We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Лучший отель на Кипре!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asterias Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Asterias Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Лучший отель на Кипре!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The best hotel in Cyprus! Excellent beach. A pleasant atmosphere. Very clean and beautiful hotel. Delicious breakfasts. Themed dinners. I would particularly like to thank Andri Spetsioty. Weru kind woman.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 777Elena7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    207
    51
    23
    7
See reviews for
286
272
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
350 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,036 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed at ASTERIAS a week with his wife and children (small) and we had a great time here: the structure is really magnificent (in a beautiful garden and a fantastic pool) and well-kept, with spacious, relaxing, very nice and exemplary cleaned rooms . The hotel is located directly on a beach of fine white sand in front of a wonderful sea, crystalline (by us in the most 'beautiful in all of Cyprus). All services are impeccable, with large and superb breakfasts and lunches / dinners where you find great variety'and high quality. The staff is friendly and fluently speaking English. Highly recommended, especially for families with children. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gio1962car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

I came to the hotel last year also and i had fantastic time with my gf. This year we wanted to come again to Asterias rather than choose something different. Eveything was nice. The staff is very polite, the rooms are renovated, beach is great and the food is amazing. In the night they have entertainment shows so you have something to do if you choose not to go out. Generally the hotel offers an overall experience a full package of things to do during your stay. We are very happy. Hope to be able to come again next year for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fygas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed at Asterias Hotel in July 2013 and had very unpleasant experience there. My credit card was charged twice. So when I found out this double charge I called to the hotel and asked them to return the money. At first they asked me to call back later, then finally after couple of disconnected calls they connected me with the reception's manager, she promised to call me back next day. Nobody called me back I had to call back myself and they refused to make a return and told me that they only got one payment. Thank's god that I have Visa credit card, I called visa and they returned my money and began the investigation and they told me that the hotel charged my card twice and they tried to hide their mistake. But please don't stay in this hotel. As you can see customer service is terrible, and that's definitely not a 4 star hotel.
I recommend you to stay at Napa's Mermaid where I stayed before and did not have any problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatiana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phadjisotiriou, Owner at Asterias Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dearest Tatiana N.,
Thank you for your understanding for the short delay before posting my response to your two complaints:
That your credit card has been charged twice for the settlement of your accommodation bill and that your complaint for alleged double charging did not get resolved sufficiently urgently.

I think it’s helpful to explain the system of “preauthorised” and eventually “authorised” payments (as applied to credit card payments for accommodation charges).

To confirm a reservation at a hotel the supplied credit card details are forwarded to the hotel’s acquirer to effectively instruct the credit card issuer to debit the account with (and hold) the funds equal to the proposed payment (preauthorised payment). The credit card issuer is tasked to hold the proposed payment until the same actual credit card is presented and inserted into the merchant acquirer’s terminal to complete the transaction and authorise the release of the payment to the merchant (authorised payment). In other words the account is debited with the payment which is kept by the issuer until the payment is authorised (by presenting the same card) which then gets released to the merchant.

Because your complaint is about credit card payments to us, I contacted our payments acquirer, JCC, and requested their involvement which they offered. JCC kindly provided copies of their records of your credit card payments to us. These records confirm that only a SINGLE payment of € 760.00 was authorised and released to us.

You had a confirmed reservation and your issuer, Chase, made a preauthorised debit on your credit card for your payment. On presentation of your credit card this preauthorised debit should have been converted to an authorised payment and funds released to us. Your issuer, on presentation of your card, correctly made an authorised debit but omitted to relate it to the preauthorisation debit showing on your account. Your account will have been showing 2 payments but only the second reached us. The first was held by your issuer.

I hold copies of documents that prove the Asterias Beach Hotel received just a single authorised payment of €760.00 on the 18th July 2013 charged to your VISA. I repeat, any other charge to your VISA never reached us and should have been returned by Chase who, as I understand it, was the party at fault in all this. Chase’s error in the duplicate debit is indicated by the matter getting cleared up very quickly after you spoke to them.

I entirely refute and resent your accusation that this hotel allegedly double charged you, that staff allegedly tried to hide the double charge and I invite you to retract your accusation!

With regards to the second part of your complaint I am sure that, you and readers of the above will appreciate that some time was needed to be spent contacting our acquirer, JCC, and to trace records of payments etc. while many staff members were away from their desks during the local holiday season. I understand how you must have been anxious and I am sorry that you were unduly stressed but please understand that Andri needed to get through to people in JCC and get some answers for you; before contacting you.

Finally and further to my earlier comments regarding Chase’s role in your complaint, I would like to invite you to reconsider the derisory marks you awarded in your review of this hotel.

I am perfectly willing to take the blame, learn from my mistakes and apologise for our faults; but not for those of some huge corporation like Chase Bank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
179 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The hotel is located approximately 2-3k from Ayia Napa's center. The beach is fantastic; clean and not over crowded with beds. Even if your staying at the hotel, the beds on the beach must be paid for. 2.50 Euro for a bed and 2.50 euro for umbrella. Its worth the price. The hotel has plenty of beds poolside at no cost of course if the pool is your thing. The pool is clean and very nice. The rooms were comfortable, A/C was the best we've experienced in Cyprus. Beds were good. We'd stay here again. One tip: The Frappe at the pool bar is very over priced at 4.25 Euro. It's just nescafe for heaven sake. Walk 150-200 meters back to the main street out front of the hotel and you can get a great Frappe from the Sandwich stand on the corner for 2 Euro.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanOwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our 12th year back to the same hotel and another wonderful holiday! The hotel improvements were even better this year and the food was the BEST we've ever known. The choice and quality that was available this year was superb. Freshly cooked dishes, foods replenished immediately....no waiting around, fresh new dishes, just wonderful. As always, the staff have become our family and made us as welcome as they have since our first year. Nothing is ever too much trouble. The further refurbishments that we witnessed are fantastic. The bedrooms are now light, bright and modern. As are the rest of the public areas of the hotel and yet they have managed to retain the values and family ethos of the hotel, which has kept us returning year after year. This year we had one night in one of the Junior Suites, which was just second to none!! With two 16 year olds, the suite was fantastic and we will be booking that on all future visits. Well worth upgrading if you can. We had a double bed, accompanied by beautiful quality furniture, a lounge area with sofa, two flat screen TV's, coffee table and the best bit.....our own private jacuzzi, with sun loungers and sunbathing area (which is beautifully lit at night) all to ourselves with views across the beautiful garden & beach. It was just superb. Also in this particular suite (still with plenty of space) we had a set of bunk beds and even though our children are 16....they had the best nights sleep ever! Definitely, definitely recommend the suites....perfect for families or couples. This year we also paid a little extra to stay in the hotel and celebrate our wedding anniversary, which was just so romantic. We were able to choose what we wanted to eat, the amount of courses, what we wanted to drink and it was all set up separately from the main restaurant (overlooking the beach) with a rose petal table, candles, a big cream umbrella, our own waiter and we sat there all evening just listening to the sound of the sea, so romantic and so wonderful! Christos (restaurant manager) was absolutely fantastic and his attention to detail was second to none. Cannot believe it went so fast again, could have stayed another 17 days. Thank you again to everyone, just a wonderful/special time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burnsfamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I recently stayed at the Asterias Hotel in Agia Napa, with my girlfriend last weekend.
It is a very nice hotel very clean and the staff was very nice in deed.
The swimming pool, excellent service at every facility of the hotel, very pleasant staff ready to serve you at all times.
The rooms no need to say all top of the line at every aspect. Overall more than a four star hotel.

Room Tip: The sea view was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Socratis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
1.0 mi away
Nissi Beach Resort
Nissi Beach Resort
#6 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
3.2 mi away
Alion Beach Hotel
Alion Beach Hotel
#1 of 106 in Ayia Napa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#20 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Napa Plaza Hotel
Napa Plaza Hotel
#5 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dome Beach Hotel & Resort PAI
0.4 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort
Olympic Lagoon Resort
#3 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asterias Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asterias Beach Hotel

Property: Asterias Beach Hotel
Address: Nissi Avenue | P.O. Box 30087, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayia Napa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#10 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Asterias Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort hotel is situated directly on the sweeping Makronissos bay: a "Blue flag" beach, famous for its fine, white sands and crystal clear water. Set in a sparsely developed region and bordering on the St. Nikandros forest nature reserve, tranquility and natural beauty prevail. Alternatively there is a wide choice of free organised activities available and within a short stroll from the hotel, are various bars, restaurants, shops, sight seeing attractions and leisure options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Asterias Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterias Beach Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing