We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A Very Clean Hotel, attractive & modern, although in an urban location, a Gem on a busy street. The Staff work Very Hard, there should be more of them, but despite this they are all Happy & Cheerful and Very Helpful. Our room was a bit small but adequate, bathroom good with excellent shower. Maid came in every day, clean towels left in a 'swan' formation on bed, nice touch.
There is a Fridge so water can be cooled, (leave the cupboard door open a bit for it to work effectively) air conditioning was fine. Good lifts. There was always a courteous welcome to the Restaurant where there was a good choice, continually being checked by the Chefs. Yes, it did sometimes seem lunchtime had the edge over evening meal, but, really good food, we always found plenty we liked to eat at every mealtime. I would have liked Still water to be available without needing to ask for it. The Bar area lacked atmosphere, I'm sure just re grouping the tables and chairs could fix it & to recruit an extra member of staff to run the bar would be helpful. Despite being under pressure the Bar person was always cheerful & polite, as were All the Staff. Outside there is a Pool area which looked okay but as a non swimmer I chose the front side with Jacuzzi pool, there was never a shortage of sunbeds. The garden area is lovely, all outside areas are well maintained. We enjoyed the peace of it being Adults Only.
The reason I do not award the 5 rating is sadly a lack of a nice view wherever you are, shame about the location. And the Bar area could be improved, also no sign of snacks.
Pack your travel kettle, nice to relax in room with tea/coffee! We used the bus to go to Palma 1.50 euro, bus number 23 stop close by. Ask for a packed lunch at reception before 7:30pm the night before.The train from Palma v good & Clean! We went to Inca, the Camper Shoe factory was not as good as I had hoped, don't go There for a bargain. We loved the Thursday morning Market just up the road from Hotel. Tip, when you are tired of the seafront, take a left at Arenal Nautica & walk past the expensive houses along the coastline towards Cala Blava. It is a real contrast. so quiet & peaceful with beautiful views across the Bay.
We had a lovely week. Brits are the minority... some were a bit moany miseries I am ashamed to say. And the vast German contingent prone to be LOUD. Quite a lot of Spainish guests - which is a good sign!
I would go to Mediterranean Bay Hotel again. Thank you for a great holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for top floor level 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosemaryJoy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is reviewing the Adult Only hotel not the family hotel. I am going to start off with the positives. This is a lovely hotel. The staff (which are very few) were lovely, friendly, helpful. The place is spotlessly clean. Clean towels every day. The pool is lovely quite small but clean and gets the sun all day (but shady parts if needed). There is also a jacuzzi pool at the front of the hotel. The food was great. But on the food point, breakfast and lunch were brilliant but evening meal was a bit of a let down. Don't know why they didn't serve some of the things they put out at lunch at dinner. Nice small outside area to eat by the fountain. Drinks were good. Cocktails were from a machine so don't bother.

OK downside. I am not one to complain I usually feel it's ok as long as it's clean as only sleeping there but the main downside for us was the air conditioning. We didn't have any for 2 days ( we were only there for 4 nights and the temperature was 35 degrees !!!) but were told no rooms available to move to. You could not sleep with the patio doors open as it is noisy outside (this resort is full of stag and hen parties) with a main road to the front and a kebab shop on our side which shut about 6am. Then after the 2 nights I complained again and was told they would try to move us and to come back later. When I returned 2 German lads were in front of me and said their safety deposit box was not working and the receptionist said no worries we will move you !!!! I had been waiting 2 days. So was quite annoyed. We were moved and did have air con but it's not brilliant anyway. The other main problem was the beds. They are solid !!!! I woke up every morning with shore back and hips. Everybody we spoke to had the same problem. The beds are also very small. Not as wide as a normal single (apart entry the doubles are small as well.

So to sum it up. (As not mentioned all above)

Good points: Nice staff, small friendly hotel. Nice pools. In a quieter area. Shops nearby. Very clean. Bathrooms good, large and clean. Clean towels every day. Breakfast and lunch good. Bus stop and taxis just outside hotel. TV on wall in room (although only news channel & sometimes film channel in English).

Not so good|. Beds very hard & small. Rooms very very small. Resort noisy and intimidating. Air con rubbish even when working. Not enough brollies by pools. Often no barman/woman in bar as busy somewhere else. You have to go & find them. No entertainment at night (just a man playing piano Sat & Tues night). Have to have plastic cups if on terrace or by pool and they are tiny and flimsy (even at night). Cocktails horrible.

So to sum up - I would go back for a short break but not a week (my hips wouldn't take it !!!) and maybe not height of summer as air con not very good). It is a nice hotel and food and drink were good. Staff lovely.

Room Tip: Try & get a room facing the hotel next door not on the front or the road side. Also not a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tuck12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Had a wonderful long weekend break here with my husband.
I'd booked through Lowcost holidays and was unsure what to expect...but the hotel was delightful.
The receptionist Juan very helpful and chatty when we booked in, our room was lovely on the 5th floor - bathroom very nice with a good size shower and jacuzzi bath - had 2 lovely balconies one with a towel airer so perfect for towels after being on the beach!
We were AI - food was very good lots of choices - great fish & paella and breakfast again all good selections and choices and always plenty of everything - and lovely fresh fruit all day.
The drinks were included and we drunk the rose wine and beer at lunch and had vodaks in the evening all good no complaints either about being served!! We had no trouble.
All staff were really friendly and chatty - especially the lovely waitress in the dining room.
The hotel was busy over the weekend we were there but at no time did that make any difference to us being served - or how we were treated.
We had a fantastic stay and would go back again, ideal position and easy to walk to the beach,
Only con - the air conditioning in our room was not great -

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed for one nite after our cruise, was very impressed very clean modern hotel, our rooms wasn't ready so put our cases in luggage room and went for a stroll, came back at 12 and was told the all inclusive had now started so went out on the terrace and ordered a coffee shortly after our rooms were ready what a surprise very modern rooms with large walk in shower the only niggle the beds are as hard as rock but everything else about this hotel was great lovely selection on hot and cold drinks and smashing cocktails. We went for lunch and was blown away with the food selection and presentation this place caters for the Mediterranean palate which suited us fine and lovely red, white, and ros'e wine Togo with it, spent the afternoon by the small but very clean pool sipping on a selection of cocktails and other drinks that they offer on the A/I all in all a very pleasant stay and would go back and stay longer as loved it near to the beach and shops.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Have just returned from a great 4 night break. The hotel seemed to be a different place at the weekend than during the week - much busier with many groups of middle age German men (where are all the women?), so we found it nicer from Monday onwards when they all went home. The hotel seemed quite international with French, English and Spanish staying, along with the Germans that have colonised Arenal.

There are some truly excellent things at this hotel - the food both in variety and quality, the service in the restaurant, the fit and finish of the decor, the calmness (no kids!) and the cleanliness.

We were lucky enough to have a 3 person room for the 2 of us, so found the room plenty big enough for us - others on here have commented on the bedrooms being small.

There were a couple of small niggles - the bar is often unmanned so really needs some sort of bell to tell them there is someone waiting, I also found the bar area quite "soulless". The air conditioning in the bedroon was quite poor and we were very hot at night - you can't leave the patio doors open to cool the room as the town is very noisy in the early hours! Beds are extremely hard. The wifi signal (thanks for free wifi - why don't all hotels do this!) is quite patchy around the hotel so drops in and out. Would have liked still water available on demand in the restaurant (only sparkling in the dispensing machine).

I would have given it 5 stars and excellent if it weren't for these few things.

For added info - Taxis to and from the aiport are just over 18 euro each way and there is a taxi rank outside the front door which always had taxis available. Pool towels are available at 15 euro each deposit (returned to you) but 2 euro paid if you want clean ones. TV remote is 20 euro deposit (but you don't need one as there are only a couple of English channels so you won't be changing channel much and can just use the TV buttons!). Loads of liquid soap provided in the bathroom - but no specific shampoo, conditioner or body lotion. Pool doors are locked until breakfast finishes at 10.00 so no mad rush for sunbeds at an early hour.

I'd recommend the place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swivellingmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

i will start off and say this is a modern hotel in a good position for shops,beach and bars,i found the staff at the hotel very friendly and helpfull a special thanks to pedro and miguel and our room cleaner for making our visit enjoyable. the food was very good and always found something to eat each day,the rooms were a bit small but big enough for what you need with a fab shower constant hot water and cleaned every day but the walls are very thin and you can hear most things going on in other rooms and corridor,there is no entertainment apart from a keyboard player on the odd occasion this is a shame or is it ploy for you to go out and buy drinks because your bored ? as for the bar when you can find barman who goes to help out elswhere the drinks are in small glasses and even smaller if you want vodka baileys etc needs sorting out overall the hotel is very good just needs a few tweaks here and there there is a bus stop outside for a trip to palma only 1.50 euro each way about half hour great shops ok back to arenal beach is fab but not a lot going on found one british bar the sportsman again nothing going on in any of the bars karaoke,music,singers pretty boring to be honest and even though the hotel and beach was great i would not come back to el arenal

Room Tip: room 510 nice big balcony compared to other's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reeco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Staying here whilst writing this, adults only, no entertainment, quiet, small and personal just what the doctor ordered. Short stroll to the beach if desired, plenty of local shopping good supermarket (cheap) 2 minutes away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquajohnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caribbean Bay
Hotel Caribbean Bay
#10 of 44 in El Arenal
586 reviews
3.3 mi away
OLA Hotel Maioris
OLA Hotel Maioris
#1 of 44 in El Arenal
1,508 reviews
0.2 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas & Bahamas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#5 of 44 in El Arenal
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only
0.6 mi away
Palma Bay Club Resort
Palma Bay Club Resort
#70 of 78 in Playa de Palma
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Bay Hotel

Address: Calle Sant Bartomeu 18, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range: £50 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterranean Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance you can afford.Opened in May 2010. Located at 350 metres from the beach of Arenal and 11 Km from the capital, Palma. There’s a wide offer of leisure in the vicinity. The bedrooms have a fully-equipped bathroom, satellite TV, telephone and air-conditioning. A large salon bar with leisure areas and a swimming pool will make your holidays unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mediterranean Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimpo Hotel El Arenal
Mediterranean Bay Hotel Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing