We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,179)
Filter reviews
1,179 results
Traveller rating
687
323
125
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
687
323
125
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamannex buildingwater polonissi beachpool barnext yeardiving schoolsandy baybar staffkiller poolgreat holidaycarvery nightplenty of choicethe main hotelthomas cookevening entertainmentbunk beds
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 1,179 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Our review of the Pavlo Napa hotel Nissi Bay, Cyprus, booked through Thomas Cook.
We booked through Thomas Cook as they remain competitive on price although booking was not straight forward as I needed 4 rooms and can only book 3 with the online system. Spoke to booking dept and all sorted after a few minor hiccups due to price changes and being unable to book initially.
Departed on time but unfortunately the return journey was delayed meaning we were back much later than expected. Thats now 6 out of 8 flights with them which have been delayed!
We arrived on 8th October and enjoyed glorious weather though-out our stay with temperatures in the high 20s possibly even low 30s a couple of days and we all have the tan, to prove it.
The hotel gets far more right…..than it gets wrong, but as always there is room for improvement.
After a transfer of around an hour check-in was efficient and we were soon putting our cases in our rooms. As it was late when we arrived we headed straight to the bar for drinks due to the time we had been travelling. We were left a sandwich and cake as had missed the evening meal times, due to late arrival and after a few drinks these were very welcomed!
I had previously e-mailed the hotel and requested flowers in our room, due to it being our 30th wedding anniversary, while we were away, as well has having all our rooms near to each other. This was all accommodated and all was to our satisfaction. Brownie points gained for me!!
One of our rooms had an extended balcony which was allocated to us. I think it being our wedding anniversary helped with this. The rooms were smaller than we had previously had in other Hotels but perfectly adequate for our stay. Room TIP: If staying in the main block the rooms with even numbers have sun in the morning and with odd numbers, the sun in the evening. The room had “UK” power points as well as double USB sockets very useful for all our gadgets. Hair dryer and enough storage for all our items and we had a few!! Rooms have air conditioning very welcomed! Room was cleaned every day to a good standard so a big thank you to all the cleaning staff at the hotel. No issues with the rooms.
As a party of 7, I was NOT expecting us ALL to either find the food we liked or even enjoy all that was on offer but, I can assure you we all did and at ALL meal times! Plenty of choice for all our tastes and needs and we did not go hungry. We did eat out on our anniversary but that was the only time as the food was very good with plenty of choice. Big thank you to all the kitchen and waiting staff who looked after us so well all week. No complaints on the food.
Pool bar was where we spent most of our time during the day and they have plenty of drink choices available including Locally produced sprits wines and beer and a few all-in cocktails which were all of adequate quality. Nice friendly and polite staff serving us all day with waiter service in the evenings while we enjoyed the evening entertainment. The only issue I have with the servers was the drinks were a little too strong for our liking but this was corrected by asking for “weak one” and they soon got to know how we liked it. A big thank you for keeping us topped up ALL day!
Plenty of sun loungers around the pool and we always had 7 together although sometimes a little tight for space, they again were adequate for our needs. The covers on them could really do with a good clean though and the only other complaint would be the water temperature…its Bloody cold! As the hotel is right on the beach there is a warm sea awaiting those that like it a little warmer. It is in a lovely, popular little cove and safe for snorkelling and swimming, a great little beach.

My final shout out goes to the entertainment team who performed a variety of shows throughout our week, as well as providing day time games to prevent us getting bored! I am not normally one for these type of shows but they had me coming back night after night as they were so much fun to watch, and get involved in, if that’s what you want. Penny was an absolute diamond as was JP and Philip and who could forget Polly the team manager. They worked tirelessly all week to keep us entertained and they did it well, so a big than you to them, from all of us they really made our holiday and ALL gave 100% for OUR enjoyment.
Final thoughts:
There is room for improvement though, this is the only hotel we have been to, in recent years, that does not offer a “Prosecco or Cava” type drink. The MOST popular drink currently! A few nibbles like peanuts/crisps when having our evening drinks, although probably not needed in my case, they would have been welcomed, I may of course just be being greedy with that one . The pool really does need some form of heating as it was not being used to its full potential, due to it being so cold!
If you are reading this review and thinking about going then my advice…BOOK IT you will not be disappointed we, as a group of 7 were not!

Oh and I do know its……… Mollie X X

Room Tip: Rooms in the main block with Odd number get sun in the mornning and even numbers sun in the evening
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank alansandra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Just back from a week's stay and I couldn't be happier with the service and facilities while we were there. The restaurant and food were great and the staff were super friendly and efficient. The bars and the staff on them were also great. The room facilities were superb and it was made extra special with out little gifts! Only thing I wasn't keen on was the thomas cook animation team who appeared to only provide adult entertainment as there never seemed to be much for kids compared to 2 years ago when the animation team was part of the hotel. Overall a brilliant holiday and we will be looking to come back very soon!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank karen6288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Myself and my Wife stayed for a week all inclusive. Flying into Larnaca airport, we passed through to the waiting bus no problems at all. However, the return trip was less palatable as the airport was rammed and the queues for security were horrendous. Now, the hotel itself is set right on the beach which gently slopes down so is suitable for kids, but try to keep away from the right hand side as there are some rocks there which could break your ankle if you don't watch where you are going. You can easily walk from the hotel pool to the sea in 30 seconds, and I found the sea to be warmer than the hotel pool (maybe its my imagination?). The hotel is low rise and is set so that the end of the building overlooks the pool so that all the other rooms face either the road on one side, or the beach on the other side.

The room we had was a standard double and was comfortable and clean with a small balcony. The bathroom was a little dated but the cleaners gave it the once over each morning and provided fresh towels daily. There are shower gel/shampoo bottles provided too.

The pool is large but a tad cold and is surrounded by plenty of sun loungers which have a thick mattress type of base on them, meaning they are really comfortable compared to the usual back breaker flimsy ones you generally get. The parasols are bolted to the ground so you can't move them. I always lie in the shade and the wife has full sun, so I appreciate being able to move the parasol, but was unable to here. No problem though, there were plenty of free beds so we just moved half way through the day - problem solved!

The food was absolutely great and targeted at the Brits. Roast beef, gravy, lamb chops, you had the lot! Even the lunchtime food served at the seating area next to the pool bar were great. The waiting staff were brilliant!

In relation to the drinks on offer, the local wine and beer were great, but when we normally travel we always upgrade to branded spirits. At this hotel, if you want branded drinks you have to pay for them individually, whereas other places we've visited you can pay say, £16 Euros per day, per couple for branded drinks. So at Pavlo Napa, if you want a branded gin, you would have to pay £5 Euros per drink. In the end, we went to the excellent supermarket over the road and purchased a bottle of Blue Saphire for £16 euros and used it to top up the drinks from the bar. It also came in handy for a late night drink on the balcony as there is a good fridge in the room. My only other criticism of the drinks is that beer is served in half pint 'knobly' glasses, meaning regular top ups as they don't do pint size glasses.

The bar staff are fantastic and cannot do enough for you. Even with a packed audience for the evening entertainment, the staff ran around and ensured you were topped up regularly. I don't know how they did it - thanks!

The other staff at the hotel were also great, and I think this is the first hotel i've been to where even the cleaner was very chatty! You can't fault them.

The entertainment team were superb, providing daytime fun with some background music by the pool, to swim fitness, pool table, darts, quizzes and much more. During the evening, they put on some great shows and were so helpful and friendly to everyone. Mollie and Penny circulated around guests table to table and got to know everyone and answered any queries you might have. The two men on the team, JP and Phil were really funny and kept really busy making sure your stay was the best it could be.

I would definitely return to this hotel as it was a very good experience.

Room Tip: Only 8 rooms overlook the pool, so ask for one of those.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LRZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This is a very nice older style hotel. It is well looked after rooms are comfortable and clean. food was good with good choice but the thing that makes this hotel is the staff they are so friendly and cannot do enough for you from the cleaner to bar and restaurant staff to reception and maintenance who fixed my glasses could not praise them enough. now not so good was told by Thomas cook that this hotel was suitable for people with mobility problems and it is not the toilets by pool/entertainment and outside restaurant is down a long flight of very steep stairs it needs a disabled toilet on ground level. the toilet in the main block is in the basement that you access by lift but does not feel comfortable to isolated to use by yourself again needs a ground floor disabled toilet .also lifts are too small if you are using a scooter or wheelchair. Scooters were allowed to be kept and charged in the conference room but you had to be able to walk to lift and then your room. Entertainment at this hotel was supplied by a Thomas cook team that worked very hard they ran all daytime activities which were good but they also did all evening entertainment as well so you had the same very nice people all day and night every day apart from sunday which was their day off (when you got nothing) for the full two weeks that we were there, as good as they were a bit more variety is needed as not everyone wants to go else ware especially when all inclusive the Hotel next door Tasia Maris had much better entertainment with different acts every night and a game of bingo and we used this quite a lot even thought we had to pay for drinks we would consider staying there purely for the entertainment if we go back to Cyprus. good friendly hotel with a few changes could be great

Room Tip: rooms on level one have a very big balcony with 2 sunloungers as well as a table and chairs
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank frank q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Well back to pavlo Napa hotel once again it gets better and better each year food fantastic and entertainment was the best there had in the last few years . They work hard all day and night to entertain you . Well done pavlo Napa we will see you next year .

Room Tip: Higher floor
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Allison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews