We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely AWFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Arrived to find the hotel in a run down part of the resort, on entering the hotel, it looked liked a backpackers hostel as it was full of very young people on their way home. Not the best first impression! Had a room over looking the pool, the pool itself was clean but the surrounding area needed a lot of attention. Room OK, clean but very small bathroom but adequate.
First night food really was not very good at all, but it did get better as the week went on, you certainly wouldn't starve. Was woken at 4AM, by shouting and laughing from the room next door, through very thin walls, called reception but nothing happened we were kept awake for the REST of the night. It transpired however that the two "ladies" next door had brought back a couple of men they had met that night, evidently the night manager didn't see them come in or turned a blind eye to strangers entering the hotel!! Got up next morning and changed rooms.
The air con in all the rooms is inadequate, yes it works if you stand underneath it, but you cannot roll your bed near it!! You also cannot open you balcony door as you will be kept awake by the shouting and screaming in the streets below, then when the last of the revellers go home, the maids start talking loudly!!
Breakfast, ok ish.
There is no entertainment, on being asked why, the hotel management said the "young people don't like it".
Sitting outside the pool bar one evening, a very strange lady appeared wanting to talk to everybody in what we think was Russian, either very drunk or very high, evidently known to the bar man as he gave her another drink, we then left.
The last night, sitting there counting down the hours to our flight, a group of german "gentlemen" arrived, had showers then stood naked on the balcony whilst drying themselves, then proceeded to sit down in all their glory, thank god they were obese, still a sight for sore eyes, let alone the kiddies playing in the park behind the hotel!! Management told,eyes were rolled, but nothing done.
We met a lovely couple form Dublin, who had arrived the previous Saturday, she said as soon as they arrived, she had burst into tears in the bedroom as they couldn't quite believe the hell hole they had walked into.
A four star ADULTS only hotel this definitely is NOT. Possibly at a push a 2 star, which would happily cater for club 18 - 30's.
By the way, you do have to pay to use (yes use!!) the SPA, treatments you always expect to pay for, but not to pay to go in especially if guests of the hotel.
However, I will end up on one positive note, the bed and the pillows were very comfortable, just wish we could have actually slept in them!!

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had a wonderful 5 days at this lovely hotel. it was just what the doctor ordered. Very clean, staff friendly and as travellers from the UK who are not looking for British style grub but more of a continental twist, we found the food excellent with a variety of choice. It was also nice to have a great mix of nationalities and not too many Brits. On our first day, We arrived very late at night and missed our first dinner but as we had taken advantage of the hotel email to let them know in advance a really nice cold meat platter awaited our arrival. Prices for drinks are more than reasonable, the pool area is very clean and lounging poolside was a relaxing way to spend time. Granted there was some work going on on a building across from the front of the hotel and it is at the furthest end of Arenal Playa but we found it very handy for the lovely eateries and upmarket watering holes around the Nautical Club area of the Port. The bar at the very end of the beach at the port was particularly nice and welcoming as was the very pretty and family restaurant Ema Del Mar which we found on a street heading up from the playa. It stood out as it was full of flowers and had a lovely black picket fence around. Delicious food. All in all we couldn't fault the break we spent at Torre Azul and this was capped by the staff allowing us use of the delightful Spa on our last day after we had checked out of our room and had several hours to wait before flying home. Thanks to all at the hotel and we will be back sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Choose Upper floors especially with a pool view or sea view, especially in summer as area can get qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

on evening of 9th June my room along with 2 others on the 11th floor were entered by persons unknown and cash and jewellery stolen. The management said it was not their responsibility, and my wife and I spent 2 hours on the last morning of our stay in a police station, then a further 2 hours waitnig while police looked at our room and CCTV tapes of reception to try and identify possible thieves. On contacting our insurance company we have been told that as there was sign of forced access to our room we cannot make a claim, so goodbye to GBP3000 worth of gold jewellery.
Hotel is in run down area of resort, noisy and dogs barking continually, and fowling the broken pavements. Bedroom walls very thin could hear next door talking when they decided to come home at 3.15 am every morning.
Food not to UK taste - carrots, green beans and chips on the breakfast menu - generally luke warm, ice cream cartons had been defrosted and re frozen, very limited choice of main course.
Hotel next door being refurbished so expect lots of noise, as is very run down apartment block opposite.
No entertainment in the evenings, everyone dissappeared after dinner, bar always empty.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KWC51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Location-far side of El Arenal,set back from sea front and up a small hill.Some building work ongoing nearby but not too noisy.Next door to a nursery-so for around 1 hour each lunchtime it can be fairly noisy if your at poolside.Spar shop,tobacco shop,couple cafes,restaurants on same road as hotel also bank ATM and bigger supermarket behind the building that is directly opposite hotel entrance.
Arrival-we used taxi from airport(23euros).Fast friendly check in with orientation given to the hotel.
Reception nicely decorated with many areas to sit in
Room(618)twin room,adequate size,comfortable beds,balcony facing sea which got sunshine from afternoon until late evening.Many TV channels-could only find one English one.
Food-we went BB but chose to eat 3 times in hotel for evening meal,lots of choices-fresh cooked .
Pool-small,nice area for sunbathing-with sun-loungers and tables and chairs
Spa-went for a look-jacuzzi,saunas,steam room etc-but we did not use it so cannot comment
Staff-friendly and appear cheerful at work,

NEGATIVES-
Wifi in hotel is a big let down-no signal at poolside or in bedroom,only received in dinning-room and reception area.
No tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom
Pool-water is very cold
Music-same music was played in poolside area and bar each day-as if on a cycle
Drinks-expensive-1.80 euros for small bottle cola and 1.70 euros for small water

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My sister and I booked this hotel through a travel zoo deal for the end April. I wasnt expecting it to be amazing but it really was very good, and the lovely spa in the basement was a great addition to the hotel- only problem was after the 2nd night it was out of order- which was a huge shame.
The pool area is fine lots of loungers and a bar just inside for drinks.And no kids to spoil a chill out.Although there is a kindergarten next door, but that was nice to see the kids having such fun.
There are quiet comfy seating areas to sit inside in the evening.
The main beach and shops are 5mins down the road lovely beach, you can hire loungers etc.
We got the bus into Palma several times it takes about 30 mins and costs 1.5 euros.
This end of the resort is definately the nicer quieter end- we had to get a different bus back from Palma one evening because it was after 10pm and we didnt like the look of the Palma end of El Arenal, it was crammed with bar after bar- this must be where it gets the other reviews that I didnt like the sound of!
The only other things that could be improved were the evening meal, we only ate at the hotel once even though we were on half board- very average but. breakfast was fine.
And the other thing the walls are paper thin, and as we found out its easy to lock yourself out on the balcony! I asked for a sea view but its so far in the distance and you get more road noise, so pool side is better. Bathroom and room very clean and beds/bedding all fine too.
I would go back any time for a cheap break in the sun.

Room Tip: pool view best side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Like others reviewing this hotel, we were not expecting much as the price was so reasonable. From the minute we walked in we were impressed with the service at reception, the cleanliness, decor, restaurant, food. Did not get a chance to use the spa, had a look though and this was also included in the price, which was fantastic! The best asset this hotel has are its staff and their helpful, friendly attitude! Oh, and there was no fuss about us checking late - helpful, as flight was last thing at night. Will be returning!

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Deirdre r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a four night break. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms were very clean and spacious towels changed every day.Adult only hotel so no children running around, good when you just want to chill. The sea view from the balcony was not brilliant but got the afternoon sun which was just right. The food in the restaurant was good great selection, again the staff were very helpful. The wine very good. We were never rushed out after breakfast or dinner. The spa was amazing.
The transport links were great number 23, 15, 152 buses take you to Palma 1.50 euros. Beach very clean infact all the bars and restaurants we tried werd very clean. Would defiantly go back to same place and same hotel. Great 4 night break.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sunnytorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Arenal hotels
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#2 of 44 in El Arenal
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#5 of 44 in El Arenal
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#17 of 44 in El Arenal
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
OLA Hotel Maioris
OLA Hotel Maioris
#1 of 44 in El Arenal
1,496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Verde
Blue Sea Costa Verde
#18 of 44 in El Arenal
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#4 of 44 in El Arenal
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only

Address: Calle Sant Bartomeu 24, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Style Torre Azul SPA)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range: £46 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want to welcome you to Hotel Torre Azul, hoping that you will meet all your expectations of information about our facilities, services, offers and of course about the Playa de Palma. Built in 1968, updated in 1982 and completely refurbished in 2012. It is located in the Arenal area, in the municipality of Llucmajor. It is 350 meters from the Playa de Palma and the Arenal Yacht Club. Aqualand Water Park is located very close to the hotel .. The hotel has 133 double rooms. All rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi Internet (free), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and heating, direct dial telephone, safe (for rent), minibar (fridge function), balcony, complete bathroom with welcome products, and hairdryer. Our rooms decorated with modern features, sea views, spaciousness and the fabulous climate of our island will offer you a pleasant stay. • Our services: Free bicycle garage with hangers, lockers and washing station. Reception 24 hours, Environmental Music in common areas, Reading Room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Azul Hotel El Arenal
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing