We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent last minute break”
Review of Globales Simar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Globales Simar
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent last minute break”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have just got back from a wonderful relaxing week at the Simar. We have visited before and will be going again next year. It is a very quiet clean hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful, this includes the entertainment team who manage to provide entertainment across two hotels really well. The food was excellent, with different choices everyday, it was so good that I won't say how much weight I put on!!! We really enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this hotel and resort to any one who is looking for a quiet relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Simar, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to the Hotel.
Your words and your intention of coming back again next year must only remind us to keep up the hard work while we focus on every other aspect we can improve.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    132
    50
    30
    26
See reviews for
104
158
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Arrived back last weekend and this hotel far exceeded our expectations. Booked on the last minute and didn't really expect a lot for the bargain price, as it was the start of the school holidays. Have holidayed in Majorca many times but not visited for quite a few years and never been to this resort before. We knew that the resort was quiet but we wanted a relaxing week and that's exactly what we got. Cala san Vincente is absolutely stunning and is somewhere that I will certainly return to. The beaches are beautiful but I thought the best one was to the right of the Simar, down the steps. The seabed was sandy and as you walked in you were surrounded by lots of large fish. It was absolutely amazing!
Hotel Simar is a typical 3 star Spanish hotel. The furnishings were very traditional and a little dated but everywhere was spotlessly clean. I requested a room on an upper floor with pool or sea views and we were in the block opposite reception. We had a room on the corner with a big balcony, sea view and huge bathroom (216)The room itself was quite small, but plenty big enough for two. It costs 25 euros (plus deposit) to hire a safe but we just locked valuables in our suitcase and didn't have any problems. Air con wasn't the best but was adequate.
The hotel was a hive of activity and was a great mix of couples and families of varying ages but because it is quite small there was great opportunity to get to know people and make new friends. We didn't go over to the Don Pedro for entertainment in the evening but preferred the bar at the Simar. It reminded me of an English pub and had a great atmosphere. Drink choices were really good.
There was a good selection of food in the restaurant and my only complaint was that you sometimes had to wait quite a while for certain dishes to be replenished, but everything was fresh and hot. It was very hot in the restaurant but we found that the best place to choose a table was at the bottom end towards the windows as it was much cooler there. There are a couple of theme nights, Wednesday is Spanish and Friday is Mexican.
The pool area is quite shaded in the mornings but we loved the adults only roof top sunbathing terrace. As others have mentioned, the sun beds are not the best as they are fixed and don't have a mattress. We bought lilos from the shop across the road (Marias is the cheapest) cost us about £15 for two but there were cheaper ones. Mine had a huge pillow as I like to sit up to read. At the end of the holiday we passed these on to other people but did notice that many people had left theirs in the luggage room by reception for others to help themselves to.
Late check out is quite expensive, 35 euros to keep your room until 8pm but we didn't bother as a courtesy room is available and reception provide clean towels for you. As there was no one booked in after us there was no rush to stick to half hour slot.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and reception gave us lots of info on bus times, taxi fares and maps of places you could get to on foot. We walked to Puerto Pollenca along the mountain path!. Wouldn't recommend this route unless you are a keen walker as it is easy to get lost and quite rocky underfoot. Only passed a couple of people on route along with a few goats. However, we still managed to get there, but got a taxi back.
We had a meal at the Marina Restaurant opposite the hotel which was really nice but quite expensive and also went to the Pizzeria around the corner. I would highly recommend this as the service was quick, the meal was excellent and the prices were very reasonable.
Unfortunately the advertised wifi wasn't working all week but you could go to the Don Pedro and get their password. However, this meant you could only use it in a designated area in that hotel. I got the wifi password for the Marina restaurant when we ate there and was able to pick up their signal from the rooftop terrace at the Simar for the rest of the week.
We would definitely return to this hotel but doubt if we would get such a bargain in future. We were told by a member of staff that the Simar won't be under the Hi hotel group next season.
There are lots of steps and stairs in and around this hotel so isn't suitable for anyone with mobility problems.

Happy Holidays
Karen

Room Tip: Ask for sea view or pool view on an upper floor as some rooms overlook the road or are beneath the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Simar, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear guest,

We are grateful that you took the time and trouble to write about your holiday.
We are very happy that you had a great time at our hotel. Your comments have been noted towards improving our services.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Recently returned from here and didn't want to come home.

The hotel
Very clean and basic. we had two single beds pushed together as one which was a huge problem for us because every time we tried to lie together the beds would separate, we did tell reception about this but it wasn't sorted. Apart from this, the rooms were kept very clean each day and we had a lovely pool view balcony which was lovely. the man behind reception was kind and helpful.

The pool
Clean big pool with sun loungers all around, the best part was the self service bar all day and if you fancied any other drink ie cocktail you could ask at the pool bar.

The entertainment
The was an issue with the same songs being continuously played and after spending the day around the pool it became quite annoying, I did speak to the entertainers and they sorted this. Entertainment was good with games around the pool during the day, we also all jumped into the pool together which was fun. Entertainment at the night was very repetitive, music wasn't always on and there was one night we all took part in a game which was great with us all dancing on the stage but then the quiz ended and the music was turned straight off as the entertainment was finished. I think they should have left the music on a little longer as the bar was also still flowing. TOm Rosie and elysa were friendly and always trying to involve everyone in the games and quizzes.

The food and restaurant was good. Wide choice including meats fish rice salads Chips cheese ham etc. good choice with drinks available too. Also snacks were left out available for up to 12 which was great if you got a bit pecking after a few late night drinks.

Staff were friendly.

We met a few other couples, Sally, Stephen, Tim, Linda, and Philip who were all great. Also loved meeting Ann and everyone was so friendly. We are a young couple in our twenties and even tho there wasn't any nightlife it was nice to have a few drinks at night and even take a walk onto the beach.

There is a bus straight into puerto polenca that has a few bars and a night club for anyone wanting something more lively.

All in all a great holiday. Would defiently come back.

Room Tip: Just mention to the hotel if you are a couple that you want a double bed rather than two singles. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 578Kirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Simar, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to the Hotel and for taking time to share your experiences.
It's our principal concern that our guests have a most enjoyable holiday.
We are very happy that you had a great time at our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Returned from the Simar last Friday 25th and what a cracking holiday. Only booked in mid June and I will be honest it was pretty much a last minute thing and one of the cheapest I could find, so I was a little apprehensive as the hotel had been closed for the past 5/6 years. However, I need not have worried at all. I travelled with my two lads and my mum and arrived very early Saturday morning. The rooms we were originally given were not to our needs but this was quickly sorted and we swapped rooms the next morning(the reception staff were very helpful).The hotel itself is in a stunning location with great views and near 3 lovely beaches, it is pretty basic but clean, a great pool/sunbathing area and the food was really good, great choice and plenty of it!! Drinks were flowing all day with self-service down by the pool. Tom and the entertainment team worked hard during the day and the evening entertainment was at the Dom Pedro just down the road where you could help yourself to drinks. The hotel itself I found had a lovely atmosphere and I met some great people, had a great chat by the pool with a Scottish lady who travelled with her mum and niece(didn't catch her name) maybe she's reading this!!! My point being that there was all sorts of people there, couples, families, old and young and there is something for everyone. The resort itself is pretty quiet but ideal if you just want to chill for a relaxing week. For what I paid for the week it was fantastic value, however I think these prices were just introductory prices to get the hotel filled up after opening as i've noticed the prices have jumped up. All in all a great week and well worth it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PGB869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Simar, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

We are grateful for the kind review of our staff, services. We are happy to know that you liked our hotel.
Thank you especially for taking time to share your experiences during your recent stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you once again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Recently returned from a relaxing week at Simar with my 16-year old daughter, our first all-inclusive holiday. This hotel and resort ticked all of our boxes - it was quiet but not too remote, the beaches and scenery were lovely. Hotel pool and sundeck were great. Hotel was clean; staff were friendly and efficient in the restaurant; room cleaned every day. Food was excellent - great range of choices at every meal. Didn't like any of the wine on offer under the all-inclusive but you can always buy from hotel bar below the restaurant. Free Wi-Fi in the lobby was not working after 2nd day but we were able to go to the sister hotel Don Pedro next door to use their Wi-Fi. Some problems with air-con in our room which were eventually resolved but this had not bothered us too much. Overall, great value for money and would visit again!

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view or on the side facing Cala Molins beach are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Simar, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for share your experiences during your recent stay with us.
Your comments have been noted as we always work towards improving our services.
We always try to provide the best service for our guests.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My partner and I arrived home late last night from a week's holiday, all inclusive, at the Simar Hotel. Well what a lovely holiday we have had!

The hotel was separated into two buildings. The reception area was in the left hand side building where there were some rooms and the swimming pool area. The building to the right hand side of the road was where the restaurant, bar and the rest of the rooms were. The room in which we stayed was across the road from the main reception in the 'mountain house'. The room itself was simple and basic but very clean and had a fabulous view of the mountains from the balcony. We spent many warm afternoons sat on the balcony chilling out and taking in the stunning views. The cleaning staff deserve some high praise as they work hard to clean each room to a high standard, everyday without fail.

The reception, across the road, was open 24 hours and the staff were there to answer and queries and always willing to help you if you needed them. Ernesto, from reception, especially seemed to go out of his way to help us with a few things and was helpful in giving directions to particular places.

As i said before, we went all inclusive and I have to say i could not find fault with the food or drinks they had to offer us. There was always a wide selection of food to choose from whatever time of day it was and it was all yummy! Some of the other reviews have said the food was cold, but we never found this unless you chose the cold options. As mentioned in previous reviews, there was a microwave available if you wanted to warm your food up yourself; but i have to say, i don't recall anyone using this as it was all so lovely and well prepared. They had certain drinks for all inclusive guests which were: red/white/rose wine, sangria and San Miguel on draught; a machine for spirits like vodka/rum/whiskey/brandy etc and a machine for soft drinks and tonic water. You could get this at either the pool bar or the bar area under the restaurant. The bar area itself, downstairs, was quiet on some days but never empty and the staff who worked behind the bar (Loly was such a lovely lady) and the staff in general across the hotel were always so polite, friendly and approachable.

The pool was quite large and seemed to be a big hit with both children and adults alike! It was nice to get in and have a quick dip to cool down before sitting/laying in the sun with a drink in hand. There were quite a few water activities for both adults and children which were always very popular and entertaining to watch from the sides. upstairs there was the solarium which was for adults only to sunbathe. This area was always very popular and had some stunning views of the surrounding mountains, sea and other buildings. The only snag with this was that because it was so popular, it was quite hard to get sunbeds but there were always chairs to sit in and catch a few rays.

There was no entertainment as such at the hotel, so if you wanted to see what was on offer, you had to go to the Simar's sister hotel, the Don Pedro. They had trivia quizzes, a kid's club and various activities to take part in which weer all good fun. You could also use your all inclusive band to use get drinks whilst you were there, which was really good.

All in all, the hotel itself was good, the food and drink were fab and the staff were so helpful that it is safe to say, i would not think twice about booking here again and recommending it to friends and family!

Well done to all the staff at the Simar for getting the hotel to such a high standard in such a short space of time (it only opened in june this year!) and keep it up!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Simar, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the kind words. We are happy to know that you had a great time at our hotel.
It's our principal concern that our guests have a most enjoyable holiday.
Our staff will be happy to hear your positives comments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you once again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Arrived back last Wednesday having spent 7 days at the resort. Had a really good time, very relaxing. Our room was small but adequate. The balcony was the smallest I had ever seen but the view of the mountain was fantastic. The beaches were beautiful and the scenery all around was stunning. We went to the beach every day.

The food at the hotel was very good and varied. The staff were very friendly. Our room was supposedly cleaned every day but this was not to a good standard, the bathroom was not cleaned but they emptied the bins and made the beds and replaced the towels.

We made use of the Don Pedro for drinks throughout the day and spent time on their sun terrace overlooking the sea. All in all we had a lovely time and would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Simar, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

Your words only remind us to keep up the hard work while we focus on every other aspect we can improve.
Thank you for taking time to share your experiences during your recent stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala San Vincente
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cala Sant Vicenc
Hotel Cala Sant Vicenc
#2 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grupotel Molins
Grupotel Molins
#1 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Niu Hotel
Hoposa Niu Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SENTIDO Don Pedro
SENTIDO Don Pedro
#4 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
1,674 reviews
38.7 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
2,911 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Moraleja Hotel
La Moraleja Hotel
#6 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Simar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Simar

Property: Globales Simar
Address: Calle Temporal s/n, 07469 Cala San Vincente, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala San Vincente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cala San Vincente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Simar 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The Globales Simar Hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful areas of coastline of the island of Mallorca. Cala San Vicente is truly an idyllic resort, and the Hotel Globales Simar You're just a metres from the wonderful, intimate and inviting beach, considered amongst the most charming on the island. The Globales Simar is also very close to the beautiful beaches of Cala Barques, Cala Clara, Cala Molins and Cala Carbo. The Globales Simar Hotel provides every comfort and convenience, allowing you to relax and enjoy your holiday whether you wish to laze by the pool, have a meal or a drink in one of our bars or restaurants, or just sit on your balcony and admire the picturesque scenery. You are sure to have an unforgettable family holiday at the Globales Simar in Cala San Vicente. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Simar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globales Simar Majorca/Cala San Vincente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing