We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Maritim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maritim
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Roses
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We booked with this hotel direct for a week after looking at the various reviews, particularly as it offered some parking. The negative comments of other reviewers did not seem justified, the hotel had a regular internal and external cleaning regime, staff were friendly and helpful and comparing the dining facilties of others we have stayed at, we judged the quality and variety excellent for self service, although nearby there are lots of other choices to eat out. The main advantage of this hotel is its prime position midway along the seafront about 15/20 minutes walk to the old town shops and sights, a few steps to the beach, although there is a small pool mainly for children. Free parking is possible but very restricted at the hotel itself and in season almost imposssible to find elsewhere. Room was simply but adequately furnished, with a small balcony offering a view to the sea and beach. We thought the town was kept very clean and tidy in spite of being high season, the beach swept daily, and cleaners were visible most times. An interesting place to visit and overall good value for the money. Oh, how we wish hotels did not allow dogs inside!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank themainguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

This hotel was very convenient, pleasant & helpful staff always willing to help so that's a bonus. Our room was very comfortable and bathroom was good size.
The breakfast was average & if your not a morning person be prepared for a loud breakfast room, coffee machines are loud & the people seemed to love having a loud chat..
Otherwise the beds were comfortable and it was in a quiet location.
It was right in front of the beach so this was also very convenient for us.
The main area with the restaurant were also 15 min walk away.
One of the ladies suggested a good place for seafood and it was sooo good, we went back there twice... The pamphlets are in the hotel you must make sure you go to this restaurant
For tapas & the most amazing paella!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nazdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed in july with 2 young children. perfect location with direct access to glorious sandy beach. hotel staff speak english. room was made up perfectly for 4 of us. Bathroom very clean with good shower. lots of towels supplied. small pool at front of hotel, we didn't use it as we were there for the beach. breakfast was good enough , but agree with other reviewers that coffee and oj was poor. Hotel had advertised free wi-fi access but it was very poor and we could rarely get a connections to last more that 2 mins. In evenings there are lots of closeby restaurants on coast (2 min wallk) and for more of a selection - if you walked about 10 mins/15 mins you got the full range of little shops and restaurants in the Roses village /centre area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MollyReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

The hotel has good and bad points. The good points are location, right opposite the beach and there was a pedestrian road between the hotel and beach so no worries about my children being run over. There was also a small pool at the front of the hotel which my boys enjoyed. The bad points were that we were put towards the back of the hotel and the room was VERY basic, the shower curtain was missing and the TV didn't really work. We also thought that the staff were miserable (we did practice our best spanish but to no effect). There is a breakfast buffet but this consisted of stale croissants and the juice dispenser was just concentrated stuff full of E's that water had been added to...horrible...no fresh coffee either. I would not stay there again, it was far too expensive and didn't live up to expectations. Luckily we only stayed one night on our way to France and one night on the way back, I would have hated to have spent a whole holiday there!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hollycorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We stayed here (2 adults and 2 x 6 year olds) in August 2009 for a couple of nights. It was good for our 2 children who swam in the small pool and could run on to the beach without having to cross a road. I didn't think the staff were that friendly (we made an effort o speak Spanish...but that didn't make much difference). We were put at the back of the hotel. You could just about see the sea. The breakfast buffet was average to below average, stale croissants and orange juice from a machine which tasted like diluted bottle OJ. I would not stay here again. In the night you could hear the bottle bank and rubbish collectors...never again

2  Thank hollycorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Hotel comfortably located straight on the beach in the not too busy area of Roses (as far that is possible), with a very small swimming pool on the seaside. Spacious room, with four beds, great terrace (although not enough chairs), nearly all with sea sight. Good breakfast with lousy coffee and orange juice.

The hotel has a private secluded parking lot which is invaluable in that area.

If your looking for a simple and comfortable hotel right on the beach in a crowdy Costa Brava resort the Maritim is a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BennyS_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

Have just got back from staying at the Miritim Hotel and had a great time.

The hotel itself was one of the cleanest I have stayed in for a 3 Star. Your room was made up and cleaned every day. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

The only down point if this is one is that the outside pool area is only small and it does get really busy, so if you are not there early you wont get a sun bed.
The entertainment is also not the best but saying that they provide something every night and the is things going on in the day too.

The food was quite good too. We only stayed Half board so I dont know about lunch time but the other two meals were fine, a good selection.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a 3 Star hotel.

Proberly the only down point of the holiday was the beach. Its not sandy but small stones and very hard on the feet. If you dont have children its fine but no good for making sand castles and the sea does tend to shelve quite quickly. In relation to the hotel thought the beach is just over the road. Great!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lassfromworcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roses hotels
2.3 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 37 in Roses
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
0.3 mi away
Prestige Coral Platja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monterrey Roses by Pierre & Vacances
1.3 mi away
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#29 of 37 in Roses
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terraza
Hotel Terraza
#4 of 37 in Roses
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim

Address: C/ Jacinto Benavente 2-10 | Santa Margarita beach, 17480 Roses, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Roses
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Roses
Price Range: £66 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maritim 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique location of the Hotel Maritim, on the beach in Santa Margarita, makes a settlement with a splendid view of the sea and the Roses' Bay. Roses center is located just 10 minutes walk along the promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maritim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Roses
Maritim Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing