We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless nights”
Review of HSM Reina del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HSM Reina del Mar
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Having stayed in many hotels - anything from a travel lodge to 5* in Singapore I'm afraid this is quite possibly the worst I have stayed in. I shall start with the negatives, I like to finish with positives. Firstly I feel the advertising of this hotel should be a little clearer. My daughter and I stayed 23/7 till 30/7, i'm not sure whether the timing is relevant or not but this hotel is clearly for 18-30yr old Germans on holiday to party ........all night! Maybe we were unlucky with our 'neighbours' on the 6th floor as most of them insisted on shouting across to the other guests in the hotel opposite night after night.
The food in my opinion was on the whole shocking, hot food was either uncooked or warm at best, vegetables well peas and carrots, were tinned and all the meat was laying in fat. Chips and pizza seemed a firm favourite with most guests. The breakfast were marginally better although i didn't feel it was necessary to serve chips. Staffs' English was limited apart from the lady on reception originally from Uk - a very helpful lady. Because of the lack of communication I felt unable to complain about the food as the two 'table clearers' spoke no English at all. Rooms were very clean and towels/linen changed daily. Lack of A/C made it extremely warm in the evenings so we left balcony doors open this helped although it meant we could hear everything going on when neighbours returned at 3 in the morning and although I'm not anti smoking it did mean that next doors smoke blew into our room constantly.
Now for the positives!! A great location for the beach, just a few minutes walk away. Hotel entrance had helpful info with regard to buses to Palma and airport. Wi-fi areas were fine. Overall the hotel and pool area was very clean.

Room Tip: I was going to ask for a different room after the first night but discovered that all rooms suffered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Reina del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive remarks as well as your constructive criticism.

We are sorry to read that your stay in our hotel did not meet your expectations. We much appreciate the remarks and suggestions of our guests.

We are very sorry and would like to apologise for the mentioned circumstances. We would like to confirm that, for the assurance of the quality of our service, we have forwarded your concerns to the central quality department of our hotel chain in order to ensure improvement where possible.

We would be happy to have the opportunity to change your mind about Hoteles Saint Michel and would gladly welcome you again in our hotel or in one of the hotels within our “Hoteles Saint Michel” chain in Mallorca.

Wishing you all the best,

HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

When we arrived we were given room 821 it was very small with double bed but it was quite most of the time to sleep. Unfortunately the hotel has a lot of 18 - 30 groups staying shouting from balcanies at night and around the swimming pool during the day. The young people are always sitting around the reception which is quite off putting. The swimming pool has 2 umbrellars and 45 beds around the pool area the sun does not get to this area until 12.00 noon. The hotel is up a steep hill and is very hard going if you are elderly. There is a lot of problems that the manager needs to sort out. !. people wearing wet swimwear in the evening meal times making chairs wet. 2. Staff standing around chatting when food has been dropped on the floor and around counter's causing bacteria. 3. Food that is suppose to be hot is just warm. 3. Food that is not very apertising and is pilled up on top one another e.g fried eggs. The breakfast is horrible english sausages were not cooked and everything is floating in oil. The english lady at reception is very nice and very helpful. There are no smoke alarms in the bedrooms and as they have so many young people there that drink and smoke a lot this needs to be addressed. The safety deposit boxes are around the corner of the reception where it is hidden from view and it looks like they have been tampered within the past this is not very secure place. The beach is very long but very hard sand 2 sunbeds and umbrellar is 16 euros a day which is a £100 a week everybody buys lilos to lay. Unfortunately there are not a lot of bars if you would like a quite drink there are all down the noisy strip but the bar we used to go to was el nilo. In all I don't think we will go again.

Room Tip: Room 821 was on the 8th floor and the end of the corridor and seamed to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank englandmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Reina del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear guest,

We are grateful for your evaluation and your commentary.

Our receptionists will be happy about your positive remarks, as our first priority is to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible.

We are sorry to read that your stay in our hotel did not meet your expectations. We much appreciate the remarks and suggestions of our guests.

After having conferred with the hotel reception and direction, there is no known complaint on your behalf regarding food standards. Please be aware that complaints will always be dealt with quickly and efficiently by our reception staff, but this is only possible if these complaints are reported by our guests. Unreported complaints cannot be dealt with.

We are very sorry and would like to apologise for the mentioned circumstances. We would like to confirm that, for the assurance of the quality of our service, we have forwarded your concerns to the central quality department of our hotel chain in order to ensure improvement where possible.

We would be happy to have the opportunity to change your mind about Hoteles Saint Michel and would gladly welcome you again in our hotel or in one of the hotels within our “Hoteles Saint Michel” chain in Mallorca.

Wishing you all the best,

HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I and our 2 sisters stayed in this hotel after being transferred by our agent at the last mimute.Glad we did as we looked at the hotel we were booked in and it was a dump.I have read some reviews on this hotel which make me sad.It is a great ,value for money hotel.It situation is not so good but that is not enough to moan about.The rooms are ideal,kept very clean everday,linen etc.The whole hotel is spotless.Staff great,although it helps as my Spanish is not bad?The dining hall is great,and the food is excellent.We have had worse in 4 stars?Not many hotels bother with fried bread at breakfast?The only downside is no A/C in the bedrooms so would be difficult when hot!We only travel out of season so it is never to hot.Pool area is great and always clean.We will for sure visit again.

Room Tip: As always with most hotels,ask for 4 or 5th floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Martin Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Reina del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to evaluate our hotel.

It is great to know that you liked our hotel and that you appreciated our service.

Our staff will be very happy to learn of your positive remarks. It is very good for team spirit when our efforts are acknowledged and appreciated; after all, our first priority is to make your holiday great.

We would love to welcome you again in our hotel or in one of the hotels within our “Hoteles Saint Michel” chain in Mallorca.

With the warmest of greetings,

HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Spent 10 days here with our two year old son at start of June 2014. It's basic room, bed and bath. Anything you want is at the cost of a deposit which is understandable as they have mainly 18-30 Germans in. The food is poor my son would not eat anything but chips but the staff in dining area were lovely! The reception staff were ok luckily there is an English woman who told us a lot of information thank god! Also a young guy who was nice but didn't speak much. They also took our return flight vouchers on arrival and when we asked for them back a woman "Maria" tutted at us and told us we get them when we leave! We kept saying no you have our flight tickets but fell on deaf ears as they just told us no. Luckily the English woman got them for us in the end, bit ridiculous though all the effort. Reception staff need to smile more! Pool area was ok was very cold water though. The area arenal is totally German/Dutch. One English bar upstairs on the front. If you want to be surrounded by chanting partying teens this is the right place for you! The watermark is very close and convenient too. Basically you get what you pay for... If you have kids or want to sleep don't go here, also no air con. Major fault considering the temperature.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kerry e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Reina del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your evaluation and remarks.

We are sorry to read that your stay in our hotel did not satisfy your needs. We much appreciate the remarks and suggestions of our guests.

The weekly evaluation of the quality and the client’s feedback on websites of officially recognized online gateways proves the high standard of service and customer satisfaction.

Our restaurant offers a big choice on warm and cold dishes in the form of a buffet three times a day and for extended meal times. Fresh meat, fish and vegetable-based meals are always on offer and we also have a great variety of desserts, including fruit of all kinds.

We are very sorry and would like to apologise for the mentioned circumstances. We would like to confirm that, for the assurance of the quality of our service, we have forwarded your concerns to the central quality department of our hotel chain in order to ensure improvement where possible.

We would be happy to have the opportunity to change your mind about Hoteles Saint Michel and would gladly welcome you again in our hotel or in one of the hotels within our “Hoteles Saint Michel” chain in Mallorca.

Wishing you all the best,

HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

First time we stayed in this hotel in 2011 and since then nothing has changed hotel still serves decent food, staff members are very friendly and polite. Our room was cleaned every day by the same lovely lady as last time. Swimming pool area was cleaned every morning as well. We had fantastic views and paid exactly the same price as 3 years ago. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Choose 8 or 9 floor for the spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Reina del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear guest,

We are grateful for your evaluation and your kind remarks.

We are happy to know that you liked our hotel and our service.

Our employees will be happy to learn of your positive remarks.

We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel or in one of the hotels within our hotel chain “Hoteles Saint Michel” in Mallorca.

With kind regards,

HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

mixed feelings. We are from Lithaunaia and every time we go on holiday to Spain to 3 star hotel we get "surprised" how poor they look like. Lithuanian 3 star hotels look like 4+ star hotels in Spain... but its not about that.
Its approx 3-5 mins walk from the beach, the area in summer is really noisy, young drunk germans singing , shouting at night when returning from night clubs and as there is no air con in the room you have to sleep with window wide open. So you get sleepless nights :( It's good for night life, part lovers though. So what you need to ask for is the highest floor rooms.
Food is ok, quite good choice in the morning and evening , too . Standart 3 star food.
Reception staff also friendly and helpful.
Rooms actually outdated and small. Hotel looks really clean inside, rooms, too .
Overall its standart spanish 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: ask for highest floor, you will hear less noise . And windows not to the southern side as there is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Reina del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your evaluation and remarks.

We are sorry to read that the stay in our hotel did not meet your expectations. We much appreciate the remarks and suggestions of our guests.

The weekly evaluation of the quality and the client’s feedback on websites of officially recognized online gateways prove the high standard of service and customer satisfaction, but we apologise if the noise level was too high for your comfort.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the meals on offer and our employees will be happy to learn of your positive remarks.

We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel or in one of the hotels within our hotel chain “Hoteles Saint Michel” in Mallorca.

With kind regards,

HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is very good value for money.
Rooms are decent size and we where on the top floor and had amazing view across the bay.
Hotel was generally clean and staff friendly.
Food was decent with different choices changed daily including.

Reason not 4/5 for a couple reasons:
No air conditioning in rooms and it gets very hot in rooms. We moved the beds closer to the balcony door to keep cool. Also no fridge to keep drinks cool which with a room with no air conditioning is must.
Some of the towels had holes in them and Bath Taps and shower head needed a good cleaning.

Overall if I was to return to part of Mallorca I would consider coming back here based on price and what you get from it. Just be prepared to buy a fan for the room.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Martyg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Reina del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear guest,

We are grateful for your evaluation and your kind remarks.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your holiday and that you liked our service.

Our employees will be happy to learn of your positive remarks.

We have taken note of your concerns and your suggestions and we have passed this information on to the person who is responsible for that area.

We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel or in one of the hotels within our hotel chain “Hoteles Saint Michel” in Mallorca.

With kind regards,

HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Arenal hotels
0.2 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#17 of 44 in El Arenal
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caribbean Bay
Hotel Caribbean Bay
#9 of 44 in El Arenal
585 reviews
0.3 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#5 of 44 in El Arenal
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mix Alea
Hotel Mix Alea
#11 of 44 in El Arenal
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinero Hotel Bahia De Palma
0 mi away
Hotel Pinero Tal
Hotel Pinero Tal
#8 of 44 in El Arenal
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HSM Reina del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HSM Reina del Mar

Address: Calle Balears S/N, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range: £43 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HSM Reina del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN GENERAL: The 3* hotel HSM Reina del Mar offers good quality facilities and service, as well as a lively and cheerful atmosphere. In the summer, it is popular among young people, who choose this hotel for its good price - quality relation, for being situated close to leisure area and attractive nightlife, and also for its proximity to the beach (300 m). The hotel opens from February to November. LOCATION: The hotel HSM Reina del Mar is situated in El Arenal, one of the most popular and visited resorts in Majorca. El Arenal, altogether with Playa de Palma, extends between the municipalities of Palma de Mallorca and Llucmajor and it is 4,5 km long. Its most important features are: its proximity to Palma de Mallorca (16 km) and the airport (9 km); being one of the longest and beautiful beaches in Majorca, its long sea promenade with countless bars, restaurants and shops, is ideal to go by tourist train, by bike or simply walking. The famous area of "Bierstrasse" with its vibrant nightlife is only 1,5 km away from the hotel. Impressive marine park "Palma Aquarium", one of the biggest in Europe, is situated 4 km away from the hotel. The water park "Aquacity" is situated 700 m away. The golf course Golf Son Antem is 7 km away. At its east end there is sports port Club Nautico de S'Arenal (Llucmajor). It is worth mentioning that there is an efficient public bus service to Palma de Mallorca and El Arenal, the bus stop is only 200 m away from the hotel. ROOMS: The hotel offers comfortable double and single rooms decorated with bright and lively colours. All of the rooms include a bathroom, telephone, WIFI (extra charge), satellite TV and balcony. GASTRONOMY: The hotel offers half board or full board meal packages. The air conditioned restaurant offers in buffet style a big selection of hot and cold dishes, a variety of dessert and fruit. Drinks in half board and full board are not included in the price (lunch and dinner). FACILITIES: There is a terrace with a swimming pool for adults, that includes a separate space for children. The pool is surrounded by sunbeds and sunshades. Bar service is available at the pool. Air conditioned bar indoors. Spacious and comfortable air conditioned common areas. CHILDREN: Swimming pool for children. Also baby cots and high chairs are available in the restaurant, at no extra cost. ADITIONAL SERVICES: 24/7 reception. Safety deposit box to rent (at the reception). WIFI in common areas (no extra charge), WIFI in hotel rooms (extra charge), Internet corner (extra charge). Rent a car. We accept the following credit cards: Master Card, Visa. SPORT AND ENTERTAINMENT: Possibility to practice sports in the area, golf courses close by. Live music various times a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your HSM Reina del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reina Del Mar Hotel
Reina Del Mar El Arenal
HSM Reina Del Mar Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing