We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,203)
Filter reviews
3,203 results
Traveller rating
2,367
592
168
40
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,367
592
168
40
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews american diner captains deck lazy river japanese restaurant fisherman's village main restaurant teens club entertainment team teenz club rock and roll diner family junior suite pirate ship next year superior bungalow pool bar adult only pool private garden
Filter
Updating list...
2,784 - 2,789 of 3,203 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Having stayed at the Olympic Lagoon 2 years ago we were really looking forward to going back this year and we were certainly not disappointed. The refurb is fantastic and the new Adults Fisherman's village and Lazy River are a huge asset to the hotel. The rooms have been redecorated and the standard of service has improved greatly.The food was varied and we we enjoyed every meal - so much to choose from>
The only issue we had was that Thomas Cook charge adult prices from the age of 12 - We have two teenagers ( 15 and almost 18) and after 4 days of using both we were informed that they are not allowed to use the Adult Pool or go to the Adult Bar as they were under 18 - Whilst we appreciate that the hotel have rules regarding under age drinking we felt that this was something that needed to be looked into and having spoken to Nikki the Thomas Cook rep (who instead of dealing with the issue just added fuel to the fire with her rude and aggresive attitude) we then spoke to Ele and Mr Zouvani - who both agreed that our Daughters would be permitted to use the pool facility as they were not offending anyone and were just relaxing- (this issue was something that they would take up with Thomas Cook )
Overall this Hotel is fantastic and we definately recommend it (and will be returning!!)
Ele (Customer Relations) is an absolute credit to this hotel and if you have any problems however small she will deal with them immediatly.
To anyone thinking that if you stay in the Fishermans village you will not encounter any Children throughout your stay - just bear in mind that if you want a completely "Adult Only" Holiday this hotel is a family hotel and it is only the Fishermans Village that is Adults only.

Room Tip: The Main Hotel rooms are extremely clean and a very high standard
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diamond_lilEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olympicpr, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

It is always gratifying receiving praises for our Team, Services and Facilities. Your kind comments are appreciated by Olympic Lagoon Resort’s Management and staff. We are so proud of what we have achieved so far and given the reassurance by our repeat guests, it only gives us the desire to exceed your every expectation. Thank you so much !

We look forward to keeping in touch and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Olympic Lagoon Resort in the near future! We assure you of our attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This hotel is set on its own a long way from any other hotels so be prepared to do a lot of walking, we found that the rooms were quite nice on the whole, the problem we had was that we had the neighbours from hell and when we complained about the noise the hotel receptionist was not bothered at all, then we found out other guests had put complaints in and they still did nothing about it.
The bar staff were very nice and welcoming and the pool and grounds are lovely, the worst bit of this hotel for me was the food i found that the selection was not very good and the food was quite bland, i am not a fussy eater but took my family out most nights as no one was overjoyed at another night in the hotel restaurant.
I can honestly say i will go back to cyprus but will not go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank badleg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olympicpr, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2011

Thank you for your comments further to your visit in October 2010. It was a pleasure welcoming you at Olympic Lagoon Resort, although we deeply regret that you did not enjoy your stay.
Nevertheless, your comments are important to us and it gives us great pleasure in having the chance to announce to you that, after spending €13 million refurbishing the Resort, we open the doors on May 1’2011 to an amazing complex with upgraded facilities, service with attention to guests satisfaction and of course the food quality, is now of very high standards. Our new Executive Chef has the finger on the pulse and I assure you that the comments received from our guests, about the quality of food, are second to none.

The resort indeed is located in the outskirts of Ayia Napa and our guests enjoy its quiet, hide-away feel. As the Resort is an all-inclusive with a variety of activities and entertainment throughout the day and night, our guests are happy to stay around and enjoy the relaxed feel we so proudly offer. By saying this, should guests wish to visit Ayia Napa, is a 5 minute bus ride and the fare only €2.

We do hope that, you will give us a second opportunity to welcome you back to our newly revamped Resort and the possibility to look after you in “The New Olympic Lagoon way”.

We very much look forward to seeing you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We have not been on holiday for 4 years so wanted to book something special and boy was it that and so much more! We traveled with our children a boy aged 6 and a girl 4 and I am not sure where to start. As a paranoid parent I always believed I would never use a holiday kids club however this one was more of a nursery, the staff are fully qualified in the UK and the unit is fully secure with parents unable to stay with children and only being allowed in via a locked entry system. Pagers are available by way of deposit which allows you to be contacted should they need you. The staff were fabulous especially Jo Sami and Helena, the first thing out of their mouths in a morning was "CAN WE GO TO KIDS CLUB!!" This allowed my husband and I to enjoy some adult time in the adult pool knowing our kids were safe and gave them a break from the sun. The other big attraction for us was the entertainments team, if the kids are happy then so are we! My little boy was very taken with a number of the girls by the end of the holiday it was so lovely to see. The kids disco was great and the kids even went into kids club a few evenings to watch a film from 9 - 11pm (they watched UP, Toy Story & Tangled to name a few) allowing us to enjoy the wonderful shows, which by the way were excellent and varied. A massive thank you especially to Jo, Sami & Helena in kids club then Stacey, Danielle, Holly, Larnaca, Molly, Justine, Sasha and Kylie in the entertainment team for making our holiday so special. As for everything else it was just as awsome as everyone else puts on trip advisor from the rooms to the service to the food could not fault anything in any way even Nikki the rep surpassed expectations in every way and was always available. Needless to say can't wait to return next year. Sorry to rattle on but Ihad to let people know about kids club and entertainment as I had not read too much about this prior to our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GAZANDMAGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olympicpr, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. It is always a pleasure to read that our Team was able to create an enjoyable stay for you and your family. Olympic Lagoon Resort's staff friendliness and warmth are an integral component of our guests’ experience. It is very encouraging to read that we have met your expectations and you have thoroughly enjoyed your holiday.
The Management and Team of Olympic Lagoon Resort are extending a sincere “Thank you” for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

we stayed in the recetnly built FIshermans Village part of this hotel which is adults only. the rooms are lovely as is the setting however there are a few things tha need addressing.
1) there are signs that say for Fishermans Village residents only however they may as well not be there as people wonder in and out all day (and worryingly at night). There was talk of some kind of gates being put in place but access from the rear of the village should alo be addressed.
2) A lot of the rooms are allocated to couples who have recently been or are about to be married - unfortuneatley their rooms become a gathering place for their guests who are staying in other parts of the hotel, and these include children who then use the pool.
3) becuase the Fishermans village is situated very close to the resteraunt the 'wedding' guests (and others) take food out of the resterarunt into the village. these plates and leftover food are then left outside the rooms for the rest of the day sometimes longer which is both unsightly and unhealthy.
3) it is a long trek to the pool bar for drinks - perhaps a regular waiter service or small bar could be introduced to this area.
4) whilst we were there the adults only area of the restaraunt was anything but, however they were trying to address this and beofre we left it appeared that for the evening meal it was adults only. however at breakfast and lunch there were still families seated there both by the hosteses and by walking in themselves without wating to be seated (including from the FIshermans VIllage end) another problem was that some children and adults had clearly come straight form the pool and were wet with set towels around them therefore making the seats damp/wet for the next diners - not very good.
5) at the entry into the resteraunt it clearly requests that gentlemen must wear long treousers in the evening - I think we could count on one hand the number of men who adhered to this - I am not talking about wearing smart 3/4 trousers but those who appeared in beach type shorts.

However overall this was a fantastic holiday the gardens of the hotel are one of the best we have ever seen (including many 5* hotels we have stayed) the lazy river is excellent. the staff are amazingly helpful and friendly, the reception staff are great particularly the head receptionist Eleni, the porters are extremly obliging and freindly and the guest relations manager Ele is exceptionally friendly and helpful and a fahion icon every day !!!

I am sure that most of things referred to above will be addressed as the season progresses after all if it is a new part of the complex and will take time to iron out the teething problems.
Dont be put off by this (or any other reveiw) you will have a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jewdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olympicpr, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2011

It was such a pleasure welcoming you to Olympic Lagoon resort in June and we thank you kindly for providing us with constructive feedback. We are extremely pleased that you have had an enjoyable stay overall and once again thank you for bringing to our attention your concerns in regards to Fisherman’s Village.
It gives us great pleasure in advising you that most of your concerns have been already rectified and our guests at Fisherman’s Village are now enjoying their privacy, along with butler service, offering cold towels twice a day, sweets and fruit as well. In addition a waiter pays Fisherman’s Village frequent visits taking orders for drinks and refreshments. We wish to re-assure you that, on your next visit you will be even more surprised with the level of customer service, warmth and attention, we so proudly offer to all Olympic Lagoon Resort guests.
We do look forward to seeing you both real soon ….

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Before we went we read all the reviews on here and became worried......don't listen to them, we had one of our best holidays.
Service was great, everyone was very friendly and couldn't do more for you. The food was lovely and varied, a different theme every evening in the main restaurant. The Japanese restaurant served some of the best food I have ever tasted!!!
Pools were clean and varied, the lazy river is amazing and a great time waster in the beautiful sun.
There were a few weddings while we were there but not once did they intrude on our holiday or make us feel uneasy at any time.
This is definitely a 4 star hotel and would have no hesitation in rebooking again!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews