We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service - not a 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Poor service - not a 4 star”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked a 2 night weekend stay here as it appeared to be only one of a few 4* rated hotels avaialable in Arenal - the hope being we would have a lovely comfortable room with everything you expect in Spanish 4*. How wrong we were... Arriving at the hotel, there was no rush to greet us and then our booking couldn't be found!! After a lot of messing around checking emails etc... They found it. Then, we were told to walk down 2 flights of stairs with our luggage as no lift available (i had a back injury so just what i needed), which felt like a basement garage. On opening the room door, there was a very strong smell of damp which i cannot stand. Usually we would just leave the balcony doors open and let the air circulate, however - there was a walkway to the back door of the kitchens directly outside our room so for security this was a no go.
The view of the kitchen back entrance really was not acceptable imo - this room felt like staff quarters not for a paying guest. To top it off - the fridge had been removed from the room which not only left an ugly looking gap but you do expect a fridge in a 4* hotel!

We had breakfast on the first morning but nothing to write home about, it was ok.
We tried to request a razor from reception but the girl did not speak english so it was not understood. When we got home, all i could smell was damp from the clothes hanging in the wardrobe. All in all would not recommend this hotel. Location is ok but i saw better hotels in resort. Perhaps if we had had a better room on a higher floor things may have felt better but we left feeling ripped off.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a high floor - ground floor is terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrankieGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    114
    71
    30
    36
See reviews for
29
194
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

My wife , my son and myself had a seven night all inclusive stay. Here is what I thought.
Good points- The hotel is very clean and well decorated, reception staff are friendly and efficient, the bar is well stocked and staff very good , really good coffee and tea in a tea pot! the pool, though small is clean and good for a cooling dip,there was a good friendly atmosphere, the spa is well equipped, the rooms are small but modern, clean and adequate. The hotel is only a 5min walk from the beach, though the return journey is up a steep hill.

The bad points - The food was poor, I have no problems with most types of cuisine but the food here was just not up to scratch , poor selection, just warm , not well thought out, we usually go on all inc. and this was probably the worst food but talking to other guests the previous week it was good. There are not enough sun loungers by the pool, admittedly the pool area is small but there is room for some more, if only to stop the early morning start to get ya' towel down. There is an €8 charge for the spa , not made clear in the all inc literature and some of the spa was out of action ie steam room,part of the Jacuzzi , one of the sunas , one of the cold showers and part of the ceiling fell in on the cold bucket thing.
Don't go there if you want a nice view - there is none.
The rooms are quite noisy ie thin walls but we did get used to that.

The resort itself is a bit run down and very commercialised , the beach gets packed with numerous traders walking about shouting their wares.
Having said all that we did enjoy our holiday as it was a good friendly place and the other guests were great and because of that we could put up with the bad points, life ain't perfect I suppose.
Would I return? Probably not.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Was very sceptical about the hotel and its location as me and my girlfriend had read a lot of varied reviews but honestly the hotel was spot on. Very clean and all of the staff were very helpful especially the receptionist called Emanuel or something along those lines. I would not get put off by any of the negative reviews that have been left as we were seriously impressed by the hotel. The location was perfect just 5 minutes from the beach and 1 minute from a tobacconist and supermarket. Met some lovely people on our stay and every one round the pool were extremely friendly. Would seriously recommend this hotel to anyone staying in El Arenal as it was by far the best that we saw on our stay. Seriously Impressed !

Room Tip: Request a high room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dominicbevis312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Lovely hotel, food, staff, very helpful Manager called Martha really enjoyed our stay. We were there the week end of World cup when Germany were playing so a little noisey on beach, but we walked out of it. Lovely beaches, just a relaxing holiday for us.

Room Tip: Not noisey as in residential area. Did get ourselves locked out on balcony, but our own fault.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikepadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Arrived to find the hotel in a run down part of the resort, on entering the hotel, it looked liked a backpackers hostel as it was full of very young people on their way home. Not the best first impression! Had a room over looking the pool, the pool itself was clean but the surrounding area needed a lot of attention. Room OK, clean but very small bathroom but adequate.
First night food really was not very good at all, but it did get better as the week went on, you certainly wouldn't starve. Was woken at 4AM, by shouting and laughing from the room next door, through very thin walls, called reception but nothing happened we were kept awake for the REST of the night. It transpired however that the two "ladies" next door had brought back a couple of men they had met that night, evidently the night manager didn't see them come in or turned a blind eye to strangers entering the hotel!! Got up next morning and changed rooms.
The air con in all the rooms is inadequate, yes it works if you stand underneath it, but you cannot roll your bed near it!! You also cannot open you balcony door as you will be kept awake by the shouting and screaming in the streets below, then when the last of the revellers go home, the maids start talking loudly!!
Breakfast, ok ish.
There is no entertainment, on being asked why, the hotel management said the "young people don't like it".
Sitting outside the pool bar one evening, a very strange lady appeared wanting to talk to everybody in what we think was Russian, either very drunk or very high, evidently known to the bar man as he gave her another drink, we then left.
The last night, sitting there counting down the hours to our flight, a group of german "gentlemen" arrived, had showers then stood naked on the balcony whilst drying themselves, then proceeded to sit down in all their glory, thank god they were obese, still a sight for sore eyes, let alone the kiddies playing in the park behind the hotel!! Management told,eyes were rolled, but nothing done.
We met a lovely couple form Dublin, who had arrived the previous Saturday, she said as soon as they arrived, she had burst into tears in the bedroom as they couldn't quite believe the hell hole they had walked into.
A four star ADULTS only hotel this definitely is NOT. Possibly at a push a 2 star, which would happily cater for club 18 - 30's.
By the way, you do have to pay to use (yes use!!) the SPA, treatments you always expect to pay for, but not to pay to go in especially if guests of the hotel.
However, I will end up on one positive note, the bed and the pillows were very comfortable, just wish we could have actually slept in them!!

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Arenal hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had a wonderful 5 days at this lovely hotel. it was just what the doctor ordered. Very clean, staff friendly and as travellers from the UK who are not looking for British style grub but more of a continental twist, we found the food excellent with a variety of choice. It was also nice to have a great mix of nationalities and not too many Brits. On our first day, We arrived very late at night and missed our first dinner but as we had taken advantage of the hotel email to let them know in advance a really nice cold meat platter awaited our arrival. Prices for drinks are more than reasonable, the pool area is very clean and lounging poolside was a relaxing way to spend time. Granted there was some work going on on a building across from the front of the hotel and it is at the furthest end of Arenal Playa but we found it very handy for the lovely eateries and upmarket watering holes around the Nautical Club area of the Port. The bar at the very end of the beach at the port was particularly nice and welcoming as was the very pretty and family restaurant Ema Del Mar which we found on a street heading up from the playa. It stood out as it was full of flowers and had a lovely black picket fence around. Delicious food. All in all we couldn't fault the break we spent at Torre Azul and this was capped by the staff allowing us use of the delightful Spa on our last day after we had checked out of our room and had several hours to wait before flying home. Thanks to all at the hotel and we will be back sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Choose Upper floors especially with a pool view or sea view, especially in summer as area can get qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

on evening of 9th June my room along with 2 others on the 11th floor were entered by persons unknown and cash and jewellery stolen. The management said it was not their responsibility, and my wife and I spent 2 hours on the last morning of our stay in a police station, then a further 2 hours waitnig while police looked at our room and CCTV tapes of reception to try and identify possible thieves. On contacting our insurance company we have been told that as there was sign of forced access to our room we cannot make a claim, so goodbye to GBP3000 worth of gold jewellery.
Hotel is in run down area of resort, noisy and dogs barking continually, and fowling the broken pavements. Bedroom walls very thin could hear next door talking when they decided to come home at 3.15 am every morning.
Food not to UK taste - carrots, green beans and chips on the breakfast menu - generally luke warm, ice cream cartons had been defrosted and re frozen, very limited choice of main course.
Hotel next door being refurbished so expect lots of noise, as is very run down apartment block opposite.
No entertainment in the evenings, everyone dissappeared after dinner, bar always empty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KWC51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Arenal hotels
0.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 44 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.3 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#12 of 44 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#4 of 44 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alea
Hotel Alea
#8 of 44 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ipanema Park
Ipanema Park
#11 of 44 in El Arenal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only

Property: Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only
Address: Calle Sant Bartomeu 24, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Style Torre Azul SPA)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Azul Hotel El Arenal
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing