We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greta for the price”
Review of Manaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manaus
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Greta for the price”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Hotel Manaus is in a quiet street about 10 mins walk from the lovely beach at El Arenal. It was basic but clean and comfortable. The food was ok with the usual continental choices for breakfast as well as cooked and a choice of salads, cooked meals for dinner. There was always plenty of food with meat, fish or vegetarian option. The paella was delicious. The staff are very friendly and helpful, telling us how to get to the beach and where to catch the bus to go into Palma. Well worth the trip on the bus and its only 1 euro 50 each way per adult. You might want to ask for a pool view room as our room looked out over the hotel next door which was a bit run down but nothing to worry about really. In the early evening after a hard day on the beach, go to the hotel bar. Coffee and beer and a Brandy came to 4 euros 50, cheaper than elsewhere and we were given complimentary tapas such as ham and cheese.
The hotel can soemtimes be noisy as the walls are very thin but we took earplugs with us and managed to sleep ok. The room was cleaned daily and towels changed if we left them in the bath.
The pool area was nice with loungers, a pool table and a spa tub.............be warned though the spa tub is cold. Just the thing on a hot summers day but not in May.
If you are looking for a comfortable hotel in El Arenal away from the noise of the beach pubs then I would recommend this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank woollymonkey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    108
    58
    19
    34
See reviews for
52
122
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our holiday company low cost agent booked this hotel for us, and we went along with it.

I'll keep it brief, we stayed in June, very clean, lady at reception originally from birmingham was very good. I stayed with my 2 sons, and got a ground floor room, with the bonus of some out door space, which was a bonus.

Good selection of food.

Not bad location, but of a steep walk to beach, which was good as kids were knackered were out like a light.

Clean sheets, air con in room, 3 star? Could go for 4 star.

Tucked away in quietish part of street.

Nice bright dining area. The only thing negatives are rude Russians who just barge in, and the Brits who can never be satisfied or smile and most are just miserable by nature,(by the way I am british myself before anyone starts ranting N.B american daddy is my husbands identity)

Thank you for a comfortable stay hotel manaus :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HugeJass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST YORKSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband, 22 month old and I stayed here for 7 nights whilst visiting family. I was very pleased with the overall look of the hotel, it was very clean, aircon in everyroom, comfortable beds, huge and safe balcony for our litle girl (we were afraid she'd try to climb up the standard railings you get in Spanish hotels) The staff were just lovely, the receptionist was bokers but other than that, can't fault any of them. The pools were clean, tidy, a good size and weren't overlooked or crowded.

2 things to moan about.......
1, we booked 1/2 board..... the meals on an evening were just awful! Completely gross. I'm a vegetarian and there wasn't 1 single option for me to eat! Nothing!! Even the salad was decorated with meats. Tuna pizza EVERY night. We ate out alot which defeated the whole purpose of booking 1/2 board!
2, the ONLY English channels on the TV were Sky news or BBC world news! MY god!!!!!!!! there were over 20 German channels and a few Spanish. Upon checking upon checking out, the receptionist said there would be more channels in English and some kids channels next year (more Brits ae heading to arenal)

Also recieved a free bottle of wine as we checked out (think it's because I complained about the food)

I'll stop there again though. A brilliant holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor if you have a small person. The balconies are huge and very safe Vegetarian? Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WEBBLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Straznice, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed as a group of families and friends (in double and 2+2 rooms), halfboard.
The location of hotel is a little bit far from the beach (700m) but very calm. Particularly if you get a pool view room, you may savour wonderful look on stand of trees.
Funishings was quiet old but well-preserved. Rooms were clean, tasteful and spacious; food was various and delicious; staff friendly. Even twice a week entertaining shows took place there. There you may relax and enjoy sun at the nice and clean pool area.
Near to the hotel you may find bus stop (for both: urban and sub-urban buses), pharmacy, resturants, renters of cars, bikes, motos...
During last 3 years I stayed in 5 different (2 or 3 stars) hotels in El Arenal and I must say that Manaus was seriously the best value-for-price we ever got there! If you look for family holiday hotel, go to Manaus without any doubts! If you wanna be in the centre of party life, rather find another one.

Room Tip: First floor rooms (2+2) have large balcony (terrace). Poll view side is much better than another on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RenataPedrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgeCabrerDirector, Director General at Manaus, responded to this review, 21 September 2016
Dear Renata,

Thank you so much for writing such a great review about Hotel Manaus.
We hope you will choose our hotel in your next trip to Mallorca and see each other again!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed there in August 2013. The location is really good, close to most bus stops. Of course there is a "hill" but it"s just an uprising road. And goes around many shops So you are distracted:) The hotel îs clean, we had no problems. The staff really friendly and helpfull. The funniest thing ( if i may called IT so) is that me and my husband had a double room, we paid extra for the view, kingsize bed and fridge and my sister with a single had All that for free. The bed is quite normal, not kingsize, the same in the single room:) Maybe a coincidence, Maybe not. Arenal: full of Germans. AND it was a bless when we went on trips AND could enjoy Spanish. Even the waiters are 60% germans. One time, a waiter could not understand Spanish!! Best trips : Es Trenc( perfect beach AND watter), nice views on the road:), Coves del Drach, Aquarium, Palma is not that impressive( only beautifull scenery at the castle of Belver), Port de Soller is an impressive small city with nice views.. The trip with the vintage train didn't impress me and you could use just the usual bus as you can see the view with less money. Pay attention though to their scheddule.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anysiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

It is unbelievable that in one European hotel, the daily internet access which must be payed for the WiFi password is not even for a room but per person, so just one person can be connected. I had a lot of problems with the connection (altough claimed as great by director) and had to go several times up and down asking for help from stuffs at reception,where, the director Jordi (Jorge)Cabrer was always present. At the end the expensive connection, how Mr. Cabrer claimed it, completely crashed after a short thunderstorm, and the little bar in out of city beach still had a good internet, so we had to discuss for taking money back.
I unfortunately have to say that the behavior of Mr. Cabrer was very disappointing, not just with me, but with a clients who don't understand Spanish (eyes rolling,swearing in Spanish etc). That is diffidently not a kind of welcoming behavior we expect especially not when we pay for certain service.

Room Tip: Cannot advise on this metter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadja29T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my partner Chris from 3rd to 13th of September this year. We were both impressed by the way the Manager runs this hotel. We had problems with the TV on the first day and 10 minutes later a young man had fixed it. A few days later we had trouble with the loo not flushing. We reported it and by the time we got back from our evening meal it was fixed.

The dining room is large and breakfast is a choice of continental with croissants and cooked meats, melon, yoghurt, oranges etc or breakfast cereals or bacon eggs and toast and jam. Tea and coffee were available and were not limited.

The staff in the evening were very good, especially Anna who was very friendly and helpful. Evening meals were varied with pork, fish, chicken, soup, steak etc to choose from and there were chips, pasta and mixed vegetables (usually overcooked). Dessert choices were melon, jelly, ice cream, cake, caramel etc and again you could go back for seconds. Our half board basis was well worth what we paid.

The rooms were clean, towels changed every day and beds made up. The bathrom was fine with easy to work shower (for a change), hand basin and bidet. We had a pool/forest view which was nice. The hotel was pretty quiet noise wise even though it was almost full, the only noise coming from the hotel to the left of ours and that always finished before midnight. The entertainment was sparse at the Manaus, we had Flamenco the first Tuesday night and some kind of ballet the seocnd Tuesday, but this did not bother us as we went walking on the front most evenings where we found 2 English bars - Blues and The Sportsman with their friendly staff and English people to chat to.

There are plenty of places to book trips and they are reasonably priced.
The icing on the cake wuld have been having some English people in our hotel. The guests were either Spanish or German and were long faced each day as we came down to breakfast and did not chat to each other as we did.

Overall my partner and I had a very pleasant 10 days in Al Arenal and enjoyed our stay at the Manaus and would recommend it, especially to couples and families.

Room Tip: We had a pool/forest view room and they do seem to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmicjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Arenal hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mix Alea
Hotel Mix Alea
#9 of 44 in El Arenal
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ipanema Park
Ipanema Park
#13 of 44 in El Arenal
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#25 of 44 in El Arenal
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 44 in El Arenal
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#14 of 44 in El Arenal
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manaus

Property: Manaus
Address: Calle Josep Maria Quadrado 7, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manaus 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Manaus is located in one of the quieter areas of Palma beach, surrounded by woods and only a short walk from Playa de Palma. The hotel has very bright and cozy rooms, some with fantastic views of the forest. All rooms are equipped with balcony, safe, mini bar, bathroom, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and air conditioning.There are two lifts, a lounge, and one for reading and board games, TV, cafe, bar, a swimming pool and a children's pool. Entertainment twice a week during the summer months.All meals are buffet, and each week there is a special dinner-either: Majorcan or Mediterranean cuisine. "Show Cooking" for breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Manaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manaus El Arenal
Manaus Hotel El Arenal
Manaus Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing