We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good 3* with 4* food”
Review of Globales Simar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Globales Simar
essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good 3* with 4* food”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Positives:
- excellent food, good variety, always hot. We didn't need to eat anywhere else. Food is better then an average 3*.
- Lovely pool, big although is quite deep in the deep end.
- Very clean, pool area always cleaned and rooms cleaned daily.
- The location is beautiful. Beach within walking distance, lovely cove, bus ride to the nearest town.

Areas where people might find negatives. Although for us these were not a problem and were expected for the price we paid.
- The entertainment is pretty weak although the four staff work hard across the two hotels. In my experience you don't often get entertainment at a 3* so this was more then what you usually get. However, the daily activities are pretty much the same each day. The evening ents are weak. We did have one Cabaret that came in as an Elvis tribute and he was fantastic. If you want to dip in and out of a quiz or the odd evening karaoke/game show then it's fine.
- The rooms are basic. It was fine for us, clean and had all the needed basics. The aircon was fine. We did also change room when we arrived as the room smelt of cigarette smoke. However, this was easy and we changed immediately, no problem. If you want a 4* room then you need to pay to visit a 4* hotel.
-If you are unsteady on your feet you may struggle here as there are a number of steps around the resort due to the location.
- we loved sunbathing onthe adult terrace . However as with any resorts these days people do leave their towels on the beds. We had breakfast and always got a lounger about 8am. These did get snapped up if you are a late riser.

We would return as we had a lovely, quiet relaxing stay. Just what we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank night_fever17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Simar, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for constructive criticism. We take your comments very seriously and they do help to improve our standards.
We are sorry to read the entertainment programme was not of your liking.
We are happy to know that you liked our hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    134
    50
    30
    26
See reviews for
104
159
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Lovely hotel in a quiet location with beautiful beach and views. The food was deliciously good choice every day the chefs did a wonderful job. Hotel is clean and staff friendly and helpful would recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Simar, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the kind review of our staff, services and hotel.
We are very happy that you had a great time at our hotel.
Will be pleased if you give further preference to our hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, Dorset
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just got back from a week staying at the Simar, super relaxing place.
Lovely food, staff and rooms, all that's required for a relaxing week away, this place is ideally suited to families with young kids and couples, I didn't see one loud pissed up Brit the whole week, although you do still see the obligatory football shirt ( such a shame they can't leave them at home).
With beauty full beaches just 500 or 1000 yards away I really don't get the subbed hoggers round the pool but each to there own, there are buses to pollensa and Porto de pollensa daily and both are worth a visit.

Car hire is approx 35/60 euros per day and is best done a day in advance for the best deal.

All in all a great holiday and Majorca has perfect beaches and lots of sun, will def return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesphelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Simar, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experiences during your recent stay with us.
We know that holidays are special and do our best to make them completely enjoyable.
We are very happy that you had a great time at our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you once again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had poor customer service from Thomas Cook before setting off. Then arrived to find hotel had no record of our booking! Said had plenty of rooms free and directed to one with a sea view but it didn't actually exist - it appeared several rooms had no numbers and couldn't be accessed. About 45 mins later after trying several options we were sent to the Don Pedro, just about to check in and then sent back to Simar. The receptionist had tried his best but it was a farce. Given a dreadful room, air con not working, shower a trickle, generators noisy. Told to return the next morning and eventually allocated a new room over looking pool which was much better. Air con leaked but quickly fixed by maintenance man. Telephone in room didn't work and never fixed.

We were about the 5th set of guests that morning asking for a new room and every day people were reporting having maintenance problems with their room or asking to be moved and more than once we saw guests who had similar problem with no knowledge of their booking or one room booked instead of two. The staff were nice and did their best unless the grumpy manager was present, who was miserable, unhelpful and certainly had no idea what customer service was.

The hotel was clean, the food hit and miss. If you are a vegetarian you will struggle, my daughter had what was described as a vegetable rice dish to find meat in it. The menu is exactly the same at the Don Pedro they put a menu out and it looked as if it was presented much nicer than in the Simar. The pool areas in both hotels cramped, not enough sun beds and certainly not enough umbrellas making shade difficult to find. Sat on the beach (13euros for 2 beds and a sunshade).

Took hair drier, you can hire one, or a kettle, towels, iron for about 15 euros a week and 30 for a fridge(same in Don Pedro) . Air con can be left on all day which is a bonus. Patio doors do not lock.

Resort is beautiful with stunning views and colour of sea but take beach shoes if you want to swim as it is very stony and slippery. Rock jumping across the bay just a 5 min walk from hotel.

Would return to resort. Having stayed at 3* hotels before, some of which have been better than 4* , I would not return to the Simar or Don Pedro.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Simar, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear guest,

We highly appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your impression of your stay.
We take your comments very seriously and they do help to improve our standards and services.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cala San Vincente hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My boyfriend and I paid £800 for a week all inclusive holiday at this hotel at the end of July!
We had the best time and couldn't have asked for a better location.
After checking in, we headed down to the beach to find that we were more than welcome to also use the facilities at the Don Pedro hotel next door. We spent our days sunbathing down on there sea front terrace and helped ourselves to all inclusive drinks and snacks, but headed to the Simar for main meals and a dip in the pool, although we could also have used the Don Pedro pool too! We just couldn't have main meals there.
After tea we would spend the evenings down at the Don Pedro for the entertainment which involved trivia quizzes, karaoke and fun games that involved everyone. Tom was the perfect head entertainer. Day time entertainment also included trivia quizzes, archery, penalty shoot out, pool and table tennis.
The Hi Simar hotel was clean and had very friendly staff who were always there to help and spoke good English. The rooms just don't have a fridges, but we got around it by nipping down stairs to the spar to buy cold water and drinks for our room. The pool area was clean and had a bar to get all inclusive drinks.
We ventured out one day to Port Palencia which was only €1.50 on the bus each way. We also ate out on our last night at a tapas restaurant a 5 minute walk away!
It's was the perfect holiday to chill and meet wonderful people.
We would highly recommend this hotel as well as the Don Pedro as both catered to our every need. Book it and enjoy it :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenanddean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Simar, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear guest,

We are grateful that you took the time to share your experiences during your recent stay with us.
Our staff will be happy to hear your positives comments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you once again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have just got back from a wonderful relaxing week at the Simar. We have visited before and will be going again next year. It is a very quiet clean hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful, this includes the entertainment team who manage to provide entertainment across two hotels really well. The food was excellent, with different choices everyday, it was so good that I won't say how much weight I put on!!! We really enjoyed ourselves and would recommend this hotel and resort to any one who is looking for a quiet relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Simar, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to the Hotel.
Your words and your intention of coming back again next year must only remind us to keep up the hard work while we focus on every other aspect we can improve.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Arrived back last weekend and this hotel far exceeded our expectations. Booked on the last minute and didn't really expect a lot for the bargain price, as it was the start of the school holidays. Have holidayed in Majorca many times but not visited for quite a few years and never been to this resort before. We knew that the resort was quiet but we wanted a relaxing week and that's exactly what we got. Cala san Vincente is absolutely stunning and is somewhere that I will certainly return to. The beaches are beautiful but I thought the best one was to the right of the Simar, down the steps. The seabed was sandy and as you walked in you were surrounded by lots of large fish. It was absolutely amazing!
Hotel Simar is a typical 3 star Spanish hotel. The furnishings were very traditional and a little dated but everywhere was spotlessly clean. I requested a room on an upper floor with pool or sea views and we were in the block opposite reception. We had a room on the corner with a big balcony, sea view and huge bathroom (216)The room itself was quite small, but plenty big enough for two. It costs 25 euros (plus deposit) to hire a safe but we just locked valuables in our suitcase and didn't have any problems. Air con wasn't the best but was adequate.
The hotel was a hive of activity and was a great mix of couples and families of varying ages but because it is quite small there was great opportunity to get to know people and make new friends. We didn't go over to the Don Pedro for entertainment in the evening but preferred the bar at the Simar. It reminded me of an English pub and had a great atmosphere. Drink choices were really good.
There was a good selection of food in the restaurant and my only complaint was that you sometimes had to wait quite a while for certain dishes to be replenished, but everything was fresh and hot. It was very hot in the restaurant but we found that the best place to choose a table was at the bottom end towards the windows as it was much cooler there. There are a couple of theme nights, Wednesday is Spanish and Friday is Mexican.
The pool area is quite shaded in the mornings but we loved the adults only roof top sunbathing terrace. As others have mentioned, the sun beds are not the best as they are fixed and don't have a mattress. We bought lilos from the shop across the road (Marias is the cheapest) cost us about £15 for two but there were cheaper ones. Mine had a huge pillow as I like to sit up to read. At the end of the holiday we passed these on to other people but did notice that many people had left theirs in the luggage room by reception for others to help themselves to.
Late check out is quite expensive, 35 euros to keep your room until 8pm but we didn't bother as a courtesy room is available and reception provide clean towels for you. As there was no one booked in after us there was no rush to stick to half hour slot.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and reception gave us lots of info on bus times, taxi fares and maps of places you could get to on foot. We walked to Puerto Pollenca along the mountain path!. Wouldn't recommend this route unless you are a keen walker as it is easy to get lost and quite rocky underfoot. Only passed a couple of people on route along with a few goats. However, we still managed to get there, but got a taxi back.
We had a meal at the Marina Restaurant opposite the hotel which was really nice but quite expensive and also went to the Pizzeria around the corner. I would highly recommend this as the service was quick, the meal was excellent and the prices were very reasonable.
Unfortunately the advertised wifi wasn't working all week but you could go to the Don Pedro and get their password. However, this meant you could only use it in a designated area in that hotel. I got the wifi password for the Marina restaurant when we ate there and was able to pick up their signal from the rooftop terrace at the Simar for the rest of the week.
We would definitely return to this hotel but doubt if we would get such a bargain in future. We were told by a member of staff that the Simar won't be under the Hi hotel group next season.
There are lots of steps and stairs in and around this hotel so isn't suitable for anyone with mobility problems.

Happy Holidays
Karen

Room Tip: Ask for sea view or pool view on an upper floor as some rooms overlook the road or are beneath the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiHotels, Gerente at Globales Simar, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear guest,

We are grateful that you took the time and trouble to write about your holiday.
We are very happy that you had a great time at our hotel. Your comments have been noted towards improving our services.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala San Vincente
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cala Sant Vicenc
Hotel Cala Sant Vicenc
#2 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grupotel Molins
Grupotel Molins
#1 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Niu Hotel
Hoposa Niu Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SENTIDO Don Pedro
SENTIDO Don Pedro
#4 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
1,681 reviews
38.7 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
2,933 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Moraleja Hotel
La Moraleja Hotel
#6 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Simar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Simar

Property: Globales Simar
Address: Calle Temporal s/n, 07469 Cala San Vincente, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala San Vincente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cala San Vincente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Simar 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The Globales Simar Hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful areas of coastline of the island of Mallorca. Cala San Vicente is truly an idyllic resort, and the Hotel Globales Simar You're just a metres from the wonderful, intimate and inviting beach, considered amongst the most charming on the island. The Globales Simar is also very close to the beautiful beaches of Cala Barques, Cala Clara, Cala Molins and Cala Carbo. The Globales Simar Hotel provides every comfort and convenience, allowing you to relax and enjoy your holiday whether you wish to laze by the pool, have a meal or a drink in one of our bars or restaurants, or just sit on your balcony and admire the picturesque scenery. You are sure to have an unforgettable family holiday at the Globales Simar in Cala San Vicente. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Globales Simar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globales Simar Majorca/Cala San Vincente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing