We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 4 star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mediterranean Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in El Arenal
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not 4 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Clean hotel even smells of bleach. Staff went out of there way to make us (English) uncomfortable/intimidated, especaly the head waiter, Pedro (Pedro even moved us from one table to another so a germany couple could sit there. Food no way 4star and would be a poor 3star. No entertainment, if staying all inc would be terrible as place lacked any atmosphere. sound insulation very poor from adjoining rooms. Regarding special requests dont bother as hotel was only half full and not one of my 3 special requests was provided.

Room Tip: No good rooms you are either on the road (shops) or facing rooms of adjoining hotel (suppose you cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    274
    128
    49
    50
See reviews for
81
491
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights last week on an all inclusive basis. I have to say this was our first trip away as a couple and I had read the reviews with an open mind. I have to say we were thoroughly pleased with our stay, the staff were extremely helpful.. To name a couple.. Pedro (restaurant manager) Rudolph (bar) were excellent.. On a whole I can find no faults that are worthy of a mention. We will go again.. This time taking family adults. Pool was great although a little chilly, but in April what more can you expect. 5 minute walk to El Arenal beach with plenty of shops and bars. Very short transfer time from Palma airport which was ideal. Our room on the second floor was great, plenty of room for clothes, luggage etc. downside was tv in rooms, plenty of German, French, and Spanish tv to watch but only 3 English channels and they were all news, but saying that I came for a holiday not for tv. I'd give this hotel a big thumbs up as no kids running around screaming, adults only hotel is such a relaxing environment :-) The food was great, so much choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner, there was always something that you could have. Well done to the catering staff, presentation and variety left me in awe. Go there you won't be disappointed! Thank you to all those at The Mediterranean Bay Hotel for a fantastic break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We went to this hotel w/c 6th April. It is a lovely hotel, small and compact as mentioned by several people, but beautifully decorated, very clean in lobby areas, pool areas and bedrooms. All staff were marvellous, helpful and friendly, especially the young man who worked the bar, he was run ragged betwixt the bar and the dining room but was always smiley and friendly, hopefully they have more staff during the busy periods otherwise I could see ragged people very annoyed waiting for service. The food was no better and no worse than other 4 star hotels we have stayed in, there was always an abundance of salads and accompaniments as well as different fish and meat dishes and also fresh foods cooked by a chef, although not always in attendance. The food was warm at best but if you didn't like this then there was a microwave to heat up if required. The fresh fruit was in abundance and there were always a variety of tempting sweets/deserts to be naughty with. It was our 25th anniversary whilst there and my husbands birthday and they very kindly gave us a free upgrade to a suite, which was very kind and a bonus, with two balconies, a Jacuzzi bath and lovely power shower with jets and lounge to use (although to be honest we aren't ones to stay in our rooms, just for sleeping). The pool area is very small but did make people more friendly to each other and there was a good mixture of nationalities. All in all a lovely holiday. Oh, area was a bit down, but a quick 5 minute walk and you were at the promenade. Anyone feeling like a lovely bike ride, hire a bike, there is a magnificent cycle path all the way to Palma with little harbours you can stop at on the way for refreshments etc, approx. 36km return but oh such a pretty ride.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluenosegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Very clean hotel, staff are lovely, keep an eye out for Miguel - great barman! Nice and quiet for Easter break. Very close to the beach. Definitely worth the money we paid for all inclusive, got a great deal on Teletext Holidays. Adults only hotel which is great! We had a problem with our safe on the first day and we got a different room with very little fuss. Minor issues - I would say buffet is not 4*, although some meals were very good. Also entertainment wasn't great, though it provided an hour of hilarity as a result! If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing break, this hotel is perfect. When you're up for a busier night then it's close to some good bars and restaurants. Recommend a visit to Palma. Bus stop is a couple of minutes walk away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJ2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just returned from a week at the Mediterranean Bay, we booked and went with high hopes based on reviews we had read at the start of the year. The clientele are adults only and mixed ages and nationalities. The pluses for this hotel are; nice-ish modern décor, really clean throughout, hard working staff and acceptable bedrooms. The food is generally fine and varied ( a couple of meat and fish dishes per meal, loads of fresh salad, nice soup, plenty bread & desserts), although it does not cater well for veggies. The overall facilities are small scale - there are only around 120 rooms, so the dining area, bar, pool side and bedrooms reflect the hotel capacity. The rooms are small but functional and include a small fridge. The staff were really overworked but in the main pleasant and accommodating. The outdoor space is fine, small but plenty chairs and loungers and it gets the sun for a large part of the day.

The negatives are; the beds are truly awful - we barely slept as they are really small and hard. You will be able to hear everything from neighbouring rooms, so it is not a hotel for the shy! The maids are noisy from earl in the morning so you will not get a lie in. There are none of the 'extra's you expect in a 4 * - water in your fridge, tea/coffee facilities, toiletries etc. We were all inclusive but did not get any of the snacks - these have to be hunted down! Some of the food was quite poor and repetitive. Avoid the 'poached eggs' at all costs. If you are all inclusive you are only allowed particular drinks with your meals, you cannot get spirits only beer from a tap, wine or soft drinks. The drinks served are in tiny measures and there is only ever one person on the bar so you need to be patient. Likewise, you will have to wait for a seat in the restaurant. There was only entertainment on one night; an awful guy with a keyboard, the rest of the time it's like being at a wake. If music is played it is generally Celine Dion or 'Morning has broken', not really 'holiday' music.

The hotel is on a hill and not in a particularly touristy area, but we knew this prior to booking. It is far from the busy strip but handy for a few wee shops, our favourite Sportsman's Bar and the beach. The rooms at the front get very little sun. There is also a lot of noise from the businesses and traffic in the area, especially in the morning starting around 5am.

Room Tip: Slightly less noise if on floor 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJBFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Liked this hotel. Drinks choice good including some bespoke cocktails if you make friends with the barman, all very smart including the rooms. Helpful staff (they don't go missing for long!). Rooms are small but fine, would have preferred a double bed to singles though. Only thing that stops five stars is the buffet, it is a bit random with the choices. Breakfast is good but we did eat out a couple of times for lunch/dinner. Recommend a bus trip to Palma.

Room Tip: Go top floor, the marble floors and scraping chairs would have annoyed me if we weren't fifth fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Overall stay very pleasant. Food ok not 4* . Nice clean rooms & decor although very hard beds. Very good for the price. Close to beach & shops, restaurants etc. recommend hiring a bike & cycling to Palma. Beautiful coast line. All in all recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Arenal hotels
0.2 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#3 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
4.1 mi away
OLA Hotel Maioris
OLA Hotel Maioris
#1 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa
#8 of 48 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#13 of 48 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pinero Tal
Hotel Pinero Tal
#6 of 48 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Bay Hotel

Property: Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Address: Calle Sant Bartomeu 18, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterranean Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance you can afford.Opened in May 2010. Located at 350 metres from the beach of Arenal and 11 Km from the capital, Palma. There’s a wide offer of leisure in the vicinity. The bedrooms have a fully-equipped bathroom, satellite TV, telephone and air-conditioning. A large salon bar with leisure areas and a swimming pool will make your holidays unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Mediterranean Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimpo Hotel El Arenal
Mediterranean Bay Hotel Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing