We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,206)
Filter reviews
3,206 results
Traveller rating
2,370
592
168
40
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,370
592
168
40
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews american diner captains deck lazy river fisherman's village japanese restaurant main restaurant teenz club teens club entertainment team rock and roll diner family junior suite pirate ship next year superior bungalow pool bar private garden adult only pool
Filter
Updating list...
2,790 - 2,795 of 3,206 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2011

we stayed in the recetnly built FIshermans Village part of this hotel which is adults only. the rooms are lovely as is the setting however there are a few things tha need addressing.
1) there are signs that say for Fishermans Village residents only however they may as well not be there as people wonder in and out all day (and worryingly at night). There was talk of some kind of gates being put in place but access from the rear of the village should alo be addressed.
2) A lot of the rooms are allocated to couples who have recently been or are about to be married - unfortuneatley their rooms become a gathering place for their guests who are staying in other parts of the hotel, and these include children who then use the pool.
3) becuase the Fishermans village is situated very close to the resteraunt the 'wedding' guests (and others) take food out of the resterarunt into the village. these plates and leftover food are then left outside the rooms for the rest of the day sometimes longer which is both unsightly and unhealthy.
3) it is a long trek to the pool bar for drinks - perhaps a regular waiter service or small bar could be introduced to this area.
4) whilst we were there the adults only area of the restaraunt was anything but, however they were trying to address this and beofre we left it appeared that for the evening meal it was adults only. however at breakfast and lunch there were still families seated there both by the hosteses and by walking in themselves without wating to be seated (including from the FIshermans VIllage end) another problem was that some children and adults had clearly come straight form the pool and were wet with set towels around them therefore making the seats damp/wet for the next diners - not very good.
5) at the entry into the resteraunt it clearly requests that gentlemen must wear long treousers in the evening - I think we could count on one hand the number of men who adhered to this - I am not talking about wearing smart 3/4 trousers but those who appeared in beach type shorts.

However overall this was a fantastic holiday the gardens of the hotel are one of the best we have ever seen (including many 5* hotels we have stayed) the lazy river is excellent. the staff are amazingly helpful and friendly, the reception staff are great particularly the head receptionist Eleni, the porters are extremly obliging and freindly and the guest relations manager Ele is exceptionally friendly and helpful and a fahion icon every day !!!

I am sure that most of things referred to above will be addressed as the season progresses after all if it is a new part of the complex and will take time to iron out the teething problems.
Dont be put off by this (or any other reveiw) you will have a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jewdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olympicpr, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2011

It was such a pleasure welcoming you to Olympic Lagoon resort in June and we thank you kindly for providing us with constructive feedback. We are extremely pleased that you have had an enjoyable stay overall and once again thank you for bringing to our attention your concerns in regards to Fisherman’s Village.
It gives us great pleasure in advising you that most of your concerns have been already rectified and our guests at Fisherman’s Village are now enjoying their privacy, along with butler service, offering cold towels twice a day, sweets and fruit as well. In addition a waiter pays Fisherman’s Village frequent visits taking orders for drinks and refreshments. We wish to re-assure you that, on your next visit you will be even more surprised with the level of customer service, warmth and attention, we so proudly offer to all Olympic Lagoon Resort guests.
We do look forward to seeing you both real soon ….

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Before we went we read all the reviews on here and became worried......don't listen to them, we had one of our best holidays.
Service was great, everyone was very friendly and couldn't do more for you. The food was lovely and varied, a different theme every evening in the main restaurant. The Japanese restaurant served some of the best food I have ever tasted!!!
Pools were clean and varied, the lazy river is amazing and a great time waster in the beautiful sun.
There were a few weddings while we were there but not once did they intrude on our holiday or make us feel uneasy at any time.
This is definitely a 4 star hotel and would have no hesitation in rebooking again!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Upon arriving at the hotel we were warmly greeted by staff and check in was a a breeze.
The hotel was renovated earlier in the year so the rooms were clean and cosy.
This hotel is an all inclusive one so there was breakfast , lunch and dinner and drinks going all day and night and in between. There were 7 pools to choose from and fun and entertainment provided all day and night. The Elvis Presley show on a Sunday night is a must see. Can I say its a popular resort for weddings too. They average 15 a week.
I liked the free flowing cocktails, great restaurants and ambience of the resort. I guess a negative would be if you want to go to the beach you have to walk or drive there. But with 7 pools who wants the beach? Guest relations manager Elie was a sweetie and very helpful!!

Room Tip: I thought all rooms are great. Rooms facing the pool can be a little noisy at night because of the night entertainment. That stops at midni.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We were in total a family of 32 who went for a Wedding. The hotel staff were very friendly. The food was excellent - great choices. We had a junior suite which we can recommend. The complex was clean.
The children enjoyed the kids club.
There was plenty to do for everyone.
There was a issue with some top steps being too steep. This we took up with the management and they said they would look into it. It was very easy to walk through the hedge to go to the supermarket so yes security does need looking at.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Junior Suite
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarcaGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We booked this holiday to celebrate my 30th Birthday and booked the adults only hotel (beach).
We weren’t aware until we arrived at the airport that our accommodation had been changed.
The holiday rep advised us that we weren’t going to be staying in the adult only hotel we have been put in to the family hotel.
Upon receiving this information we weren’t looking forward to our holiday. However we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived.
We were the 1st guests to arrive this year as the hotel had only opened that week after a complete renovation.
When checking into the hotel we found out that the adult hotel wasn't completed and we were the only quests booked in that week
The hotel had upgraded our room to a private bungalow with pool and to be honest, I’m glad the adult only hotel wasn't finished; this was a lot better and more private.

Whilst we were there, the hotel was completing the finishing touches; the lazy river opened a couple of days into our holiday as well as some of the other restaurants. We were only there for 1 week and managed to try all the facilities, even the spa.

All the staff was very friendly and approachable, the service was excellent. However in the main restaurant the busier it got the service started to drop. But I put this down to being a teething problem due to being the 1st week.

Would I come back again? I certainly would.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happysooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews