We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of OLA Hotel Maioris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
OLA Hotel Maioris
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked a 5 night stay at the hotel and we would not classify the hotel as 4 stars. The hotel was very short staffed (bar, restaurant, only 1 chef cooking fresh food, pool area only cleaned once a week etc..). The bar and restaurant staff were very polite and helpful but some of the receptionists were very unhelpful at times. It seemed like the hotel could not cope with the number of guests as you had to queue for a table in the restaurant, get up at the crack of dawn for a sunbed and it was very difficult to get a table by the bar. Another problem was lack of information given, i.e no info in the room about the free shuttle bus, eating times etc... The hotel room was however clean but a bit tired. I wouldn't revisit or recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for your opinion:
The pool area is cleaned every morning.
We are very sorry you were disappointed during your holiday but we will pass on your comments to the hotel direction in order to improve our service for future clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just returned after 10 nights here, was very disappointed I know you get what you pay for but this had good right ups, but unfortunately this is a poor hotel which has too many people and not enough staff, the pool area is dangerous, why oh why do you have a swimming pool without non slip tiles around it, unbelievable!! Rooms are very basic I have never been on an all inclusive without a fridge in the room and tea making facilities as if you want a cup of coffee in the morning you have wait until breakfast at 7.45, bedroom furniture had the corners covered with METAL!!
So dangerous it was unreal whacked my head on the dangerous headboard twice! Not enough tables for the evening to sit on and the restaurant would be better described as a canteen with below average food, if you like to go to the bar every 30 seconds this is the all inclusive for you as you get one silly plastic cup for your drink, I would of gladly paid for some different drink like cider but all they had was one Spanish beer which was just about ok! Staff were friendly enough but very short staffed, finally if you like to get up at 6am to get a sunbed on holiday this will suit you as well otherwise you will be sitting on plastic chairs when all the beds have gone, there are not enough beds for everybody which is ridiculous, very disappointed and would never return, I have never moaned about a hotel but feel the need to tell the truth about this hotel. 2/3 star at best

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garyluton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for your opinion.
We apologize you didn't enjoy your holiday at our hotel.
We don’t provide a kettle our fridge in the room, but we don’t advertise this in any brochure or website.
We are happy you found our staff friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Booked for 7 nights all inclusive for my 11 year old daughter and I.
Should have done my homework better as hotel is a little out of the way. The beach, any nightlife, aquapark are all a 15 minute drive away. Although the hotel does schedule transport during the week to the main attractions (Arenal, Palma etc)
Check-in was a bit of a worry as I had booked last minute and the hotel had no information regarding my booking. Luckily there were 4 rooms available.
Room was as expected. Basic but clean and serviced every other day. No real concerns there.
I put items in for ironing which was a total waste of money. They came back folded with more creases than when they went in.....
Noise was not intrusive any night.
The pool area is tiny for the amount of people at the hotel. Nobody followed the signs regarding sunbed reservations (towels) and nobody from the hotel made any attempt at enforcing it. I can't stress enough - if you are looking for a pool vacation, this is not the hotel for you. The area was packed and the pool was very dirty at the end of the day.
Food selection at the breakfast, lunch and dinner was good and of a good standard. The people spoiled it here. I may have been unlucky but 90% of the residents felt the need to pile their plates to overflowing, this resulted in a cheap canteen feel unfortunately.
Drinks at the bar were OK. Help yourself soda - fanta, coke, sprite etc. Spirit measures were generous. Again there were signs of a 2 drink limit at the bar which nobody seemed to adhere to. Again no staff seemed inclined to police it which meant long queues for drinks, particularly in the evening. I watched one guy order 12 drinks and went back to a table of 3 people!
I will not be returning to the hotel for all the reasons detailed above.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LCM1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for your opinion.
We are happy you enjoyed our food and your room during your stay at our hotel.
We are sorry we couldn't please you on some aspects of your holiday but we will pass on your comments to the hotel direction in order to improve our service for future clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Nice holiday Great Staff (Thanks to Lubo the Barman within 1 drink I did not need to ask he remembered Gin & Lemonade & Rum & Coke ) animation team very good, but the hotel is looking tired inside the rooms (showers desperately need sorting, cold hot no in between). On holiday I would not expect to have to get up at 7am to get a sun bed, but 5 out of 7 days I had to, not wanted HAD TO to be able to get needs sorting!!!!!!!!!!
but having said that the staff made the hotel and should be congratulated from cleaners through to animation team. Its not easy trying to keep people happy theses days and reading some of the other reviews the hotels has its problems like others its how they deal with the problems that define who & what they are and the reviews that they receive

Food ok should keep most people happy

stage area could do with cooling down some how very hot during shows !!!!

Not sure if I would go out of my way to return unless the place was revamped , but DON'T change the STAFF

Room Tip: some first floor rooms have large balconies (140, 141,142, etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norfolk_Dive_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for your review.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We will certainly pass on your compliments to Lubo to motivate him to keep remembering future guests their drinks.
We will pass on your thanks to all hotelstaff.
We will pass on your comments to the hotel in order to improve our services for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Read reviews before booking and thought all where good so booked for 7nights.. On arrival building seemed very dated but kept a open mind got to rooms still no better was very shocked because this was not 4 star I'm far from a snob but choose to go with 4 star as I was travelling with my 1 year old... No cot was provided then was told to pay 6 euro a night if I wanted one the food was pork pork pork all the time we ate out the whole second half of our holiday reception staff where rude most of the time that's if u could get anyone to see u they lie because they do not to late check outs and I had to fight to get a room for an hour to shower in because we had to check out at 12 midday but our flight was not till 9. There's a major problem with electric my son actually blisters his two fingers after touching a light that had been on less than one minute... Pools where packed all the time.. they where too small for the amount of people in the hotel.. I couldn't say what evening entertainment was like because there was never a space to sit down so we need up out most nights... All people we spoke to where saying the same thing that the good reviews on here must be fake because not one person I spoke to had anything good to say about this hotel. All in all not a nice hotel at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danni-xxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for your opinion.
We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
All hotelstaff try to provide the best service to our guests, we're sorry you didn't experience it so.
A cot is indeed 6€ per day extra to pay at the hotel.
We provide late check outs in there is availability and if the hotel is not fully booked.
We're sorry you didn't enjoy our varied buffet during your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel, having stayed there in 2011. If you are hoping for a 4 star experience, I think you'll be disappointed (I've stayed in 3* accommodation which matches).

Having previously stayed in a room above the reception which was very nice, I was expecting similar. However, our room in Block B was somewhat disappointing; marked carpet and walls, plug sockets starting to come away, tired furnishings. Had to set my alarm clock for 7.00am (felt like i was getting up for work!) in order to get a sunbed near the pool so I could supervise my young daughter. Anyone coming down after 8.30am had little chance of a sunbed. The number of sunbeds does not match the number of rooms and, as the hotel is AI and isn't near a beach, I suspect most people prefer to stay on site. Some people put towels on their beds for each of their children and then they don't use them all day. I was also surprised that there were no parasols; there is just one canopy but I reckon you'd have to be up at 6 to get a sunbed there!

The same problem applied to the restaurant trying to find a table and then queuing up for food (felt like school dinners!) and then dodging people to get back to your table. Same problem with seats in the evening round the bar area. If you weren't there by 8.00pm, you had no chance. People had to sit on sun loungers. There was always a queue for the bar at night - definitely not enough staff to cope.

I don't know whether it was just a particularly busy week but it felt overbooked, too busy and struggling with the number of guests. Such a shame as it's a great place but if the hotel doesn't keep on top of the decor etc, and also provide adequate sunbeds/chairs, I can't see how it can possibly keep its 4* rating.

On the plus side, the entertainment team are great, especially with the kids. The hotel is clean and the staff work tirelessly. Food is of a decent quality and plenty of choice.

What should have been a relaxing week started to feel like we were racing against the clock.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Potts187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for your review.
We are sorry we couldn't please you on some aspects of your holiday.
We will pass on your comments and remarks to the hotel direction in order to improve our services for future clients.
We are very happy you enjoyed our food, entertainment team and hotelstaff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Arrived 1/8/13 for 1 week and i would like to tell everyone the Hotel is absolutly fine !!
Its in a very quiet location there is 2 good supermarkets close by and some lovely bars and reastaurants (Not that we eat or Drank there as the all inclusive at the Hotel is Great)
The rooms are a little tired and maybe could do with a spruce up but ours was on the 1st floor overlooking the pools and bar
We were 2 adults with 2 teenagers 13 & 15 and although there isnt much for the teenagers to do our boys were happy just chilling with us
if your kids are younger they will love it the anamation team never stops and every kid looked like they were having a ball
The sunbed run on a morning was fun as im always up early so we got beds no problem usually around 6.30-7am
Food was great as were the drinks always something to eat and ok we had to que at some point in the reastaurant and at the bar but this is the busiest time of the year and the staff did there best
We visted Arenal twice which is great but couldnt wait to get back to the hotel to chill its the German & Dutch Magaluf full of young groups having a good time with no kids !!! lucky them lol.
We had a walk down to the cove near the Hotel to snorkel and its easy down hill but quite a trek back up but its worth it great for snorkeling or sunbathing naked with the locals !!
All up we had a great chilled holiday the other Guests British,Spanish,German ,French ect were all very friendly and cant wait to visit again
We normally go to Egypt but this was Better Food and Drink and we fell back in love with Majorca

Room Tip: We were in block B 1st floor room 126 great view of the pool and nice to sit out on balcony on an ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisfev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We will pass on your compliments to the entertaiment team so they can continue to keep future children entertained and occupied during their holiday.
We hope to welcome you and your teenagers back next year in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
3.3 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
868 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#5 of 44 in El Arenal
431 reviews
3.5 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#17 of 44 in El Arenal
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas & Bahamas II
26.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
3.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel Maioris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel Maioris

Address: Carretera Cap Blanc 6, 07609 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range: £73 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — OLA Hotel Maioris 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA Hotel Maioris is located in a wooded residential area, on the south-east coast of Majorca, right in the Puig den Ros development and features restaurants, bars, shops, supermarkets, hairdressing salon, etc.The complex is spread over three buildings, each with two lifts and issurrounded by magnificent gardens.There is a little rocky cove 900 m away. El Arenal, with its beache and vibrant night life is only a few kilometres away, and can be reached by using the hotel’s own transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your OLA Hotel Maioris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Club Maioris Hotel El Arenal
OLA Hotel Maioris Majorca/El Arenal
Ola Hotel El Arenal
Ola Maioris Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing