We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Sunshine Holiday”
Review of OLA Hotel Maioris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
OLA Hotel Maioris
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just back from a cracking holiday at the Ola Club Maioris, we stayed for four nights and can’t rate the hotel and staff highly enough.
The food was great, though I am an easy person to feed, so when they served rabbit on the buffet I gave it a go. The selection was huge for each meal, to the extent I physically couldn’t sample everything I wanted to try. For those who complain that some dishes used ‘left overs’ from other meals, I see this as catering at its best, in these days of reducing food waste there is a skill in making many meals from similar ingredients. If you are a very conservative eater potatoes, chips, meat and standard vegetables and pasta with two different sauces were served at both lunch and dinner (and once chips at breakfast!). There was a huge variety of sustainable fish and shell fish on offer along with a large selection of fresh salad and fruit. Vegetarians beware, the stuffed peppers and aubergine were stuffed with meat. Desert was always highly entertaining, very little of it is labelled with a large number of things that looked like jelly house bricks on offer along with everything else
The all-inclusive bar includes a self-service soft drink station and alcoholic drinks served by the staff to stop the children getting the alcohol! You can basically have anything that can be made with standard spirits, mixers and fruit juice, larger, the local brew served in the pubs, red, white, rose, sparkling wine (they call it Champagne…..) and sangria. There are always help yourself pastries, cookies and nuts, with a continental breakfast in the morning and cake and tarts in the afternoon, ice cream is available if you ask at the bar.
For the ‘hand luggage only’ traveller, as we were, I have a few tips. Pool towels are available from reception for a refundable €20 deposit. There is a laundry room on site (ground floor, block C) with a self-service wash for €3, there is also a laundry service available and a laundrette in the ‘commercial centre’ about a 5 min walk away. Hand soap and a small amount of shampoo and shower get are provided at the beginning of your stay but are not replaced. Shower and hand towels are provided and changed every day. Sun cream can be purchased on site at the small gift shop or at the super market in the commercial centre. On our check out day we had a very late flight, once we checked out of our rooms we were able to continue enjoying the facilities at the hotel with a room being available (pre book) to shower after a hard day at the pool.
The rooms are quite spacious with large twin beds, an arm chair, sofa and TV. The style is fairly typical for a large Mediterranean hotel so no real surprises. We stayed in block C, room 447 which is over the restaurant and by the all weather pitch. It was quiet with the sun on the balcony in the evenings.
The staff were extremely helpful and spoke English, German and French well, managing to sort everyone out. The animation team worked tirelessly to keep everyone entertained with adult activities including aqua fit, yoga, water polo, table tennis tournaments and a lot of the evening entertainment. The kids club seemed to be well attended with children speaking English, German and French equally well catered for.
There was a real mix of people staying at the hotel, young families, young couples, older people and a fairly equal mix of the already mentioned nationalities.
As is made quite clear by the hotel, there is no beach in the area local to the hotel. You can reach the sea if you walk the very steep hill down to the coast (0.7 miles) but without climbing the rocks we could not see a way to get into the sea. The bus runs to S’Arenal daily, this is a very touristy beach area, with plenty of shops and bars if you can’t sit on the beach for six hours. The bus to Palma runs twice a week (Tuesday & Thursday), it stops about half a mile outside of the town centre and only a very short walk from the beach in Palma. Don’t even think of being late for the Palma pick up, the bus stops for about 30 seconds as it uses a public bus stop!
I loved the hotel location as it was quiet and not in a town filled with other huge hotels. If you want trendy clubs and beach front bars, try Magaluf, but for a relaxing holiday with great food and service this hotel cannot be beaten.

Room Tip: We stayed in block C, room 447 which is over the restaurant and by the all weather pitch. It was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jjoyj09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Public Relations Manager at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about our hotel. We are glad that you had a good time with us, and hope that we will see you again with us in HOTEL OLA CLUB MAIORIS.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

I will try and write an honest review from my 1st impression of the hotel. I travelled on my own to the hotel on Friday 20th June . On arrival (35 mins transfer from airport ) the reception was clean and organised and I was soon in my room.I was in the block direct above reception on 5th floor , corner room overlooking front of hotel . Large room (despite being a single traveller) , clean , good bathroom .
The hotel next door was very noisy !!! , youngsters loud and drunk arriving and going from the hotel between 4 am and 6 am.Also a loud and noisy refuse truck again very early morning.
Pool area good and clean , but lots of wasps. No sun bed tables to put drinks on and no umbrellas and little shade.
The water was served from a tap at the bar so not sure where it originated from .
Good mix of age groups from young families through to retired people.
Return transfer took over an hour if you travelling with someone in a group it would be more convenient to get a taxi .
However .....
On the Monday evening went down with a bout of severe food poisoning, was in bed for most of next day , and for remainder of holiday only drunk water , and dry food such as crackers .
When I reported this to manager he said it was a virus he had 500 people in hotel and no one was ill whereas they would be if hotel at fault , and offered to get me a large bottle of water !!.
Basically after Monday evening my holiday was a write of and I did not leave the site and was in bed a lot of the time and since returning have had to visit the doctor .

If you recently were at this hotel and sick I would be interested in hearing from you .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeychellesIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed for 5 Days a week ago and have to say was pleasantly surprised! Booked as a last minute getaway and have not really any concerns. The room was big, clean, all rooms have a balcony we were pool view which was nice. We stayed all inclusive, I loved the food which varied day to day and you have plenty of choice. Always had a sun lounger in a great spot daily, staff were friendly and helpful. Yes the hotel is a little out of the way but it's a short walk from shops/bars and the hotel provide free transfers to local places. The only thing have to say is Maid wasn't that attentive on the room just did the bare minimum everyday and the entertainment 'animation' team are rather clingeworthy and not very good. It was mainly just there for children should be more for adults at night

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. They are very useful.
Our staff will be very grateful to know your good opinion about their work.
We will consider your feedback to improve
We hope to see you soon at HOTEL OLA CLUB MAIORIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely little break here- the food was varied and well cooked, when a meal wasn't being served there was crisps, cake and sandwiches available. The room, pool, bar and restaurant was clean, the drinks were cold and plentiful (cava, sangria, Estrella and Mateus all on tap!) the surrounded area was quiet- what more can you ask for for less than £50 per day inc. flights?!
Looking at the negatives- we don't care about not having a flat screen TV in the room (who goes away to watch TV?!) The AI does finish at 11pm so the resort is quiet for 1130pm Yay! The staff do not bow and scrape to guests- treat them with with respect and politeness and you'll get the same back. For the price you pay I doubt they're paid anywhere near what they are worth.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tilly321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Public Relations Manager at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for your review about our hotel. Will be very useful.
We hope to see you soon at HOTEL OLA CLUB MAIORIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just returned on Tuesday following nightmare journey thanks to French air traffic control. Anyway, first impressions nice hotel friendly reception staff. We were in B block at the rear which was away from the hotels noisy activities. However, next doors hotel seemed to have an issue with their drains and three times daily a lorry would turn up to pump out which was noisy ,this would last for around an hour each time.
The room was ok , we had the tiny tv as mentioned by others and had to place almost on bed to be able to watch football .
Beds rock hard with pillows giving little support. We also seemed to get noise from water heater late into the night.
Food was generally ok but have to report both my wife and myself had a bout of sickness and we put this down to the water which was on tap in restaurant and bar, which I agreed tasted as though it had come from swimming pool.
Location as expected quiet with scenic views as long as you don't mind a bit of a walk .
Shop in hotel was good for gifts, just as well as nothing else nearby.
Children's entertainment seemed to go on all evening, with cabaret quality poor.
Good value and if we hadn't been ill we would have had a great time, thereby strict advice buy bottled water !!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are same so don't bother paying for upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Came back Monday after a weeks stay. Thought the hotel offered good quality accommodation at a very reasonable price.
The food was lovely. Great choice even for the fussiest eater. Plenty of meat which pleased my nephew!
Found the location quite but for a week stay not an issue.
Only problem we had was the noise from the hotel next door - Hotel Delta. We stayed in a room opposite this hotel above the reception area. There was late night noise from Spanish youngsters on holiday. It didn't matter during the day but so much shouting at night made it difficult to sleep. Plus getting woke up when they came in from a night out.
I mentioned this to a lady on reception who said this was the 1st time there had been an issue with noise from this hotel. She said they'd started to offer cheap deals attracting a young crowd. Who really should be staying in arenal. As this is a very residential area.
So if you don't like teenagers shouting all evening then make sure you ask for a room away from the reception area.
This did spoil it for us. Not what we were expecting. For that reason we wouldn't return. Shame hopefully it won't continue as think it could put families off.
But this is a very good hotel all round.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Public Relations Manager at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel.
It is true what the the reception employed said to you. The type of client that was in the neighboring hotel for a week is not the regular customer of this area. We regret any inconvenience that caused.
However, we hope to see you soon at HOTEL OLA CLUB MAIORIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We just returned from our amazing break in ola maioris. The hotel and staff is spot on there is none negative comments so do not read them rubbish reviews. Location is very quiet and surrounded by residential appartments. Hotel is great. Staff make a lot effort to delivery best quality of service, we did not experienced any language problems and I have noticed that staff at reception desk speak in French German and English so there is no problem with communication at all! Food is amazing we have been on many all inclusive holidays like holiday village in Turkey etc but food here is just great so many choices and no burgers and pizzas but proper meat and veggies. Drinks are another strong point my boyfriend loved it as beer tasted like it should taste also good choice in coctails, liqueurs etc. rooms are not look up to date but they are very clean and being kept in perfect condition. Overall it's a great place and I would strongly recommend this hotel for everyone that like relaxing break in Mallorca.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Klaudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olahotels, Public Relations Manager at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. They are very useful.
All this comments are a great motivation for us to keep working for our guests.
We hope to see you soon at HOTEL OLA CLUB MAIORIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
3.3 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
865 reviews
3.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#5 of 44 in El Arenal
491 reviews
26.5 mi away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#21 of 46 in Cala d'Or
3,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#4 of 44 in El Arenal
430 reviews
12.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel Maioris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel Maioris

Address: Carretera Cap Blanc 6, 07609 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range: £77 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — OLA Hotel Maioris 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA Hotel Maioris is located in a wooded residential area, on the south-east coast of Majorca, right in the Puig den Ros development and features restaurants, bars, shops, supermarkets, hairdressing salon, etc.The complex is spread over three buildings, each with two lifts and issurrounded by magnificent gardens.There is a little rocky cove 900 m away. El Arenal, with its beache and vibrant night life is only a few kilometres away, and can be reached by using the hotel’s own transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your OLA Hotel Maioris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Club Maioris Hotel El Arenal
OLA Hotel Maioris Majorca/El Arenal
Ola Hotel El Arenal
Ola Maioris Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing