We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not recommend-at all!”
Review of OLA Hotel Maioris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
OLA Hotel Maioris
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would not recommend-at all!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Hated it! You get what you pay for.
1) Arrived late at night and was put into the Delta hotel next door - not a problem but it was 1am at night. Travelled with my 2 teenage kids who were put into a totally different block to us. But the receptionist said it was ok as they were "adults"! Over the week we met people who were placed in hotels miles away and had to pay their own taxis to get to the hotel. We met a couple who did not have a room the first night and had to sleep on the sofas in the reception! If you arrive early in the day you will not get a room until after 2pm.
2) All Floors very slippery - you might say I should be careful but they are very slippery. I met 2 people - one cut his chin after slipping on the shower floor and the other broke her arm slipping on a ramp outside the restaurant.
3) long queues at the restaurant - breakfast, lunch and dinner.
4) not enough tables in the restaurant at peak times.
5) not enough sunbeds during the day - towels on the sunbeds before 7! There are people who place their towels on the sunbeds and then they go out for the day! There are people who take sunbeds for their kids and their kids never use them.
6) sunbeds are old and battered and there are no umbrellas or shady areas when the mid day sun hits.
7) seating area too small in the evenings - forced to sit on the sunbeds.
8) long queues at the bar most times
9) the evening entertainment is done in a small area that fits perhaps 50 people, and is stifling hot.
10) room and corridor cleaning starts at some ungodly hour
11) hosing down of the outside area starts at 9 and carries on until around 11 - just at the time when people start to sit out in the sun!
12) rooms are dated and not enough channels on the TV or enough plugs in the room.
13) rude male reception staff - female receptionists were so friendly and helpful - fantastic.
14) kids running everywhere - this was a problem in the restaurant where parents let their kids put their own food, and get their own drinks - with dropped plates and glasses.
15) on final day was told there was nowhere for us to shower - we had to leave the room at 12 mid day but was not flying out until 11.35pm. So we flew out smelling of sun cream, sweat and swimming pools! This is a 4* hotel that does not have a separate shower area for guests.
16) the websites say the hotel has a gym, but it does not.
17) Pools are too small for the amount of guests. Water is dirty - plasters, flies, stones, cups.
18) don't put the room key within a mile of your phone or it will stop working.

Some good points
1) fantastic animation team who create a great atmosphere - well done
2) food acceptable - would like to have seen some Spanish food - all the waiters were fantastic.
3) food and drink (crisps, cakes, fruit) available throughout the day.
4) Hotels has a free bus service, and there is a bus stop outside for the main bus service. This is really useful as the hotel is in the middle of nowhere and taxis are expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your opinion.
We appreciate your feedback and will try to improve our services.
We are happy you enjoyed our animation team, our waiters and our free shuttle service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    550
    246
    88
    67
See reviews for
590
449
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Don't waste you're hard earned money!
I'll try and keep it short. .. old/tired and smelly hotel, lots of ants all over bathroom also my partner cut her foot on the fix up job they had done on the bath. The room smelt damp and was in dire need of a revamp. There were hundreds of wasps from 9 in the morning until 7 at night all around the pool area and bar!!!! Every time we went for either breakfast, lunch or dinner we had to queue for at least 20 to 30 minutes! As long as you like salad, pork, cod or chips you'll be ok, oh and liver!! All kids food was fried!! And to top it all of the staff couldn't be more miserable if they tried that is unless you speak French, German or Russian!
so my advice is stay away! We paid £600 pounds more the year before for two weeks in a five star hotel in Mexico!!!!
4 star, yeah right.... 2 at best! What an absolute rip off!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcus123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for writing an opinion.
We try to offer value for money holidays, we apologize you didn't experience it so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Having just recently returned from a 7 night family break - I felt the need to comment on this hotel. I do not usually bother writing a review but following the positive comments by other posters I was lulled into a false sense of security in booking this hotel. 4* it certainly is not!
The hotel is very dated. Rooms are worn out - basic but clean and serviced 6 out of 7. Plenty of hot water for bath/shower. Air conditioning is included but found this to be very minimal and not consistent as noted by other guests.
The pool/ bar area is overcrowded and filthy strewn with discarded drinks and food. This is mainly due to the vast amount of kids running amok! I appreciate its the summer holidays but there was no discipline from parents or hotel staff. It would also be an idea for the staff to have a deep clean as it is not nice sitting out with your morning coffee having to dodge the previous nights dog ends and left overs under the tables and sunbeds.
The pools are too small for the amount of guests accomodated at the hotel(photos are disceptive). If you attempt to enter either pool you are faced with a bombardment of inflatables or disrespectable kids - there is a lifeguard posted by the pool, however at no point did he blow his whistle or warn anyone - an accident waiting to happen! Inside and outiside of the pool area was dirty - plasters and god knows what floating around. The sunbeds are an issue as stated by previous posters. There are not enough - no parasols and very worn.
Restaurant is very busy and if you visit peak time it is difficult to get a table although only in a party of three we had to sit seperate on a number of occassions. Food is fresh and there is a variety most days. It would be preferable if the hot food was served HOT. On the first day at lunch I chose to have a portion of lasagne - although tasty enough it was cold/tepid as was my partners meatballs - so not a good start.
Location is not great as we were aware although after visiting Arenal it was appreciated to be in a quiet area. 2/3 Bars restaurants 5 mins walk were great and not bad value. The house Riojca was great value.
The nearest seafront is stunning - a rocky cove. There is a beach club there open to adults only at 8 euros p.d. It is very hard going about 1/2 mile downhill and a long struggle back up!!
Did jump on the bus to Arenal 1.50 euros each way runs every hour from outside the hotel. Arenal was so busy, we wanted to visit the beach but this was a huge disappointment the beach was filthy littered with plastic bags, cigarette butts and lots of broken glass.
In conclusion - I would not recommend or return to this hotel. It needs a major refit and the accomodation v. facilities needs to be reviewed. It is dirty and overcrowded.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shez_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your opininion.
We appreciate your feedback and will certainly try to improve our services described in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Just returned after 7 nights all inclusive (06/08/13 -13/08/13). This hotel is all a family can ask for, plenty of activities for the kids so that adults can relax, amazing food and drinks (you'll be spoilt for choice), clean and spacious rooms with brilliant power shower and a friendly atmosphere. Our daughter made new friends from day one and we also rented a car which allowed us to tour great part of the island between breakfast and dinner (we made packed lunches with hotel food).
We recommend Cala Llombards for snorkeling, a true paradise bay with white sand, turquoise waters and free parking. Cuevas del Drach for a once in a lifetime experience underground. The twisty serpentine road to Sa Calobra for an adventurous, terrifying buzz. Cala Formentor beach for its amazing views.
We thank all the hard working Staff at the Hotel for making our stay so pleasant, hope they get paid well. We also want to pay our compliments to the Chefs for such tasty dishes, whoever writes bad reviews on the food must be a sad, boring snob.
Overall we had a FANTASTIC holiday in a BEAUTIFUL island and a GREAT Hotel. THANK YOU!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happytourist2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your detailed review.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel that much.
We kindly ask our guests not to take food out of the dining room for health and safety restrictions, this is also the reason why the hotel doesn't provide picnics.
We will certainly pass on your thanks to all hotelstaff and the chefs to motivate them to keep giving great food and good service to future clients.
We would like to welcome you next year again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked a 5 night stay at the hotel and we would not classify the hotel as 4 stars. The hotel was very short staffed (bar, restaurant, only 1 chef cooking fresh food, pool area only cleaned once a week etc..). The bar and restaurant staff were very polite and helpful but some of the receptionists were very unhelpful at times. It seemed like the hotel could not cope with the number of guests as you had to queue for a table in the restaurant, get up at the crack of dawn for a sunbed and it was very difficult to get a table by the bar. Another problem was lack of information given, i.e no info in the room about the free shuttle bus, eating times etc... The hotel room was however clean but a bit tired. I wouldn't revisit or recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your opinion:
The pool area is cleaned every morning.
We are very sorry you were disappointed during your holiday but we will pass on your comments to the hotel direction in order to improve our service for future clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just returned after 10 nights here, was very disappointed I know you get what you pay for but this had good right ups, but unfortunately this is a poor hotel which has too many people and not enough staff, the pool area is dangerous, why oh why do you have a swimming pool without non slip tiles around it, unbelievable!! Rooms are very basic I have never been on an all inclusive without a fridge in the room and tea making facilities as if you want a cup of coffee in the morning you have wait until breakfast at 7.45, bedroom furniture had the corners covered with METAL!!
So dangerous it was unreal whacked my head on the dangerous headboard twice! Not enough tables for the evening to sit on and the restaurant would be better described as a canteen with below average food, if you like to go to the bar every 30 seconds this is the all inclusive for you as you get one silly plastic cup for your drink, I would of gladly paid for some different drink like cider but all they had was one Spanish beer which was just about ok! Staff were friendly enough but very short staffed, finally if you like to get up at 6am to get a sunbed on holiday this will suit you as well otherwise you will be sitting on plastic chairs when all the beds have gone, there are not enough beds for everybody which is ridiculous, very disappointed and would never return, I have never moaned about a hotel but feel the need to tell the truth about this hotel. 2/3 star at best

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garyluton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your opinion.
We apologize you didn't enjoy your holiday at our hotel.
We don’t provide a kettle our fridge in the room, but we don’t advertise this in any brochure or website.
We are happy you found our staff friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Booked for 7 nights all inclusive for my 11 year old daughter and I.
Should have done my homework better as hotel is a little out of the way. The beach, any nightlife, aquapark are all a 15 minute drive away. Although the hotel does schedule transport during the week to the main attractions (Arenal, Palma etc)
Check-in was a bit of a worry as I had booked last minute and the hotel had no information regarding my booking. Luckily there were 4 rooms available.
Room was as expected. Basic but clean and serviced every other day. No real concerns there.
I put items in for ironing which was a total waste of money. They came back folded with more creases than when they went in.....
Noise was not intrusive any night.
The pool area is tiny for the amount of people at the hotel. Nobody followed the signs regarding sunbed reservations (towels) and nobody from the hotel made any attempt at enforcing it. I can't stress enough - if you are looking for a pool vacation, this is not the hotel for you. The area was packed and the pool was very dirty at the end of the day.
Food selection at the breakfast, lunch and dinner was good and of a good standard. The people spoiled it here. I may have been unlucky but 90% of the residents felt the need to pile their plates to overflowing, this resulted in a cheap canteen feel unfortunately.
Drinks at the bar were OK. Help yourself soda - fanta, coke, sprite etc. Spirit measures were generous. Again there were signs of a 2 drink limit at the bar which nobody seemed to adhere to. Again no staff seemed inclined to police it which meant long queues for drinks, particularly in the evening. I watched one guy order 12 drinks and went back to a table of 3 people!
I will not be returning to the hotel for all the reasons detailed above.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LCM1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your opinion.
We are happy you enjoyed our food and your room during your stay at our hotel.
We are sorry we couldn't please you on some aspects of your holiday but we will pass on your comments to the hotel direction in order to improve our service for future clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
3.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 44 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
31.1 mi away
Eix Lagotel
Eix Lagotel
#15 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.3 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#24 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
3.5 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#12 of 44 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
31.8 mi away
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
#14 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel Maioris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel Maioris

Property: OLA Hotel Maioris
Address: Carretera Cap Blanc 6, 07620 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — OLA Hotel Maioris 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA Hotel Maioris is located in a wooded residential area, on the south-east coast of Majorca, right in the Puig den Ros development and features restaurants, bars, shops, supermarkets, hairdressing salon, etc.The complex is spread over three buildings, each with two lifts and issurrounded by magnificent gardens.There is a little rocky cove 900 m away. El Arenal, with its beache and vibrant night life is only a few kilometres away, and can be reached by using the hotel’s own transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Priceline, Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your OLA Hotel Maioris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Club Maioris Hotel El Arenal
OLA Hotel Maioris Majorca/El Arenal
Ola Hotel El Arenal
Ola Maioris Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing