We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Montecarlo
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vistabella(Roses)
US$365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grecs Hotel(Roses)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$125
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ciutadella(Roses)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prestige Hotel Mar y Sol Elit(Roses)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$107
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maritim(Roses)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
38
110
61
25
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
110
61
25
11
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

We picked this place on the basis that they allowed pets. And after retrospectively reading the reviews I must admit I was a little apprehensive.

The place is located right by the beach and has it's own swimming pool in a solarium (it does keep the wind off but I can imagine it getting really hot!).

The rooms are big, clean, and have a really big balcony. Our rooms were on the first floor above the entrance and didn't have air conditioning - apparently only the rooms facing the beach have air con so if you want this make sure you specify it when you book.

I found the restaurant a little disappointing a was basic decor but breakfast was adequate.

I stayed in Roses for three days and didn't hear one person speak English the whole time we were there - they were Spanish, French and german. So don't expect big crowds of Brits.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoni F, Propietario at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thanks for you advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Hi,
Booked this late through Tripadvisor and got a great rate - less than $100 per night for a single room with half board.
Address is somewhat confusing as it is not really in Roses proper but Santa Margarita so you have a decent walk to the centre of Roses.
The room itself was basic, with no air conditioning. This is a propblem in August as it is very hot at this time of year and being on the seafront it is very noisy - take earplugs!
The en suite bathroom has a basic shower - and they don't provide any shampoos.
The restaurant provides plenty of hot food for breakfast and dinner to make up for the room deficiences.
Would not stay again but was not a complete disaster.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluetax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

On arrival at the hotel we were impressed as it was better than we had anticipated. The rooms were clean and tidy with plenty of cupboard space. We paid extra for a sea view as did my parents and this was well worth it. Hotel is right on the beach with an easy promenade into Roses which is a very nice little town. Segway rentals in Roses looked good fun. Bicycles can be hired from the hotels and I think these were free of charge. Breakfasts are very well organised with a good selection of hot and cold food covering all European tastes as well as freshly cooked eggs, bacon, sausages, omlettes and boiled eggs. We did not try the restaurant for lunch or evening meals however as they were also buffet style. We did take a look one evening but felt that there was not a lot of choice for English tastes. However, the whole of Santa Margarida is awash with very nice little bars and restaurants providing very good food.

On the whole we had a very good week. Evening musical entertainment was very good, only one night when this was not available. Suited more to the over 60's as it is not exactly disco music however, this did give my parents a very good opportunity to regularly trip the light fantastic! We did not go into the pool although we did see other people in it. It may have been a little cold as the weather two weeks before had been very poor and it is enclosed so probably did not get much opportunity to warm up. There is a sun terrace with beds with easy access via stairs from the pool which is a little hidden away. Be prepared for noisy nights however. Passers by leaving other bars tend to walk along the front of the hotel en route to their hotels and can be rowdy. Add this to the tractors cleaning the beach early hours together with the road sweeping machines and it makes for an early wake up call (they seem to start at around 4.30am). Advise keeping doors and shutters closed - easily said in early June but not sure how warm the rooms become in July and August - not aware of any air conditioning units available in bedrooms.

On the whole a very good week away in a perfectly suitable hotel for the price offered.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mouse010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Roses is a nice town, good base to explore the coast and visit L'Escala, Cadaques etc. The Santa Margarida area is a 20 minute walk along a flat promenade to the centre of Roses. Hotel is right on a nice beach, with quite a few restaurants around. Only issue with the area is that there seemed to be a fair bit of dog mess around. Streets need cleaning better and pet owners need to grow up and think of others.

Our Quadruple Room was good value for the price paid, but we only stayed a couple of nights and it might have felt too small for a longer holiday. The hotel was clean with good service and ok breakfast. However, we might not have stayed here if it weren't for the promise of a heated indoor pool since we were there off season, and the pool was unheated and far too cold to use.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikel_Arteta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

As we hadn't been able to book ahead on line we paid over the (internet) odds for a side room but requested nevertheless a quiet room. We were given a room amidst a party of French cyclists, so listened to them noisily carrying bikes to their rooms wearing cycling shoes. After also listening to a dog constantly yapping in a nearby room we requested another room and mentioned the dog noise. The receptionist was not interested and pointed out that the hotel does allow animals in rooms. She did however allocate another room for us on the 6th floor which was very quiet - shame she hadn't done this in the first place.
The breakfast was OK and had we had time, I would have used the indoor pool.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews