We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday!”
Review of Napa Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Napa Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday!”
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a week in June, both 23 years old and loved it. The location is bang on with everything on your doorstep, although as soon as your inside you feel like your a million miles away from it, perfect. We were bed and breakfast and were glad of it, after sampling 7 different local restaurants we didn't want to ever leave! The choice, food quality and service everywhere was absolutely second to none. There was a good selection of food at breakfast and service and cleanliness was brill, you can sit inside or eat on a lovely shadey terrace. There was a massively diverse number of people, a few young groups, and lots of couples of all ages from 16 - 60 all who loved the napa. The pool was lovely and warm, you're allowed inflatables and was kept spotless. The sunbed race was never an issue even going down at 11:30. Towels are provided and can be exchanged throughout the day for fresh. Rooms cleaned daily and left sparkling with fresh bedding and towels, security never an issue as we frequently left money and valuables out and they were neatly piled up on our return. If you need late checkout request it as you check in for a €5 discount, we saved and paid €30. Our room was a superior room set back from the street, not an amazing view but it didn't bother us. There are a handful of standard rooms which over look the street which are noisy, less trendy and you can see straight in them from the opposite restaurants!! Definately ask for a quiet room or pay to upgrade. Food at lunch was priced the same as everywhere else around and was gorgeous, good selection, fresh, big portions and great service. There was a plasma in the bar area showing all world cup games in English! Tv in the room had BBC and sky news channels. The fridge was €4 per day and wifi a rather pricey €12 per day. Almost every bar around offers wifi either free or for €1 - €2 but once you pay and get the codes you can use it all week! Trips out are pricey and not great, we went to Nicosia and it was terrible! Too hot, too long and boring. The troodos mountains we were told the same. The day trip to Cairo was €320 EACH! However, we also did the undersea adventure which was absolutey amazing I think it was about €40 each but well worth it and only half a day which was nice. We also recommend visiting nissi beach- the cleanest, nicest beach ever. We walked there (about a 30 min pleasant walk) and got a taxi back for €7. You get a slightly better price if you walk into a hotel and book one via the reception desk as we did. Aiya napa beach was lovely, but slightly more cramped and the sea wasn't AS turquoise, but still clear and shallow. There wasn't much going on in the way of entertainment in the hotel but we ate out, went to a couple of bars, and fishished with drinks at the poolbar and there was always a great atmosphere with music and different people. Aiya napa is on the doorstep and has entertainment for all ages. We love Cyprus and will certainly go back to napa plaza.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fleddyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,253
    436
    116
    33
    20
See reviews for
119
1,042
117
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Stayed here for a week in May 2010. I have to say that, having stayed here on one occasion before, this experience was far from what i would expect from a hotel this time. I couldn't believe the sub standard quality of the room we were given. Having read an earlier review, at no stage do the hotel sell or indicate that they provide sub standard rooms on a budget basis. I have never in my life heard of a hotel promoting or selling rooms which are dirty, noisey, underequipped and below standard but 'Cheap'....! I don't do 'cheap' rooms, and I certainly don't expect that from a hotel whose prices are anything but. I will most definately be back in Ayia Napa, as it is one of the best holiday locations in Europe, but I will most definately not be staying at the Napa Plaza.

Customer Service: Poor - Reported a broken door lock, only to be told, "Stay in your room from now till the morning when we will have someone come and look at it")
Cleanliness: Poor - Dirty dishes were left on the corridor for the entire duration of our stay!
Pepper Bar: Closed due to renovations (Why was this not made known at the time of booking!)
Breakfast: Ok
Drinks: Overpriced
Food: Overpriced
Decor: Run down and in need of rejuvenation
Entertainment: Non Existant
Value for money...... Make your own judgement.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damienfwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapaPlaza1, Manager at Napa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2010
PLEASE READ DESCRIPTION BEFORE YOU BOOK.
We sincerely regret the fact that we did not meet the guest’s expectations. We completely disagree with the statement of this anonymous person. Everybody can read our description and can make his own opinion how we define the “budget room”, which represents only 10% of our room capacity, so there is nothing else to be said.
We cannot understand the real motive of such people, who prefer to make bad publicity after their vacations, instead of bringing such little matters to our attention for immediate action, while in resort. The hotel is definitely not overpriced and the hotel is clean & tidy. The reaction of our staff on the case of “broken door lock” was meant to be a friendly joke; we apologize however for our employee’s “bad humor”.
We regret the fact that some people use a very good quality system such the Trip Advisor to express frustration. Our product is worthy definitely more than 39 out of 100 points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

I Have just returned from the Napa Plaza with my family and some friends.I was a bit wary after reading the reviews about staff attitude however this could not be further from the truth.On arrival my son's room was not goin to be available until the next day,however the reception staff could not apologise enough,offered all of us free dinner and sent wine and fruit to my son's room.The bar staff were also very pleasant and their cocktails were amazing,and also very potent !!!.The hotel is spotless and although the location is right in the heart of ayia napa it is very quiet.There were no problem getting sun beds at any time and I can vouch for this as most of my family did not get up until 2pm having partying until the small hours.My only slight complaint was that our room looked on to an alleyway,but how much time do you spend in it anyway.I feel people complaining about this hotel are just nitpicking.Outside of the hotel if you are a fast food addict you have the 4 main outlets on your doorstep,Burger king,kfc,mcds and pizza hut.The hotel's restaurant's are quite expensive,even with your 15% discount.We found a restaurant just up from the hotel called Raven's Rook and the food was great and very reasonable.I would go back to the Napa plaza in a minute.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myrababes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Good central location. Friendly staff. Rooms cleaned everyday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alligoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We spent 4 nights in Napa Plaza and firstly i would 100% reccomand upgrading for a junior suit which was nice and big.the superior rooms and quit small and the rate difference is only around 20 euros per night.its really worth it.sdk for a quiet room as some of the rooms face the hotel's bar which can be really noisy.
The breakfast was excellent .full english breakfast,croasauns,all kinds of cheese,granola and,fruit and yogurt.the only thing which was not wow was the breakfast sweets...only some dry croasauns.but you can always put some butter and jam on a hot croasaun:-)
The location is really good. in the middle of all pubs , shops and restaurants.the clubs are just around the corner and nissi beach is only 3 km away (7 euros by taxi).
The service was fantastic.very quick and helpfull staff.check in and check out went smoothly.we paid extra 30 euros for a late check out and could stay till 17:00.
I would deffinetly come back to another perfect holliday !!
Just be carefull from 1 thing.the airport taxi drivers drive really fast and when u ask them to slow down they say:"dont worry, its not the real speed, my speed clock is not working "

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ossytelaviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Stayed here from May 29th to June 5th with a friend of mine and we booked a standard room. We are not really party people so, after reading the reviews, we asked for a quiet room. We were given a room on the side of the hotel, overlooking a Greek orthodox church; however, as the hotel is located on the main street of Ayia Napa where all pubs and clubs are, we could not sleep with the window open because of the noise. A/C is automatically on when you close the window, and that is important because nights are very warm even at this time of the year; after this, we had no trouble at all sleeping. Breakfast was great, it had everything apart from freshly squeezed orange juice: from full English to different types of bread, 2 types of jams, fresh fruit, greek yoghurt and honey, ham, cheese, etc.: plenty of choice.
We only had a lunch at the hotel pool bar, we ate wraps with chips and they were nice and not overpriced. Every night we went to a different restaurant: I advise the Clarabel and the Polynesian just opposite the hotel and the Sage a few minutes away for something more 'upmarket' and stylish.
Pool is nice but could not understand why so many people just spent their holiday there when the beaches just a 5 minute walk away have crystal clear waters.
All in all I recommend this hotel to friends and couples who are not looking for complete silence and quiet. You can sleep pretty well with closed windows if you don't have a room facing the main street or, as I read, if you ask for a superior room. I will go back to Ayia Napa (I heard the best beaches in Cyprus are here and I believe it) and I might be back in this hotel because of its location close to shops, restaurants and the beach, but it would be again in this period because it is still relatively quiet: I think that in July and August it becomes a party mecca full of noise from people being drunk in the streets.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WORCESTER
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

I stayed here with my Sister in May and we were told it was a chiq and unique 4 star hotel. We were given a standard room which we had booked but we were given the impression that the standard of the room would be what they call a superior room. Our room was on the main street half looking at a roof and then looking at some bars. The room was shabby, carpets fraying, bathroom very old and dated. If we wanted to upgrade to a superior it was an extra 10 euros a night. Our room was very noisy as it was on the main street. We were kept awake until 1/2 am every morning because of the noise from the bars. And then we were woken up at 7am every morning including the weekend with the builders right outside our room doing the mexican restaurant. I think this is open now so anyone going now shouldn't get this but if you stay here you need to be very careful where your room is as alot of them in the hotel are noisy because it is right in the middle of the town.
You are not right near the nightclubs but you are near the bars which will be open until 1/2am.
The pool in the hotel is lovely and probably the best bit. Bar is not cheap but its the same anywhere in Cyprus for drinks. I found the staff were friendly but maybe not as friendly as some other people we met in the outside restaurants.
We stayed here B&b basis. Good selection of food/drink.
We chose to eat in the hotel restaurant one night and paid 18 euros for the buffet. It was not worth the money. The restaurant, as it is in alot of these hotels, is like a canteen. We would rather go out and pay 12 to 14 euros for a set meal in one of the restaurants in the town as you get much more for your money and we never had one bad meal out.
All in all, I was disappointed with this hotel, its not all its cracked up to be and it has got shabby and dated. I would go to Ayia Napa again but I wouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSIEMACWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapaPlaza1, Manager at Napa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2010
We feel quite uncomfortable when customers leave the hotel without enjoying 100% their vacations. We therefore advice our clients to read carefully our descriptions in regards to hotel room types. The standard room (or economy room) is only partly renovated, can be noisy and is suitable for people who look mainly for a budget room. We recommend you to choose a superior room or a junior suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.7 mi away
Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Nestor Hotel
Nestor Hotel
#9 of 102 in Ayia Napa
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Faros Hotel
Faros Hotel
#5 of 102 in Ayia Napa
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grecian Bay Hotel
Grecian Bay Hotel
#17 of 102 in Ayia Napa
733 reviews
1.9 mi away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#23 of 102 in Ayia Napa
1,646 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nissi Beach Resort
Nissi Beach Resort
#6 of 102 in Ayia Napa
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Plaza Hotel

Property: Napa Plaza Hotel
Address: PO Box 30305, Ayia Napa 5343, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
#8 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Plaza is a trendsetting integrated lifestyle holiday center designed to provide sensational experiential holidays. What distinguish us is the central prominent location and the “adult appealed” concept, underlined by a stylish, chic and unique, communicative, relaxed and enjoyable environment. The Napa Plaza gives a positive Lifestyle feeling in a relaxing casual atmosphere full of harmony, life's joy (joie de vivre), tolerance, generosity, mutual compassion and individuality. This Lifestyle community helps everyone to find his/her individual way for a sensational experiential stay. In addition to the prominent location, Napa Plaza is distinguished through architecture, cutting edge design and a vast choice of places and services creating a chic and unique character for comfort, service, activities and experiences of the top class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Bookcyprus.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Napa Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Plaza Ayia
Hotel Napa Plaza
Napa Plaza Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing