We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pay for what you get”
Review of Hotel Palma Mazas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Palma Mazas
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Reviewed 23 August 2014

what can i say,the food was great if you like fish or want bad guts no the food was bad. but before you got to the food hall you had to go passed the downstairts tolets what were disgustin and aways staink of sewage not nice.
the room was clean but had to ask for tolet roll and clean towels no way would you get clean sheets even when i asked for them.no air con
All inclusive save your money never again. drinks come in plastic glass if you want glass you have to pay.BAR MAN was so rude to the english he was lucky he did not get a slap or 2.
wifi what a con that was you had to pay for it but if you go down the road its free.
ok so we found out no entertainment but come on little bit of music in the bar would not hurt when people had music on the bar man told them to turn it off.
the hotel was clean all bar the tolet and the best thing about the hotel was the little maid who cleaned the room.for somewere to sleep it was ok

Room Tip: ask for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

we just returned from the palma mazaz and would never ever go back again and would also recommend other not to consider going, its absolutely terrible, all inclusive..... well only 1 drink at a time and you must take your plastic glass back (unless your german/dutch or Spanish) pepe the barman is so rude, he told us he dosent like the English!!! food is terrible and breakfast well.... we will never return here, absolutely horrible.
paul and marian leeds uk

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Me and my family have just got back after spending two weeks away in Mallorca at Palma Mazas Hotel.

After reading the reviews we were quite worried about where we was staying but that soon changed as soon as we arrived.

We were greeted well and felt welcome, our room was clean and tidy... The maid would come clean our room everyday.

The staff members were friendly and helpful. We met lots of new people and made friends quickly.

The hotel is located in a quiet resort and most places are in walking distance such as, the beach was a 10 minute walk and the water park was a 3 minute walk up the road. The hotel wasn't far from a supermarket which sold many essentials, also there was a local shop right next to the hotel as well.

What else worried us was about the amount of 'young' people being at this hotel making lots of noise but the staff members were very strict about loud music coming from people's rooms, they'd make sure people took into consideration that at night people had to have respect and be quiet because of others sleeping.

The food was rather nice too, some days where better than others when it came to meal times.

You get what you pay for when you stay at this hotel. Overall me and my family had a brilliant time and would come back again. We defiantly were all abit put off before coming here after reading the reviews but honestly don't believe them, we had a great time staying at palma mazas.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abs125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Arrived just after 12am, tired, hot and thirsty. Asked barman for a drink of water and was refused as they said bar closed at midnight!
Got to bedroom (there were 4 of us) and was greeted with a seriously small, hot and stuffy bedroom. 2 rock hard single beds side by side and a bunk bed with no top guard.
Had to pay 10 Euro for a fan because there was no air conditioning.
No free WIFI at hotel so had to pay 14 Euro per device to get connected.
Bath was filthy and cracked. Shower trickled and took forever!
Ants all over the room and in the bathroom.
There is NO ENTERTAINMENT. NO GAMES ROOM, NOTHING FOR KIDS TO DO AND IF YOU WANT TO WANT SPANISH TV YOU HAVE TO ASK FOR THE REMOTE.
Food, is seriously appalling. I am a vegetarian and my daughter is a meat eater.
Breakfast is bread and cereal. There are NO snacks throughout the day, as expected in an all inclusive hotel. Nothing for the kids (or the adults) to eat at all between meals. NO icecreams, no crisps, no biscuits..... NOTHING.
Lunch and dinner offer the same salad, (which was ok) there were always chips although quite a few times these were rock hard.
There were at times battered cauliflower, battered broccoli and battered onion rings.
Fish was full of bones and unidentified
Many dishes were unidentified
At times, we struggled to find suitable food.
Once breakfast is done at 10.30 am, there are no drinks available to anyone until 11am.
At times we had to queue for lunch and dinner because the 190 person capacity restaurant was jammed pack and as the hotel caters for 3 hotels in total, at times it was a nightmare.

A couple of guys, decided to make a few sandwiches to take to the beach with them from the breakfast menu.........BIG MISTAKE...........one of the staff saw him, insisted that he show her the contents of his bag and then proceeded to delve into his bag, take all the sandwiches out and then confiscate them from him. Thought this was very petty, very embarrassing for him and sorry!! many all inclusive hotels provide lunches to take to the beach. NOT THIS ONE!!!

There is no chance of being greedy with your drinks at this hotel.
You can only have 1 drink per person, per time and PEPE the barman, (who is seriously rude as well as a bloody jobsworth) served my friends and I a soft drink. We drank half of our drinks and then God Forbid, asked for a cup of tea, (which he served us) No sooner had we sat down , PEPE stormed over with his copy of the hotel rules which he proceeded to shove in my friends face, telling her to read them. He pointed out the rule which states you must return your empty cup before being allowed to order another!!!
He wasn't happy with our response so stormed off to reception to complain about us. The next time she went to get a drink, he walked off and got someone else to serve her!
He then spoke about us in spanish to all of the guests that could understand him, and we went on to receive plenty of filthy looks and comments!!

A few of the receptionists were extremely rude and unhelpful to the point that they stood and argued with us because we dared complain about the room and the ants.

Have to say there were a couple of wonderful barmen who asked if they could get us a drink and ensured that we were ok for a drink. PEPE TAKE NOTE!!!!

PEPE was on duty in the restaurant, he watched me get a cup and saucer, add a tea bag and milk before walking over to the tea machine to add water! Before I know it, he has jumped in before I got there and switched the machine off. No matter that there was a woman in front of me about to press a button for the water. EXREMELY RUDE!!!!

There is no games room as stated
There is not a large terrace as stated
There are sunbeds, however not many, and the majority are broken and cracked.
You cannot get cocktails here, even though you are all inclusive, you have to pay for them. If you want a drink after 11pm, you have to pay for them.
You have to pay for a safe downstairs, there are none in the room.
Toilets downstairs next to the restaurant are disgusting, they are covered in dead flies and stink of raw sewage.
Plates in the restaurant at times (quite a few if I am honest) were dirty, had to hunt for a clean one.

This holiday cost £800 for 2 adults. It was supposed to be all inclusive.
Don't get me wrong, I do not expect 5 star luxuries. I am willing to put up with a few discomforts, but this hotel was seriously - 2 star.
They should not be allowed to charge for all inclusive. It is not all inclusive.
There are no provisions for children, their hunger or their needs.
There is nothing to do there.
If kids (or adults) are hungry in between meals, TOUGH!!

Please reconsider going here if you are taking children, its not fair on them.

I will never go here again. It really was disgraceful.

Room Tip: Choose it in another hotel and definitely not one linked to this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank traced68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week's all-inclusive at the Palma Mazas 2. We managed to have a good week but largely in spite of the circumstances we found ourselves in.

It started disastrously when we arrived at the airport only to find the travel agent had booked the wrong date for our airport transfer. (Our flight crossed over into a new day, but luckily the transfer team were ok with it.)

Upon arrival we were checked in and found the rooms were very basic but as the weather was 30 degrees this didn't matter too much. There were some cockroaches and bedbugs, however so be mindful of that.

The food was an inconvenience as you had to walk up to the sister hotel. It was, on occasion, difficult to secure a table and none of the food is labelled so we had a fair few games of "guess the meat." Largely though, it wasn't too bad but a lot of the guests would pile their plates high with food that they then left, and it wasn't really adequately replaced.

The pool area was small and probably a bit too shaded. It's a small pool but fine if you just want to cool off. Don't go thinking you're going to be working on your backstroke or anything. We met a fair few friendly people in the bar and pool bit and despite reading reviews of Gestapo tactics with the drinks, we didn't find this to be a problem.

One problem we found was that the hotel didn't seem to know how to position itself. There were a lot of groups of lads who didn't seen to pay any respect to the fact that there were young families at the hotel, with some of them making sexually suggestive comments to people with their children sat next to them. As the hotel only tended to have two staff on shift at any time, they were powerless to stop it.

The real shame was the last day. Our flight was booked for 4:30am and we had requested a late checkout. As my girlfriend walked to our room she was told we had to check out there and then at 11:30am. After we argued our case we realised
we had no choice but to comply.

Immediately after this, the woman on the reception produced a pair of scissors and said she was taking our wristbands. I tried to appeal to her better nature (it didn't exist) by asking how she'd like to go fourteen hours without any food or drink, especially if she'd paid for it. She then told me that me and my girlfriend drink enough for ten people and there was no chance. (A complete lie, reader: six people is probably more accurate.) So we just walked out with our wristbands on and decided to feed as much of the food from the all inclusive to the numerous stray cats that loiter around the hotel as we could.

We then suffered the final indignity of having our return to the airport transfer on the wrong date too, but I'll save that for my forthcoming battle with Super Escapes travel.

Overall it wasn't a terrible hotel, but if you want to feel like a valued and welcome customer, give this one a miss. (Must say, this wasn't true of all of the staff. The young lad on reception and the Italian lady on the bar were blameless.)

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank steviemoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

It was our 2nd visit and everything was fine - daily cleaning, the food variable and tasty. Every
time you leave blankets or towels on floor, the maids change them. Check-in 2 p.m., check-out noon. Wi-Fi is no more free at the hotel but you can have free access at the Platja de Palma etc. Best shopping - Eroski. No visitors woke us up, we slept very well. No drunken German as sometimes written in other reviews. Recommendation of trips - this year Palma aquarium 50 E for family (3 children max.) on presentation of leaflet. The second visit in Aqualand Arenal - 12 E/person, minis free.

Room Tip: rooms with the view to park - less hot in summer season, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sss a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Must admit we were worried after reading other reviews, but honestly it's fine, we wanted a cheap holiday and booked this through holiday gems before reading reviews and must admit the hotel was fine. hotel was kept lovely and clean, maids emptied bins, made beds and clean towels 5 days out of the 7 we stayed, clean sheets 3 times. staff were fine, special mention to the older (moped riding) barman pep`e, who was funny and brilliant, food was edible definitely more geared towards the other European palates, but there was always something we could eat. hotel is 10 mins max walk to the beach front, so ideal for nice walks at any time, we met a few other brits there, also met Germans & french and we all got along fine ;-) and yes there is a patch if ground next to hotel where 16 (yes I counted! ) cats live and yes I would buy a pack of cold meat and feed them lol. I totally agree with other comments some entertainment would defoe lift this to a good 3 star hotel. overall we All loved our week stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Scots_Chick_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
0.4 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#4 of 44 in El Arenal
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#17 of 44 in El Arenal
829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mix Alea
Hotel Mix Alea
#11 of 44 in El Arenal
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manaus
Manaus
#22 of 44 in El Arenal
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
865 reviews
33.2 mi away
Playamar
Playamar
#9 of 13 in S'illot
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palma Mazas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma Mazas

Address: Carrer Girona, 17, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range: £27 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palma Mazas 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Palma Mazas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Mazas El Arenal
Hotel Palma Mazas Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing