We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab for the money, clean & trendy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caribbean Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caribbean Bay
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in El Arenal
Northampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fab for the money, clean & trendy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here in april this year 8th - 15th and paid £190 all inclusive (flights inc). We had a fab time. Lovely clean bright rooms. Our view wasnt great but who cares when we were sunbathing on the roof all day :) A bit of guidance on the location of the pool and day bar would have been nice etc. The 1st floor pool (freezing) and area is in the shade all the time so we spent our time on the roof although the pool there was just being filled but least it meant no kids so we had some nice quiet sunbathing up there. Unfortunately we did have to climb 10 flights of stairs a lot to get a drink at the bar as the lifts were always breaking and no bar or water supply on the roof. We didnt mind needed the exercise but this is not ideal for wheel chair users or people with mobility issues. The restaurant was in the basement so a little dark, could do with some music but the food was fine. There was literslly only a disco every eve which was boring - angame of bingo would have atleast got us going even if they charged 1euro a card or something. The eve bar was nice and the hotel decor was fab, newly refurbished and very trendy, contempory amd stylish. The bathrooms are small but we didnt mind, the half a bath as a shower tray did amuse us. The lack of entertainment was fine as we met rriends and played cards etc. We ate out couple times, its a nice walk as literally down the bottom of the street is the fantastic beach, shops and restaurants. For the money I'd definitely go back here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tallblondetanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    160
    134
    64
    69
See reviews for
111
208
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Booked a 3 night stay independently. Reading through the reviews it sounded ideal. We had no problems booking in, room was clean and looked over the pool. Lifts are small, take either ages to arrive or broken down....advice walk.

Must admit full of Germans and at times felt quite intimidated. All inclusive option was ok but must agree with other about small plastic cups for beer. Most people would like a pint of beer...not a cup full. Hotel is full of young groups of same sex parties. At the end of the day though you do get what you pay for. Ideal for beach and nightlife.

The beach is lovely and the sea is shallow so ideal for families. If you expect to have a quiet day sunbathing forget it. All day you are hassled with people selling sunglasses, gifts, fruit, massages, boat trip etc. great when the police arrive as peace and quiet. For two sun beds and a parasol is 16E a day.

Was hoping for a late check out but hotel was fully booked. Showers were available to book in the hotel and towels supplied. Nice to be able to enjoy another day on the beach.

Room Tip: Booked online and was meant to get free gift...nothing. Did get free WIFI but no late checkout as fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

well be prepared germans everywhere,loud, rude, apart from that food excellent......would not stay in arenal again to many germans,the all inc wine disgusting,drinks served in small plastic cups, beer ok ,we went out to small local bars on back streets to get away from yhe noise,we got the bus to alcudia which was beautiful and more english and no loud bloody germans,we will not be going here again,but will go alcudia side more quiker.

Room Tip: head to the top and the back sea view inbetween the hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayne2842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Got back from here yesterday 14/6. Whilst hotel is near to beach front and shops, there is an incline on the way back which may be a a problem for less able bodied tourists. We arrived early morning on 8/6 due to delay of coach at the airport. After doing the formalities and paying in full, we were informed that no room was available and so we were transferred to the Torre Arenal hotel for 1 night. The following morning we went back to the Caribbean Bay to be told that there were still no rooms, despite watching the receptionist book people in and give them their key card. At this point my wife challenged the receptionist, who begrudgingly gave us a room on the 8th floor. We found the hotel very clean but the all inclusive fare really needs to be worked on. The food is pretty basic stuff, beer is served in very small plastic cups, the snacks during the day consist of mini doughnuts & biscuits with some sandwiches in a fridge.

Whilst we were there, the main clientele consisted of loud, young German types and their accompanying antics. This hotel is definitely not for mature couples or families and would be better only advertised to a young and lively German crowd.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JDT5964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing time at this hotel. Lovely staff, food was average, clean bedsheets and toilet. Bars/ nightlife was a 2 min walk. Me and my friends had an amazing holiday here, but there's a lot of noice that can go on until 6am. Do not recommend this place for couples with children.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We originally scheduled 4 nights at this resort, but found out that the hotel was overbooked, so they transferred us to another hotel, Palma Bay, for 2 nights.

Upon hearing about our miserable experience there, the receptionist Laura was very helpful and comped us free wifi, safe, and excursions tickets for 4.

Food was okay. Practically the same stuff everyday. Drinks are given in plastic cups with local liquors. Beach is about a 10 min walk away. Not much entertainment in the resort. Rooms are fine; 3 working English channels that show the news.

Good for people who just want a room and a place to get food and drinks but plan on seeking entertainment elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Divyesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed here in May 2014, with my sister, mum and nephew who was 2. We booked last minute so did not have time to research the hotel. Upon arrival we were given the keys to our room, which was on the 3rd floor- no offer of help with our cases or the pushchair. We entered the room to find the floor really dirty and the first thing I noticed was toe nail clippings on the floor by my bed, I then looked under the beds to find more nail clippings and a lot of hair and dust. I called down to reception who sent a maid to clean it who was very rude but did the job, I told the manager how rude she was but he brushed it off. The room had 4 beds squashed in it so was quite cramped.

The hotel is a short walk from the beach but is in the back streets so you are surrounded by flats and houses, there is also a strp club opposite the hotel. There are 2 pools in the hotel one on the first floor where they have a small bar if you can call it that and one on the 10th floor where they have no bar so you have to go back to the 1st floor to get a drink-ridiculous. The bar on the 1st floor is meant to serve snacks but all you get is stale doughnuts and biscuts, oh they do have sandwich's in the fridge but they are horrible. All in all the food was quite poor and we had to eat out a few nights as were a lot of other people in the hotel. The pools are so deep that hardly anyone goes in them. The pool on the 10th floor is clased as the childrens pool, I am 5ft tall and in the shallow end it came up to my shoulders. Having a young child with us we were totally on edge that he might fall in and could not relax as there was no where for him to play.

There is no entertainment in the hotel, just a small seating area at the front of the hotel but it is so packed you can never get a seat so there is no-where for you to enjpy your all inclusive drinks unless you want to stand all night. They do have a room where someone plays music but it was always empty.

On the last night we were there we heard someone on our balcony but thought it was the people next door. We woke up to find out the couple 2 floors above had been broken into and there ipad and iphones had been taken, the hotel staff told them to report it to the police.

To sum this hotel up, it is no good for childern. If you are a couple who want a cheap holiday close to the beach then it is ok if you can put up with the horrible food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Arenal hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
0.4 mi away
Palma Bay Club Resort
Palma Bay Club Resort
#67 of 77 in Playa de Palma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
0.1 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#12 of 48 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.3 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ipanema Park
Ipanema Park
#11 of 48 in El Arenal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pinero Tal
Hotel Pinero Tal
#6 of 48 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#4 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Bay

Property: Caribbean Bay
Address: Calle Trencadors 48, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Saga Hotel)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has been refurbished recently. The rooms have a full bathroom, satellite TV, telephone and air conditioning. There is a large bar lounge with recreational areas and two swimming pools: one is located on the upper terrace of the hotel to let you enjoy with friends or with your partner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribbean Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Hotel El Arenal
Saga El Arenal
Caribbean Bay Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing