We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, they sure don't lie about the view”
Review of Grecs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grecs Hotel
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Well, they sure don't lie about the view”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Grecs towers over Roses, so be prepared to climb! There's complimentary parking and we also had (a rather decent) breakfast included. The room was good albeit somewhat outdated. And yes, there was a terrific view of the bay.
There's no wifi in the room, so head for the lobby if you can't stand the urge.
All in all, very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    104
    35
    13
    5
See reviews for
69
89
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a week in September this year, what an excellent value hotel.
Great rooms all with a spectacular view of roses and the bay and would highly recommend to anyone visiting the rea

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stopped off here for an overnight stay & was unexpectedly surprised by this well run, clean and easy going hotel. Excellent informal evening terrace meal with unrivaled views across the city & bay followed by extensive buffet breakfast next morning. Fabulous pool and safe parking. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldencurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

As mentioned in most of the previous reviews the hotel is fairly old but clean, same for the rooms & furniture but the bathrooms are new and the sea-view balconies are a huge plus.

There's a fairly steep uphill walk from town (~10/15 minutes) but if there weren't the view wouldn't be so spectacular! Parking & a typical self-service breakfast were included (mmm churros). We were there off-peak and found the rooms quiet as well as the pool area. Staff were helpful & multi-lingual.

Roses is an pretty good base for visiting the area and we were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel Grecs - fantastic value!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stinaandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, Devon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I loved it, only stayed one night, so as too travel thru to France next day.
Don't want too many people knowing about this but, as I don't want it full from now till eternity, cos I wanna go back. But in a nutshell:
B&B and balcony overlooking the whole Bay of Roses for £40 per night for two people in September.
Yes, bed & breakfast, 2 x people room with a view........ oh, and Pool.

Buffet Style Lunch, Big selection, all you can eat, go back as many times as you want, 9 euros each...... another bargain.

Breakfast inc. again Buffet style breakfast = Excellent, lots of choice.

Roses Town good selection of Bars & Restaurants.

Only downside........... Steep hill to Hotel, car needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

on our way back to Barcelona from Nice we stopped for a night in Roses. we found this hotel very friendly and with a spectacular view. the lady at reception was very helpful and showed us the room before we decided to stay over and gave us an even better room at the 3rd level when she realized we just want a good night sleep for our 3 year old baby. the room was very nice and cool although there is no aircon in the rooms. the view was amazing. we had a good night sleep the only negative is that we woke up with a horrible smell from the drain in the bathroom. a newly refurbished bathroom that was so stinky we had to leave asap. the breakfast was ok, staff was nice and helpful. I would go back again the only negative is that I didn't like the resort at all! it was full of dodgy people, drunk or old and drunk. i didn't feel safe at all. the beach was sandy and looked lovely in the evening. we paid 60 Eur for a night for 3 people. a bargain.

Room Tip: make sure you book a room at the 3rd level as they are refurbished and have an electronic key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzana2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Although the rooms were plain, and lacked any air-conditioning, they were comfortable and clean, with breathtaking views over the bay of Roses, and the breezy weather meant that we were perfectly comfortable at night. The bathrooms were fine but I would have appreciated some soap! The pool was great - and much frequented by our two teenage boys. We enjoyed the food and ate our evening meal practically every night at the hotel becasue of its excellent value and wide selection of food.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carys20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.5 mi away
Univers Hotel
Univers Hotel
#18 of 36 in Roses
302 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
448 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#9 of 36 in Roses
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
1.8 mi away
Prestige Sant Marc Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montmar
Hotel Montmar
#13 of 36 in Roses
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecs Hotel

Property: Grecs Hotel
Address: c/ Homer,12-14, 17480 Roses, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grecs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grecs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecs Hotel Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing