We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Small Majorcan Hotel”
Review of Costa Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Costa Mediterraneo
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed at the Costa Mediterraneo in August. The hotel is clean,comfortable and welcoming.
My room was typical of this type of hotel, I had a double room for single occupancy with a HUGE terrace overlooking the pool. The room had an overhead fan, it could have gone faster. Lots of young people occupied the hotel, but there was minimal noise (they slept most of the day!)
My only negative thing about this hotel is the food! It was truly abysmal! I can normally eat anything no matter how bad, but this was something else! I had half board, now I wish I had just eaten out in the many restaurants in the area, but ah well!
I liked this hotel so much, that I am still willing to give it 4 stars. But please...........have a word with the chef..................

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank irenem72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

We have just had a week at this place and were not impressed at all the place is dated but clean the food is very poor no thats not right the foods rubbish the pool is small and very cold and to top it all its full of bloody germans and no english
Its way out of the nightlife and not a good all inclusive stay as the drinks are limited to a time factor the food is 3 times a day there are no snacks available and the waiters favour non english people
So all in all a crap hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank theoldcodgers080859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We didn´t expect nothing special so room was good. Cleaning ladies don´t knock on the door and it is hard to communicate with them because they can´t speak any other language. We had half- board, breakfast was OK but eating every day the same food (bread, ham, cheese and some sweet cakes) wasn´t enjoying. Also drinks were very poor, disgusting coffee and juices were too sweet. Dinners were fine but more healthy food would be better. Don´t expect free drinks during dinner. Swimming pool is in shade so water is cold. Beach is 7-8 minutes down the street and is very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Ended up at this hotel after a mix up with the travel company.
I was expecting 4* new luxery and god very old dated 2*, so not the best 2 days ever!
On saying that the place is old fashioned and in the middle of nowhere but a 10/15 min walk gets you to the beach.
It is clean and basic and the staff were keen to help and friendly.
Food was not great, but they tried.
The sheets were clean, shower room tiny but again spotless. No airconditioning but a working ceiling fan. we had a balcony with 2 chairs and overlooking the pool, agin old but clean ish, just leaves and was freezing.
We had booked all inclusive which was pointless, dinner served at another hotel just up the road, lucky i have a sence of humour and found this hilarious!
I wont be going back myself but if ur looking for cheap and clean without food then this is a good choice.
As said by others its a german resort! If you cant deal with that dont go to this area.
for us anything was better than being surrounded by brits on a binge in magaluf!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mazzo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

theif your british and reading this dont go as the british are not welcome at this hotel breakfast was horrible.and murky coffee there was 2 very loud waiters who just ingorned us when we wanted drinks with our so call evening meal and served other nationality , it was as if we werent there the reception staff were okay but cudnt understand english( which is okay) the food was the worst ive ever seen in my life and ate. the hotel is only 2 star but we booked thro a company called sunsave.com who gave us wrong imfo telling us it was 3 star. getting back to hotel there is no where for you shower on day of leaving we were told to use shower outside by pool and get changed in toilets . the rooms were cleaned daily and were a nice size. balcony are unsafe with wobbly railing so not safe if taking children . the hotel is inanot very nice place nearly everything around it is closed down and dirty all in all just remember before you book this is not a hotel for english people to go.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleyandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

the good points. the hotel is very clean,staff excellent,food good... the bad points..the hotels policy of allowing students to run riot all night completely ruined our holiday. (250 STUDENTS IN A 90 BEDROOM HOTEL) forget uk.yobs. the spanish and french morons are the most noisy,ignorant and bad mannered its our misfortune to come across. the resort of arenal, i would class as the new MAGALUFF,the beach and resort is full of noisy yobs. we spent most of our time in palma,just to keep out of the way. BE WARNED IF YOU ARE OVER 21,keep well away from this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downcount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

budget holiday, week in majorca, el arenal. me my partner, daughter 11,and her friend 11. easy transfer on local bus 2 euro each. short walk to beach. nice no nonsense hotel, clean tidy maid changed beds towels etc every day!. people are very friendly and helpful. remember this is a german dominated resort, but we found the germans better than us brits to be around! food is ok, we had a varied dinner every night and a continental breakfast in the morning, all you can eat. generally we liked all the meals, no complaints. our girls used the pool once , its clean,but found it cold so we all went in the sea,
going end of april into may its quiet, we had hotel to ourselves. so ideal for families and a chill out time
went to magaluf for a day(its easy and cheap to go on the buses ) found prices double in some shops, cafes! talk about the brits ripping off the brits! germans have it much cheaper!and there better behaved! palma is lovely, as is all the island, so get out of arenal and see it. nothing wrong with this place, for a good budget holiday!

Room Tip: always ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethemed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
0.1 mi away
Ipanema Park
Ipanema Park
#13 of 44 in El Arenal
481 reviews
33.4 mi away
Europa
Europa
#23 of 28 in Sa Coma
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manaus
Manaus
#19 of 44 in El Arenal
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mix Alea
Hotel Mix Alea
#11 of 44 in El Arenal
387 reviews
28.2 mi away
Hotel Galaxia
Hotel Galaxia
#33 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilimanjaro Hotel
Kilimanjaro Hotel
#15 of 44 in El Arenal
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Mediterraneo

Address: Girona 11, 7600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range: £24 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Costa Mediterraneo 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Costa Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Mediterraneo Hotel El Arenal
Costa Mediterraneo Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing