We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Marian Platja
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here one Saturday in June. The hotel has an enviable position overlooking the beach and has great views of the Bay of Roses.
The room wasn't large but was clean and had everything you needed for a beach break. We had a terrace and seaview, which it is worth paying a few euros extra for.
Reception was welcoming and helpful, and although we arrived early, they allowed us into our room.
Car parking is available at the front of the hotel and on street.
In the evening they had a duo entertaining, and a lot of the mature couples were up dancing.
Breakfast was ok and we felt that the hotel was reasonable value.
Our only problem was the noise in the early hours from occasional drunks passing along the promenade - why don't the Spanish police patrol this strip?
There seemed to be mainly guests on package holidays.....no English but chiefly German, Spanish and French guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mendiprambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    29
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
22
38
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

A great hotel for cyclists as it has a large secure garage for bikes. Ideally located right on the beach. As others say, decor a bit dated but the rooms are good, wifi works well and reception very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast ok but not great so loses a point for this.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We very much enjoyed our 2 week stay at this hotel, especially the direct access to the beach and the sea. It caters well for families, older couples and us cyclists, with cycle storage, generous portions of fresh food and helpful staff who speak Catalan, French and some English. Lovely sunshine every day for 2 weeks helped too!

Room Tip: Our 2nd floor room on the side still had sea view but was cooler than those in the direct afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Posh_Cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a family holiday, this hotel was very welcoming with lovely views and situated perfectly, down some steps and we were sat on the beach. cocktails were lovely and rooms were clean although could do with upgrading as very dated. entertainment left a lot to be desired and pool was freezing and small, but this was not to much of an issue seeing as the beach was so close by. The staff were exceptionally friendly especially the bar staff and the owner, we would stroll along the promenade to reach the restaurants and a small town. Staff were very friendly although food was average. One member of our party split his head open during our stay and the owner quickly called for an ambulance. No tummy upsets from here and there were 48 of us, a lovely little town where we felt safe to take evening strolls, all in all i would say stay here if you do not plan to spend too much time in the hotel (like us) although if you are someone very fussy i would say avoid, i would say this suits 3 stars as it is clean and friendly and situated nicely, let downs are it needs updating and more entertainment as we only had a disco two nights out of 8 but luckily there were enough of us to entertain each other at night sat on the deck near the pool table for the younger ones.

Room Tip: having a room with a sea view is a must, although the rooms facing the back allow you to watch the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truthbetold01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We used Hotel Marian Platja as our base when we traveled for a wedding. The staff are friendly and the hotel is clean, if a bit dated, and there is plenty of free parking. Our double room was adequate and breakfast just about OK, with reasonably good choice .... but didn't like the look of the streaky bacon.
Swimming pool is on the small side but you can easily pop across to the beach, which is adjacent just over the promenade.
Suited us, as it was "cheap and cheerful", with the added bonus of adult dancing and entertainment every night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suburban_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Step back in time into 1972. This hotel is will take you there! It's clean,friendly, well situated on the sea front and reasonably priced but the average guest has long since retired! Adult dancing outside in the evenings & a €12 buffet dinner in the huge dining room is on offer if that's your thing! Roses is well prepared for the throngs of old timers & probably has been since 1972!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

It is not often you get the chance to find a lovely hotel right on the beach - but this hotel is exactly that - just a promenade path in between the hotel and beach. We travelled with our father-in-law who has been 5 times to this hotel - and I can see why. For the elderly it is a dream come true. To be able to sleep at night with the balcony doors wide open and drift off to sleep with the sound of the sea - is truly wonderful and very relaxing. The staff were wonderful and the rooms were very clean. The hotel entertainment was very good. The lady singer had a voice better than I have heard on any West End Show, and she was also giving dance lessons. Lots of fun and dancing and the drinks terrace for the evening and cocktail list amazing. Becauses Roses is so flat and the Promenade so good, anybody with walking difficulties would love this place - it is all so user friendly. I didn't care for the hotel food - but I can see why my father-in-law liked it - it was quite plain and could have been a lot better.

Room Tip: Rooms 502 and 503 - family rooms - have wonderful private balconies and the most amazing sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#6 of 36 in Roses
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#10 of 36 in Roses
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#19 of 36 in Roses
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monterrey Roses by Pierre & Vacances
0.4 mi away
Prestige Victoria
Prestige Victoria
#14 of 36 in Roses
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#20 of 36 in Roses
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marian Platja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marian Platja

Property: Hotel Marian Platja
Address: Avgda. Salata s/n, 17480 Roses, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marian Platja 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Marian Platja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marian Platja Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing