We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet area but good overall”
Review of OLA Hotel Maioris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
OLA Hotel Maioris
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Morecambe, Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet area but good overall”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 days (28 Apr - 2 May 2014) and paid £380 inc transfers (Broadway Travel) for 2 adults on All Inclusive basis which is fantastic value for money.

The hotel is lovely although the area is very quiet as others have said. We do like to have a wander out as we go a bit stir crazy being in the hotel 24/7 but apart from the large supermarket and one or two shops/bars there is nothing in the area, no promenade but very rocky (& we didn't manage all of it (because of footwear) path to a small cove)

That being said, it was an excellent mini break and again as others have mentioned there is a bus to Arenal everyday and Palma on certain days free of charge. We did public transport to Arenal and it was 1.50 Euros per person each way (no rtn fee option).

Arenal caters for any age & Nationality but we did find it an eye opener (we're only mid 40's) by the youngsters with buckets.... no spades lol :) but buckets of drinks with 3ft straws (made to your liking of vodka, schnapps etc etc) but was fun to watch.

We travelled light so took no towels but you could hire from the hotel for a 20 Euro returnable deposit which was good. Safety deposit was 3 Euros a day (or cheaper for longer) with 12 Euro refundable deposit.

Drinks were fantastic compared to other hotels we've been to. You could get every drink (Brandy, Vodka, Whiskey, schnapps, baileys etc etc but not branded but they were very good).

In the restaurant it was help yourself to Coke, Fanta (orange & lemon), sprite tea, coffee, water, Estrella lager & wine (red, rose & white) and at the lounge bar help yourself to soft & hot drinks and alcoholic drinks were served by the waiters.

Staff were friendly and when tipped (only a couple of Euros) they were very appreciative and would remember your drink and have it ready for you when you next went to the bar :) .. nice touch as it made you feel special.

There is a MASSIVE range of food and we especially liked the breakfasts. Bacon, sausages (to a fashion) but omelettes cooked in front of you. Fried eggs, boiled eggs, abundance of breads. The usual ham, cheeses salami. Loads of fresh & dried fruits and tinned fruits, prunes, yogurts, cereals, salads etc etc. Lunch and Dinner offered soups, salads and hot dishes such as paella, and always a choice of meat such as pork, chicken, beef, and always fish of some sort etc with a wide selection of sweets. Anytime snacks included breads, cheeses, sliced meats, peanuts, crisps, biscuits/pastries.

Never saw any ice creams or ice lollies etc for the kids though.

The hotel is very clean and we never struggled to get a sunbed and it was busy we thought for time of year. There's a nice shaded pagoda style area too. There were several Nationalities (all friendly :)). Entertainment was a tadge weak sometimes.... one night there was a Mr Bean video shown, a fashion show and BINGO but each to their own.

There's also an internet booth option in reception where you pay 1 Euro per 10 minutes which is a nice option should you need it. Or you could pay 6 Euros per day WIFI or 12 Euros 3 days etc etc.

Overall we would stay here again as it was really good value for money and we had a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Longy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Public Relations Manager at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We hope to see you soon with us!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    577
    262
    93
    73
See reviews for
633
465
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just returned from a 4 day break at the ola club Maoris hotel
Big hotel but very well run. Staff tidying all the time
Lovely big room, cleaned every day and towels changed every day. Lovely comfortable beds, in fact we had a double, a single and a double sofa bed in our room!
Food varied and plentiful. Something for everyone and lots of different varieties. Only complaint is that it was sometimes cold....but there was a microwave !
Always tables all day near the bar with bread, ham, cheese, salami, nuts, crisps, biscuits and cakes.
Catered mainly for French people the days we were there.
The animation team were very friendly and worked really hard.
There is a free bus every day to arenal. Only problem is that you have 6 hours there but a service bus does run too. 6 hours wasn't a problem for us as we love arenal.
But the hotel is quite away from any shops etc
Some lovely old furniture around the hotel
The drinks, unlike some all inclusive weren't watered down and in plenty!
Really would love to go back soon

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shirleyanne_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Public Relations Manager at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We hope to see you soon with us!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked through on the beach as we do every year which was all ok except transfer we waited ages and would have rather paid extra for private transfer. The hotel is not far from the airport and after going through the lively resort of El Arenal we were happy to get to our hotel in almost silence with two very tired kids!!!
As we got to reception we where greeted and given our room key with directions on how to get to our room which was clean and tidy and plenty of space for us four. all was clean fresh smelling and friendly.
in the morning we were straight down for breakfast and was happy with the selection lots to choose from although typical Spanish all inclusive. (not a bad thing)
The hotel its self was in a very quite area but we loved it! Coming from a very busy family we appreciated doing nothing! a few shops about 5 min walk one way and a hugh supermarket the other way which we only found second to last day.
Day entertainment was great they all worked really hard in the heat!
Kids club was lovely and kept them out of the sun for the vital hours of the day they made potions and sang songs and even did a mini play on stage.
there was a great little hair salon which tamed my unruly holiday hair on a row of shops/restaurants 5 mins walk away
We went to the aqua-marina which was near the airport it was great much better than Blackpool sea life centre and cheaper (buy tickets from hotel and they offer small discount) along with a free bus once there we walked up the beach front (which is the most beautiful beach i have seen in a long time) with lots of the tacky beach shops selling all the same tat that we all love!
all in all a really good holiday no complaints fab staff fab hotel fab location. we travelled there in august 13 (end of month) nice weather very hot when sun was out cloudy some days but we was glad for the heat break!!

i always believe you make your holiday your own. you can listen to rumours around the pool what others are saying about hotel and moaning left right and centre but just enjoy it no where is perfect- for us it was very close!!!

Room Tip: if you have kids best not to overlook pool area as can be nosey at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Sharise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Had a great 5 night holiday here, it is a bit out of the way, but there are free buses to Arenal which has a really lovely beach and sea front, plenty of shops and places to eat.

Couldn't really fault the hotel, rooms were clean, and food was good, all inclusive bar was good, snacks and coffee available all day. The walk down to the sea was worth it for the stunning view (had to get a taxi back though!).

I would recommend staying here if you want a decent place to stay away from the hustle and bustle!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Mandamoo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed on the last week of the season before the holiday closed up and although some would bemoan staying them due to the lack of facilities, etc we thought it was just what we wanted - peace and quiet!! Having stayed here last year we knew what to expect and the hotel did not disappoint.

This year we braved trying out a few activities organised by the animation team - Peter and (guessing here) George were the only remaining staff by this point as the last girl had left on our first day I believe. They were very friendly (especially with the ladies but a post about that would not be suitable for tripadvisor - suffice to say the boys were 'busy' of an evening it seemed).

Food was amazing as always - one of our party was a bit fussy and only ate chips but he didn't ever moan about a lack of chips!! Lots of different meats if you were willing to try something new each night.

Weather was perfect for our stay, no rain in sight - meant I was able to get a good few training runs while here. Palma marathon was on the day after we left and the hotel would have been a perfect base to go from if the hotel did not close the day of the race.

Apart from that, no complaints - the room was just the same as last year; nothing special but nothing to complain about.

We will be back!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
13 Thank senor_sombrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Don't be afraid to stay here. We had a great 5 night all inclusive bargain, it is a bit out of the way, but there are free buses to Arenal which has a lovely beach and sea front. We couldn't really fault the hotel, rooms were clean, and food was good, all inclusive bar was good, snacks and coffee available all day. Always got a sun bed, although the towels were out early! You can stroll down to a cove by the sea, but it is very steep, must be nearly a mile away, there is nothing else there. Just across the other side of the road behind the hotel is a really nice golf course, so well placed for golfers, albeit around 75euro's a round! Entertainment was quite good as well in the evenings. One small niggle, there were quite a few flies around the pool when we were on the sunbeds, but not every day. Overall I would recommend this hotel and would come back again. Don't book transfers, its cheaper to get a taxi at the airport, around 25euros, and you're in the bar within 30 mins!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just came back a few weeks ago, it was our 2nd stay at the hotel. having stayed there last year, l really like the place, its in a quiet area, good food, nice staff, good clean rooms and a free coach to Palma and Arenal, The only tiny thing l would fault is the size of the restaurant, it could be a bit bigger as the tables are to close together. I will go back in a few years time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BrightonAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
3.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 44 in El Arenal
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Delta
Hotel Best Delta
#1 of 1 in Puig de Ros
335 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#14 of 44 in El Arenal
731 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#4 of 44 in El Arenal
818 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Mix Alea
Hotel Mix Alea
#9 of 44 in El Arenal
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel Maioris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel Maioris

Property: OLA Hotel Maioris
Address: Carretera Cap Blanc 6, 07609 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — OLA Hotel Maioris 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA Hotel Maioris is located in a wooded residential area, on the south-east coast of Majorca, right in the Puig den Ros development and features restaurants, bars, shops, supermarkets, hairdressing salon, etc.The complex is spread over three buildings, each with two lifts and issurrounded by magnificent gardens.There is a little rocky cove 900 m away. El Arenal, with its beache and vibrant night life is only a few kilometres away, and can be reached by using the hotel’s own transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your OLA Hotel Maioris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Club Maioris Hotel El Arenal
OLA Hotel Maioris Majorca/El Arenal
Ola Hotel El Arenal
Ola Maioris Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing