We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of OLA Hotel Maioris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
OLA Hotel Maioris
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My friend Lynne and I had a nine day holiday in May this year, at the Ola Club Majoris.
The entire staff was friendly and approachable. I found it noisy at night time, though I realise that as a family hotel it is bound to be. Next time I shall request a room far away from the nightly entertainment. The room was basic and tired looking but we were comfortable and the beautiful weather kept us out most of the time. The nicest thing about the hotel was the lovely shop in the reception area. It was full of the most gorgeous souveniers, clothes, holiday accessories. We bought practically all our gifts from here. Beach towels, bags, postcards.... it was retail heaven for the two of us ladies, who love good quality.Every morning our first port of call was 'the shop'. The food was excellent. All in all it was a thoroughly good experience. We would go back. Janet Derbyshire

Room Tip: we were on the first floor virtually above the main entertainment/restaurant area. It was extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Public Relations Manager at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel.
We will get to Monica, the head of the shop, the marvelous review.
We hope to see you soon at HOTEL OLA CLUB MAIORIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    577
    262
    93
    73
See reviews for
634
465
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
londont
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked for 6 nights and travelled from Stansted with Ryanaire and before arrival having read reviews decided to email hotel and request Room 529 which is on top floor and view overlooking pool with afternoon sun. You can see the sea in the distance. Wonderful view. Room had a big entrance with double built in wardrobes and shelving and then we had an extra bed in the room and a couch with an armchair. Very spacious indeed. One day our room was not made up and we received a note to say the cleaner had a day off and sorry for the inconvenience. Airconditioning Unit did not work and upon speaking to Pepe Manager of the Hotel he organised it to be fixed straight away. Thank you Pepe. A special mention to Silke at reception for taking the time to read our emails before arrival and giving us the requested room and for all her help during our stay, thank you.

No kettles in room so my advice is, is to bring a travel kettle with you and at the bar tea bags and coffee sachets are available but bar closes around 23:30 so therefore if you want a late cuppa or early cuppa you are in trouble.

The hotel has a new chef and the food was absolutley wonderful, from grilled fish to roast and to salads and fresh fruit, desserts, pasta and sauces and veggies but to name a few items and of course Paella. The waiting staff work tirelessly to clear the plates and glasses from the tables and there was never a dirty plate in sight. As soon as a guest left the table the staff were on hand to change the tableclothes and replenish knives and forks and side plates. Wow very good, never had to wait for a table, and generally people were okay about queuing for the food but no real hassle at all. Never had to look far for something to eat. Even the fussiest of eaters I dare to say that they found nothing to eat.

One bar by the pool and the staff were always very pleasant and worked really hard but always had a smile on their faces. They worked the dining room and the bar in shifts but always had a smile. Drinks were self service for soft drinks and that was good as never a queue for those. Always snacks to eat in the bar, toast, cheese, cold meats, biscuits, cake, sandwiches so you coiuld never say you were hungry. Crisps and nuts were replenished permanently throughout the day and evening,

Entertainment was in the bar area and the animation team worked tirelessly as well to put on evening shows and the flamenca dancers were outstanding. On a Sunday there is no kids club or activities as this is apparently their day off.

Lifesaver on duty but you have to watch your own kids as I witnessed one child's father diving into the pool to rescue his child who had gone under and the lifeguard did not notice this at all.

Monica who owns the shop in the reception area was fantastic and always very helpful. She is much cheaper than the shops in El Arenal for gifts and bags and toiletries etc and always asked if she could be of service, she had newspapers every morning so no need to go out of hotel in search of them, but be warned you have to go early in order to get one as they go very quickly.

Hotel is remote hence the special deals around but the hotel offers a free shuttle to and from the beach and to Palma but we opted for the local bus as the stops were more convenient for us to walk to and from. The fares were only 1.50 euros each and not expensive at all. If you want to tour the island take the bus to Palma and use that as your base as all the buses leave from there and you can go anywhere on the island with public transport and one can save the Pounds on tour operated trips organised through travel agents.

My only critisism I have with the hotel is that one has to pay for WIFI as it is not free for guests in the hotel. We paid £24 for 7 days coverage and you had to keep signing in as signal was always lost. After a while you forgot about the hassle and just automatcially signed in and got on with it. WHY CHARGE for this service especially being a remote hotel in a residential area??? I feel it would be a great perk and incentive to go there if the WIFI was free.

All in all we had a very pleasant relaxing holiday and recharged our batteries.

Room Tip: Room high up and facing the pool for afternoon sun, bring travel kettle with you for early and late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bevalt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Public Relations Manager at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. They are very useful.
Our staff will be very grateful to know your good opinion about their work.
We will consider your feedback to improve.
Just one small think. For the next time, if you want, we have some kettles on the reception that you can take with 20€ deposit.
We hope to see you soon at HOTEL OLA CLUB MAIORIS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ichtegem, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Where to begin... We went there the first week of June, 2014. It was 28-30 degrees Celsius, en very sunny, so it was hot. Great for a holiday. No problem you think, we got airco. NOT!!! We got in our rooms and there was some kind of thermostat wich i turned on and all i got was a little noise. So i think its broken, and went to the reception where they told me it's not broken but they haven't turned it on anywhere in the hotel yet..Maybe in beginning of July he said. I've been on a lot of holidays, but this was the first time i had this before. Oh there was airco at the reception,so they had warm too i guess? Same goes for the restuarant. Imagine, 150 ppl cramped together and some windows opened (believe me there was no wind outside) and all the hot food and cooking things on...impossible to stay long.
The rooms...they were clean, thats a positive thing, with a nice balcony. But the bed, oh my god, imagine a wooden board with a matress on and 2 pillows for each person that were so thin you didnt know your head was on them. We were with 6 ppl (3 rooms) and all said the same, neck pain, back pain, shoulder pain...
There was no fridgde on the room, so no roomservice/minibar, no coffee/water...We noticed ppl going to a little store a bit outside the hotel to buy a few bottles and fill the empty bottles in the restaurant with cold water, good idea right? NOT!!! I took 2 smalle bottles and filled them up at night to have something to drink when im upstairs in my room, and after i got upin the morning i wanted to drink from the other bottle that was still full, omg, it smelled like pool water, the smell of chlorine in the pool.
The food in the restaurant...well it was okay, but thats about all i can say about it. Every day same thing, and sometimes there was 1 thing new, but u had to be lucky i liked it..The pork is not eatable, its more fat than meat.
The pool and the bar at the pool that was open from 10.30 am- 12pm was okay, they cleaned the surrounding every day. You could also have cocktails, but the choice is ridiculous, they have about 5 cocktaisl i guess? pina colada, sex on the beach, tenessee, san fransicso (i think) and some other thing. Okay everybody know pina colada, can't do nothing wrong on that,but i had better mny times begfore lol. and the sex/tennesse/san fran or what it was of name, all tasted the same cuz of the amount of red sirop they put in it...i got bored quite fast drinking cocktails. When u read my other reviews u see i went to Aruba, and there you could ask ANY cocktail and if they didnt know what it was you could tell them whats in it and theyd make it for ya. Luckily there was sangria, that was good :)
Although we had an all-inclusive (food/drinks) you have to pay for everything else...Safe, WiFi, play pool (1,5 euro/game).
I would lie: playing minigolf is free but the putting tees are so bad shape there's no fun playing it anyways. I havent played tennis so cant talk about that. I took a look at the gym, well that was a waste of time, there were only a few weightmachines but everyting is outdated. There were no running mills or bikes.
They did their best for the kids though, animation every day was okay, the kids loved them and after that there was animation for the adults, also at night. Nothing bad to say about that.
The staff is friendly but their English is horrible, except for 1 woman at the reception. She even speaks German and Dutch. But the rest of the staff hardly understands what you're saying although they do want to help the best they can.
I think i covered it all
My grandson had a kind of seizure in the badtub and we had to call the ambulance and all, and i need to say, im very happy of the way the staff reacted. We had immediate help of the manager, cops, ambulances and everyone was very helpfull. If something is good, i have to say it too.
All 'n all it isnt a bad hotel, but i definately wouldnt rate it a 4 star hotel and i would never go back there again

Room Tip: we had 3 rooms and all rooms looked the same. We were in C- block and so we didnt have any noise of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_Devriendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Public Relations Manager at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. They are very useful.
We will consider your feedback to improve
We hope that your child feels well and we wish him the best for the future
Kind regards from all the hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Set a short free bus ride away from Arenal town centre and it's large sandy beach, this hotel offers slightly tired but comfortable accommodation. The bed mattresses are very thin though so if you suffer from a back problem, they may not be for you. The staff were all very friendly & the animation / entertainment team were excellent (and never seemed to be off duty) but the best feature of this hotel has to be the food on offer. The large restaurant featured a number of areas selling a variety of buffet style food from fresh salads to fish, beef and chicken, breads, pastries, desserts and so so much more. Some would say on here that it was a bit "same ol' same ol'" but not if you're willing to try new "local" dishes. The only problem with this restaurant was the number of people bumping into each other trying to serve themselves so not good for the well-mannered guests amongst us.
The pools were a bit cold first thing but soon warmed up to a tolerable temperature by lunchtime. The gym is pitiful though so don't go here if you're expecting to have a workout on holiday, although the entertainers had exercise programmes on offer every morning for those who wanted to limber up.

The bar offers light snacks all day (rolls, croissants, ham, cheese, cold meats , biscuits, crisps, fruit, etc) and opens from 10am - 11pm offering beers, spirits, soft drinks aswell as teas and coffees, etc so all in all a very good range on offer and when you have young children, it serves well with their peckish wants.

I would recommend this hotel to families who want decent standards without expecting the Ritz, it's reasonable, it's clean and well located and I would return again.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the pool but there are sea view rooms on the other side of the hotel on the 4th and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grumpyoldgit8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Public Relations Manager at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. They are very useful.
We will consider your feedback to improve
We hope to see you soon at HOTEL OLA CLUB MAIORIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Arrived Sunday after 14:00 we were still able to get something to eat as restaurant was still open.
Food very good, good selection, some of the breakfast things were just warm but on the whole very good.
very quite area local bars and a few shops about 5 min walk.
Local accesses to the sea is a small rocky cove down a VERY steep hill nice when you are there (take a drink)
Pools good but could do with some more shade and some of the chairs need updating.
Bar very good good selection of snacks and drinks.
Room clean and tidy as was the rest of the hotel, all the staff very friendly.

Ideal for couples and family's with young children. If you are one for the bright lights and clubbing this is not the hotel for you.

Good place to relax and chill out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andy456-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Public Relations Manager at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. They are very useful.
We will consider your feedback to improve
We hope to see you soon at HOTEL OLA CLUB MAIORIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just back last night from a 7 day break with daughter(32) and grandchild(3) with us - the grandparents(57 and 61) EXCELLENT time for all. Got a family room, 3 beds and a large sofa bed which was really another bed in a large bedroom with large bathroom so plenty room for all of us. Got a taxi to hotel from airport (30euros but was 22euros on the return using the local taxi outside the hotel) and was there within 15mins. Touched down at 10.50 and was at poolside by 11.30 (took hand luggage only). Very clean hotel and the food is FANTASTIC, loads of fish, meat, salads, vegs, cheeses and washed fresh fruit - something for all tastes and ages. Entertainment is excellent too with mini-club very handy too when needed. Took the courtesy bus to Arinal to spend a day at the sandy beach, took the service bus 520 to Palma for the afternoon (3.70 euros each way, frequent service daily) and walked many times from the hotel down the road to the sea. Yes it is very steep but worth it to spend an afternoon swimming in the emerald water or playing with the grandchild in the rock pools and also to get a sea breeze if very hot up at the hotel.(take a wee picnic for the day- hotel didn't seem to mind you making up a sandwich or taking the fruit) The walk back up the road isn't as bad as it looks, or a leisurely stroll up the many paths with the sweet scents of the plants (possibly lavendar). Everyone is so helpful. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL FOR A YOUNG FAMILY OR JUST TO CHILL OUT

Room Tip: We didn't notice the noise a problem as some have commented as went to bed well content with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Public Relations Manager at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel, they are very motivating
We hope to see you soon at HOTEL OLA CLUB MAIORIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have just come back from a week at Ola Maioris. We were a family of 7 and all of us were catered for and had a brilliant time.
The all inclusive food is brilliant-freshly cooked, plenty to choose from (whatever your nationality). Lots of hot and cold choices, juices, beers and wine.
The rooms are lovely and clean-the bathrooms very modern and quite large for a holiday apartment. There are several floors, but lifts available.
The staff are fantastic and helpful-seem to work very hard. My mum lost her bank card and they couldn't do more to help. The animation team work tirelessly to keep everyone entertained.
There is a small independent supermarket and a large one within 10 minutes walking distance of either side of the hotel.
The hotel is in a remote residential are but local buses leave right outside and the hotel puts on free buses also. For a week in the sun though, there is plenty to do on site. There are 2 pools-unofficially split into a children's one and an adults one.
Don't hesitate to book-we hope to visit again next year as we had such a great time.

Room Tip: Block B is lovely and quiet as well as near to the pool and dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ICM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Public Relations Manager at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. They are very useful.
Our staff will be very grateful to know your good opinion about their work.
For our personal on the reception, was a pleasure to help you
We hope to see you soon at HOTEL OLA CLUB MAIORIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
3.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 44 in El Arenal
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Delta
Hotel Best Delta
#1 of 1 in Puig de Ros
338 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#14 of 44 in El Arenal
734 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#4 of 44 in El Arenal
819 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Mix Alea
Hotel Mix Alea
#9 of 44 in El Arenal
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel Maioris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel Maioris

Property: OLA Hotel Maioris
Address: Carretera Cap Blanc 6, 07609 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — OLA Hotel Maioris 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA Hotel Maioris is located in a wooded residential area, on the south-east coast of Majorca, right in the Puig den Ros development and features restaurants, bars, shops, supermarkets, hairdressing salon, etc.The complex is spread over three buildings, each with two lifts and issurrounded by magnificent gardens.There is a little rocky cove 900 m away. El Arenal, with its beache and vibrant night life is only a few kilometres away, and can be reached by using the hotel’s own transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Onthebeach, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your OLA Hotel Maioris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Club Maioris Hotel El Arenal
OLA Hotel Maioris Majorca/El Arenal
Ola Hotel El Arenal
Ola Maioris Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing