We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best value in the area”
Review of Hotel Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nautilus
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Roses
Reviewed 12 December 2011

By having our own one bedroom apartment in Roses we have friends who come to enjoy
this fantastic part of Spain. We cannot accommodate them but we ALWAYS recommend the Nautilus Hotel. For the money its almost faultless. English is not generally spoken but with
a bit of patience it is not a problem. Speaking just a little Spanish or French will give you an
advantage.

We have stayed here ourselves for a couple of nights when we had elderly relatives staying at our apartment and really enjoyed the hospitality.

All of the staff are really helpful and friendly. A smile works wonders !! A brilliant place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back give you a better view than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffroberts994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

If you like to go to another country to sample the local culture then this is the hotel for you. The Nautilius is a good hotel not just for families with young children and older people, it is also a good place for single people to go to as everyone was so friendly. We were the only English couple in the hotel for our week's stay but were treated really well by both staff and the other guestswho were predominantly French and Spanish, with a few Germans and Belgians. The food was very good and I can honestly say that for what we paid for our stay, it was excellent value for money. Reception, bar and restaurant staff were always polite and helpful and this contributed to the feeling of stay wth your own family for a week rather than just being anonymous hotel guests.
Some helpful hints if you are using public transport to get about. First, buses do stop outside the door but this is the local bus into Roses. If you want to get the Sarfa buses to Cadaques, Figueres or further afield than use the Sta. Margerida stop on the main road, turn right out of hotel, then next right, left at the main road and walk towards the next roundabout, near the Carrefour supermarket where the bus stops are situated Also if catching a train, take the bus to Figueres. Vilajuiga station does not have as many trains stopping there and there are few buses going there. The interchange station for France is now Cerebere and not Portbou as it was a few years ago.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony, the standard rooms overlook the mountains so a good view at a cheaper pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Stayed at this hotel last year but thought I'd write a review as it is lacking in British reviews.We travelled to this holiday on our motorbike and found the parking to be adequate for our needs regarding the bike. Wasn't sure what to expect as previous British review was a long time ago. We found the staff to be very pleasant in particular the lady on reception who could speak the best english. She was very helpful when we discovered we had misjudged the number of nights we were to stay and needed an extra night especially as this was the world cup final night in which spain were playing. The atmosphere that night in Roses was not to be missed.
We were on half board basis and found the choice of food good enough to always put together a meal. Always soup, choice of hot meats,fish, etc as well as salad and cold meats. There is a freezer you can help yourself to icecream which is placed near the desserts and fresh friut. Same at breakfast plenty of choice and you could boil your own egg if you wanted to.
We had a room at the front of the building at the end which was of a good size and clean. We found a large freestanding fan in the room which we needed as the week we were there it was very hot. Don't recall there being airconditioning. We could hear the bus pulling up outside every half an hour during the day which takes you to Roses. If you decide to walk this is do-able but will take about 20mins but there are lots of places to eat and drink on the way. Roses is a lovely little town with good shops, narrow streets, masses of cafes and restaurants. Can get a meal of the day with a few courses which when we were there was approximately 10 euros. Drinks in our hotel were reasonably priced with the glass of cava being the offer of the week at about 1 euro 50.
The hotel seems to have mainly French and Spanish on holiday, no Brits. We were there when the French schoolchildren had just broken up for the summer and the hotel was quite busy. Couldn't tell you about the entertainment as we always went to the seafront in Santa Margarita or walked to Roses. All in all we had a very nice time and would definately return to this hotel as for value,cleanliness and closeness to the sea it was excellent.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank benimadChippenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

First time on the Costa Brava for 30 years a lot of improvements in the infastructure and general ambience. Hotel was an inspired choice it lived up to it`s 3 stars in every way. We had a room at the rear of the hotel with views of the hills and this was cleaned daily together with the larger than average bathroom the small but adequate balcony was a favorite place to sit and watch the thrushes and parroquetes (yes parroquetes) feast on the figs ripening on the trees in the camp-site behind the hotel.The feasts for the guests were to be had in the hotels dining room at breakfast a vast selection of hot and cold food was to be had, and in the evening the array of salads,cold cuts along with the hot dishes of meat,fish and vegetables to be followed by varied sweets. All this and a short walk to the beach,but we prefered the hotels larger than average pool with large terraces and plenty of loungers.All in all a very good hotel,good position,pleasant staff and clean,only downside was smokers in the bar but, that is a personal thing

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldfeller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Josep C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BasilioGaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank christian62330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ciutadella
Hotel Ciutadella
#13 of 37 in Roses
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monterrey Roses by Pierre & Vacances
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#4 of 37 in Roses
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prestige Goya Park
Prestige Goya Park
#17 of 37 in Roses
399 reviews
2.5 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 37 in Roses
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nautilus

Address: Calle Berganti 15-17, 17480 Roses, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Roses
Price Range: £58 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nautilus 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Hotel Roses
Hotel Nautilus Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing