We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mediterranean Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in El Arenal
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

All good so far after reading some negative reports, only been here 3 days out of 10 and I am sure things can only get better, room lovely and clean, at the front of the hotel but very quiet when double glazing shut, nice to be able to look out and watch the world go by. Food really good and plenty of choice.The staff are really hard working and very friendly.Beach and marina are both just down the end of the road.I just felt that these negative reports are not warrented and wanted to correct this whilst I was sstill here

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    274
    128
    49
    50
See reviews for
81
491
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

very nice resort if can understand german, the beach is massive (5km) and very full but very quiet, hotel rooms are very small, very hard bed, good breakfast, good room service, went to palma nova every night approx 40 euro's each way, if you want to go somewhere where you wont bump into someone you now a bit of german then this is the place for you

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

looks and feels like a 4 star ,but poor air conditioning ,smells from the sinks and broken shower heads in most rooms were annoying.My biggest issue it that the hotel have had loads of previous complaints about the air conditioning - but have chosen to ignore them and if it was much hotter ,I would have stayed somewhere else.
The weather was perfect 75 each day...but we must have proper air conditioning.If your there between June to early September...I would NOT reccommend the hotel as the rooms are tiny and would be too hot.
Service was great...friendly...drinking at the hotel was not expensive...breakfast(we were on B&B) was good.Location for area perfect.
Plus we need at least 2 english TV channels please! (there were NONE!)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fisherkingEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel. I read some of the negative comments I feel people are very petty. Firstly this is not a hotel with lots of British most of the guests come from all over Europe, so if you are looking for lots of Brits then I suppose this isn't the place for you. Secondly this is the cleanest Hotel I have stayed in. The cleaners work constantly polishing mopping etc and immaculate shiny floors. Food is buffet style you will always find something you like. We were all inclusive so we had endless supplies of local beers and wine. I suppose if I was to be a bit picky the glasses for the beer are on the small size. Ana on reception is lovely, her English is not perfect but she understood everything we asked. We loved Miguel who serves tirelessly on the bar always has a smile on his face even though some nights he had a large queue. Two pools one at the front one at the back. Although the one at the front is just for dipping/jacuzzi not big enough to swim really. Loads of sunbeds no need to worry you would not get one. Arenal is quite a nice resort nice beach which is 5 mins walk down the hill.
Ignore any negative comments about this hotel as they are unjust. If you want somewhere quick transfer from Palma airport (10mins) no kids & spotless give it a try. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite small but avoid the first floor as they don't get much sun on the balconies as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

My mom an I stayed 5 days at this hotel and are very happy overal!
The hotel (outside and inside) and the rooms are very modern, clean,courteous, nice and look beautifull! Ok, the rooms are not very big, but they are practical with a very nice shower, closet, balcony,..and are very clean!
Food was good, lot of choice and when you have all inclusice there is a free pic nic service!!
The city Arenal is crowded, but inside the hotel it's quiet, restful. (no loud people or youth)
The pools, outside areas and restaurant are very nice and cosy.
The staff at reception and restaurant are good (friendly, helpful). Also the cleaning ladys.
The only disadvantage that we have is that bar service is not always good (one of the staff members is a bit anoying, sometimes long waiting times, not two drinks at the time).

But overall very nice hotel were we had a nice and restfull stay.

Wencke, Belgium

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wencke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We were transferred to this hotel after the one we were meant to be had had a water problem.
The entrance is excellent and the receptionist was expecting us which was good. None of the staff's english was good though. However we found out this was a Spanish and German resort.
The rooms were small but nicely put together, the beds were very firm though. Very nice bathrooms and the rooms had a small balcony. The buffet food was very good, always varied.
The pool area was clean and well appointed but no view and overlooked by other buidlings.
Overall it was an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: A room at the back may be less noisy as everyone goes down the street infront of the hotel to the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wewanttobe2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayhotels15, Rsp. dpto comercial y e-commerce at Mediterranean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience at the Mediterranean Bay and we are glad that you have really enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

A.Celeste Malenque Pons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We booked the Mediterranean for a 7-days break during the last week of June `12, got quite disappointed upon arrival as though it almost looked just like on the website no one said anything `bout the rooms being SO small. If it were for a quick-break that would`ve been fine but not so much for an entire week.
Disappointing was also the guy at the reception whose English was very poor and kept speaking to us in German although we said we`re not German speakers and we could hardly understand a thing.
Also, upon asking for the TV remote control we were told we need to pay a 15 EUR deposit for this!! Should you need to use the safe in the room that is also charged extra 2 EUR/day totally unacceptable for a 4-star service.
We booked half-board (breakfast and dinner included) which was decent at most: scrambled eggs and bacon, classic hotel breakie with a wide variety of fruit which was (to us) the only nice thing. Dinner was quite fishy so we skipped it several nights by eating out.
Apart from that there is nowhere on the website saying that you have to climb a really steep hill all the way to the hotel which is a pain especially when you are totally wrecked after a long day in the sun or visiting around.
There is also a 20 minute walk from the hotel to the bus that takes you to Palma city center and that is also the last thing you`d want, cruising through the crowd of mostly-wasted-regardless-the-time-of-the-day-German youngsters :=)) (couldn`t help not noticing it).
Cleaning ladies in the hotel don`t usually knock so chances are you`d end up with one in your room while getting out of the shower (at best).
The only good thing was that we were allowed to check out 1 hour later (your normal 12 o`clock here is 11 o`clock). And the room was properly cleaned every day, fresh towels and all that.
And that`s about it!

Room Tip: try getting a suite (although we had a superior room as the agency quoted it was very small: you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b_daygirlhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Rsp. dpto comercial y e-commerce at Mediterranean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear guest,

We beg your pardon for not having exceeded your expectations during your stay at the Mediterranean Bay.

All rooms comply with the standards of size and quality of the Ministry of Tourism of the Balearic Island.

The deposit for the TV remote control is just a deposit that the client gets back when you get it back to the reception.

Regarding the dinner, we give notice to the hotel manager to check it and improve the service.

We would like to inform that the charge of the safety deposit box is not a business for the hotel. The client rents a safe for the security of the value of the things which are inside, not for the safe box. And also pays a deposit that the client gets back at your departure.

The bus stop to Palma city is no more than 100 mts from the hotel, 5 minutes walking. The nº 23 takes you from hotel to Palma city center.

We hope to have another chance to upgrade your experience in the next future.

Kind regards,

A.Celeste Malenque Pons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Arenal hotels
0.2 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#3 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
4.1 mi away
OLA Hotel Maioris
OLA Hotel Maioris
#1 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa
#8 of 48 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#13 of 48 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pinero Tal
Hotel Pinero Tal
#6 of 48 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Bay Hotel

Property: Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Address: Calle Sant Bartomeu 18, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterranean Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance you can afford.Opened in May 2010. Located at 350 metres from the beach of Arenal and 11 Km from the capital, Palma. There’s a wide offer of leisure in the vicinity. The bedrooms have a fully-equipped bathroom, satellite TV, telephone and air-conditioning. A large salon bar with leisure areas and a swimming pool will make your holidays unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterranean Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimpo Hotel El Arenal
Mediterranean Bay Hotel Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing