We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed! Definately not 4*”
Review of OLA Hotel Maioris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
OLA Hotel Maioris
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Having just recently returned from a 7 night family break - I felt the need to comment on this hotel. I do not usually bother writing a review but following the positive comments by other posters I was lulled into a false sense of security in booking this hotel. 4* it certainly is not!
The hotel is very dated. Rooms are worn out - basic but clean and serviced 6 out of 7. Plenty of hot water for bath/shower. Air conditioning is included but found this to be very minimal and not consistent as noted by other guests.
The pool/ bar area is overcrowded and filthy strewn with discarded drinks and food. This is mainly due to the vast amount of kids running amok! I appreciate its the summer holidays but there was no discipline from parents or hotel staff. It would also be an idea for the staff to have a deep clean as it is not nice sitting out with your morning coffee having to dodge the previous nights dog ends and left overs under the tables and sunbeds.
The pools are too small for the amount of guests accomodated at the hotel(photos are disceptive). If you attempt to enter either pool you are faced with a bombardment of inflatables or disrespectable kids - there is a lifeguard posted by the pool, however at no point did he blow his whistle or warn anyone - an accident waiting to happen! Inside and outiside of the pool area was dirty - plasters and god knows what floating around. The sunbeds are an issue as stated by previous posters. There are not enough - no parasols and very worn.
Restaurant is very busy and if you visit peak time it is difficult to get a table although only in a party of three we had to sit seperate on a number of occassions. Food is fresh and there is a variety most days. It would be preferable if the hot food was served HOT. On the first day at lunch I chose to have a portion of lasagne - although tasty enough it was cold/tepid as was my partners meatballs - so not a good start.
Location is not great as we were aware although after visiting Arenal it was appreciated to be in a quiet area. 2/3 Bars restaurants 5 mins walk were great and not bad value. The house Riojca was great value.
The nearest seafront is stunning - a rocky cove. There is a beach club there open to adults only at 8 euros p.d. It is very hard going about 1/2 mile downhill and a long struggle back up!!
Did jump on the bus to Arenal 1.50 euros each way runs every hour from outside the hotel. Arenal was so busy, we wanted to visit the beach but this was a huge disappointment the beach was filthy littered with plastic bags, cigarette butts and lots of broken glass.
In conclusion - I would not recommend or return to this hotel. It needs a major refit and the accomodation v. facilities needs to be reviewed. It is dirty and overcrowded.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shez_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for your opininion.
We appreciate your feedback and will certainly try to improve our services described in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,468)
There are newer reviews for OLA Hotel Maioris
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Just returned after 7 nights all inclusive (06/08/13 -13/08/13). This hotel is all a family can ask for, plenty of activities for the kids so that adults can relax, amazing food and drinks (you'll be spoilt for choice), clean and spacious rooms with brilliant power shower and a friendly atmosphere. Our daughter made new friends from day one and we also rented a car which allowed us to tour great part of the island between breakfast and dinner (we made packed lunches with hotel food).
We recommend Cala Llombards for snorkeling, a true paradise bay with white sand, turquoise waters and free parking. Cuevas del Drach for a once in a lifetime experience underground. The twisty serpentine road to Sa Calobra for an adventurous, terrifying buzz. Cala Formentor beach for its amazing views.
We thank all the hard working Staff at the Hotel for making our stay so pleasant, hope they get paid well. We also want to pay our compliments to the Chefs for such tasty dishes, whoever writes bad reviews on the food must be a sad, boring snob.
Overall we had a FANTASTIC holiday in a BEAUTIFUL island and a GREAT Hotel. THANK YOU!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happytourist2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for your detailed review.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel that much.
We kindly ask our guests not to take food out of the dining room for health and safety restrictions, this is also the reason why the hotel doesn't provide picnics.
We will certainly pass on your thanks to all hotelstaff and the chefs to motivate them to keep giving great food and good service to future clients.
We would like to welcome you next year again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked a 5 night stay at the hotel and we would not classify the hotel as 4 stars. The hotel was very short staffed (bar, restaurant, only 1 chef cooking fresh food, pool area only cleaned once a week etc..). The bar and restaurant staff were very polite and helpful but some of the receptionists were very unhelpful at times. It seemed like the hotel could not cope with the number of guests as you had to queue for a table in the restaurant, get up at the crack of dawn for a sunbed and it was very difficult to get a table by the bar. Another problem was lack of information given, i.e no info in the room about the free shuttle bus, eating times etc... The hotel room was however clean but a bit tired. I wouldn't revisit or recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for your opinion:
The pool area is cleaned every morning.
We are very sorry you were disappointed during your holiday but we will pass on your comments to the hotel direction in order to improve our service for future clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just returned after 10 nights here, was very disappointed I know you get what you pay for but this had good right ups, but unfortunately this is a poor hotel which has too many people and not enough staff, the pool area is dangerous, why oh why do you have a swimming pool without non slip tiles around it, unbelievable!! Rooms are very basic I have never been on an all inclusive without a fridge in the room and tea making facilities as if you want a cup of coffee in the morning you have wait until breakfast at 7.45, bedroom furniture had the corners covered with METAL!!
So dangerous it was unreal whacked my head on the dangerous headboard twice! Not enough tables for the evening to sit on and the restaurant would be better described as a canteen with below average food, if you like to go to the bar every 30 seconds this is the all inclusive for you as you get one silly plastic cup for your drink, I would of gladly paid for some different drink like cider but all they had was one Spanish beer which was just about ok! Staff were friendly enough but very short staffed, finally if you like to get up at 6am to get a sunbed on holiday this will suit you as well otherwise you will be sitting on plastic chairs when all the beds have gone, there are not enough beds for everybody which is ridiculous, very disappointed and would never return, I have never moaned about a hotel but feel the need to tell the truth about this hotel. 2/3 star at best

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garyluton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for your opinion.
We apologize you didn't enjoy your holiday at our hotel.
We don’t provide a kettle our fridge in the room, but we don’t advertise this in any brochure or website.
We are happy you found our staff friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Booked for 7 nights all inclusive for my 11 year old daughter and I.
Should have done my homework better as hotel is a little out of the way. The beach, any nightlife, aquapark are all a 15 minute drive away. Although the hotel does schedule transport during the week to the main attractions (Arenal, Palma etc)
Check-in was a bit of a worry as I had booked last minute and the hotel had no information regarding my booking. Luckily there were 4 rooms available.
Room was as expected. Basic but clean and serviced every other day. No real concerns there.
I put items in for ironing which was a total waste of money. They came back folded with more creases than when they went in.....
Noise was not intrusive any night.
The pool area is tiny for the amount of people at the hotel. Nobody followed the signs regarding sunbed reservations (towels) and nobody from the hotel made any attempt at enforcing it. I can't stress enough - if you are looking for a pool vacation, this is not the hotel for you. The area was packed and the pool was very dirty at the end of the day.
Food selection at the breakfast, lunch and dinner was good and of a good standard. The people spoiled it here. I may have been unlucky but 90% of the residents felt the need to pile their plates to overflowing, this resulted in a cheap canteen feel unfortunately.
Drinks at the bar were OK. Help yourself soda - fanta, coke, sprite etc. Spirit measures were generous. Again there were signs of a 2 drink limit at the bar which nobody seemed to adhere to. Again no staff seemed inclined to police it which meant long queues for drinks, particularly in the evening. I watched one guy order 12 drinks and went back to a table of 3 people!
I will not be returning to the hotel for all the reasons detailed above.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LCM1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for your opinion.
We are happy you enjoyed our food and your room during your stay at our hotel.
We are sorry we couldn't please you on some aspects of your holiday but we will pass on your comments to the hotel direction in order to improve our service for future clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Nice holiday Great Staff (Thanks to Lubo the Barman within 1 drink I did not need to ask he remembered Gin & Lemonade & Rum & Coke ) animation team very good, but the hotel is looking tired inside the rooms (showers desperately need sorting, cold hot no in between). On holiday I would not expect to have to get up at 7am to get a sun bed, but 5 out of 7 days I had to, not wanted HAD TO to be able to get needs sorting!!!!!!!!!!
but having said that the staff made the hotel and should be congratulated from cleaners through to animation team. Its not easy trying to keep people happy theses days and reading some of the other reviews the hotels has its problems like others its how they deal with the problems that define who & what they are and the reviews that they receive

Food ok should keep most people happy

stage area could do with cooling down some how very hot during shows !!!!

Not sure if I would go out of my way to return unless the place was revamped , but DON'T change the STAFF

Room Tip: some first floor rooms have large balconies (140, 141,142, etc)
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norfolk_Dive_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for your review.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We will certainly pass on your compliments to Lubo to motivate him to keep remembering future guests their drinks.
We will pass on your thanks to all hotelstaff.
We will pass on your comments to the hotel in order to improve our services for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Read reviews before booking and thought all where good so booked for 7nights.. On arrival building seemed very dated but kept a open mind got to rooms still no better was very shocked because this was not 4 star I'm far from a snob but choose to go with 4 star as I was travelling with my 1 year old... No cot was provided then was told to pay 6 euro a night if I wanted one the food was pork pork pork all the time we ate out the whole second half of our holiday reception staff where rude most of the time that's if u could get anyone to see u they lie because they do not to late check outs and I had to fight to get a room for an hour to shower in because we had to check out at 12 midday but our flight was not till 9. There's a major problem with electric my son actually blisters his two fingers after touching a light that had been on less than one minute... Pools where packed all the time.. they where too small for the amount of people in the hotel.. I couldn't say what evening entertainment was like because there was never a space to sit down so we need up out most nights... All people we spoke to where saying the same thing that the good reviews on here must be fake because not one person I spoke to had anything good to say about this hotel. All in all not a nice hotel at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danni-xxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for your opinion.
We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
All hotelstaff try to provide the best service to our guests, we're sorry you didn't experience it so.
A cot is indeed 6€ per day extra to pay at the hotel.
We provide late check outs in there is availability and if the hotel is not fully booked.
We're sorry you didn't enjoy our varied buffet during your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
3.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
455 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#2 of 44 in El Arenal
860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Delta
Hotel Best Delta
#1 of 1 in Puig de Ros
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#16 of 44 in El Arenal
785 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#4 of 44 in El Arenal
414 reviews
11.9 mi away
AluaSun Torrenova
AluaSun Torrenova
#19 of 39 in Palmanova
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel Maioris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel Maioris

Address: Carretera Cap Blanc 6, 07609 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range: £81 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — OLA Hotel Maioris 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA Hotel Maioris is located in a wooded residential area, on the south-east coast of Majorca, right in the Puig den Ros development and features restaurants, bars, shops, supermarkets, hairdressing salon, etc.The complex is spread over three buildings, each with two lifts and issurrounded by magnificent gardens.There is a little rocky cove 900 m away. El Arenal, with its beache and vibrant night life is only a few kilometres away, and can be reached by using the hotel’s own transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your OLA Hotel Maioris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Club Maioris Hotel El Arenal
OLA Hotel Maioris Majorca/El Arenal
Ola Hotel El Arenal
Ola Maioris Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing