We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montecarlo
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Grenade, France
Level Contributor
211 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is literally on the beach so the sea view room was a blast. The room was clean, the bed firm and comfortable, the staff friendly and available, pet friendly with no additional charge. The free mini bar (stocked up every day), the free internet (even if the connection was shaky at the least) and the free breakfast (nothing fancy but a solid buffet) fully justified a 168 Euro per night rate for a 2 people room in the middle of August (booked with very short notice). On the minus side, the hotel is in the middle of a busy area so there is a lot going on late a night and the parking space (paid) is very limited so we where forced to park in the middle of the street a good half mile away

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seifer1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    91
    46
    21
    10
See reviews for
59
104
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We booked a room facing the sea, and were not disapointed. It came with a small balcony as well as the stunning view. The boulavade below was a buzz of activity, and a constant flow of interest. There are several good restaurants very close by if you do not want the set price buffet in the Montecarlo.

For us secure parking was a priority as we had all our holiday luggage in the car, and only wanted to take a small case to the hotel. This hotel was the best we found as it has a locked garage about 300 yards away. Worth the walk for the safety.

Room Tip: There is a price to pay for the sea view. Not only literally (and worth the extra cost) but also bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happystaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

We picked this place on the basis that they allowed pets. And after retrospectively reading the reviews I must admit I was a little apprehensive.

The place is located right by the beach and has it's own swimming pool in a solarium (it does keep the wind off but I can imagine it getting really hot!).

The rooms are big, clean, and have a really big balcony. Our rooms were on the first floor above the entrance and didn't have air conditioning - apparently only the rooms facing the beach have air con so if you want this make sure you specify it when you book.

I found the restaurant a little disappointing a was basic decor but breakfast was adequate.

I stayed in Roses for three days and didn't hear one person speak English the whole time we were there - they were Spanish, French and german. So don't expect big crowds of Brits.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoni F, Propietario at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thanks for you advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Hi,
Booked this late through Tripadvisor and got a great rate - less than $100 per night for a single room with half board.
Address is somewhat confusing as it is not really in Roses proper but Santa Margarita so you have a decent walk to the centre of Roses.
The room itself was basic, with no air conditioning. This is a propblem in August as it is very hot at this time of year and being on the seafront it is very noisy - take earplugs!
The en suite bathroom has a basic shower - and they don't provide any shampoos.
The restaurant provides plenty of hot food for breakfast and dinner to make up for the room deficiences.
Would not stay again but was not a complete disaster.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluetax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
190 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

On arrival at the hotel we were impressed as it was better than we had anticipated. The rooms were clean and tidy with plenty of cupboard space. We paid extra for a sea view as did my parents and this was well worth it. Hotel is right on the beach with an easy promenade into Roses which is a very nice little town. Segway rentals in Roses looked good fun. Bicycles can be hired from the hotels and I think these were free of charge. Breakfasts are very well organised with a good selection of hot and cold food covering all European tastes as well as freshly cooked eggs, bacon, sausages, omlettes and boiled eggs. We did not try the restaurant for lunch or evening meals however as they were also buffet style. We did take a look one evening but felt that there was not a lot of choice for English tastes. However, the whole of Santa Margarida is awash with very nice little bars and restaurants providing very good food.

On the whole we had a very good week. Evening musical entertainment was very good, only one night when this was not available. Suited more to the over 60's as it is not exactly disco music however, this did give my parents a very good opportunity to regularly trip the light fantastic! We did not go into the pool although we did see other people in it. It may have been a little cold as the weather two weeks before had been very poor and it is enclosed so probably did not get much opportunity to warm up. There is a sun terrace with beds with easy access via stairs from the pool which is a little hidden away. Be prepared for noisy nights however. Passers by leaving other bars tend to walk along the front of the hotel en route to their hotels and can be rowdy. Add this to the tractors cleaning the beach early hours together with the road sweeping machines and it makes for an early wake up call (they seem to start at around 4.30am). Advise keeping doors and shutters closed - easily said in early June but not sure how warm the rooms become in July and August - not aware of any air conditioning units available in bedrooms.

On the whole a very good week away in a perfectly suitable hotel for the price offered.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouse010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Roses is a nice town, good base to explore the coast and visit L'Escala, Cadaques etc. The Santa Margarida area is a 20 minute walk along a flat promenade to the centre of Roses. Hotel is right on a nice beach, with quite a few restaurants around. Only issue with the area is that there seemed to be a fair bit of dog mess around. Streets need cleaning better and pet owners need to grow up and think of others.

Our Quadruple Room was good value for the price paid, but we only stayed a couple of nights and it might have felt too small for a longer holiday. The hotel was clean with good service and ok breakfast. However, we might not have stayed here if it weren't for the promise of a heated indoor pool since we were there off season, and the pool was unheated and far too cold to use.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikel_Arteta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2011

As we hadn't been able to book ahead on line we paid over the (internet) odds for a side room but requested nevertheless a quiet room. We were given a room amidst a party of French cyclists, so listened to them noisily carrying bikes to their rooms wearing cycling shoes. After also listening to a dog constantly yapping in a nearby room we requested another room and mentioned the dog noise. The receptionist was not interested and pointed out that the hotel does allow animals in rooms. She did however allocate another room for us on the 6th floor which was very quiet - shame she hadn't done this in the first place.
The breakfast was OK and had we had time, I would have used the indoor pool.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.7 mi away
Prestige Coral Platja
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
0.5 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#14 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#6 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.1 mi away
Prestige Hotel Mar Y Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo

Property: Hotel Montecarlo
Address: Avinguda de la Platja n. 2, 17480 Roses, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montecarlo hotel is pleased to welcome you on the border of the Rosas Bay, on the northern part of the Costa Brava.It is located right on the Santa Margarita beach, with a direct access to the maritime promenade.For you, we emphasized our services. In the Montecarlo Hotel, you will be welcome with a sincere and personalized attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Roses
Hotel Montecarlo Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing