We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”
Review of Stamatia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamatia Hotel
Ranked #37 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Omsk, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We spent 11 days in this nice hotel, being on vacations with my Mom and my little son (1 year 5 month). The girls at reception Valeria and Natalia are very helpful, they tried to solve any problem we had in no time and recommend something. The staff in the dining hall and bar (another Natalia) was more than friendly and everybody seemed to adore my little boy.

The room was always cleaned properly. In spite of that fact that our room looked to the street where quad bikes, cars and buses go all the time, we were fast asleep, it didn’t bother us at all. But we had a beautiful view of Luna Park and the sea.

The day we were going to leave (our transfer was at 7 p.m.) we asked to prolong the staying in our room, since with a little child it’s difficult to stay out all the time on the heat, and the receptionist did her best to make it, as the hotel was overbooked and some new arrived people were sent to another hotel for a night. We are very grateful for that.

The food was really delicious, especially in the evening. Every day we had different national cuisine, like Italian, Chinese, Cyprian, BBQ etc.). The only thing that disappointed me was the lack of food for my kid (no porridge, and all soups were for dinner and too spicy for children). But we went to Russian café “Teremok” and took borsch or chicken soup for the kid.

Besides, this hotel has a very advantageous location - very close to the beach (2-3 min.), to the Aya Napa Port, to Luna Park, to the Main Street where you can find supermarket, shops, cafes and restaurants, and bus stops as well.

Some other important information: fridge costs 3 Euro/day. No free WiFi (it costs 5 or 6 Euro/hour). But free WiFi is in almost every cafe. So it's not a big problem.

I would recommend this hotel for everybody who wants to feel in Aya Napa like at home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lidia_Leonid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    103
    38
    11
    19
See reviews for
76
106
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liopetri, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Me and My family spent the weekend at Stamatia Hotel last June. The Hotel was amazing and very friendly staff. The food buffet was amazing and every day they had a special cuisine.
Rooms where clean and very quiet. Lots of activities and kids can spend hours of fun without bothering me and my wife.
Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank costas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel is not that bad and its very clean the food is not that good but then again they cannot please everyone the snacks are ok
You have to pay 3 euros per day for the safe and 3 euros per day for the fridge which is a rip off we went all inclusive so these should be included the pool is small but you are only 2 mins walk from the beach
They had a stag party of brits in the hotel and they ruined our holiday
would we stay again we are not sure

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank can19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My and my hasband travelled to Ayia Napa for our honeymoon. It couldn't be better than the days spend to Stamatia Hotel. Very good services from everyone at the hotel, from the Manageress to the Cleaning Ladies, everyone were so nice to us and behaved like we were their family. Very clean hotel, really good food. Had the best memories of my Honeymoon in Stamatia Hotel! I advice to travel in Ayia Napa and stay at Stamatia Hotel!

Room Tip: Very Close to the Beach, the best service ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My wife and I arrived back last night having spent two weeks at the stamatia hotel.we had expected to find either a double bed or two singles as there was only two of us.we had one double bed and two bunk beds too cramped by far.we put the telly on to find we did not have one English speaking channel with the exception of vh1 but with us being pensioners not our kind of thing.there was plenty of Russian channels.we have stayed at about 7 hotels in the napa area and have ALWAYS had a couple of English channels especially news channel.the toilet was not cleaned around the rim we had to do it ourselves.DISGUSTING.the staff in the restaurant very frosty and we arrived back to the hotel at around 30min to midnight on a few occasions to find the bar closed this is supposed to be all inclusive.we have been going to Cyprus since 1989 and we can honestly say this is the worst hotel we have stayed at.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed for a week in early October and enjoyed our stay. We were lucky to get a side sea view room with views over the pool area and towards the harbour. I am a very fussy eater but had no problems with the food - for a 3* hotel it was better than I was expecting. There were 'themed' evenings throughout the week - Mexican, Italian, 'Round the World', BBQ, Cypriot, Grill Night, etc.

The hotel was very clean, and so was our room (though the carpet seemed a bit worn). The beds were a bit over-firm. The hotel is in an ideal location, with a beach and the harbour only 100 meters away. There are plenty of bars and restaurants within 5 to 15 minutes walk.

There were a lot of Russian holiday makers in the hotel but that's now par for the course in Agia Napa or Larnaca. They were no trouble, and some were friendly - I think that most can't speak much English, so thats why they get labeled as stand-offish. There were also some very nice people from Scotland, Ireland and England that we spent time with.

We found the service excellent - the friendliness of the staff is what makes the hotel. Mike, the restaurant manager, was always on hand and with a happy smile and friendly greeting. The staff member who deserves special praise was Natasha, the bar manager, who couldn't do enough to please and be helpful - always with a sense of humour and a smile. Marina, one or the bar/table waiters was also worth a good mention for his friendliness and service.

We were on all-inclusive and found it to be very good value. If we stayed in Agia Napa again, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Stamatia.

Tips for local bars and restaurants - The Jello bar, with good cocktails and happy-hour from noon to 8pm, the St George & Dragon next to the Marquis de Napa on Kryou Nero for good value cocktails all day, and the Isaak (formerly Christos) Taverna opposite St Georges church near the harbour - family run, good food, good value, very warm and friendly welcome and service, and greek-dancing or music a couple of times each week.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pl_Reynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Me and my fiance have just returned from a weeks holiday in the stamatia. this was a trip to celebrate our engagement which turned out to be a bit of a disaster.
After reading the reviews on trip advisor we didnt have high expectations but we arent fussy and thought we would make the most of it, little did we know how much we should have lowered our expections.
we arrived at the stamatia at half 12 in the evening not a soul was around apart from the reception staff, we were not given the most welcome of hellos given our keys and told to get the lift to our room. When we arrived in our room we thought it was basic but liveable. We had paid extra for a double bed however we got two singles. Later we found out that we should never have been charged for a double room as the hotel doesnt charge extra for this, there are limited double rooms and they only provide if posible,this is something we need to take up with the company we booked through. With the extra charge we were told we would get a sea view room, we opened the curtains to see a car park and the side of another hotel, again something we werent overly fussy about despite paying extra for a better room.
The next morning breakfast was interesting, we arrived in the restaurant again to a frosty welcome, and to our suprise we had carrots, peas and sweetcorn for breakfast along with beans, sausage egg and continental. Later we would find the only veg you get in this hotel is at breakfast time. The food really depends on taste most nights dinner really wasnt to our taste and we ate out allot something we didnt expect to do on an all inclusive, However the times we did eat in the restaurant on an evening i got mouldy salad and undercooked pork. Allot of the time i believed the food to be made from leftovers from lunch. Every dinner and lunch time there were roughly four options of hot food, bread and salad and most nights was russian chicken soup. Having really not been a fussy couple at all and will pretty much eat anything we rarely found something tasty but like i said it really is a matter of taste which depends wether you will like the food or not.
Then there is the bar the only friendly member of staff we encountered the whole holiday was the dark haired lady behind the bar, very friendly and always had a smile and a hello for everyguest. The only all inc drinks where vodka, brandy, whisky, wine and beer. however there where cocktails but only so many where all inc. what i found strange was that rum wasnt free on the all inclusive bar but a cuba libre was so we just asked for the cuba libre without the lime easily solved this problem. There is only entertainment in the hotel on mon, wed and fri. Mon is cypriot night, Wed is a live singer who sings mostly russian songs in the most horrendous high pitched voice, and fri was a fantastic magician however again when the magic show as over the disco was all russian music. To be honest their was no atmosphere to speak of in the hotel any night and we endured most russain people looking us up and down blatantly laughing in our faces and talking about us extremely rude and so blatant about it (i understand this isnt a problem with the hotel but just be prepared for it).
The recpetion desk was most unhelpful one day we asked for help getting to nicosia to literally be thrown a bus timeable once out the hotel we start to read the timetable not one bus to nicosia!! so that wasnt very helpful. and one day that we did go out on an excursion we asked for two bottles of water at breakfastime to be told we couldnt have any because the bar was closed. So if your planning an early morning trip get your bottles of water the night before. one morning it was 2 minutes past ten and the waitress got very angry and abrupt as i wanted one final glass of orange juice telling me they closed at ten and she had turned the machine off.

And finally back to the bed, for three nights i had slept with a dint in the middle of my bed i put this down to wear and tear and the springs however when returning to our room on the fourth day the mattress to my bed was on the floor to reveal a completely broken to bits bed, the maid then explained the bed was broken before but is worse now so she is getting someone to fix it when asked why she didnt get it fixed before knowing it was broken she just shrugged her shoulders.

we were not the only people to have problems whith this hotel there where very few other british people but those we did speak to had the same experiences and generally not very happy with the place,one girl we spoke to we found crying in the street on her last night having had a worse experience than us.

On the final day we were been picked up at seven thirty in the evening we were told very nastily we could have one drink at lunch and could have something to eat however we couldnt have evening meal, to this we asked to speak to the manager as this was utterly disgusting having not had anything the day we arrived, we told her our grievances however she shrugged them all off making excuses for everything but she did allow us to stay for the evening meal which actually for once we found something nice to eat.

Good points of the hotel are the location between the town and the harbour and close to the beach . Lots of restaurants, cafes and bars around just as well really.We found the best place to go though was o'rourkes irish pub in town, a fantastic and welcoming atmosphere brilliant staff and a great live singer every evening called darren nash a must go to if in napa.

all in all we were uninpressed with the hotel rude staff, no atmosphere entertainment catered to russians, food was interesting and the hotel very dated and in need of a spruce up. we spent more time out the hotel than in it and didnt let it ruin our holiday! Make of this review how you will it may seem like we are moaning for the sake of moaning but its hard to describe how unwelcome you are made to feel unless you are there yourself. It is a three star hotel i believe it should be less and we certainly believe we paid far too much for this holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank charliemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.1 mi away
Okeanos Beach
Okeanos Beach
#21 of 106 in Ayia Napa
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nestor Hotel
Nestor Hotel
#8 of 106 in Ayia Napa
728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Napa Bay Hotel
Bella Napa Bay Hotel
#54 of 106 in Ayia Napa
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Faros Hotel
Faros Hotel
#7 of 106 in Ayia Napa
494 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nelia Beach Hotel
Nelia Beach Hotel
#11 of 106 in Ayia Napa
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Limanaki Beach Hotel
Limanaki Beach Hotel
#20 of 106 in Ayia Napa
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamatia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamatia Hotel

Property: Stamatia Hotel
Address: 13, 1st October Street | P.O. Box 30069, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stamatia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stamatia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamatia Hotel Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing