We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Im still in the hotel and although is brand new and looks lovely, I really don't think is worth 4*. A 3 PLUS MAYBE
Rooms are a bit small but again I'm on my own, so I can handle it. Shower is very good!! breakfast is good, with lots of options but I stayed in other 4* and they could improve. ( again only a suggestion)
Staff very very friendly!!!and helpful! which is very very unusual for Spain!( sorry if I'm honest) no complaint here.
Pool and Jacuzzi are a plus!!

Downside: Please take note of the following!!!
BED: very very cheap mattress, if you spent a lot on the front and reception and pool, seams a waste to give us such a bad quality mattress! after all this is a 4*. even premier inn has better beds
PILLOWS! GOD!!! where to start I asked for 2 extra pillows! they are like the ones I used to have when I was a kid. so soft and bad quality. don't know how to explain! very uncomfortable
Again if I go to a hotel is because I want a good night sleep. I'm afraid I had not have one!!
Walls.. because im on business and the hotel is full of cheerful Germans and the walls are so thin, and I can hear everything from my next door neighbors ( they are bloody loud too) is very difficult to have a good sleep...

Also 48 Hotels don't ask for deposit for tv remote control. if you want one you must collect from reception and leave 20 euros.


this is why im only giving 3* sorry
is it worth what you pay? not sure my company pay for this, so I can not tell you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAXC1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
There are newer reviews for Mediterranean Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

Me and my friends all thought this hotel was lovely, nice staff, lovely clean rooms, really good value all inclusive deal - the food was fresh and very nice, bottles of wine in the dining room and beer and soft drinks on tap to help yourself to, so no need to keep tipping waiters each time - also the rooms were really clean and modern. They were a little bit on the small side, but not a problem, rooms were cleaned every day we were there. The swimming pool was better than it looks in the hotel pics and the bar and outside area were really nice. For the money, I really cannot fault this hotel. Bus No. 23 goes to centre of Palma from about 70 yards away from the hotel, and along the seafront the No. 15 and No. 25 go regularly to Palma, stopping in the cathedral area, which was great, with restaurants and bars in nice squares etc. We saved our money and gave the waiter/restaurant staff/cleaner a good tip at the end of the holiday as they were always very pleasant and worked hard.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

All good so far after reading some negative reports, only been here 3 days out of 10 and I am sure things can only get better, room lovely and clean, at the front of the hotel but very quiet when double glazing shut, nice to be able to look out and watch the world go by. Food really good and plenty of choice.The staff are really hard working and very friendly.Beach and marina are both just down the end of the road.I just felt that these negative reports are not warrented and wanted to correct this whilst I was sstill here

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

very nice resort if can understand german, the beach is massive (5km) and very full but very quiet, hotel rooms are very small, very hard bed, good breakfast, good room service, went to palma nova every night approx 40 euro's each way, if you want to go somewhere where you wont bump into someone you now a bit of german then this is the place for you

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

looks and feels like a 4 star ,but poor air conditioning ,smells from the sinks and broken shower heads in most rooms were annoying.My biggest issue it that the hotel have had loads of previous complaints about the air conditioning - but have chosen to ignore them and if it was much hotter ,I would have stayed somewhere else.
The weather was perfect 75 each day...but we must have proper air conditioning.If your there between June to early September...I would NOT reccommend the hotel as the rooms are tiny and would be too hot.
Service was great...friendly...drinking at the hotel was not expensive...breakfast(we were on B&B) was good.Location for area perfect.
Plus we need at least 2 english TV channels please! (there were NONE!)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fisherkingEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel. I read some of the negative comments I feel people are very petty. Firstly this is not a hotel with lots of British most of the guests come from all over Europe, so if you are looking for lots of Brits then I suppose this isn't the place for you. Secondly this is the cleanest Hotel I have stayed in. The cleaners work constantly polishing mopping etc and immaculate shiny floors. Food is buffet style you will always find something you like. We were all inclusive so we had endless supplies of local beers and wine. I suppose if I was to be a bit picky the glasses for the beer are on the small size. Ana on reception is lovely, her English is not perfect but she understood everything we asked. We loved Miguel who serves tirelessly on the bar always has a smile on his face even though some nights he had a large queue. Two pools one at the front one at the back. Although the one at the front is just for dipping/jacuzzi not big enough to swim really. Loads of sunbeds no need to worry you would not get one. Arenal is quite a nice resort nice beach which is 5 mins walk down the hill.
Ignore any negative comments about this hotel as they are unjust. If you want somewhere quick transfer from Palma airport (10mins) no kids & spotless give it a try. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite small but avoid the first floor as they don't get much sun on the balconies as t...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My mom an I stayed 5 days at this hotel and are very happy overal!
The hotel (outside and inside) and the rooms are very modern, clean,courteous, nice and look beautifull! Ok, the rooms are not very big, but they are practical with a very nice shower, closet, balcony,..and are very clean!
Food was good, lot of choice and when you have all inclusice there is a free pic nic service!!
The city Arenal is crowded, but inside the hotel it's quiet, restful. (no loud people or youth)
The pools, outside areas and restaurant are very nice and cosy.
The staff at reception and restaurant are good (friendly, helpful). Also the cleaning ladys.
The only disadvantage that we have is that bar service is not always good (one of the staff members is a bit anoying, sometimes long waiting times, not two drinks at the time).

But overall very nice hotel were we had a nice and restfull stay.

Wencke, Belgium

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wencke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
0.2 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#17 of 44 in El Arenal
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caribbean Bay
Hotel Caribbean Bay
#11 of 44 in El Arenal
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only
0.6 mi away
Palma Bay Club Resort
Palma Bay Club Resort
#70 of 78 in Playa de Palma
2,912 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#4 of 44 in El Arenal
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Bay Hotel

Address: Calle Sant Bartomeu 18, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range: £56 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterranean Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance you can afford.Opened in May 2010. Located at 350 metres from the beach of Arenal and 11 Km from the capital, Palma. There’s a wide offer of leisure in the vicinity. The bedrooms have a fully-equipped bathroom, satellite TV, telephone and air-conditioning. A large salon bar with leisure areas and a swimming pool will make your holidays unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mediterranean Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimpo Hotel El Arenal
Mediterranean Bay Hotel Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing