We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 3* star hotel, poor poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The best point about this hotel is its modern and clean rooms. Although we had two single beds instead of a more logical double bed for a married couple.. This might be why this hotel has earned 4* because the rest is only worth a maximum of 3*.

The hotel as a whole is decent, located a bit further away from the busy, noisy streets, bars and clubs which is good if you’re looking for a relaxing holiday (although I wouldn’t recommend El Arenal at all if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday), but still only a few hundred meters away from the beach.

I would feel quite satisfied about my stay there if the food was not so bad. Everything is bland, tasteless and very repetitive. If I had to go back I would book it on breakfast only and go somewhere else for lunch and dinner.

They also use very cheap “techniques” to get you to spend more if you did not choose the All inclusive option: as half board, you have dinner there and are entitled to tap water. However, they unplug the machines giving out the tap water blaming an electricity fault so that you buy bottled water or any other drink. And by the morning, the same machines are all back in service because they also serve the (disgusting) juices. These “techniques” are definitely not those of a 4* hotel..

Another inconvenience is the wi-fi which is only available and at very slow speed in the lobby. Again, not worth of a 4* hotel..

Swimming pool is also very small with only a few long chairs so I would not count on spending my days there.

All in all, I would only go there if you’re not planning on enjoying the hotel facilities too much, if you’re just booking it to sleep there, and if you do not care much about what you’re eating.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a double bed if you are a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SoFra22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed in Torre Azul for a week and the place wasn't bad at all. I was horrified to go there after reading the reviews here and didn't know what to expect. We had very very clean and nice room looking towards the sea and it was cleaned everyday. The staff was friendly and helpful. Pool was very nice, clean and refreshing! the only minus there was the struggle to try and get a chair in the morning since there are not so many of them.
The only thing we could say wasn't so good in the hotel was the wifi that didn't work anywhere else except in the lobby. We had only breakfast included which was ok average buffet. there were lots of variety from english breakfast to fruits, different breads etc.
I would say the hotel is 3star and has a good value for the money.
However if you are not from Germany and are not the biggest fan I wouldn't recommend the area. We were very disappointed to found ourselves in german party phuket and didn't spend any of the days in the area. We rented car, bikes and scooter and went around the island which was very beautiful and after all a relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annastiiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked a 2 night weekend stay here as it appeared to be only one of a few 4* rated hotels avaialable in Arenal - the hope being we would have a lovely comfortable room with everything you expect in Spanish 4*. How wrong we were... Arriving at the hotel, there was no rush to greet us and then our booking couldn't be found!! After a lot of messing around checking emails etc... They found it. Then, we were told to walk down 2 flights of stairs with our luggage as no lift available (i had a back injury so just what i needed), which felt like a basement garage. On opening the room door, there was a very strong smell of damp which i cannot stand. Usually we would just leave the balcony doors open and let the air circulate, however - there was a walkway to the back door of the kitchens directly outside our room so for security this was a no go.
The view of the kitchen back entrance really was not acceptable imo - this room felt like staff quarters not for a paying guest. To top it off - the fridge had been removed from the room which not only left an ugly looking gap but you do expect a fridge in a 4* hotel!

We had breakfast on the first morning but nothing to write home about, it was ok.
We tried to request a razor from reception but the girl did not speak english so it was not understood. When we got home, all i could smell was damp from the clothes hanging in the wardrobe. All in all would not recommend this hotel. Location is ok but i saw better hotels in resort. Perhaps if we had had a better room on a higher floor things may have felt better but we left feeling ripped off.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a high floor - ground floor is terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank FrankieGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

My wife , my son and myself had a seven night all inclusive stay. Here is what I thought.
Good points- The hotel is very clean and well decorated, reception staff are friendly and efficient, the bar is well stocked and staff very good , really good coffee and tea in a tea pot! the pool, though small is clean and good for a cooling dip,there was a good friendly atmosphere, the spa is well equipped, the rooms are small but modern, clean and adequate. The hotel is only a 5min walk from the beach, though the return journey is up a steep hill.

The bad points - The food was poor, I have no problems with most types of cuisine but the food here was just not up to scratch , poor selection, just warm , not well thought out, we usually go on all inc. and this was probably the worst food but talking to other guests the previous week it was good. There are not enough sun loungers by the pool, admittedly the pool area is small but there is room for some more, if only to stop the early morning start to get ya' towel down. There is an €8 charge for the spa , not made clear in the all inc literature and some of the spa was out of action ie steam room,part of the Jacuzzi , one of the sunas , one of the cold showers and part of the ceiling fell in on the cold bucket thing.
Don't go there if you want a nice view - there is none.
The rooms are quite noisy ie thin walls but we did get used to that.

The resort itself is a bit run down and very commercialised , the beach gets packed with numerous traders walking about shouting their wares.
Having said all that we did enjoy our holiday as it was a good friendly place and the other guests were great and because of that we could put up with the bad points, life ain't perfect I suppose.
Would I return? Probably not.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Was very sceptical about the hotel and its location as me and my girlfriend had read a lot of varied reviews but honestly the hotel was spot on. Very clean and all of the staff were very helpful especially the receptionist called Emanuel or something along those lines. I would not get put off by any of the negative reviews that have been left as we were seriously impressed by the hotel. The location was perfect just 5 minutes from the beach and 1 minute from a tobacconist and supermarket. Met some lovely people on our stay and every one round the pool were extremely friendly. Would seriously recommend this hotel to anyone staying in El Arenal as it was by far the best that we saw on our stay. Seriously Impressed !

Room Tip: Request a high room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Dominicbevis312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Lovely hotel, food, staff, very helpful Manager called Martha really enjoyed our stay. We were there the week end of World cup when Germany were playing so a little noisey on beach, but we walked out of it. Lovely beaches, just a relaxing holiday for us.

Room Tip: Not noisey as in residential area. Did get ourselves locked out on balcony, but our own fault.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mikepadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Arrived to find the hotel in a run down part of the resort, on entering the hotel, it looked liked a backpackers hostel as it was full of very young people on their way home. Not the best first impression! Had a room over looking the pool, the pool itself was clean but the surrounding area needed a lot of attention. Room OK, clean but very small bathroom but adequate.
First night food really was not very good at all, but it did get better as the week went on, you certainly wouldn't starve. Was woken at 4AM, by shouting and laughing from the room next door, through very thin walls, called reception but nothing happened we were kept awake for the REST of the night. It transpired however that the two "ladies" next door had brought back a couple of men they had met that night, evidently the night manager didn't see them come in or turned a blind eye to strangers entering the hotel!! Got up next morning and changed rooms.
The air con in all the rooms is inadequate, yes it works if you stand underneath it, but you cannot roll your bed near it!! You also cannot open you balcony door as you will be kept awake by the shouting and screaming in the streets below, then when the last of the revellers go home, the maids start talking loudly!!
Breakfast, ok ish.
There is no entertainment, on being asked why, the hotel management said the "young people don't like it".
Sitting outside the pool bar one evening, a very strange lady appeared wanting to talk to everybody in what we think was Russian, either very drunk or very high, evidently known to the bar man as he gave her another drink, we then left.
The last night, sitting there counting down the hours to our flight, a group of german "gentlemen" arrived, had showers then stood naked on the balcony whilst drying themselves, then proceeded to sit down in all their glory, thank god they were obese, still a sight for sore eyes, let alone the kiddies playing in the park behind the hotel!! Management told,eyes were rolled, but nothing done.
We met a lovely couple form Dublin, who had arrived the previous Saturday, she said as soon as they arrived, she had burst into tears in the bedroom as they couldn't quite believe the hell hole they had walked into.
A four star ADULTS only hotel this definitely is NOT. Possibly at a push a 2 star, which would happily cater for club 18 - 30's.
By the way, you do have to pay to use (yes use!!) the SPA, treatments you always expect to pay for, but not to pay to go in especially if guests of the hotel.
However, I will end up on one positive note, the bed and the pillows were very comfortable, just wish we could have actually slept in them!!

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Arenal hotels
0.3 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#17 of 44 in El Arenal
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
868 reviews
0.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#5 of 44 in El Arenal
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
OLA Hotel Maioris
OLA Hotel Maioris
#1 of 44 in El Arenal
1,508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pinero Tal
Hotel Pinero Tal
#8 of 44 in El Arenal
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinero Hotel Bahia De Palma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only

Address: Calle Sant Bartomeu 24, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Style Torre Azul SPA)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range: £42 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want to welcome you to Hotel Torre Azul, hoping that you will meet all your expectations of information about our facilities, services, offers and of course about the Playa de Palma. Built in 1968, updated in 1982 and completely refurbished in 2012. It is located in the Arenal area, in the municipality of Llucmajor. It is 350 meters from the Playa de Palma and the Arenal Yacht Club. Aqualand Water Park is located very close to the hotel .. The hotel has 133 double rooms. All rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi Internet (free), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and heating, direct dial telephone, safe (for rent), minibar (fridge function), balcony, complete bathroom with welcome products, and hairdryer. Our rooms decorated with modern features, sea views, spaciousness and the fabulous climate of our island will offer you a pleasant stay. • Our services: Free bicycle garage with hangers, lockers and washing station. Reception 24 hours, Environmental Music in common areas, Reading Room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Azul Hotel El Arenal
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing