We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful hotel - I’m so glad we chose this one!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites
Ranked #4 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Spent 2 nights at this wonderful hotel in January 2012 to explore the delights of south-eastern Cyprus.

Our room was on the fourth floor (top floor) with a side sea view. It had a tiled floor, very comfortable beds, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary bottle of water, hairdryer, slippers, patio door with a balcony and table and chairs. The bathroom had a glass panel so you could see into the room whilst bathing, and a blind that you could pull if you wanted to bathe in private!

The hotel has a lovely heated indoor swimming pool, gym, Jacuzzi, sauna and as we were there in January, we made use of all these facilities. Normally heated indoor pools are not that warm, but this was one was and the Jacuzzi was excellent. The hotel has a car park (free to use), which is great if you hire a car.

The restaurant and reception staff were very attentive and polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. The restaurant staff personally greeted us at breakfast and dinner times. Breakfast was buffet style with a huge choice of hot and cold food. At dinner there was a choice of meat, fish or vegetarian dishes with soup, salad and sweets. The quality of the food was superb.

The entrance to the beach was just across the road. The hotel is about one mile along the coast from the harbour, but there is a local bus service that runs along the road outside the hotel.

My only gripe, and it’s a very small one, is that there is no free wi-fi in the hotel rooms. It is possible to have wi-fi in your room at an additional charge. However, there is free wi-fi in the hotel lobby area and we had no trouble connecting to the internet.

The Napa Mermaid thoroughly deserves its position as one of the best hotels in Ayia Napa. I would recommend it without hesitation and hope to go back there in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kiplingcollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

Could not fault room, clean tidy and especially liked the use of a fridge.
Plenty of choice for food. There seemed to be an Inernational theme most nights i.e. Italian/Mexican/Cyprus night etc. To be honest there was not much of this particulat theme maybe one or two dishes, but the food overall was good quality (Buffet Style). The one complaint regarding the Restaurant was that they ran out of our favourate bottle of wine on the last night. 20 Euro's a bottle a bit steep but you have to expect this in hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
5  Thank davewalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We booked this hotel being under the impression that it is a 4 star hotel!
Beware it is not 4 stars, it's official class is 3 stars!

Just stayed here for 18 nights and as the title says, myself and my partner were very disappointed staying here.

Here is a list of our problems with the hotel!

1) Air Conditioning was not available, hotel had over ridden the units to only blow hot air out as “it’s winter here now” as some days reach 22 degrees we needed the air conditioning!

Having air conditioning is one of our premium requirements of where we stay, again as with our Jacuzzi comments below, we would never stay at a hotel that didn’t offer air conditioning, and this didn’t, as advertised!

2) Small TV with only 3 channels in English and 2 of those were news channels were the same news was repeated every 15mins, the other channel ITV was not available for 13 out of our 18 days.

3) Poor quality towels, they had dates of manufacture on them and some were 4 years old.

4) Jacuzzi facilities, a necessity & top priority for myself and my partner on holiday, in fact we won’t stay at any hotel that doesn’t have a Jacuzzi, but this hotel Jacuzzi was awful! It was one you would find in a residential address not a hotel, really only big enough for 2 people to spread out in, but the worst was that it was heated with an on/off switch, we had to give the hotel 30mins notice before we could get into the thing, for it to warm up! Every Jacuzzi I’ve ever been into before is ALWAYS at a predefined temperature around 79 degrees, most of the time it was mildly warm and we ourselves had to switch the thing on, to get warm.

Also the whole “health club” area was closed and locked at 6.30pm each day!!!......which meant no relaxing in the Jacuzzi after a day out on our holiday!

All the Jacuzzis in hotels I’ve been in before close at 10pm not 6.30pm!

5) No free Wi-Fi access in room, it’s was available but at 5 Euros for 1/2 hour!, I mean come on!....you get free Wi-Fi at Mcdonalds!

6) Shower head not height adjustable, this was on a rubbish loose “ball joint” type of fitting, so we couldn’t even alter the angle of spray.

7) No ice or vending machines in the hotel, we had to keep going down 4 floors to the hotel bar to get a plastic cup with some ice in.

8) No iron or clock in the room

9) Required payment for "hire" of tennis racket & ball

10) Pool table cost twice as much (2 euro) a game, compared to anywhere else.

11) Drinks and Food expensive from the Hotel, your not allowed to take drinks not purchased from the hotel to the outdoor pool area.

12) You find a complimentary bottle of water in your room upon arrival, however once it's gone it's never replaced!

Also our booking indicated “full breakfast” but on our arrival we were informed that our breakfast was “continental only”, which only consisted of croissants, not even cereal was included never mind a cooked breakfast! The hotel wanted additional payment for cereals or a cooked breakfast.

The owners of this hotel are far too concerned over the "look" of the hotel than the services/facilities that they provide!

I've stayed in many 3 star hotels and found service/facilities to be much better in them, than at the Napa Mermaid!

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Surf5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapaMermaidAyiaNapa, Director of Sales at Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review following your stay with us, although your comments were quite disappointing. Please note the following:

-The Hotel's star rating which is published has been given by the travel industry and our Clients at large.
-The air-condition is turned off during the winter period, however as I have been informed, a fan was sent to your room.
-We have four English channels in the hotel. We do apologize as there was a technical problem with a few of the Satelite receivers during the period that you were staying with us. However the majority of the local channels play movies in English.
-Ironing and laundry services are available in the hotel, but not in the rooms. We have a designated area for self service ironing and laundry for our Guests.
-Free Wifi is provided to our Guests in the spacious lobby area of the hotel.
-As from the 1st of November 2011, we do not charge our Guests for use of the tennis equipment (rackets & balls).
-The towels in the hotel are renewed on a yearly basis, and freshly washed by our laundry department in the hotel.
-Although our breakfast buffet is somewhat limited during the winter period, it consists of almost anything one would ask for and is included in the room rate. In your review you mentioned that we offer 'continental breakfast only'. This applies only for Guests who wish not to have breakfast in the dining room and request breakfast in the room.
-We fully understand the issue with the jacuzzi operation hours, however I was informed by reception that we offered to operate the facility for you at the hours you requested.Regarding the Health club area, we would like to inform you that we have decided and have scheduled to close the hotel during the winter period 2012-2013 in order to renovate the area in order to comply with the rest of the hotel

Overall, we regret to say that we found your comments vindictive. For a Guest who stayed 18 nights at a Hotel with so many 'faults', based on your standards, we fail to understand why you did not initiate a change of Hotel. We feel very sorry that you had such a terrible time at our Hotel.

We are very proud however that up until now, the majority of our Guests feel exactly the opposite and this is why they have been voting us as a Top Hotel.

For the issues where we do have inadequacies, we would like to assure you that they will be acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests in order to maintain our high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This has got to be one of the best if not the best hotel hospitality ive ever enjoyed(believe me i travel alot). Got here on the 28th dec and from the moment we stepped in(me+wife+5mth old baby) its been great. Booked a seaview room which was nice but i found it small for us, so decided to upgrade to a junior suite which i got with a HUGE discount wow! I am a fussy person at times but every request i made was met with no negative response and was catered for. I always read reviews of hotel before booking and if its one or two negatives i dont mind(grumpy is allowed) but in this case, how can you fault this hotel? Only way i will ever stay at another hotel if i come back to cyprus is if this hotel doesnt exist again. There is no point adding a photo cause the pics added are real.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AbbeyMagyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We had a lovely time! It was the first time we have been to Cyprus, and the hotel was much better than onese we have stayed in for that price range (when we stayed in the Canaries - Lanzarote-Gran Canaria-Tenerife-Fuerteventura)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

My choice to accommodate my two guests was successful. Rooms was amazing, clean and very modern, beautifull environment clean and very organized.
Many thanks to the staff especially at the reception, Ioanna and Panayiota very kind, friendly and so professional.
YOU ARE THE BEST!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Georgios G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Spend a couple of nights at this hotel last Summer
It's a great hotel if you want to relax. It was so quiet. Spotless , excellent service
The rooms by the pool were fabulus
Food was great. The snacks and the salads were the Best. Great variety of buffet at Breakfast

Will definetly go back

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
2.3 mi away
Nissi Beach Resort
Nissi Beach Resort
#9 of 102 in Ayia Napa
1,573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grecian Bay Hotel
Grecian Bay Hotel
#18 of 102 in Ayia Napa
770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alion Beach Hotel
Alion Beach Hotel
#2 of 102 in Ayia Napa
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Napa Plaza Hotel
Napa Plaza Hotel
#3 of 102 in Ayia Napa
1,983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grecian Sands Hotel
Grecian Sands Hotel
#11 of 102 in Ayia Napa
716 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nestor Hotel
Nestor Hotel
#8 of 102 in Ayia Napa
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites

Address: Kryou Nerou 45, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#4 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range: £75 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most beautiful hotels in Ayia Napa, the multi awarded, freshly rebuilt Napa Mermaid Hotel & Suites in Ayia Napa - Cyprus, with deluxe services and facilities lies on the most privileged location of the cosmopolitan resort of Ayia Napa. Its superb location allows the holiday maker to be a few minutes away from the resort centre and yet right across the serene crystal waters and sandy beach of Grecian Bay and only a stone's throw away from the town center. The Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites is ideal for Weddings, Holidays, Honeymoons or just a perfect rest in Ayia Napa, Cyprus. Local to all the facilities, Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites is ideally located with breath taking views of the Mediterranean Sea. The Napa Mermaid Hotel & Suites is a stylish contemporary hotel entirely redesigned to create a fabulous holiday setting. This sanctuary of relaxation and comfort is accompanied by the unparalleled reputation for excellence and friendliness that the hotel is known for. Simple in its modern, innovative design and state of the art facilities the Napa Mermaid Hotel & Suites is a unique hotel that welcomes you to experience unforgettable holidays of relaxation and comfort surrounded by traditional Cypriot hospitality of the highest order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Bookcyprus.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Mermaid Hotel Ayia Napa
Hotel Napa Mermaid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing