We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad not the word”
Review of Caribbean Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribbean Bay
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“bad not the word”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

well thought i would try spain and found this hotel thought 300 pound all inclusive so we booked it went on the 9/05/14 and came back 16/5/14 i try to b honest as am not the fussy sought but this hotel is bad when u pull up out side you think wow this looks a grt hotel landed on ya feet you get get ya key card for ya room still looking good untill you open the door of your room then it hits you wat have u done we booked a double twin and got a room for two with four beds in it and the u was packed like sardines any way so thought well u only sleep there so get on with it sky tv u get 3 channels in english and they are all news channels but if you are german or spanish dutch you will be ok so u ask for the wifi code and then you are told you got to pay for it and thats 15 euros for the week well wat a joke so paid for only bonus it works in your room so we thought we would give the food a try ok first day food ok somethink to eat next day food there but the same as prevous day but this time wasnt cooked very good so complained manger took plate away to kitchen and that was that so stuck to the salad next day thought give them the benifit and tryed the beef bugers and my son had the pork yet again wasnt cooked still crawling on the plate this time the chef as if every think was ok told him he took the plates to the kitchen and same nothink said all i can say pigs would even turn there noses up at the slops they try to feed you .the water park is good to try but very expensive to get in at 26euros and take food with you as it costs you a arm and a leg to eat and every think is doubled in price when you are inside apart from the hotel the only good thing was the weather but as there is only enterment twice a week if you are lucky and that a disco

Room Tip: they are ok for two people only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    166
    137
    63
    62
See reviews for
113
212
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel from 26th May for five nights , after reading the mixed reviews we went with an open mind and were not dissapointed. From the freindly reception man through all the staff they were polite and helpful . Our room was on 8th floor so from our balcony we could watch the sun set ., maybe we were luckey and the hotel was not full so never waited or searched for a seat in the dining room . There was enough choice for every one and plenty to eat , same for all three meal times . The room was ok but the bathroom was a bit small , towels changed every day , sheets were not changed while we were there beds were comfortable .
This Hotels is only two minutes from the beach which we visited every day for a walk , lots of shops and bars if you want .

Room Tip: Get a room at the top best views and one facing the sea as thy catch the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank treborLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

stayed here may 14 , staff friendly and helpful ,all inclusive food was good with plenty of choice and nice deserts ,ate different each day ,san miguel which is a decent lager ,kept clean used towels changed daily if left on floor ,nice pool plenty of loungers.for a cheap break that was all inclusive could'nt really fault it and 5 mins from the beach, 3 euros on bus no 21 from the airport ,would go back with no worries !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just returned from a four night stay at the Caribbean Bay stayed 28th April to the 2nd May. Had an early flight on Monday morning so touched down at Palma airport at ten in the morning, the resort and hotel are very close to the airport so no lengthy transfer process involved brilliant if you are only on a short break.On arrival at the hotel around 11am were told that couldn't check in till 2pm but could put luggage in a locked luggage room & were given the all inclusive wristband straight away so that we could use the bar and have a lunch at 1pm so ideal.

When we did check in were given room 615 found the room to be more than adequate, i did decide to get the room safe at a cost of 4 euros a day but no matter how i tried couldnt get the electronic safe to work, informed reception and was told an engineer would come and look at it. The safe still wouldnt work so after a couple of days the hotel manager & receptionist came to the room with a reprogramming unit but still couldnt rectify the problem, but was told by the hotel manager that all the rental money would be refunded which it was and as an extra touch when we returned to the room later there was a chilled bottle of Prosecco and a couple of glasses by way of an apology nice touch.


The food at the hotel i personally enjoyed there was always something to eat, always meat, fish plenty of salad etc at lunch and dinner. Breakfast is fairly standard the usual mix of cooked or continental style and plenty of fresh fruit.
The only possible downside of the hotel was maybe the evening entertainment or lack of it but you can always strike up conversations with fellow guests.We were lucky that on 2 nights of our stay the champions league semi finals were on managed to watch one in the hotel on the tv by the bar and the second one watched in a bar directly opposite the hotel.

In summary would i go back to the hotel ? for a short break definitely found the location good, the hotel and staff were good and have read comments about the resort yes there are a lot of nationalities in the resort but i never found this a problem at all. The hotel has two pools we always managed to find sun loungers so it was a nice relaxing short break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bigbazNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here from the 20th April this year to the 25th with my boyfriend for a quick, cheap half term break.

Before I start writing about this hotel, we did not pay the ends of the earth for it. We managed to pay £170pp for flights and this hotel all inclusive for 5 days. Before we went the reviews we read seemed mostly positive and although we weren't expecting the ritz from what other reviewers were saying we expected a cheap and cheerful stay.

We arrived late on the 20th April. I can see why a few people have written about their first impressions of the hotel or the surrounding area not being very good as it is through the back streets of El Arenal.

The room was basic, but nice. 3 beds in our room which was 110, plasma tv on the wall and a basic, clean bathroom. The only downside I can pick to our room was we were sort of jammed into a corner with what I wouldn't class as a balcony. The room was cleaned every day, with our bedsheets cleaned on the fourth day. We had fresh towels every day and when I went down to reception for extra pillows they were bought up to the room within minutes.

As we arrived late on the 20th we obviously hadn't been able to see where things were in the hotel. The restaurant was underneath the hotel. The food was okay, pretty much what we expected. Most of the food didn't have signs on the food so you had to try and work out what it was. Our only issue with the restaurant was the fact it is like a game of musical chairs in the evening. No matter what time you went whether it was when it first opened or just before it closed it seemed like you had to run around trying to find somewhere to sit which was a pain as my boyfriend was on crutches with a broken foot. One evening we put his crutches down right next to a chair and someone still sat on that table. The pool food was okay, standard sandwiches, pastries. We didn't enjoy the plastic cups!!!

We got the impression from photos that this hotel is on the beach, it's not. It's a 2 minute walk down a hill which would have been fine for us, but if you're a wheelchair user or have difficulty walking I wouldn't advise it. I had to back all my weight against my boyfriends pushing him down there in a wheelchair we'd hired. Also if you are a wheelchair user we found a couple of places quite difficult to get around in or push someone around in. The space between the pool and the lifts was quite difficult to get someone into the lift in the wheelchair as there's not much room to manoeuvre a wheelchair around, unless one of you wants to go down the stairs.

The pool was a nice area, though only a few parts got sun, again we didn't know this. So the left hand corner closest to the pool gets sunshine from early in the morning til about 1, then there seemed to be no sunshine from about 1-3 then the right hand side and the middle would get sunshine. I think it was about 4pm when everyone round the pool were sat in the sun!

Like I said, this hotel as nicely decorated as it is and as helpful and friendly as the staff are, there are things which need improving, obviously things can't be like the sunshine round the pool, but even if they fixed the issue of musical chairs at the evening meal, that would be a big improvement.

The thing they really need to check though, more than anything are the lifts!!! You could press it on floor one, and it would come down to floor two, someone would get in and then it would completely miss your floor on the way down. We got in the lift from the restaurant to go back to our room and some others got in to go to floor 6, instead of going to floor one first it went all the way up to floor 6 and then 7, 8 and finally to one. Bit strange!!

We didn't really use the bar on an evening. We went to sit there one night and there didn't seem to be much atmosphere though we did notice one or two evenings they had something going on in another room.

Overall, it's cheap and if you can get out and about down to the beach etc. you won't mind staying here!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EMWD100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Arenal hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Hotel was newly renovated and had a very modern feeling to it. It is a hotel for couples or groups rather than families, as except for the 2 small pools, there is nothing to do in hotel, and the area surrounding hotel is not very nice. Here is my view of hotel.

Reception area/Bar. Very Clean and spacious. Staff very courteous. There is a room in which they play music if you wish to dance, but was not open every night, this room had the extra seating.

Rooms. I cannot complain as I booked a single and was put in a triple, so had ample space, also the bathroom was a large wet room, which had been designed to be used by those who had mobility problems. Downside was I was on the 2nd floor, large corner balcony from which you could see pool, but those who lived in apartments opposite could look straight in, so had to keep curtains closed especially when coming in from bathroom as you could see straight in.

Food, always plentiful and hot, the only downside was, they didnt put what each dish was so it was a case of guessing.

Resort. very little going for it. Alot of bars on the front catering for germans and dutch, but not for the british. away from the front very run down in parts and as mentioned by others I noticed a fair bit of prostitution and also some gypsies which made me feel uneasy.
having travelled to other resorts as a solo traveller before, this is the only one I have felt uneasy in. I would not go again

Room Tip: any room away from the front and on floors 3 to 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bobbijo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brum
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Me and my wife stayed for 4 days and for the price we payed we had a nice stay . But this hotel could be so much better . The good points : rooms clean , food good , beach fantastic , staff helpful . The bad : rooms very small , the area very run down , no entertainment , not the best choice at the bar ( we asked for cava and was asked by the lady behind the bar what is cava ). We was told by the staff that we could use the Palma Bay site which is a good 15/20 min walk but when we got there the manager said we could not , this happened to quite a few people at our hotel . We enjoyed our 4 days here but if we stayed any longer we would be hard pressed to find anything to do .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newbydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
0.4 mi away
Palma Bay Club Resort
Palma Bay Club Resort
#67 of 77 in Playa de Palma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
0.1 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#12 of 44 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.3 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 44 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ipanema Park
Ipanema Park
#11 of 44 in El Arenal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pinero Tal
Hotel Pinero Tal
#5 of 44 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#4 of 44 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Bay

Property: Caribbean Bay
Address: Calle Trencadors 48, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Saga Hotel)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has been refurbished recently. The rooms have a full bathroom, satellite TV, telephone and air conditioning. There is a large bar lounge with recreational areas and two swimming pools: one is located on the upper terrace of the hotel to let you enjoy with friends or with your partner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribbean Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Hotel El Arenal
Saga El Arenal
Caribbean Bay Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing