We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entirely satisifed - except the restaurant.”
Review of Canyelles Platja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canyelles Platja
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR, USA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Entirely satisifed - except the restaurant.”
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Our room was recently remodeled and was both spacious and pleasant. Mini-fridge was provided, and air conditioning worked well--not always true at *** hotels. Excellent view of ocean with small patio (if ocean-view room is booked). Busy road between hotel and beach (hotel has underground beach access), but excellent soundproofing in room. Staff was courteous and helpful. Excellent breakfast included, but avoid the restaurant otherwise. Other meals at the restaurant were truly bad, a rare occurrence in Spain. Parking is advertised as available at a cost, but the garage was full. We got very lucky with street parking.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hcajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    128
    39
    4
    3
See reviews for
56
186
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We (2 rooms, 3 adults also with 1 child and 1 baby) stayed at the hotel for a night on the way to Andorra. We brought with us some bottles of wine and food for children, the hotel staff accommodated our need well. We asked for some knives, forks etc, hot water to make milk for a baby, and when we had problem with opening a bottle of wine, the staff came to our room and patiently (cos something was wrong with the cork) worked her magic with a corkscrew. She even lent us a bucket and gave us ice to chill the wine.

Breakfast was great, with a variety of cold cuts and cheeses, and a very tasty choco mini muffin.

The beach's in front of the hotel. Though one had to walk a flight of stairs down a cliff, this made the beach somewhat secluded and gave a semi-private atmosphere.

Supermarkets were within a walking distance

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Had a perfect week at this hotel close by the sea. Fitted our plans as it was quite and relaxing neighborhood. Had a seaside room with a nice balcony with 2 chairs and a table overlooking the sea. Good rooms with airco, clean bathroom with tube and shower. Hotel lobby and restaurant felt newly re-done. Very easy access to the beach. Even though there is a street in between the hotel and the beach, it's not much traffic or noice. Fellow hotel guests are either couples, families with younger kids or retired people traveling together.
Can really recommend the hotel for anyone wanting a pleasant nice stay. But if you are looking for highlife and action, select another one.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lichni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

I stayed here for a week with my boyfriend. We rented a car in Girona airport and drove to the hotel. Make sure you turn at Figures for Roses or you could end up in France!!! The hotel room was spacious and clean and we had a lovely balcony with a table and seats looking out onto the sea front. The beach was close and the hotel has a small pool. The food in the hotel was excellent, we chose to eat twice in the hotel for dinner. The breakfast was varied and tasty. Canyelles was a good base for travelling around Catalonia. We visited Cadaques, Sant pere de Rhodes, Port dela Selva, Roses, Besalu, Sadernes and we drove the long journey down to Barcelona but it was really worth it.
There is a short enough walk over to Almadrava where there are some nice restaurants also.. take a flash lamp for a safer walk. It was a really relaxing hotel and I would definitely recommend it to friends for a quiet break. The parkin was expensive at €16 per day.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malibugirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2007

The Hotel R. Canyelles Platja is a good 3 star hotel with nice cleans rooms and above average bathrooms, nice balcony overlooking the sea or the mountains and good beds. The hotel has a nice smart decked pool area, a good size lobby and a great breakfast buffet (the best in my 2 weeks travelling around Northern Spain!). The service is helpful and welcoming and the price is also good value at around euro 100 for B&B inc. tax for a double room with view.
The best about the hotel is the small beach / cove where it is situated; Canyellas beach is very homely and cozy (possibly a little upmarket) and has only 2-3 hotels, so the people in the area are flat owners, both locals and foreigners seem to mix well and I believe they return every year to meet up with their new found friends. It is far from the madness of Roses promenade, so if it is action and party party you are looking for, then this is not the place.
I can highly recommend this hotel; it is good value, it has nice clean rooms and is trying to be a little design smart as well. It works!!

  • Liked — The beach and area, the breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise Caren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.3 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
456 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#9 of 36 in Roses
396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almadraba Park Hotel
Almadraba Park Hotel
#4 of 36 in Roses
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
2.4 mi away
Hotel Monterrey Roses by Pierre & Vacances
2.5 mi away
Prestige Victoria
Prestige Victoria
#14 of 36 in Roses
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyelles Platja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyelles Platja

Property: Canyelles Platja
Address: Avda. Diaz Pacheco, 7-9 | Platja de Canyelles Petites, 17480 Roses, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Roses
#5 Luxury Hotel in Roses
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Roses
#6 Family Hotel in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canyelles Platja 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canyelles Platja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyelles Platja Roses, Spain - Costa Brava
Canyelles Platja Hotel Roses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing