyway to the wall. When we rang down we were told that the bed would not be sorted out but eventually they did send someone to change it. They also, apparently fixed the window the next day but it still had about 2.5 inch gap on the side....good job it was the height of season other the bugs would have had a field day.

What can I say about the beds.....The Flintstones spring to mind, just like sleeping on a slab of cement.

As for the staff, most of them are from anywhere but Cyprus and very rude and unhelpful. If you are Russian or German you will fit in well at this hotel. We even had the staff asking us questions in Russian.

Even the TV only had 1 English channel and that was the BBC News and it also sounded like the speakers had blown even with the volume turned down low.....oh and no remote control.

We went all inclusive but when ever we asked for anything, we were met with a look of disgust and told "that not included". The food was so very poor that my friend and I paid to eat out every night. This holiday turned out to be very expensive.

If you have children and take notice of the advert that it has a childs pool, take warning that this is untrue. The pool is small anyway and has a very tiny part of it barred off at the end and is approx 5 foot wide, a child with an inflatable would not even fit in there.

I am very well travelled and have standards. Maybe my standards are different to others who gave this hotel a great rating.

The rating for this hotel is a 3 star plus but I think is it only worthy of 1.5 star.

The hotel is old, tired and filthy, food boring with no variety and staff unpleasant and rude.

Would not recommend to anyone who wants an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChampagneLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

once again nelia beach was a brilliant place to stay,,,staff very friendly,,hotel clean and comfortable maid service everyday and done an excellent job, there was eleven of us in a group for my husbands 50th birthday and we had a fantastic time the staff made us feel very welcome and even gave birthday card and present ,,also arranged cake and wine for me on the evening of the party,,i cannot fault this hotel for location ,,food,,and friendliness,,missing it allready,,,,,,

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.1 mi away
Nestor Hotel
Nestor Hotel
#9 of 103 in Ayia Napa
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Faros Hotel
Faros Hotel
#5 of 103 in Ayia Napa
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grecian Bay Hotel
Grecian Bay Hotel
#18 of 103 in Ayia Napa
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Okeanos Beach Hotel
Okeanos Beach Hotel
#23 of 103 in Ayia Napa
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grecian Sands Hotel
Grecian Sands Hotel
#13 of 103 in Ayia Napa
700 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelia Beach Hotel

Address: 1st October 27, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ayia Napa
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
#21 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range: £93 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nelia Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelia Beach Hotel is situated in one of the best locations in the resort of Ayia Napa, next to the Mediterranean crystal sandy beach and just an eye blink away from the town centre. The hotel has 123 well appointed, tastefully designed and furnished rooms with a bathrooms and spacious balconies, flat screen TV, private telephone, hairdryer, safe deposit box and a fridge. You can enjoy a variety of a la carte meals and local delicacies in our dining room or outdoors on the terrace. Nelia Beach Hotel incorporates an extensive range of leisure facilities such as an outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, table tennis and a pool table. There is also a regular entertainment program including theme nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nelia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelia Beach Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing