We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Booked and Disappointed”
Review of OLA Hotel Maioris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
OLA Hotel Maioris
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Booked the hotel with Onthebeach.com after reading mainly good reviews about the hotel. A quick 5 day break Monday 12th - Friday 17th August. Arrived Monday mid morning to be advised that the hotel was over booked and of the 4 night stay we would have to stay 2 of the nights in the hotel next door the Delta (Which you wouldn't want to stay at!). After complaining they would move us to a 3* for 4 nights - Not an alternative. We ended up at the Delta Hotel for 2 nights with two rooms. We had to eat and use the hotel facilities of the Ola Club Maioris and whilst the food was OK you had to queue a long time for food cooked by the chef, fish, meat etc. Plenty of sunbeds although they are tightly packed together and you need to be up very early to secure them 6:30 - 7:00am. The Manager (Pedro) has a very difficult job he appears to be spending his time trying to make peace with unhappy guests and will offer guests where they have been over booked free wifi, safe deposit boxes etc providing they sign a form stating they will NOT claim compensation - something we refused to do. I will never stay at this hotel again it is NOT a 4* maybe a 3* at a push and at present will not book any further holidays with Onthebeach.com until someone advises me who overbooked us as we only booked the holiday 14 days before we flew out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chesterfield63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for your opinion.
We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Don't waste you're hard earned money!
I'll try and keep it short. .. old/tired and smelly hotel, lots of ants all over bathroom also my partner cut her foot on the fix up job they had done on the bath. The room smelt damp and was in dire need of a revamp. There were hundreds of wasps from 9 in the morning until 7 at night all around the pool area and bar!!!! Every time we went for either breakfast, lunch or dinner we had to queue for at least 20 to 30 minutes! As long as you like salad, pork, cod or chips you'll be ok, oh and liver!! All kids food was fried!! And to top it all of the staff couldn't be more miserable if they tried that is unless you speak French, German or Russian!
so my advice is stay away! We paid £600 pounds more the year before for two weeks in a five star hotel in Mexico!!!!
4 star, yeah right.... 2 at best! What an absolute rip off!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcus123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for writing an opinion.
We try to offer value for money holidays, we apologize you didn't experience it so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We went the beginning of aug, it was very busy, loads for the kids to do, and the adults, the entertainer made the hotel, got every1 involved, now for the food. there was loads of choice They cater for the Germans, not a lot of English food, apart from for the kids, but the food was lush and plenty of it, so can't complain, only thing I will complain about is, No bottle water, and the water from behind the bar, didn't taste to great, that my only complain about this hotel, the bar staff could do with a few more staff on especially on a nite time queuing for drink, the staff are very helpful, even helping some poor gent who got lock out on his balcony, WHICH b very aware of, don't close the door behind you if u go out on it, because u get lock out, room are very basic, very clean!!! Always had cleaner buzzing about doing something, never see 1 creepy crawly, only thing u do get a lot of is wasps, from people spilling there drink, AND last but not least, the SUNBED, if your not fast your last at getting 1. People get up about 6ish to put towel out, so b WARNED, but overall would defo go again, can't really fault it apart from a few daft things, x

Room Tip: All room are basic, we was over the bar, but it all depend on what the call noisey, coz we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for your opinion.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We will pass on your comments to the hotelstaff to motivate them.
We will also pass on your remarks to the hotel direction in order to improve our services for future guests.We hope to see you next year again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Hotel is pretty good, more good points than bad. Would have scored 3.5 if possible, but not 4.

Like others have mentioned here, the hotel has a habit of overbooking, and we spent the first night next door at the Delta. Not a big issue for us, a couple, but wouldn’t fancy it much with kids. On the upside, when I complained to the Reception Manager the next day, I got compensated with a late checkout on the last day, until 6pm, so that was a fair deal in my book!

Food choice is good, but don’t go near the end of a meal time, there won’t be much left. When we stay at other AI hotels, we tend to go late for dinner, since its quieter then but that didn’t work here. Go early and you get the full choice and it’s quieter.

There are no parasols, despite what it says on the hotel website. There are, however, plenty shaded areas and two large “roofed” areas with sunbeds. Correction, there is one parasol, it belongs to the lifeguard!

Drinks – full marks to the hotel for having self service areas in the bar (soft drinks and tea/coffee) and in the restaurant (soft drinks, beer and wine, tea/coffee at breakfast). This is a great thing, cuts the queues, and avoids having to wait for staff at meal times.

There are a number of signs which get completely ignored, including by the staff. These include, “No reserving of sunbeds”, “No inflatables in the pool”, “No more than 2 drinks per person”. Absolutely no enforcement of any of these. So go with the flow!

You will need your own beach towel for the sunbeds, unless you want to rent or buy. In any other countries these are part of AI (and we’ve been to a few, Mexico, Dominican, Cuba, Egypt), but Spain seems to be different.

Saturdays are really busy, and I think the hotel overbooks to avoid turning away a one week reservation because of one night! In my case they blamed the booking agent (I booked through Hotels4u), but I had emailed the hotel with my reservation number to request a room preference, which they acknowledged by return, but then said they didn’t have the reservation! I smell porkies! But, as I said above, this turned out well for me. And we got the preference we asked for as well.

We found the staff to be pretty good, apart from the night guy on reception, who I had an argument with, over the fact that they lock the outside doors at night until after 7am. He was rude and abrupt, until I told him I didn’t like his attitude, and he became more polite. He said it was for security, but when I challenged him the truth came out that it was to stop guests putting towels down! I argued that the doors were fire escapes, and he said you could just break the doors open (glass) in the event of a fire!!! However, when I went back and checked, there are actually separate fire escape routes next to the lifts. The rest of the staff were excellent, very hard working. I couldn’t do their job, and applaud them for their service!

The rooms are OK, nothing special, but comfy and spacious enough, although only one power socket (for the TV). As seasoned travellers, we always take a 4 way extension and euro adapter anyway.

The hotel is in a residential area, not close to a beach. A half mile walk takes you to a rocky cove, which is really nice, and has a restaurant (steep hill down the last bit, so be prepared!). I went snorkelling in the bay. There is also, within 5 mins walk, a large Mercadona supermarket in one direction, and a commercial area with a number of shops, bars, restaurants and a supermarket, in the opposite direction. There is also a free hotel bus service to Arenal (brilliant beach there) and Palma. You need to book these the day before. We used the public bus service. Bus stop right outside the hotel, less than 3 euros pp each way to Palma, 1.50 to Arenal. Ace.

All in all, we had a great week here, and just forgot about the bad first night experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank m4xwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for your extensive and detailed review.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We will pass on your comments to the hotel direction in order to improve our services for future clients.We hope to welcome you back next year for the 2nd time in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just returned from a week all-inc with my family of 4 (kids aged 11 and 12). Have given average rating although if you had a 'good' one rather than 'very good' I would have chosen this.
Food was good with a variety each day and we never had a problem getting a table although we seemed to go to the restaurant at the less busy times. The tables were quite close together and beer and wine were from self service machines. I've been to a number of 4* all-inc around Europe and the food from Ola Club Maioris ranks highly.
Room as average, bathroom good and no noise heard at all from neighbouring rooms.
All the staff were brilliant - especially Ludo at the bar and Silke on reception but the main reason that I haven't given very good rating is that there just weren't enough of them. Poor Ludo was rushed off his feet each night and he could do with some help!
Wine and cava were very drinkable but beer came in too small glasses, Would have been better if beer could have been self-service as have seen at other all-inc hotels and this would have reduced the workload of the bar staff.
Kids enjoyed the bingo and evening entertainment and the day trip to Es Trenc beach was lovely.

Room Tip: An email before travelling helped us get a room high in Block C overlooking pool and towards the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dannycray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at your hotel.
We will certainly pass on your special mention to Lubo and Silke to motivate them to give excelent service to future clients.
We will also pass on your comments to the hotel direction in order to improve our service for future guests.
We hope to welcome you next year again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Hated it! You get what you pay for.
1) Arrived late at night and was put into the Delta hotel next door - not a problem but it was 1am at night. Travelled with my 2 teenage kids who were put into a totally different block to us. But the receptionist said it was ok as they were "adults"! Over the week we met people who were placed in hotels miles away and had to pay their own taxis to get to the hotel. We met a couple who did not have a room the first night and had to sleep on the sofas in the reception! If you arrive early in the day you will not get a room until after 2pm.
2) All Floors very slippery - you might say I should be careful but they are very slippery. I met 2 people - one cut his chin after slipping on the shower floor and the other broke her arm slipping on a ramp outside the restaurant.
3) long queues at the restaurant - breakfast, lunch and dinner.
4) not enough tables in the restaurant at peak times.
5) not enough sunbeds during the day - towels on the sunbeds before 7! There are people who place their towels on the sunbeds and then they go out for the day! There are people who take sunbeds for their kids and their kids never use them.
6) sunbeds are old and battered and there are no umbrellas or shady areas when the mid day sun hits.
7) seating area too small in the evenings - forced to sit on the sunbeds.
8) long queues at the bar most times
9) the evening entertainment is done in a small area that fits perhaps 50 people, and is stifling hot.
10) room and corridor cleaning starts at some ungodly hour
11) hosing down of the outside area starts at 9 and carries on until around 11 - just at the time when people start to sit out in the sun!
12) rooms are dated and not enough channels on the TV or enough plugs in the room.
13) rude male reception staff - female receptionists were so friendly and helpful - fantastic.
14) kids running everywhere - this was a problem in the restaurant where parents let their kids put their own food, and get their own drinks - with dropped plates and glasses.
15) on final day was told there was nowhere for us to shower - we had to leave the room at 12 mid day but was not flying out until 11.35pm. So we flew out smelling of sun cream, sweat and swimming pools! This is a 4* hotel that does not have a separate shower area for guests.
16) the websites say the hotel has a gym, but it does not.
17) Pools are too small for the amount of guests. Water is dirty - plasters, flies, stones, cups.
18) don't put the room key within a mile of your phone or it will stop working.

Some good points
1) fantastic animation team who create a great atmosphere - well done
2) food acceptable - would like to have seen some Spanish food - all the waiters were fantastic.
3) food and drink (crisps, cakes, fruit) available throughout the day.
4) Hotels has a free bus service, and there is a bus stop outside for the main bus service. This is really useful as the hotel is in the middle of nowhere and taxis are expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for your opinion.
We appreciate your feedback and will try to improve our services.
We are happy you enjoyed our animation team, our waiters and our free shuttle service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Don't waste you're hard earned money!
I'll try and keep it short. .. old/tired and smelly hotel, lots of ants all over bathroom also my partner cut her foot on the fix up job they had done on the bath. The room smelt damp and was in dire need of a revamp. There were hundreds of wasps from 9 in the morning until 7 at night all around the pool area and bar!!!! Every time we went for either breakfast, lunch or dinner we had to queue for at least 20 to 30 minutes! As long as you like salad, pork, cod or chips you'll be ok, oh and liver!! All kids food was fried!! And to top it all of the staff couldn't be more miserable if they tried that is unless you speak French, German or Russian!
so my advice is stay away! We paid £600 pounds more the year before for two weeks in a five star hotel in Mexico!!!!
4 star, yeah right.... 2 at best! What an absolute rip off!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcus123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for writing an opinion.
We try to offer value for money holidays, we apologize you didn't experience it so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
3.3 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
868 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#5 of 44 in El Arenal
431 reviews
3.5 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#17 of 44 in El Arenal
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas & Bahamas II
26.2 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
3.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel Maioris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel Maioris

Address: Carretera Cap Blanc 6, 07609 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range: £73 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — OLA Hotel Maioris 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA Hotel Maioris is located in a wooded residential area, on the south-east coast of Majorca, right in the Puig den Ros development and features restaurants, bars, shops, supermarkets, hairdressing salon, etc.The complex is spread over three buildings, each with two lifts and issurrounded by magnificent gardens.There is a little rocky cove 900 m away. El Arenal, with its beache and vibrant night life is only a few kilometres away, and can be reached by using the hotel’s own transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your OLA Hotel Maioris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Club Maioris Hotel El Arenal
OLA Hotel Maioris Majorca/El Arenal
Ola Hotel El Arenal
Ola Maioris Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing