We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good by US Standards” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Terraza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Terraza
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Certificate of Excellence
Central NJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good by US Standards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I did not experience any of the 'awful service', nor did I feel that the hotel needed updating, but that could be due to the fact that I had already set my standards on "euro" mode, and was prepared for how different things are compared to the US.
We visited in the height of tourist season (2nd week of August) with 3 kids (ages 5, 3, and 1), so were prepared for crowds, waits and over-worked staff. I still thought the staff did their best, and again, it's Europe so standards of service are different.
We had two sea view rooms, with balconies large enough for 2 chairs and a small table. The hotel was quiet and comfortable. The grounds are impeccable: especially nice is the dedicated lounge chair area for hotel guests on the beach side of the promenade...seemed a rare luxury, in comparison to other places to stay. The spa is beautiful (wish I had more time to spend there). The pool in the main area (restaurant and bar tables surround it) is small, and sometimes I felt uncomfortable with the 3 kids there, while other people sat around and ate their lunch, etc.
I thought the breakfast was typical of a European hotel, with lots of fruit, cold meats and cheeses, plenty of bread and pastries, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, cereals.
I wouldn't say that this hotel caters to children, but it certainly accommodated ours, and staff were very helpful in getting us what we needed to make our stay enjoyable.
We were quite pleased with our stay, and would love to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonvoyage74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terraza_webmaster, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Terraza, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope see you next time! Thanks for your opinion because we always try to give our clients the best service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    104
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
35
173
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I'll spare you the details, but out of 4 hotels we stayed at during our recent trip to Spain and France, this hotel was by far the worst. Service was terrible at both the front desk and especially at the restaurant. Carpet in the hallways leading to the rooms were very dirty/soiled/stained. Not worth the 200+ euros/night we paid for a Junior Suite. Not even worth half that. Checked out after 1 night. Definitely felt like I was treated as inferior because I was an American tourist and not a native Spanish tourist like most of the other guests were. Save yourself the frustrations that come with staying here and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AAUSTEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

enjoyed our stay but the price per night B & B is too high. The breakfast was very disappointing and our bathroom was tired and needed upgrading.
Staff very friendly and always courteous. Hotel spotlessly clean. Good location and excellent seaviews. Tapas bar and restaurant also very expensive.

Room Tip: ask for a room with an new bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

The view from the confort rooms is VERY poor. Was expecting much more.

The spa is nice (very good view) - price not included in all rooms. The fitness is in the basement (no windows), but still OK. The restaurant is very expensive.

Although the location is great, was expecting much more from a relatively expensive 4* hotel on Costa Brava.

Room Tip: don't take confort rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

So let's get the bad bits out of the way. The swimming pool is not the biggest and the bed looked comfortable but was very bouncy and not fantastic. That said, this is an excellent hotel run by the same family since 1932. (not the same building of course!) I loved the beachfront location, the breakfast was excellent, hygiene is first class and it is obvious that this hotel is run by people with a passion to serve their clients. The town itself is also interesting and offers a good tourist experience. Muchas gracias a todo en Hotel Terraza y hasta la proxima!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andygranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night in August...we should've stayed for two! We had a glorious lunch on the outside patio, followed by a swim in the Mediterranean on our own walk-out beach. Our water view room had a magnificent view and we took several pictures on the balcony. The room was within walking distance of many shops and restaurants, and the town was interesting and fun. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwayshonest39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

The hotel is right on the beach - so views are fabulous. There's an attractive promenade to walk to the town or to Santa Margarida in the opposite direction. Rooms well equipped, beds a little bit firm. Excellent breakfast, lovely staff and dinner good the couple of times we had it., Vert few Brits in Roses - so no English rbeakfast or fish anad chips. Nearby restaurants incredibly cheap - try the Panoramic or Nit I dia - three courses can be as little as 10e and the food is well cooked. Only thing that we did n't lkike was group of Czech children who monopolised the pool with large floating toys and were very loud. There is a spa but it is outrageously expenisve so we did not go in.

Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank bathgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
2.1 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#4 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prestige Hotel Mar Y Sol
0.0 mi away
Prestige Coral Platja
Prestige Coral Platja
#10 of 36 in Roses
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#14 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terraza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terraza

Property: Hotel Terraza
Address: Avinguda de Rhode, 32, 17480 Roses, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Roses
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Roses
#6 Romantic Hotel in Roses
#7 Family Hotel in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Terraza 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Terraza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraza Hotel Roses
Hotel Terraza Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing