We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (778)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveller rating
466
221
63
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
221
63
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewburger barwedding plannercake cuttingnext yearthe hotel managercentre of ayia napalovely hotelsister hotelcyprus nighthoneymoon suiteindoor poolroom was spotlesshotel is situatednight lifemin walkplenty of choice
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 778 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Amazing hotel very well kept immaculate inside and out gardens also very pretty
And we'll maintained by staff the rooms are very luxurious and very clean never fails in any way to give you the best stay as all the staff are very happy and tend to any of yours needs to the full potential been here 5 years now also my nan and grandad have been 32 years running have many friends of the hotel and so many memories looking forward to coming again next year see you all next year from simon Joan and Phil thanks Arann and George and all the team that make this hotel the best on the island of beautiful Cyprus

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Picture Perfect!

We chose Grecian Sands Hotel for our family holiday and wedding in August 2017.

We arrived late in the evening at the resort but checked in very quickly and were taken to our room promptly. We had a lovely, spacious, air-conditioned family suite (057 on the same floor as the reception). We were greeted with a sandwich each, a bottle of red wine and fresh fruit. The room has a large corner balcony overlooking the pool and sea and the carpark to the right. We went to the bar but unfortunately, the all-inclusive offer (or premium plan as they call it) had finished at 11pm so they honoured our first drinks but then had to pay thereafter.

Throughout our holiday, we enjoyed a buffet breakfasts daily, sitting outside with a view of the beach, sea and Ayia Napa in the distant. For lunch, we also sat in the same outside dining area. We could chose to order food from the All-inclusive menu or help ourselves from the grill bar buffet. You also have the choice to have food and drinks ordered to your sun bed by the pool by pressing the button on the parasol.

All the aspects of the hotel that you see in the photos are of exactly what you get but better because it is in 4D! The hotel is quite small and friendly but there were always plenty of places to sit depending on if you wanted sun, shade or air conditioning.

For evening meals, you have a choice of eating at the buffet in the Ithaka Restaurant in the hotel or one of the four restaurants available across the three Grecian Hotels. There is a machine in the foyer where you can book for the other restaurants but we found the spaces and times were quite limited so just went with what was available but soon found that if you spoke direct to reception they were able to help and book to suit. Across the 2 weeks, we dined at:

Grecian Sands Hotel:
Saturdays Cocktail Reception, BBQ & Cyprus Night - the location, food and entertainment was great – be prepared to get up and dance.
Tuesdays International Buffet with Musicians & Magician on the night we attended – again be prepared to take part but it is all good fun!
The evening Ithaka Restaurant is an indoor buffet overlooking the sea. Men must wear long trousers to dine here which seems a bit silly when ripped jeans and women wearing short skirts are allowed but men wearing smart shorts aren’t – we think this needs to be reviewed.
The AMAZING Roof Burger Bar, with a truly beautiful sunset view across Ayia Napa town and beaches, lovely staff, stunning décor and tasty food to match! We dined there for both my son’s birthday, which they provided a complimentary cake for 17 of us and booked again for my Dad’s birthday for 10 of us.

Grecian Park Hotel, transfers were included:
Raviolis Italian Restaurant twice - a beautiful standalone restaurant opposite the hotel, Raviolis was a lovely restaurant with attentive staff and delicious food.
UMI Japanese Restaurant - we were told that it had amazing views but it was breath taking - you have to see it to believe it! Again, the staff were very attentive staff and food was a taste sensation!

Grecian Bay Hotel, a short walk away by either road or beach from Grecian Sands:
The Fisherman’s Hut - set in an idyllic spot next to the beach, as with all the restaurants, the staff and food were outstanding and the chef was very welcoming.

As with all four of the restaurants, ask for the All-Inclusive menu to choose a starter, main, desert and drinks at no extra cost. Men are allowed to wear shorts at all these restaurants. We booked the early 6-6.30pm slots to enjoy the views, sunsets and found these were quieter times to enjoy the evening.

Otherwise around the hotel, my husband and parents enjoyed using the gym, the kids played in the play area occasionally but preferred being in the pool, as did all of us - it was lovely and I took part in an introduction to Scuba Diving in the pool. We also went jet skiing at the beach by the hotel and we hired a PGO Buggy, through the hotel from Rainbow rentals, giving us 24 hours to go sighting seeing. The Lovers Bridge and the Sculpture Park are both definitely worth a visit and only a few minute walk from the hotel.

Our Wedding was AMAZING!!!

When we arrived at the hotel on the Wednesday, we received a letter to arrange to meet Karen from Olympic Weddings on the Friday. She was fully prepared with details of everything we may need. She put me in touch with Jenny from Bliss Beauty to do my nails, we decided to book the ‘Cyprus Love Wedding Bus’ as a surprise for our guests, she went through all our paperwork and had arranged our meeting at the town hall for the Monday. We also met Anna, the events co-ordinator at Grecian Sands Hotel and within the hour we had decided on our cake, decoration, venues, timings, food and drink and had a tour round the different venues – now that’s how to plan a wedding! We were back by the pool for lunch before we knew it.

On the wedding day, the groom and guests met for drinks in the Ulysses Bar before making their way to the Sea View Deck. The venues aren’t too far away from the main hotel areas so you do have other guests having a nose but they don’t encroach. The ceremony was only about 20 minutes long. We had some group photos taken and went back to Ulysses Bar for the cake cutting. We had some more photos taken at the chapel in the grounds and group shots on the seating area opposite reception. This was timed perfectly so everyone was outside when our big, red, open-top wedding bus arrived. We chose to go to the chapel at Cape Greco which was stunning. We had a champagne reception whilst more photos were taken and we had time to spend our guests before we set back to the hotel for our wedding breakfast. We had chosen our food before we travelled – a mixture of the Cyprus and BBQ buffet. The food was beautiful and the view of the sea was just magical. Anna also informed us that we could use the honeymoon suite (Sunset Suite) that evening, bonus! We booked the Poseidon Suite for our party and DJ, located right next to the Pavilion so not far to walk. The bar staff were great and the DJ kept the tunes flowing until the early hours. For the drinks, we decided not to put wine on the tables but gift our guests some euros to buy the drinks of their own choice. Internal guests could put all there drinks onto their room and pay the next day whilst the external guest had a tab during the meal that had to be paid for as they left for the party and then pay cash for the rest of the evening. We did provide water and juice of on the tables, prosecco for the toast and choice of a vodka and non-alcoholic cocktail punch for the cake-cutting service.

The honeymoon suite was lovely with petals leading us from the front door to the bed, past a large bathroom with Jacuzzi bath, and a walk in wardrobe. We woke up to the most superb view from the 5th floor across the beach and Ayia Napa. Breakfast was delivered to our bed at 9am as we had requested with a great choice of everything we could have wanted.

As part of wedding package, Anna also offered us a candle lit dinner. We had a choice of food and drink and requested it for the Friday night. A table for two was set up in the very spot we got married on the Sea View Deck thanks to the maître d.

I wish I knew the name of the waitress who served us as she was lovely along with many more of the staff we got to know during our stay. The towel lady, the staff at breakfast and lunch, the receptionists, the bar staff, the restaurant staff, the restaurant drivers, those who worked our wedding and the cleaners all made our stay the best! Anna was so friendly, very approachable and professional. She made our wedding run so smoothly and made it exactly what we wanted.

As much as I cannot recommend Grecian Sands Hotel enough, one of the best features was that we were only one of four weddings across the two weeks. I hope that Grecian Sands continues to be successful with weddings but keeps the feeling of exclusivity for the individual wedding parties.

We had the most amazing two-week hoilday and fell in love with Grecian Sands Hotel and Cyprus - we are already planning to return for a reunion with our friends and family soon.

We could not have asked for anything better! Thank you to everyone involved!

Room Tip: 057 for family suite on reception floor with beautiful view.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DebD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Our daughter and her fiancé chose to get married here and it was the perfect hotel. We arrived a week before the wedding and we were all so relaxed and chilled due to the atmosphere in the hotel. They only had to meet a couple of times to organise wedding plans. The day was perfect. The groom met his guests for cocktails In the Ulysses bar an hour before the wedding. They married on the sea view deck , cake cutting in Ulysses bar photos in hotel grounds. The couple then surprised their 25 guests by organising the Cyprus wedding open top double decker wedding bus to drive around the coast to a beautiful cove for more photos and champagne. We returned to have a wedding BBQ in the outdoor pavilion which was so lovley the staff chefs and food were amazing. The evening ended In a sound proof room where we danced the evening away to their resident dj. The newlyweds were given the penthouse suite for the night which was beautiful and 2 days after the wedding the hotel arranged for the couple to have a romantic candle lit dinner on the sea view deck where they married. They were also given a gift from the hotel.It was a day to remember for all the right reasons thanks to Karen wedding co-ordination from Olympic weddings Ana wedding co-ordination from Grecian Sands hotel. The photographers found by the couple and all the staff involved.
The hotel itself as a holiday is wonderful not as big as the sister hotels which we found as a plus point as it was small and friendly. We had a side sea view on the 4th floor with amazing cliff topnsea views. The grounds and pool area were lovelyvwith plenty of sun beds shades and shady areas to sit. The sunshades also housed a button to press for drink service. We were all inclusive and the food was excellent. Breakfast had plenty of choice plus you could also sit al fresco. The snack bar had a menu you could order from or had hot and cold buffet with plenty of choice and delicious deserts. Evening meals were great because you could choose to eat at other restaurants away from the hotel. There was the fishermans hut a tavern fish restaurant on the beach walking distance. The Italian and the Japanese restaurant taxis were organised and paid for by the hotel to take you and bring you back and the roof top burger bar was on the roof of the Grecian sands with fab views. All the food in these restaurants was top notch. The hotel also once a week had a BBQ evening in the grounds with traditional entertainment which was preceded with cocktails in the Ulysses bar with the management greeting you. Also once a week in the grounds was an evening international buffet with entertainment. Therefore during the two weeks stay we only ate in the hotel restaurant twice and this is the only gripe we have with the hotel. This restaurant had a dress code of no shorts for men yet we saw men in scruffy cargo shorts t shirts and sandals allowed in but our men who turned up super smart in tailored shorts proper shirt and shoes were turned away. Plus girls were allowed in with the shortest of shorts!!!! I think Grecian Sands needs to review their policy to tailored smart shorts and not tatty catprgo casual shorts. Gripe over. We had the most magical time here and will definitely return. Special mention to Stella who served at breakfast in the snack bar and Cypriot evenings. Such a lovely cheerful lady who always took an interest in you and made time to chat whilst doing her job. All the staff however were very hardworking. Rooms are being refurbed each closed winter season to help improve your stay.

Room Tip: 4th floor sea view or side sea view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank hollyhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Can’t fault this Hotel! Superb location, Great Beach & Pool, excellent food and fantastic staff.
Hotel was chosen as a wedding venue and they couldn’t have chosen better, the location for the service overlooking the sea was breath-taking the whole occasion was perfectly organised.
Can’t recommend it enough!

Room Tip: Any Sea View
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Despite the excellent reviews found on here, and advertising to the contrary, our trip was very disappointing. We booked the half board rate but weren't told that the restaurant only opened at 7pm (730pm some nights), and that there was a strict dress code - both of which made it impossible for us to enjoy the dinner we already paid for (we only brought sandals and the children eat early and go to bed at 7pm). The hotel couldn't give us an alternative and were very unhelpful.

On top of this, we paid for the suite to have space for the children, yet the room was tired, things were broken and the bathroom smelt like sewerage.

The best part about the hotel is the amazing kids club facility, which we discovered by chance in a back corner of the hotel - a pity reception do not tell guests about it at check in. If you want something 3 star, go here, though keep in mind the restaurant dress code and its manager's delusion that he is working in a Michelin star restaurant in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews