We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quadruple room not what you expect” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prestige Hotel Mar Y Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prestige Hotel Mar Y Sol
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Manhattan Beach CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“quadruple room not what you expect”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We spent 2 nights in Roses Spain, a great area about 2 hours north of Barcelona by car. The city is on a bay with about 3-4 miles of sandy beach. The city is very touristy, meaning that there are large crowds in the summer, with scores of restaurants and shops filled with people. So if you are looking for a quiet getaway, Roses is not your place.
We booked our room as a quadruple, with the hotel stating there would be four beds. However, when we arrived, the room had two single beds and then a couch. The couch had a small pull out mattress, but the expectation was that the 4th person would sleep on a hard couch. When l voiced my objection at the front desk, they said "we don't have rooms with 4 beds" (despite the quadruple room promotion), and further stated that they were completely booked.
The room itself had a fantastic view of the ocean, and included a mini fridge and even a stove (not sure what benefit the stove was as there were not stores anywhere to buy food).
Parking in Roses is very difficult. The hotel has a parking garage you can use for a fee, but it is about 6-7 blocks away.
We drove one day along the coast towards France, to Banuls-Sur-Mer and to Collioure (this latter beach was fantastic), it was about an hour drive from Roses.
Be sure to go to Figueres to the Dali museum.

The hotel has a restaurant but it is very expensive and not worth it, given the innumerable other restaurant options all over town that are much cheaper.

The hotel has no amenities at all (you can't even get a soft drink at night).

The hotel location is great, however rates in August are very high relative to September.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cdvmanhattanbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    91
    30
    14
    7
See reviews for
45
86
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
burgundy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

Good location. Friendly staff. Impossible parking. Noisy sea front rooms. No entertainment, no communal areas
Restaurant served bad food with arrogance. Still frozen chicken, half cooked fish. Canned soup. Strongly suspect evening set meal was lunchtime leftovers. Expensive wine

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bomberBurgundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Roses hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

We stayed four nights on a room & breakfast basis. The location of the hotel is perfect - easily found on arrival in Roses, front line right on the lovely beach and close to the pedestrian area of the old town which has lots of restaurants etc for lunch and dinner at very reasonable prices.
The only downside is car parking. The hotel has none, not even outside for drop off! This is an issue all over this town. Bad enough in late May and apparently a nightmare in high season. The good news isthat what parking is availabl on street is free. There is also a pay car park along the front if really stuck.
We asked for a top floor room to get a terrace with table/chairs and two sunbeds. Very well worth the extra cost. 504 is the best room if you can get it. Large terrace on front and side of room.
Breakfast was good, with plenty choice but aimed at the European market - cold meats/cheese etc instead of hot options. Excellent selection of fruits made up for it.
The hotel is a little tired looking, but is certainly very clean and the staff friendly. Not much English spoken, though. Seems to be a favourite of the French, which is no bad thing as they always seek high standards! In fact the whole of Roses was full of French visitors, very much the dominant nationalty. Very few Brits and no Americans.
Close to the hotel you can get a boat trip to Cadaques - an hour's sail for €13 return was good value. Do not go by road - difficult drive and no parking.
From Girona airport it was an easy 50 minutes drive which makes this town very accessible. A real Spanish town with real Spanish people and not too touristy. I liked it!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLomond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

I booked this hotel for one night whilst traveling from spain to Southern France. On arrival we found that we could not get near the hotel due to the local carnival. Parking was in a back street some 400 meters away. Booked a twin bedded no smoking room for myself and my son only to be given a double bed. After complaining to the reception which happened to be a small desk in the entrance corrider we had the room changed to a twin room but it smelled very strongly of smoking and not very clean. The bathroom was tiny and desparatly in need of a refurb as was the rest of the hotel. It was as if it was timelocked in the 1970's. After aproaching reception again it was take it or leave it. As the time was now 10 p.m. we had no choice. There is a resteraunt at the hotel but you have to leave the hotel walk down the street and in through another door. Great when it is raining and blowing a gale. The food was good but very expensive. Breakfast which was in the price for the overnight stay was again in this resteraunt down the street.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevorUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2007

Wish we had read the reviews, the hotel was close to the main section of Rosas and was told that there was plenty of free parking. We were not told that it was street parking which was not available. We had to drive round the one way system several times before we found parking and had to walk over a mile back to the hotel with luggage in the rain. Hotel not bad, had small kitchenette in room, but nothing special.

  • Liked — Sea View
  • Disliked — No parking
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jancowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2006

Rented a car in Barcelona, had lunch in Girona, 4:00pm appointment at the Dali house museum in Port Lligat then to Rosas for the night. The next day, off to the Dali museum in Figueres.

The above itinerary is the only reason we stayed in Rosas. Hotel Mary Y sol was lackluster, well worn, fairly clean and fairly comfortable. Good location for walking to restaurants and sipping drinks while watching the sun set. Parking is tough, even off season.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BinnyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2005

I stayed at this hotel with my partner in January 2005, just after New Year. We got a brilliant deal (as it was out of season) including breakfast.

The room itself had a small kitchenette with fridge, hob etc., a sitting area with sofa and chair that was screened off from the sleeping area, and a sleeping area with wardrobe. The bathroom was small but had everything that we wanted. It wasn't the best 4* room we've had but it was certainly the cheapest!

There wasn't any parking at the hotel so it was a case of driving along the coast until you found something. Might be a problem in the high season?

Our room had a sea view that was very pleasant and we strolled along the seafront to the marina in 70 degree temperatures in January. A lot of the restaurants were closed as it was out of season but we found a nice tapas bar to have lunch and another nice restaurant to eat in the evening.

The hotel itself didn't have a restaurant so the breakfast was in the restaurant next door to the hotel. It was a continental breakfast and was fine.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank touchango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#5 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prestige Coral Platja
Prestige Coral Platja
#10 of 36 in Roses
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ramblamar
Hotel Ramblamar
#22 of 36 in Roses
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciutadella
Hotel Ciutadella
#9 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Hotel Mar Y Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Hotel Mar Y Sol

Property: Prestige Hotel Mar Y Sol
Address: Plaza Catalunya 20, 17480 Roses, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prestige Hotel Mar Y Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Prestige Hotel Mar Y Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestige Aparthotel Mar y Sol Hotel Roses
Prestige Hotel Mar Y Sol Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing