We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD BUDGET HOLIDAY”
Review of Amazonas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amazonas Hotel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GOOD BUDGET HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Arrived 29-Jun-2013 11.30 PM many drunks loitering outside hotel vicinity gave bad impression.
We were in the annexe building with the room on the back which was much quieter than those fronting road with noisy traffic/revellers.
Room was reasonable standard but shower was so small suitable for slim jims only Overhead.fan in room for ventilation.
Reception said June & beginning of July best time to avoid the many Spanish/German students letting their hair down.
Beach & shops if needed only minutes away.
Food was passable & always able to find something to eat.
Overall 2 x weeks all inclusive for less than £1000 for a couple can't be bad.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    62
    69
    33
    44
See reviews for
43
91
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Just returned from this hotel were the majority of the clientele seems to be in the 18 - 21 year old bracket who arrive at the pool around 1pm, take over the area and party until the bar closes then come in at all hours shouting and banging on doors, so you don't get any sleep. The rooms are basic although there have some which have been renovated were cleaned every day. The food was one of the worst I have experienced although the breakfast was adequate, the lunch was passable but the dinners were rubbish and I am not fussy. The food was basic for students who would eat anything. I would recommend this hotel to couples or families.

Room Tip: Pay extra for upgrade to a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bren46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Arenal hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

we went to this hotel from the 28th of june till the 5th of july for our 1st wedding anniversary the rooms are very basic no tv or fridge no air conditioning and the beds r like bricks we were lucky to get 2 hours sleep a night due to the hotel being full of spanish and german teenagers who ran about kicking doors shouting and screaming and music blasting .Everyday at the pool my heart was in my mouth watching very drunk 18-19 yr olds trying to swim a few times ppl had to jump in to get them out the food was very average if u got a decent breakfast u were lucky at lunch time what was left was made into something else for dinner time the staff tried their best but they were over run with teenagers who they couldnt control i am more tired than what i was before i went i wouldnt go back its far too wild

Room Tip: Dont go there unless ur 18-30 with no kids theres no animation team no entertainment nothing just no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

On arrival (11pm) ws daunting as the night life is kicking off...vodka fuelled Germans outside drinking, not a sight u want to see with a five year old daughter. But the receptionist always Honest and said that we are staying in a German dominated area and that there is no other English speaking in the hotel so far, I got to the room and cried!!!!! But I gave it a chance and I'm so glad. The pool is lovely, the food was lovely, the staff were lovely and te people staying at the hotel were more than lovely, disregardless of our language barriers everyone got on and my daughter met lovely children from different countries and played well.
Our room was spotless, the bathroom was sparkling, the fan wasn't the best for air conditioning but we managed.
We met two other families from the uk and had and amazing time.
I had no complaints, the negativity over the German dominating the hotel is pathetic, they are really pleasant here and were nothing but polite. Please don't be put off by the ignorance of other peoples comments, the area, hotel and activities/day trips available and food is great!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jodijo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The reviews of this hotel are over dramatic of the situation I have found and the pictures quite old because the balconies are now frosted glass not raiings anIsaw n graffiti anywhere. I read the reviews before I went and was dredding the holiday however it really is not as bad as people are saying. The first thing that me and my other half found to be different was the general stigma that everyone was german. We actually found that there was loads of people from different nationalities and spent alot of the time trying to work out where people were from and know for a fact that there was more french than german but there was also italian and dutch and we think some russians or eastern european people so that is the first thing I would like to say about my stay knowing that it wasnt just germans in the hotel and us. We also bumped into 3 other british couples just around the pool and so was either very lucky or the hotel is infact used by brittish people as well. However, the hotel does tend to have signs more in german than in any other language but then Arenal as a place seems to be german dominated with more german bars and a german nightclub than anything else but there is nice bars around arenal on the promenade 2 of which are near the hotel and fantastic for a drink or 2.

We found the rooms to be very average but they were very clean. We had no insects or cockroaches at all for the time we stayed there either. The ceiling fan was again alright, we had it on all week and it provided us with a small breeze but it was a bit noisey but the noise was something I got used to within the night, we had a balcony and spent most nights outside before heading to bed sitting watching the bat fly around and looking out to the harbour so it wasnt too bad because having the door open seemed to cool down the room a bit as it was a bit cooler at night. The food is actually very tasty (apart from the scrambled egg at breakfast which I didnt like) but does get a bit tiresome after a while as they always had chips and pasta with some chopped tomates as a sauce but there was always some sort of fish and meat and a fair bit of choice especially if you liked fish and the meat that they put on which meant I had a full plate every tea and sometimes even went up several times and we never had the same thing twice for tea. The pool is fantastic and we never went without a sunbed and we didnt even get to the pool until late after breakfast most of time. Even if there were no sunbeds, there were plenty of chairs that you could move around by poolside.

It can get quite noisey in the hotel and outside with it being on the main road down to the begining of the promenade but we always went out for a drink or 2 to the many nice bars such as the yaht club, the pub by the harbour, the beach booths (which are nice if you want to be near the sea for a drink) and a place that does mini golf which is towards the end of the promenade and by the time we came back at about 12 it had quietened down alot. There was a few bangs around the hotel at night and I did wake up to voices in the corridor a couple of times at about 6 in the morning but most nights I had a very restful night sleep.

In summary if you want a quiet night in and a peaceful holiday than this hotel and even arenal itself is not the place to go but we wanted a bit of sun, sand and sea and this fitted the bill. we quite enjoyed the liveliness of the place as it meant we could do shopping and all the stuff at night when it was cooler and spend the days by the fantastic pool or on the beach. Also if you want first class food its best to look elsewhere but it you're happy with food that is just tasty and liveable on than there is not a problem. The drinks at tea time you can help yourself to, with beer on tap, red wine, white wine and sangria all on tap and a variety of soft drinks, juice and water which I though was good and the bar by the pool and in the lounge does the same but also cocktails too. The rooms are clean, the hotel is clean and most of the staff are friendly apart from one that we met, the pool is clean and relatively large and we actually had a good time in this hotel and it certainly served its purpose.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookeborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

As soon as our bus had dropped us off at the Hotel, my two friends and I just wanted to get back onto the bus and fly back home! We literally did not know how we would have stayed for a full week. Noone spoke English! The floors & lift was not clean. The room was clean however completely dated. The food was the most disgusting food I have ever put to my mouth! Thank goodness for the shop across the road that sold crisps! I ate chips at all meals, and added cheese to vary my diet! Noone speaks English here, so we felt so alone! Thankfully we found one woman who spoke English in one of the wee spots were you look for the activities! She showed us a to a English Bar, it was our life saver. They served lovely food! The area itself was not bad, we were close to the beach, and went on the glass bottom boat tour, to the Waterpark and lay bout the pool! Very few loungers for the number of guests staying! Was definitely not a pleasant experience! We could not wait to get home to eat nice food!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FermanaghGirl1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

First to mention is the fact that the hotel itself is not that bad, but people staying in this place are probably making it so unpleasent to stay in! Lots of young German people- not being rasist but we were in a group of 5 girls for a hen weekend with 2 seperate rooms, where 2 of german visitors entered our room and didn't wanted to leave!!! That's how bad it can get even if you ignore them.....
We were leaving the hotel on Sunday aroung 6:30pm (as that's the time we had our transfer pickung us up) our flight back to UK was at 10pm.
On the arrival we were given little printed notes with our rooms numbers and information on what is included in our stay and until when. Table on those papers stated that we have also breakfast included on Monday morning which was a bit unsual however as no one on arrival informed us of when we need to return the keys for both rooms we have stayed there until 6:20pm on Sunday and during the day no one have tried to contact us from the reception and let us know that if we don't vacate both rooms until 2pm we will be charged at 20euros per room. That hotel only accepts German visitors as all the signs are in German. Receptionist with really bad English told us to pay and where we have tried to explain our point and show the proof of what was given to us on arrival she just turned to us saying "they will be here in 10mins" our question was "who??" and then she said " police is coming". This was just really unpleasent experience to hear that she's calling the police not even trying to understand the lack of information we were given on arrival to this hotel. I strongly advise to whoever that wants to go and have a good time to avoid this area as you will hardly get anyone speaking English, plus you will be surrounded only by German people that are really nasty and rude!

The only advantage of this hotel was the fact that it is really close to the beach (full of German people as well) and it's the centre of Can Pastilla.
Food was ok but we mainly ate chips as it was the safest option.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bambino k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Arenal hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Verde
Blue Sea Costa Verde
#21 of 44 in El Arenal
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ipanema Park
Ipanema Park
#14 of 44 in El Arenal
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 44 in El Arenal
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Bay
Caribbean Bay
#12 of 44 in El Arenal
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seramar Luna Luna Park
Seramar Luna Luna Park
#26 of 44 in El Arenal
974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazonas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazonas Hotel

Property: Amazonas Hotel
Address: Calle Sant Bartomeu 4, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amazonas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amazonas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazonas Hotel El Arenal
Amazonas Hotel Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing