We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Sea Costa Verde
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night, all-inclusive short stay at the Blue Sea Costa Verde hotel in El Arenal, Mallorca.

Contrary to what a lot of other reviews say we found it to be a great place and we had a very pleasant stay.

We arrived late in the evening on our first night and were warmly greeted by the lady on reception, swiftly checked-in and then taken to the restaurant where she unlocked the doors and let us go in to help ourselves to cold drinks and a snack buffet. Very welcome after a long journey, a lovely start.

Our room was basic but more than adequate. It was very clean and the bathroom was spotless! The maids came in every day and made our beds, cleaned up and changed our towels. The ceiling fan kept the room cool and the shower was very powerful. The only negative I would say about the room was that it was very close to the building opposite so was overlooked which meant we didn't want to open the curtains or use the balcony but you cant have everything!

The grounds of the hotel are lovely, lots of trees providing welcome shady areas but also lots of sunny areas too. The pool is a good size and is half shallow and half deep with a small padding pool for the little ones. It was very well maintained, everyday the water quality was checked several times, we saw the maintenance man regulary take samples of the water and he cleaned the pool to a high standard and the surrounding area was also very clean with plenty of sun loungers and chairs.

The hotel had enough people to create a nice atmosphere but not overcrowded which was great. No queues. Everyone, guests and staff were very friendly.

During the day there was a bar open in the gardens by the pool where you could get drinks and snacks throughout the day. Soft drinks, wine, sangria and beer were help-yourself, you just took what you wanted when you wanted it. If you wanted spirits then the friendly staff were happy to serve you. This was the same at both the daytime pool bar and the main bar in the evenings. The bar does shut down at 11pm, a little early but you can get several drinks all at once before it closes to last you if you want to sit in there until later.

During the day there were various activities going on and entertainments in the evening, for both adults and children. It was all run single-handedly by a guy called David (otherwise known as Junior) He was a great guy, extremely hard-working, very friendly and eager to please. Big 'hi' to Junior! Thanks a lot mate, nice to have met you.

As for the food, I have absolutely no complaints at all. There was more than enough to cater for every taste. There was always at least one meat dish and one fish dish plus a vegetarian / pasta option accompanied by salads, breads, vegetables, rice, paella, potatoes/chips, cold meats, cheese and other sides. Over our 4 days for 'mains' we had roast pork, chicken, veal, beef meatballs and several different fishes were served. All was well prepared and very tasty. Desserts were varied as well and there was always several flavours of ice-cream and sauces to go with them.

Location-wise I have to admit that it is quite a trek to the beach, downhill on the way there and uphill on the way back but you can take a leisurely stroll so it's not a problem & the beach is BEAUTIFUL, well worth the walk. There are lots of shops and restaurants close to the hotel as well.
The Aqualand water park is on the doorstep and you can get a wristband for it that you can use for your whole stay. We didn't go there but people that did said they had a great time though the queues were long. There are lots of excursions, water sports and boat trips available through the hotel or at the beach as well. We went on a 2 hour boat-trip which included a stop-off to swim in the sea, very enjoyable. They even provided face masks/snorkels, floats and buoyancy jackets for children so everyone could join in whatever their swimming ability.

All in all we had a great time and I wouldn't hesitate to book the same place again for a longer stay.

Room Tip: I think it may be better to get a room facing the pool or the entrance side of the building to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose miguel m, Manager at Blue Sea Costa Verde, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
thanks for your comments Kay P, we are glad to know that you have enjoyed your holidays at our hotel and appreciate our services, will be a pleasure see you again a bit more longer,
king regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    131
    172
    74
    61
See reviews for
129
205
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed for 8 nights as 3 family groups.
On arrival we were greeted by Pedro who was fine . I needed to change rooms the following day as we had asked for interconnecting or close .this was done by a very helpful lady receptionist (2 younger receptionists were great, older lady was awful and rude to the children threatening them with the police for laughing in the foyer , whilst a group of Italian lads threw mattresses from their window , she needs a reality check or a new job!! )
The maids were fab and our favourite was junior the entertainment , great with the kids and pool activities , he needs better facilities ie internet and more pool equipment.
Food was not great however you get what you pay for and we all managed to find something to eat and it was clean and nobody was ill so it was ok.
Fab having the waterpark close by and the deal 26 euro for a week pass was brilliant as we could go daily for a few hours ,we loved that.
We had a fantastic holiday there and would return we met some fab people too.

So in a nutshell improve the food and get the noise under control

Keep the self serve bar relaxed poolside and waterpark offer.

Room Tip: Top floor at ends of corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nellie0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose miguel m, Manager at Blue Sea Costa Verde, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello nellie0101, thanks for your opinion, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your holidays and will be a pleasure to see you again, we take serious note about your comments from our reception and what happened about noise. King regards from all costa verde staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We knew we wasent going to exspect luxury in a 3* hotel but this was more like a hostel... The food was horrible adding lunch leftovers to next days breakfast, me and 5 others found ourself living on bread, cheese and ice cream for the week until we actually had to go out and eat meals in restraints where it was so bad.
Secondly, we got chucked out our room on the 6th day even though we had payed for 7 and had a record of it and showed them they still refused and asked us to pay more money for staying two extra hours when we had payed for two more days, they cut our all inclusive bands off so we couldn't get any food or drinks there was no manager there to help us and they wouldn't even call our travel agent.
The first night we arrived we had no water till the following nigt when we asked they didn't give us any imformation and shrugged there shoulders get again!
The toilets are disgusting and smelly water all over the floor having to hold your breath in them where the stench is so bad!
The entertainment and bar only goes on till 11pm, after that all you can hear round the hotel is roudy young people returning as I was woken up two nights in a row from boys chanting and banging to where I told reception and they shrugged there shoulders.
The staff are over worked with about 4 staff that seem to do everything, the only good thing about this hotel would be the maids who keep the rooms lovely and tidy.
All in all I would not reconnect ANYONE to stay at this hotel evrything is poor in it and a lot of people I talked to at the hotel agreed, I would stay well away and would never return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Oscl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose miguel m, Manager at Blue Sea Costa Verde, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
we deeply regret your comments, we have a a variety buffet that change every day whit a lot of choice, our all inclusive service start from 12 pm to 12 pm at the last day, if the customers like to keep the all inclusive band can do it at reception. our apologizes if our services have not been like you expected ,our goal is that all our costumers enjoyed their holidays, will be a pleasure see you again to change your point of view,
king regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Arenal hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was a last minute deal and cost us £300 All Inclusive for 2 days and 2 nights.
Location good.
Hotel very dated.

We arrived at 1am & was given a single box room with a single bed (#402) & was told to share. Pedro informed us that there had been a mess up with the beds. Pure lack of coordination :o(
Eventually we got another box room (#413) with a double bed in it with no Air Conditioning.
Food was dull but did manage to get something to eat each meal time. Even if it was a piece of bread and butter.
Pool full of tree spikes.
Snacks during the morning were poor - a piece of fruit and curled up crust sandwiches (not toasties).
Not the worst holiday ever but certainly not the best.
We ended up next to a room of male party goer's - who either argued all night or threw up over their entire apartment (which at 3-4am is stomach churning).
The stench from the warmed up vomit was hard to handle so was glad to get home.
I would potentially give this hotel another go in hope that they have taken on board people's comments.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndiCunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose miguel m, Manager at Blue Sea Costa Verde, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
hello Andy, Thank you for sharing your point of view, we make note of your suggestions and we will do our best to improve our services. our apologizes for the misunderstanding about the room at your arrival.
king regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have just returned from the Costa Verde in the past few days.

Good points:
1. The food despite what others have said was pretty good we always found something to eat from the selections available my children (4&5 yrs) enjoyed the fish dishes and soups, my husband who loves pasta was pleased to find a pasta dish served every day. The main meat is generally pork or chicken. With chips, wedges and veg as side dishes there is also a salad bar which usually also contains some kind of pasta salad. Breakfast usually contains a selection comprising of cereals, meats and cheeses, pastries and toast and as hot dishes: Frankfurt sausage, scrambled egg, churros, beans and boiled eggs. Although on our last day there was also
bacon.

2. The staff were wonderful with my children especially: junior - the guy who runs the kids club and does entertainment in the evening, my children adored him. The lifeguard - she was there Monday to Friday and was great with the children. Also the is a lady who works at the bar (sorry I've forgotten her name) with blonde hair which she wears in a ponytail she is probably the nicest member of staff at the hotel extremely helpful and friendly.

3. Clean - the cleaners do a marvellous job our linen was changed daily and the rooms were kept spotlessly clean.

4. Rooms are air conditioned which is a god send!

The bad points.

1. The hotel is dated and could do with refurbishment it has so much potential it is beautiful from outside.

2. The walls are paper thin you can hear everything.

3. Better organisation of who sleeps where- we as a family should not have been given a room situated between 3 sets of party goer's they came in banging and singing at 5am most mornings. This was poor planning by the reception staff.

Overall we had a nice holiday here and because of the staff friendliness would consider returning if we could be guaranteed a room away from the rowdy guests.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mummysuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose miguel m, Manager at Blue Sea Costa Verde, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel, well be a pleasure see all of you again. and please don't forget to ask at reception any request for your rooms.
best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Clean hotel, help yourself to soft drinks, coffee, but more importantly beer, wine and sangria. Pool area good, loads of new sun beds, rooms ok, clean and adequate. Staff nice. All lovely for price paid. But then there was the disaster of food. Can't explain the poor food served up. Couldn't even eat the pizza at the bar due to the poor quality in the restaurant (plus the stench of the restaurant) even though apparently it was nice. The shaving foam on toast( garlic bread apparently) was unbelievable. Great hotel if you want a CHEAP base for sunbathing and drink. Good if you are on a diet. But food lets it down. But 4 stars as everything else good for price paid. Love Dave

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose miguel m, Manager at Blue Sea Costa Verde, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hola David, thanks for your good comments, we have a variety buffet every day and variety snack services whith fruits, pizza o sanwhiches, we regret your comment about it and take very seriously to improve it. we will like to see you soon to offer our best services
king regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Disappointed on arrival, but after seeing other hotels in Arenal, Hotel Costa Verde looked lovely. Location was good (Aqualand next door - with a good deal for guests) away from the centre of Arenal. Staff were excellent, and the cleaning staff were brilliant. Food was fresh but the variety was really poor; it really put me off All Inclusive. The other guests were so noisy, swearing etc during the day and night, found it really difficult to sleep though it all. If I had to holiday in Arenal, then I would stay here again, but I'd be hard pushed to face the food again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose miguel m, Manager at Blue Sea Costa Verde, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Jane R, we appreciate your comments and suggestions to improve our services, we are glad that you enjoyed our special offer for Aqualand available only for hotel costa verde costumers, we will like to see you again and offer our best services as you know.
king regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
0.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 44 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palma Bay Club Resort
Palma Bay Club Resort
#67 of 78 in Playa de Palma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seramar Luna Luna Park
Hotel Seramar Luna Luna Park
#25 of 44 in El Arenal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#12 of 44 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ipanema Park
Ipanema Park
#11 of 44 in El Arenal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Costa Verde

Property: Blue Sea Costa Verde
Address: Avenida Europa 33, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sea Costa Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Costa Verde by Blue Sea is just 700 metres from the beach, so you're never far from the golden sands of Majorca! Every room in this sun-drenched hotel has a balcony or terrace with views of the pool and/or gardens. The local area of El Arenal has a great selection of bars, restaurants and shops to choose from once you're finished topping up your tan. If you feel like staying closer to your room, the hotel has a large freshwater pool to relax in. Families also have the bonus of a playground and splash pool for the kids, as well as a games room. The Blue Sea Costa Verde has something for everyone. The 124 rooms come fully equipped with air conditioning, heating, fan, TV and a safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Onthebeach, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Sea Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde El Arenal
Costa Verde Hotel El Arenal
Blue Sea Costa Verde Majorca/El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing