We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is fine”
Review of Hotel Palma Mazas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Palma Mazas
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The hotel is fine. Well, this is not the Hilton. The rooms are basic, no air conditioning, TV, fridge et al. But the rooms are very clean. The hotel is located in the end of the town and from the terrace that has no views of the sea. The distance from the hotel to the beach is about 800 m. There are near the bus line 23 (1.1 euro ticket) but we are usually went to the beach and from the beach on foot.

These are actually two hotels, both with two stars, probably the same owner. We slept in the Emperador and fed to the Palma Mazas. The hotels are close, in the same street, both have a pool, we didn't notice a big difference. Food is a buffet and it is a quality. Breakfast was basic but for lunch and dinner is a good choice of dishes, especially a lot of vegetables and salad. The hotel staff was friendly. For those who know English to know that generally the El Arenal, not only in this hotel, the people next to the Catalan and Spanish, the best know German, because most tourists in the place are from Germany.

El Arenal is generally a very vibrant place to live 24 hours. There are lots of hotels, appartments, restaurants, bars, discos. Fun and night life are developed and the place is great for those looking for entertainment. But those on vacation who want peace and quiet will find not them here. We are the chosen part of the town where hotels Palma Mazas and Emperador are located and counting to the quieter, which would compensate for the relatively greater distance from the beach. Indeed the main stripes along the beach is the largest crowds and noise. Yet in the area where the hotels Palma Mazas and Emperador has a noise and the noise, which bothers to sleep, especially those who like to sleep in silence. After we visited the C'an Pastilla, a place that was El Arenal along with great beach Playa de Palma, we had the impression that the C'an Pastilla quieter and more suitable for families.

Seen a total of El Arenal has its own qualities. The choice of hotels and apartments is for every taste and pocket. Playa or Platja de Palma is a very good beach, with good quality sand both on land and in water, the sea is clear and warm, long shallow which is perfect for young children. There are attractions in the area including a large water park Aqualend, and the Acquarium is near. The place is well located, relatively close to the airport (but far enough away to not hear the planes) and the capital Palma de Mallorca is not far with which it is well connected by bus lines. Good location, close to the capital, and excellent roads make it easy to reach any place or the beach in Mallorca. So rent a car, at least for a few days, it is desirable if you want to visit some of this the very beautiful island (or use the bus tour). In this sense Hotels Palma Mazas and Emperador are well located, enabling it to easily go out by car from El Arenaa without delays at the center of the town and around the beach where is much more crowded. One street above the hotel has excellent parking (although earthy) where there is space and can be shade for the rented car.

The hotel is excellent value for money and when everything is taken into account deserves a rating four. However, perhaps severely, giving less score, mostly because not noticing that someone in hotel is trying to be less noise.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roderic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

we found this place adequate. our only complaint was that our room being above the bar and entrance lobby, was very noisey at nights, we should have asked to have been moved. the food was ok but breakfast could be improved.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

hotel was very basic and empty as it was being used as the overflow for the palma mazas up the road .we had to be split up as the other couple we were with went to other hotel.when we went into the room it was crawling with big cockroaches. they put us in another room much cleaner. staff very nice room cleaned every day pool never used as it took the all week to clean it. food basic hotel ok for price we payed but wont go back its worth paying little bit more elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donna187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This hotel is absolutley shocking! there is constantly dirty old men masturbating in the woods at the back of the hotel whilst staring at the girls/kids on the balconys...when reported to the hotel manager & staff they just laughed & said its been going on for years.

Staff have horrilbe attitudes & threaten to ring the police for no apparant reason... Edwardo the barman & the hotel manager are the biggest perverts i've ever laid eyes on...if your checking in here with your wife & daughters beware! i wouldnt trust these people as far as i could throw them.

80 euro's also stolen from our room by the cleaners!

the food is terrible, always seems to be fish with that many bones in its not worth eating it.

the location is also terrible, looks like something off slumdog millionaire... loads of flea ridden cats running round...awful!

I advise you to stay here at your own risk! but me personally i would never go here again...i would rather sleep on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlieedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I was expecting very little after reading some of the reviews, but was pleasantly surprised.The staff were very helpful and room was clean, albeit quite small.The food was adequate for a 2 star, although a bit repetitive , I was staying half board for a week and there was usually something new to choose from each night, although the desserts and salads varied very little.I think this would have been more of a problem if staying all inclusive and wouldn't recommend doing this.

The downside was the steps up to the front of the hotel which made it difficult to get my mobility scooter in and out although the staff were amazing in lifting it in and out whenever necessary.Also, the hotel is at the top of a very steep hill right at the end of Arenal, so really isn't suitable for anyone with mobility difficulties.My scooter refused to climb the huge incline, so I needed to get the bus from the seafront just to go one stop up the hill each time I went into Arenal.On the upside the bus stop going in the other direction is the first stop on route , so there was never a problem getting on the bus due to it being full , the buses all have ramps too for wheelchair/scooter users and are the best I've encountered in Spain so far.

Another drawback of the hotel was the noise , 50 plus French students were staying in the hotel when I arrived and more arrived a few days after they departed, which meant the noise level was quite high.I'd read reviews about the noisy lift so requested a room away from the lift , I'd definitely recommend doing this, as the lift is very noisy, especially when someone is riding in and out on a mobility scooter ;)

I'd recommend trips to Palma and to the Aquarium , the buses are really cheap and great for getting around and the shops in Palma are excellent and cheaper than in the resorts.The Cathedral is beautiful and also worth a look.The market is in Palma on Saturday and Arenal on Thursday.The beaches are lovely too when you want to relax.

I'd recommend this hotel for a short no frills holiday if the price is right, but if you like luxury and anything beyond the basics then this isn't the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chattyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We arrived on friday with loads of students running wild. The hotel was clean and towels changed regularly. On arrivall we asked for fridge for insulin not available we are only 2 star. Frist night we went down to dinner and found that nothing much was edible. fish was overcooked and all salads were not very appetising. Breakfast next morning was bread or rolls with slices of meat. Lunch on the Saturday was salad leftovers from the night before and chicken that was undercooked and red. No snacks were available which is usual for all inclusive. No entertainment at all. The food was our main gripe as it was the same rubbish different days. very noisy lift and another lot of students second week christine.clark51@btopenworld.com 01842 811746

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abbyowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Just spent a few days at the hotel for a quick break, the hotel is very clean, the rooms are also very clean and maid service everyday. food basic, breakfast was continental, and dinner was full salad bar, pasta, chicken, fish, with choice of potatoes, or chips, or potato croquets etc... all in all we found the staff very friendlly and helpful (theresa on reception is lovely) also had lovely pool area and sun terrace, all in all a very good budget holiday...... would definately go back to this hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank anoifscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
28.2 mi away
Hotel Galaxia
Hotel Galaxia
#33 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#17 of 44 in El Arenal
832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manaus
Manaus
#19 of 44 in El Arenal
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amazonas Hotel
Amazonas Hotel
#24 of 44 in El Arenal
264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Garau
Hotel Garau
#6 of 44 in El Arenal
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ipanema Beach
Hotel Ipanema Beach
#23 of 44 in El Arenal
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palma Mazas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Mazas

Address: Carrer Girona, 17, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range: £24 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palma Mazas 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palma Mazas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Mazas El Arenal
Hotel Palma Mazas Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing