We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Pleasant short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Don Pepe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Don Pepe
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in El Arenal
Swindon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Our Pleasant short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

The Hotel is situated on a hill (not too steep) about a two minute walk from the beach. The reception is modern, bright and clean and the staff are helpful. We arrived at 10.00am and they let us check in early as our room was available. There is a coffee lounge here with a smoking area outside. I did not use the Restuarant but it again was modern, clean and looked well designed. This hotel does not have a pool and I would class it as more of a business hotel. We had a room that did not have a balcony and the window that we had looked out onto the atrium. So there was not a lot of natural day light. Alot of rooms below us that did have balconys looked over the atrium also and I would have been diappointed with one of these rooms balconies. The room itself was quite large and tastfully decorated. There was plenty of storage space a small flat screen TV which only had one English TV chanel (I think). The rooms air conditioning unit was veyr good which did start to leak but once reported to recption was fixed very quickly. We had twin beds pushed together but they were very comfortable. The wet room is spacious and clean. The majority of the guests were aged between 20 -30 but we did not have any problems with noise at night. We only stayed here for 3 night and enjoyed our stay but if we had booked for a week. I think the lack of a outside balcony mya have driven stir crazy. Personally I think Arenal is a resort for the young (lots of fast food resturants and bars). The beach is lovely but sunloungers are 5 euros each and so are the brollies so it was 15 euros a day just to sit on the beach. But lots of people just bought lilos and portable brollies. Whilst we would not rush back to this resort. If we did we would not have a problem booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose and outside balcony it may cost a bit more but it would be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    143
    67
    20
    5
See reviews for
13
213
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed here last summer with friends on a last minute deal for four nights and was pleasantly surprised with our accommodation. It's situated on a side street, just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and harbour, although we found that the nightlife was quite a bit further up the beach (about ten minutes) but this wasn't a problem for us.

Rooms had just been recently renovated and were modern, clean and comfortable. A few people have mentioned problems with the sleep quality here but we found it to be quiet enough to get a good night's sleep. Rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a flat screen television with satellite channels (few in English, although there were music channels) and have key-card access. The only downside was that we had an internal room meaning we had a view of the air shaft which had no natural light and no breeze coming through which made it difficult to dry clothes and beach towels.

We stayed half board during our visit and while the food was just about edible, I would definitely recommend staying on a room only basis and eating out. The seafront is bursting with restaurants and cafes which are really cheap and much better quality than in the hotel where the selection was limited and always on the cold side.

Although this hotel was a great little find, I have only rated it a three-star because of the food and lack of swimming pool (we were advised there was one when we booked!). But if you're looking for a great value base and you love the beach then it's perfect for you.

The area itself is entirely German orientated with the exception of a couple of English bars by the harbour. Please don't be put off by this - everyone is friendly and welcoming, and almost everyone we met spoke English. If you're young and looking for a lively holiday away from booze Britain this is a great choice, although I would definitely not recommend for anyone past their late 20s!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rowankate_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have just returned from a 4 day visit to Hotel Don Pepe and cant wait to go back!
The staff were very helpful and did everything they could to make the stay great, its very modern and very clean.
Beds are excellent, bathroom spotless and lovely, powershower over the bath in ours. hairdriers and lovely fluffy towels.
The views are not great as it is in a side stret, but then being a person who likes to see the real side of a country that wasnt an issue for me.
Its a short walk to the beach and all the bars, though it is not central but at the quieter end of the bay, and it is up a slight hill but nothing spectacular as hills go!
We had a twin room ( double), with a balcony, some noisy neighbours on night one but on mentioning to the staff they said we should have phoned reception as they have a strict policy of 2 warnings then they throw them out!
We hired a car through the hotel, cant fault it!
food was lovely, plenty of choice at breakfast and had bacon and eggs offered fresh as the hotel was quiet. We ended up having evening meals prepared just for us as again, hotel very quiet and no buffet service. We were given a 3 course menu with choices and it was served fresh and hot. good standard.
Jose the bar/ food manager was sooooo helpful and friendly, his sangria is the best in town, but more than 2 or 3 and u wont be able to walk!

Overall a great place with great staff, would recommend to friends and hope to go back soon!
This is a german resort though so if u dont want that dont go!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazzo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed there with my mom at the end of june 2011! The hotel looked nice and modern inside, but the walls very thin so could hear every noise around! our balcony were overlooking another local house which looked horrible no view at all just every day family life. The staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was not good very poor choice, only liked the coffee! the dinner was horrible no choice at all, just bacon, egg or pasta, really disappointing, its better to go out eat in the restaurant for the same price. Would not recommend to take half board option. The area overall was german based, didn't meat any English people, too many teenagers!

However, looking from positive point of view the hotel was very close to the beach, 3mins walk, close to buses going to Palma which was great and cheap. Airaport very close to hotel 15 mins drive with bus, which cost only 2 euros.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed here last week of June, 2011. Very modern hotel in the middle of residential area 400 metres to the beach of El Arenal. Clientel very cosmopolitan with many different nationalities. Breakfast ok but hot buffet
not very hot, often only luke warm. Our favourite restaurant in the resort was the Asadito, a Brazillian restaurant on the road behind the beach road. Lots of teenagers drinking buckets of booze at 14 - 16 euros from local supermarkets. This consisted of a litre of spirits, 2 litres of soft drinks and a bag of ice with any number of straws. All good fun? Taxi into Palma cost 25 -30 euros which is a must. Excellent choice of bars and restaurants there. The beach club in middle of resort good for watching sport and a snack.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor at the front of hotel. Top two floors have sunbeds on the verandas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshua36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Finally found a lovely hotel in El Arenal! Staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful when needed to be. No language barrier which I have found in other hotels in the area. My only slight problem was that I could not check in until 2pm (local time) which left me a couple of hours to kill at the fantastic Sportsman pub which is a must for any British visitor to Arenal! They serve perfect home cooked food from 930am until 8pm and as I was room only at the don pepe this was a gods send!! Anyway back to the hotel, it was very modem (just as all the photos on their website shows) very clean with comfy beds made daily and and towels changed if needed. Free wifi worked on the first floor as well as the reception! The balcony was lovely although my room didn't catch much natural light. Air con is included in the price which is always a bonus. El Arenal can be known for very noisy Germans, my room was next to the lift and ground floor stairs, either this year the Germans were quiet or the walls/doors are sound prof as I wasn't woken or disturbed once!   

I cannot fault this hotel and will be returning in the near future with no hesitation! I totally recommend this hotel as well as The Sportsman for fine food, karaoke and all the sport you could ask for!!  

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loopylouisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were staying at economy room, which mean no balcony and window only to hotel interior. This is problem mainly for drying clothes (beach towels etc.). Room noise sealing is not very good, you can hear people talking in nearby rooms. This is problem specialy at night when drunken youth came back to bed :). Beside this shorcomings rooms are clean and modern, hotel lobby with the bar are very nice. Hotel seems to be rebuilded not long ago. Hotel staff are helpful. Internet connection is only in the lobby, but worked on the 3th floor room with window to hotel interior.

We book room only (great price for high seaon), for breakfast there is very nice caffe at the next corner. Beach is 250 metres down the street. There is a bus (No.25 and slowly No.15) from/to Mallorca capital (Palma) for 1,25 euro, bus (No.21) from/to the airport from the main street. Many eating posibilities around. Very good for holiday on the beach.

For car rental I suggest use local rentals (39 euro for one day, 90 euro for three days), it was cheaper then booked ahead. And big advantage is local rental have garage, because there are only very limited parking places.

I recomend this hotel and location for beach holiday for couples, maybe not so good for families with children.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tibor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Arenal hotels
0.4 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#13 of 48 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alea
Hotel Alea
#5 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
OLA Hotel Maioris
OLA Hotel Maioris
#1 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa
#8 of 48 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pinero Tal
Hotel Pinero Tal
#6 of 48 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Pepe

Property: Hotel Don Pepe
Address: Calle Sant Cristofol N0 43, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Don Pepe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Don Pepe Hotel is situated 5 minutes walk from the beach and the marina of El Arenal, in the bay of Palma de Mallorca. This design hotel features 24-hour reception, a free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and elegant rooms with air conditioning and flat-screen TV, hairdryer. The hotel has a restaurant serving Mediterranean cuisine and a lounge bar serving snacks throughout the day and has a big screen. The Don Pepe Hotel has a games room with billiards and table games, and a tour desk. It also offers massage service is available upon request, as well as services and bicycle hire. The Don Pepe Hotel is located only 6 km from Majorca Airport and about 15 minutes drive from the center of Palma. It is 200 meters from the Arenal beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Hotel Don Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Pepe Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing